View Full Version : Cork AUL 2012/13

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89

Eric
08/12/2012, 3:44 PM
Glen Celtic B had a very deserved 4-0 win over a pathetic Fermoy side today in the FAI Junior Cup. 1st time seeing my old team play this season and disappointing to see how poor they are compared to last year.

Was very impressed with Chislom? (4), Long, Kenneally and Nolan. Kenneally and Nolan punished a very slow Fermoy back long. The 2 of them have a great partnership together.

Tough next round for Glen against Carrick United but if they knock it about like they did today they'll have a chance.

Best of luck!

zohan
08/12/2012, 4:24 PM
Castleview 3-3 Greenwood,, Castleviews first league point, greenwood will fell they should of had all three after wasting a lot of clear cut chances and were 3-1 up with about 20 left, a penalty and a scrappy goal from a corner got the view level and in fairness to them they battled hard and never gave up. Game was marred by a bit of hassle with a greenwood player and one of the managers of castleview, he came onto the pitch and wanted to fight and was throwing threats all over the place, i presume something was said to him but i didnt hear from where i was standing! Referee rightly sent him off along with another one of the managers a few minutes later. This is the third time i have seen castleview this season and it seems they have a different side everytime and did look a lot better than previous games. Theyre not going down without a fight in fairness to them.

oldlegs
08/12/2012, 4:26 PM
Knockavilla 4 Park A 1

Kearney
08/12/2012, 4:38 PM
Castleview 3-3 Greenwood,, Castleviews first league point, greenwood will fell they should of had all three after wasting a lot of clear cut chances and were 3-1 up with about 20 left, a penalty and a scrappy goal from a corner got the view level and in fairness to them they battled hard and never gave up. Game was marred by a bit of hassle with a greenwood player and one of the managers of castleview, he came onto the pitch and wanted to fight and was throwing threats all over the place, i presume something was said to him but i didnt hear from where i was standing! Referee rightly sent him off along with another one of the managers a few minutes later. This is the third time i have seen castleview this season and it seems they have a different side everytime and did look a lot better than previous games. Theyre not going down without a fight in fairness to them.

Are they playing illegal players or just signing players so?

Kearney
08/12/2012, 4:39 PM
Knockavilla 4 Park A 1

Great result legs. Any report?

oldlegs
08/12/2012, 4:51 PM
Report to follow few drinks first :)

our_ball_ref
08/12/2012, 5:17 PM
Killumney 7-3 Glenthorn after extra time

zohan
08/12/2012, 6:36 PM
Are they playing illegal players or just signing players so?

I wouldnt say so, they had a few young lads playing who were full of energy and very lively, from the youths and 19s teams maybe, i still dont think they will have enough to put up a real fight to stay up, but they were very commited and couldnt fault theyre effort

oldlegs
08/12/2012, 6:44 PM
Great result for us as we where missing a few players and had the bare bones . Park started well retained ball and made us work hard and we rode our luck from set pieces where Park where a big threat in the air I think they hit the crossbar in the first corner the had . We dug deep and managed to get a hold of the middle of the park . The legend that is Robbie Walsh finished a great cross from the left wing into the back of Parks net to give us a 1 nil lead . We continued to boss the game in the central areas and went in 1 nil ahead at half time . Secound half expected Park to come at us but that never happened to be honest bar a few corners which they are very good at attacking . That man Robbie Walsh struck again to give us a 2 nil cushion . Then halfway through second half Robbie was taken down for a peno which Sweeny finished well . We sat back and went 4 5 1 and with 20 mins to go Park pulled a goal back from a corner . 3 1 then with Park chasing the game they went 3 at the back. Our centre forward Trevor picked up ball 10 yards inside Park half and with no support turned for goal and left the Park back 3 in his wake and finished neatly to make it 4 1 great goal and a great result for us . 3 wins out of 3 at home

overthehill
08/12/2012, 7:24 PM
Hit for six at Carrigtohill today and no excuses. Travelled with the bare bones but still hoped we might steal something. Derek Delea destroyed a makeshift backline in a half an hour and no way back. Different class. Personel wernt there to change things around so we actually did well second half to just concede one and played with a bit of pride. 90 mins under the belt of a few getting their first starts in months will be the only plus to take. Should be a few back for next weeks game so hoping to bounce back.

