View Full Version : Match series 19

Pages : 1 [2]

22/07/2012, 6:43 PM
Update online here but the game isn't being covered .... http://www.oceanfm.ie/home

http://www.corkcityfc.net/updates/

22/07/2012, 7:19 PM
City two up now, Vinny Sullivan with the second

22/07/2012, 7:31 PM
1-2 now, Quigley straight from a free kick. From the sounds of the game so far, it'll be difficult for Cork to hang on.

22/07/2012, 7:34 PM
1-2 now, Quigley straight from a free kick. From the sounds of the game so far, it'll be difficult for Cork to hang on.

Someone put a poodle on Quigleys head as well :)

22/07/2012, 7:42 PM
Long left?

swinfordfc
22/07/2012, 7:53 PM
2-2 5 left

Quigley pen

22/07/2012, 7:57 PM
2:2 full time

dong
22/07/2012, 8:08 PM
That will do.
Was always going to be a tough test to get three points against an in form Cork side and being two nil down with only around twenty minutes left you have to be happy enough.

22/07/2012, 8:20 PM
Good job sligo, put a tenner on ye at 6/5 for win/draw when ye were 1-0 down

redarmyfaction
22/07/2012, 8:20 PM
It was a smashing game of football tonight in the showgrounds

Nah Nah Nah Nah
22/07/2012, 8:57 PM
Excellent game of football alright. We've played a hell of a lot worse this season and won. Well on top for pretty much all the game but Cork were very dangerous on the break.

Strangest part of the night was Quigley and North having a game of rock, paper, scissors to decide who got to take the penalty. Quigley missed a sitter right at the end as well. How he wasn't started ahead of Dillon I don't know at all. Although he did give the ball away for their second goal.

22/07/2012, 9:04 PM
That could be a huge point for the bitters come the end of the season, especially as it's only three days after a long European trip.

22/07/2012, 9:28 PM
Quigley and North having a game of rock, paper, scissors to decide who got to take the penalty.

Obviously Quigley won but what did he pick?

22/07/2012, 10:59 PM
Best game I've seen all season, fast pace to the whole game. Cork dangerous on the break a few times, mainly us other than that. Would have been a tragedy if we didn't get a point, deserved all 3 but looked like we were gonna get nothing so happy enough in the end. No ground lost on Pat's so I'll take that.

Obviously Quigley won but what did he pick?Not scissors anyway, he hasn't seen that in a while.

23/07/2012, 12:02 AM
No ground lost on Pat's so I'll take that.

As for the Drogs? Easily forgettable i know but breathing down you necks?? 4pts ....Mick Cooke to Dundalk;)

23/07/2012, 12:54 AM
To think out of 17 games Shamrock Rovers have only managed to win 6 is amazing. Most considered it the best assembled LOI team ever. So much for dominating Irish Football for the next 5 or 6 years after to doing well in Europe which a few on this were afraid might happen.

Hats off to Mick Cooke and Drogheda United. They still seem to be tipping away under the radar without many talking about them.

23/07/2012, 1:10 AM
Who considered it the best assembled LOI team ever? I think most Rovers fans at least acknolwedged it was weaker than last year's side. Sullivan is back now, but he, Stevens and Sheppard were easily the best players in their position in the league when they left.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
23/07/2012, 5:46 AM
Obviously Quigley won but what did he pick?

I think they had to do it twice. Presume they must have picked the same first time.

Fivesilver
23/07/2012, 8:56 AM
Next few weeks is massive for us - away to Pat's, home to Drogheda, away to Shams. If we're to show that we can win the league, I'd be disappointed with less than five points out of that and very pleased with more. It's going to stretch our squad, but things are looking better with Connolly in there and PMilly showing he's good for 90.

Funny enough, we had Rovers legend Mick Leonard on the pitch at half-time. My last memory of seeing him playing in the Showgies was in a game where we came from two down to draw 2-2 with Cork Alberts, with Mick hitting the equaliser past Alex Ludzic.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
23/07/2012, 9:04 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E1po1D6RQrs

Quigleys goals and miss

23/07/2012, 9:48 AM
Who considered it the best assembled LOI team ever? I think most Rovers fans at least acknolwedged it was weaker than last year's side. Sullivan is back now, but he, Stevens and Sheppard were easily the best players in their position in the league when they left.

Plenty but I'm not going to go looking for every comment. It was across a few different boards also. It wasn't Shamrock Rovers fans by the way it was fans from most other clubs. Some top players left but also some very good replacements came in. Regardless of who is gone I still think a return of 6 wins is shocking and no one expected it. A lot on this thought ye would be challenged for a while but end up running away with it.

23/07/2012, 10:27 AM
Cracking free from Quigley there, makes me wish there was someone videoing Harps v Wexford the other night to show McHugh's free.

marinobohs
23/07/2012, 10:34 AM
Plenty but I'm not going to go looking for every comment. It was across a few different boards also. It wasn't Shamrock Rovers fans by the way it was fans from most other clubs. Some top players left but also some very good replacements came in. Regardless of who is gone I still think a return of 6 wins is shocking and no one expected it. A lot on this thought ye would be challenged for a while but end up running away with it.

Irrespective of the "best LOI squad/team ever (an argument/debate/discussion best had over a few post match pints :cool:) there is no doubt the current shams team have underachieved so far this season. when I have seen them this season they look very disjointed and not as good as the sum of the parts. Constnt changes (especialy in defence) and some dodgy new recruits have bled them of any consistency on the pitch. Some less than impressive team/tactics selections have also not helped Stephen Kennys case.

............... Long may it last ;)

Nailor
23/07/2012, 11:05 AM
Plenty but I'm not going to go looking for every comment. It was across a few different boards also. It wasn't Shamrock Rovers fans by the way it was fans from most other clubs. Some top players left but also some very good replacements came in. .

???? Brennan, Hawkins, Powell, Gilbert, Jannson not to mention the backroom non-entities, the current Rovers squad and set-up is a farce, likewise the manager and so-called coaches.

The fact that shligo have only increased their lead over the hoops by two points since the 3-0 trouncing in bitterville is possibly the only thing keeping spock in a job.

Hurry the fook up and finish the useless fecker off will yous

Nailor
23/07/2012, 11:08 AM
Any truth to the story goin round about SOC's head butt atempt on Ger O'Brien? and then having to jump into the away fans section to escape?

23/07/2012, 11:14 AM
Any truth to the story goin round about SOC's head butt atempt on Ger O'Brien? and then having to jump into the away fans section to escape?

Let this be true. :D

Possibly one of my favourite Limerick players of all time.

An utter see you n tee and couldn't care less. :)

23/07/2012, 1:52 PM
As for the Drogs? Easily forgettable i know but breathing down you necks?? 4pts ....Mick Cooke to Dundalk;)I'm not worried about Drogheda. Once we finish above Pat's we'll win the league.

DUFC4life
23/07/2012, 1:58 PM
I'm not worried about Drogheda. Once we finish above Pat's we'll win the league.
Im going to bookmark this page. Just in case I need to come back to it in November........

23/07/2012, 1:59 PM
Im going to bookmark this page. Just in case I need to come back to it in November........You won't.

23/07/2012, 2:01 PM
I don't think Drogs will win the league either but it will some story if they are still challenging come the run-in. There can't be any doubt that Mick Cooke will be manager of the year, is there? Stephen Kenny a close second.

marinobohs
23/07/2012, 3:02 PM
I don't think Drogs will win the league either but it will some story if they are still challenging come the run-in. There can't be any doubt that Mick Cooke will be manager of the year, is there? Stephen Kenny a close second.

Trust me Charlie, he would get the Bohs vote :cool:

Early days yet, can only really judge managers at the end of the season. A run of good/bad results or a cup win can change a season very quickly

noddy102
23/07/2012, 5:15 PM

They squared up after UCD equalised (GOB blaming SOC for the goal), head to head but definitely no head butt. The Pats fans took exception to this because it was against the 'captain' and abused SOC as he walked past them after the game. SOC gave some back and was escorted (along the normal route) to the dressing rooms by two stewards. Some idiotic fan then started kicking the fence beside the changing rooms as SOC walked in. All a load of nothing really.

23/07/2012, 5:44 PM
Glad someone took my idea and made it good!

http://i47.tinypic.com/2zf5utf.jpg

dong
23/07/2012, 7:30 PM
???? Brennan, Hawkins, Powell, Gilbert, Jannson not to mention the backroom non-entities, the current Rovers squad and set-up is a farce, likewise the manager and so-called coaches.

The fact that shligo have only increased their lead over the hoops by two points since the 3-0 trouncing in bitterville is possibly the only thing keeping spock in a job.