backpass
08/12/2012, 8:33 PM
I think the argument of which league is better between aul and msl must surely be put to bed after the glens b team stuffed fermoy...3rd division in the aul stuffing them....they must of being shocking altogether but fair play to the glen

1fortheTeam
08/12/2012, 10:35 PM
I think the argument of which league is better between aul and msl must surely be put to bed after the glens b team stuffed fermoy...3rd division in the aul stuffing them....they must of being shocking altogether but fair play to the gleni wasnt surprised at all well over rated is msl in fact i hear it should have been more well done glen celtic b..i think a few teams are playing football now and the big strong fit robots are gone .aul a lot better for football since 2 of the 3 moving over to msl.knockavilla sent out a big msg today well done oldlegs.roll on next week.

backpass
09/12/2012, 12:37 PM
Ha was wondering when the aul msl conversation would pipe up again...didn't take long....funny how nobody mentioned college cors beating the team to of prem a...I'm sure that was just an oversight tough ha..ps great result fron glen..fair play but seriously move on one for from your little obsession.....how many teams from cork in open draw ?

Ha ha......one minute I got to go and get my wooden spoon

oldlegs
09/12/2012, 1:36 PM
Innishvilla 3 Glen 1 congrads to innish 2 year running out of Cork

tricksey
09/12/2012, 3:13 PM
Pearse 2 -1 ck united unbelievable game we hit the post early and den after 10 minutes ck got a goal never to b seen again into the top corner.they then played all sorts of tricks with balls and refs but we thumped them bein honest for 90 minutes and got a goal from a set piece in the 75th minute jamzer with a volley still controlling the game in the 90 odd minute Spitzer goes 1 on 1 with the keeper slots it home happy days last 32 here we come :) any other results lads?

oldlegs
09/12/2012, 3:39 PM
Congrads Tricksey great result all the better for being an away fixture home town refs etc . Hopefully a home draw for ye in next round

Radiostar
09/12/2012, 3:59 PM
Well done Tricksey, great result!

donaldihno
09/12/2012, 4:05 PM
Well done pearse and glen B.
Some results!

Big result for Kilreen today..not lookin good up in Leeds park by looks of it!

Grattan have really turned things around,played very well yesterday and there up for the battle..
Shrinkin nd mark Sul back with them.Dey will defiantly take points of teams

Kearney
09/12/2012, 4:15 PM
Massive result for knockavilla yesterday. Well done legs. Heard Robbie scored 2 + won a peno. How hes not on the AUL team is beyond me. Great way to show John Paul that they got it wrong.

1fortheTeam
09/12/2012, 5:01 PM
Innishvilla 3 Glen 1 congrads to innish 2 year running out of Corkwell done innish and they will do well its a good side they have ..tricks thats a fab result for you well done.unlucky to our lads they will be other days the club still in the fai thanks to the b team .pa long doing a great job .

Roberto
09/12/2012, 5:54 PM
Can anyone give me directions to Killumney Utd's ground (i.e. from Jack Lynch Tunnel). We're (Clonmel Celtic) down next week to play them in the FAI. What are they like?

Nedge
09/12/2012, 6:02 PM
http://foot.ie/images/Miscellaneous_Documents/Bullet_Ball_2.jpg

From Cork City: Take the main Cork to Bandon Road (N71) from Cork. After passing under the Viaduct continue until you reach a roundabout (Halfway Roundabout) where you turn right for Halfway. Immediately after the roundabout you cross a bridge and come to a T junction with an old concrete pillar box on the corner. Turn left (following the signpost for Crossbarry.) Just before you get into Killeady you will come to a 90 degree right bend over a bridge. Some of the stone wall is painted with yellow and black stripes. Just after this there is a right hand turn with Barrett's Bar on the corner. Directly opposite this there is an entrance to a gravel car park. On the back right corner of the car park there is a gate to the dressing rooms and pitches

1fortheTeam
09/12/2012, 6:05 PM
Can anyone give me directions to Killumney Utd's ground (i.e. from Jack Lynch Tunnel). We're (Clonmel Celtic) down next week to play them in the FAI. What are they like?they are red.. from cork and we wish them well v clonmel that any help.

Roberto
09/12/2012, 6:08 PM
they are red.. from cork and we wish them well v clonmel that any help.

I suppose every forum has their smartarse.