Hurry the fook up and finish the useless fecker off will yous

I think Shams got the points for beating Monaghan so that should really be five points.
I watched Shams. V Pats in Tallaght and they are really not that far off the pace.
I've said all along and still maintain that if we finish above them we will win the league.

bluemovie
23/07/2012, 7:39 PM
Didnt realise things were as tight as they were in the FD, I can't see Limerick not winning it (they had a wobble and still top), but Waterford have given themselves a great chance now of making the play off...............wouldnt that be interesting if it was v us, after the controversial match back in 1997, then again we did have a play off match since then, the 'no point playing' home & away games in 2006.............maxi-gate end to the season.

Don't forget 2nd plays 3rd in the First Division so we should have almost guaranteed a play-off spot by now - eleven points clear of Athlone with ten games left. We're back in with a chance of automatic promotion now, but another Dundalk Waterford play-off could be a possibility. Yeah we'll never forget the play-off that was worth 10 IAG points while a good DVD was worth 500 :bulgy:

23/07/2012, 8:31 PM
We're back in with a chance of automatic promotion now, but another Dundalk Waterford play-off could be a possibility. Yeah we'll never forget the play-off that was worth 10 IAG points while a good DVD was worth 500 :bulgy:

Thankfully you only have one more league game to beat us in this year and the gap, as it stands, is four points. :)

bluemovie
23/07/2012, 8:55 PM
Thankfully you only have one more league game to beat us in this year and the gap, as it stands, is four points. :)

How many points could Scully's flakiness cost though? ;) Nah I can't see us keeping our winning run going forever. Bound to have an off day. Could very easily be against Harps on Friday.

oriel
23/07/2012, 9:23 PM
I think it would be hard for a Drogs fan to ever admit as much to us, but even past the half way stage surely Drogs have to be considered one of the massive success stories of the year. I'm almost enjoying (well you know) watching their games, some style of free flowing passing, hard work, and is that 5 wins in a row, all with a budget designed for lower mid table safety. Hats off to their players and the magnificent job the manager is doing.

23/07/2012, 11:34 PM
I think it would be hard for a Drogs fan to ever admit as much to us, but even past the half way stage surely Drogs have to be considered one of the massive success stories of the year. I'm almost enjoying (well you know) watching their games, some style of free flowing passing, hard work, and is that 5 wins in a row, all with a budget designed for lower mid table safety. Hats off to their players and the magnificent job the manager is doing.

Yup! But i'm taking the sligo stance of choosing to ignore the Drog threat...(foolish game Sligoman and i'm sure that is exactly what Mick Cooke is hoping for). That team has a resiliance that is more solid than Sligo at the moment imo. Aside from this, how is it that Quigley is not always a starter - he seems to be brought on and changes a game thats being chased?

Nah Nah Nah Nah
24/07/2012, 7:17 AM
Yup! But i'm taking the sligo stance of choosing to ignore the Drog threat...(foolish game Sligoman and i'm sure that is exactly what Mick Cooke is hoping for). That team has a resiliance that is more solid than Sligo at the moment imo. Aside from this, how is it that Quigley is not always a starter - he seems to be brought on and changes a game thats being chased?

Not everyone is ignoring Drogs threat. He doesn't speak for everyone. There's a chance they could go top on Saturday week.

Quigley will be starting anymore I'd say. Was just coming back from injury for the Bray game, started against Derry and had personal problems of some variety last week

24/07/2012, 11:53 AM
I think Shams got the points for beating Monaghan so that should really be five points.
I watched Shams. V Pats in Tallaght and they are really not that far off the pace.
I've said all along and still maintain that if we finish above them we will win the league.
We are actually playing good football for the first time this season, so some of Kenny's reforms have gone through, it's just a shame it took him 5 months and reverting to MON's formation to do it. The problem is that Sheppard hasn't been replaced, so neutralise Twigg and you can get yourself a clean sheet. O'Neill can't score but we knew that last year. Huge responsibility on Killer now that he's fit again.

BohsFans
24/07/2012, 9:31 PM
They squared up after UCD equalised (GOB blaming SOC for the goal), head to head but definitely no head butt. The Pats fans took exception to this because it was against the 'captain' and abused SOC as he walked past them after the game. SOC gave some back and was escorted (along the normal route) to the dressing rooms by two stewards. Some idiotic fan then started kicking the fence beside the changing rooms as SOC walked in. All a load of nothing really.

He did indeed headbutt him. Contact was made. He also invited the "idiotic fan" outside afterwords, before kicking any fence. Classy guy Soccy!

24/07/2012, 9:31 PM
How many points could Scully's flakiness cost though? ;) Nah I can't see us keeping our winning run going forever. Bound to have an off day. Could very easily be against Harps on Friday.

I certainly hope so ;P