1fortheTeam
09/12/2012, 6:12 PM
I suppose every forum has their smartarse.just joking bud but to be fair you dont think we dont want our teams going on to the next round .there.s a nice bar there and you will get a sambo ..should be a good match .if your lucky the lads might give you a blast on the sunbed.you beat st michaels in this round ?

Roberto
09/12/2012, 6:24 PM
just joking bud but to be fair you dont think we dont want our teams going on to the next round .there.s a nice bar there and you will get a sambo ..should be a good match .if your lucky the lads might give you a blast on the sunbed.you beat st michaels in this round ?

Cheers, always enjoy my visits to Ireland's real capital. I wasn't expecting you to give away too much info but I was wondering do they have any track record in the FAI or Munster as I haven't heard of them before. The only team we met from Cork in the FAI in recent years was Grattan Utd. Yeah, we beat St Michaels 3-2, exciting game that could have gone either way. Expecting a close one, home advantage is a huge plus in this competition. What's the name of the bar?

1fortheTeam
09/12/2012, 6:28 PM
Cheers, always enjoy my visits to Ireland's real capital. I wasn't expecting you to give away too much info but I was wondering do they have any track record in the FAI or Munster as I haven't heard of them before. The only team we met from Cork in the FAI in recent years was Grattan Utd. Yeah, we beat St Michaels 3-2, exciting game that could have gone either way. Expecting a close one, home advantage is a huge plus in this competition. What's the name of the bar?killumney inn anyway it will be a good game .its a good club and love their football all i can say bud.

our_ball_ref
09/12/2012, 6:33 PM
Don't think many will give to much away on Killumney we all want each other to win down here haha ;-))

Regarding there pitch it prob won't be played on there pitch as its not fenced in or anything like that so it'll be moved, better off contacting them to see what there plan of action is.

Great result tricksy FairPlay to ye any win on the road is a great result

K.C.
09/12/2012, 7:05 PM
Leeds 0 Kilreen Celtic 9. 7 nil up at half time. Blown up with half an hour left. Well done tricksey. Great result.

Leftside
09/12/2012, 7:14 PM
Leeview progress to the last 8 of the AOH Cup after upsetting Glenvale today. 1-1 in the game and we held the nerve in the shoot out. Outstanding heart, passion and football on display from our boys today. Only sore point was a horrible injury to McBride, who broke his nose and I wish him a speedy recovery.

pacman
09/12/2012, 7:16 PM
Great win for innishvilla today. Like seeing them do well as they play some lovely ball.

backpass
09/12/2012, 10:51 PM
Leeview progress to the last 8 of the AOH Cup after upsetting Glenvale today. 1-1 in the game and we held the nerve in the shoot out. Outstanding heart, passion and football on display from our boys today. Only sore point was a horrible injury to McBride, who broke his nose and I wish him a speedy recovery.

Big upset but well done to ye.....glenvale flying at the moment so thats a nice result.....just goes to show that the lower league teams in the aul are not that bad especially the league that leeview are in....very strong for 3rd division.....i hope maccer is ok. Sound fella and a fantastic footballer

backpass
09/12/2012, 10:55 PM
I fancied a draw to be honest in this game but its a great result and well done inish....i think the glen are an ok team and credit to them for winning some trophies last year but that was last year and they need to remember that

1fortheTeam
09/12/2012, 11:04 PM
I fancied a draw to be honest in this game but its a great result and well done inish....i think the glen are an ok team and credit to them for winning some trophies last year but that was last year and they need to remember that
the glen were unlucky to lose home advantage and that counts for a lot .it was a tough draw the glen will bounce back .

1fortheTeam
09/12/2012, 11:09 PM
Big upset but well done to ye.....glenvale flying at the moment so thats a nice result.....just goes to show that the lower league teams in the aul are not that bad especially the league that leeview are in....very strong for 3rd division.....i hope maccer is ok. Sound fella and a fantastic footballerit was a hard game and very close and to be honest glenvale are an ok team but their better off going for the lst div....pens can go anyway and leeview deserved it...i did say it would be a long day lol .

Shilts
10/12/2012, 10:27 AM
i wasnt surprised at all well over rated is msl in fact i hear it should have been more well done glen celtic b..i think a few teams are playing football now and the big strong fit robots are gone .aul a lot better for football since 2 of the 3 moving over to msl.knockavilla sent out a big msg today well done oldlegs.roll on next week.

I don't agree with this statement.
When Cork AUL won the Oscar Traynor Cup only a few years back the team was built around Wilton, Leeside and Kinsale players.
In fact I think Kinsale had 5 or 6 on the squad.

1fortheTeam
10/12/2012, 10:55 AM
I don't agree with this statement.
When Cork AUL won the Oscar Traynor Cup only a few years back the team was built around Wilton, Leeside and Kinsale players.
In fact I think Kinsale had 5 or 6 on the squad.it shows how good wilton were so that they and others carried your 6 players .im not disputing what you won or achieved its 2nd to none its the style of play i didnt like.i see park and killumney on course to meet in fai if they both progress.

tricksey
10/12/2012, 12:37 PM
Drawn away to o duvaney dunard in Dublin anyone no anything about them ? I see park and killumney could meet!

1fortheTeam
10/12/2012, 12:45 PM
Drawn away to o duvaney dunard in Dublin anyone no anything about them ? I see park and killumney could meet!i hope you do well bud your a credit to the aul and what a result at the weeknd for you . i think you were at the coachford game to ?why didnt you say hi.:angel:

hotspur
10/12/2012, 12:53 PM
Drawn away to o duvaney dunard in Dublin anyone no anything about them ? I see park and killumney could meet!
Won me a few bob yesterday,were even money to beat Thurles Town yesterday away and they duly obliged,always in the latter stages of FAI;),Won 2 1 by the way

tricksey
10/12/2012, 4:33 PM
i hope you do well bud your a credit to the aul and what a result at the weeknd for you . i think you were at the coachford game to ?why didnt you say hi.:angel:
Haha thanks 1for I wasn't there but my teammates were :)

backpass
10/12/2012, 6:06 PM
Grattan busy bringing back some players to the club....one r two from premier teams going back to them along with another couple of decent players....i hope its true as id like to see them back to what they were

K.C.
10/12/2012, 6:28 PM
Grattan busy bringing back some players to the club....one r two from premier teams going back to them along with another couple of decent players....i hope its true as id like to see them back to what they were

Marky Sull, Shinkwin and Lofty played against us last week with Harry Goulding watching.

six-yard-box
10/12/2012, 6:48 PM
heard davey sull and brian sull going back aswell

littleman
10/12/2012, 9:34 PM
it shows how good wilton were so that they and others carried your 6 players .im not disputing what you won or achieved its 2nd to none its the style of play i didnt like.i see park and killumney on course to meet in fai if they both progress.

Whos style of play exactly

our_ball_ref
10/12/2012, 9:48 PM
Think he is talking bout the Kinsale style of play, long ball defending 1 or 2-0 leads, ill admit it wasn't pretty but how successful was it, would people prefer losing playing pretty or winning playing 'ugly'???

Suppose when you're lifting trophies and collecting medals come may I'm sure you wouldn care how you won them, Rockmount are another prime example and look how successful they were.

K.C.
10/12/2012, 10:29 PM
Think he is talking bout the Kinsale style of play, long ball defending 1 or 2-0 leads, ill admit it wasn't pretty but how successful was it, would people prefer losing playing pretty or winning playing 'ugly'???

Suppose when you're lifting trophies and collecting medals come may I'm sure you wouldn care how you won them, Rockmount are another prime example and look how successful they were.

Looking at the records books a few years later it will only say the name of the club as champions, not how they played to win ;)

littleman
10/12/2012, 10:32 PM
The most successful side in the Cork Aul over the last 15 years,most sucessful manager.4 Premier titles on the trot, the TROT. And that was with the Blarneys,Greenmounts,Leesides,Grattans and Wiltons all coming at them.Aoh and Mossie wins.Players capped at International,Junior and Amature.Reaching the open draw for the Fai and Mjc was the rule for them,not the exception.Christ some of there players have medal collections that whole sides now would'nt be able to pool together.And ya only Grattan could remove them from their perch to any great effect. They signed off the Aul buy winning the Premier on the trot again for good measure. A style of play is what we all aspire to,just cause its not easy on the eye it dosent mean we shouldnt show it any less respect. Who do you think is remembered,the ones who play nice or the ones who won. Folks have forgotten about lots of sides who played good ball. Cant see anyone forgetting about Kinsale any time soon.

hotspur
10/12/2012, 10:40 PM
Jaysus there's a blast from the past,littleman.

sharpshooter
10/12/2012, 10:50 PM

Winning playing ugly hands down.