View Full Version : Match Series 17

06/07/2012, 4:43 PM
Pitch inspection in Tolka apparently.

Any others?

bullit
06/07/2012, 4:50 PM
Only 3 games tonight,UCD v Derry,Shels v DundalkFC and Waterford v Lims.Says on Twitter that the game at the RSC defo go's ahead.

06/07/2012, 5:00 PM
Is the weather bad down the country?

Scorcher up in Donegal all day, fookin roasted.

CraftyToePoke
06/07/2012, 5:46 PM
Is the weather bad down the country?

Soft day in Limerick I hear, no shortage of downpours.

06/07/2012, 6:04 PM
Shels v Dundalk is on.

06/07/2012, 6:05 PM
Have a feeling the Waterford and Limerick game could end in a draw. Waterford seem to be a bit of a "bogey" team for Limerick.

At 9/4 the draw is tempting.

Also, Dundalk at 5/1 against Shels, that's massive odds considering Dundalk's players are in a way putting themselves in the shop window.

A very conservative euro or 2 on those I think (and by a euro or 2, I literally mean that)

06/07/2012, 6:12 PM
Waterford seem to be a bit of a "bogey" team for Limerick.

Your gift for understatement is impressive. :)

06/07/2012, 6:15 PM
Put a tenner on a Limerick/Shels double. Partly to jinx Limerick.

06/07/2012, 6:41 PM
Your gift for understatement is impressive. :)

I've always been called "special", now I know why.

CraftyToePoke
06/07/2012, 7:05 PM
Not an evening for the beautiful game at the R.S.C. by the sounds of it.

06/07/2012, 7:08 PM
1-0 Limerick at the minute anyway.

NeverFeltBetter
06/07/2012, 7:12 PM
ET live update man indicates it has been bucketing down in Waterford:

Day 47: The skies continue to drop scorn from an angry God. Hope seems lost. I keep getting visions of a small sphere bouncing in every direction, what does it mean?

06/07/2012, 7:12 PM
Behan with the goal.

06/07/2012, 7:13 PM
The Extratime updates are great craic.

Both sets of fans have been in good voice early on here. There's been more drumming than at a Congolese wedding, and Waterford's fans are now starting to look like they've been jilted at the altar.

Shane Tracy beats Paul Carey like the first level of Super Mario and Denis Behan thrashes his cut-back beyond Packie Holden.

A sliding challenge on this surface quickly becomes a Winter Olympics bobsleigh event. Which is nice.

The pitch is wet, lady and gentleman. Surface water is exploding like a very low altitude fireworks show with every heavy step.

06/07/2012, 7:19 PM
UCD 0-1 Derry at the minute.

EDIT: McLaughlin with the goal. Little b**tard.

06/07/2012, 7:20 PM
The Extratime updater is on crack.

Fixed.

06/07/2012, 7:30 PM
More bad news for Dundalk. 1-0 down at Shels.

06/07/2012, 7:35 PM
Philip Gorman

NeverFeltBetter
06/07/2012, 7:46 PM
Some more from ET:

I'm feeling the love on Twitter right now. This game is what I imagine war reporting to be like, so I really appreciate the kind words.

Was that the worst half of football this ancient isle has ever seen? That's for history to judge, though I firmly believe it was.

Waterford's first real chance comes through a nice nutmeg from Peter Higgins down the right. The midfielder's low cross is skied over however by Peter White, whose great taste in cinema can't help him now.

Tonight's updates are brought to you by Nintendo.

CraftyToePoke
06/07/2012, 7:52 PM
I think the lads on there are quality, the English lads here at work with me are in stitches at some of it again, cant believe it compared to the ultra bland reports and updates you'd usually find on BBC etc.

06/07/2012, 7:56 PM
1-1 at RSC... Ex-Limerick player Peter White.

NeverFeltBetter
06/07/2012, 7:59 PM
Waterford well on top now, from what I'm reading.

06/07/2012, 8:03 PM
Limerick just had a goal disallowed.

06/07/2012, 8:05 PM
2-1 Waterford.

06/07/2012, 8:08 PM
801 in Tolka tonight

bullit
06/07/2012, 8:09 PM
2-1 Waterford.

Suddenly the ET updates aren't so funny !! :D

06/07/2012, 8:14 PM
Shels 2 up

Gorman

NeverFeltBetter
06/07/2012, 8:15 PM
Oh they still are:

I may not have long so I'll just quickly say that whatever happens tonight, Pat Scully has at least won in the fashion stakes. The Limerick boss is sporting a trendy three-piece number with a subtle but classy waistcoat. Paul O'Brien is wearing a Waterford tracksuit. Truly a clash of styles here at the RSC.

06/07/2012, 8:18 PM
3-0 Shels. Bad times to be a Dundalk fan.

06/07/2012, 8:19 PM
Feck off Nigel

06/07/2012, 8:21 PM
Well..it is.

In other news

The Waterford fans, who I likened to a jilted groom at the altar earlier, are now behaving as if Megan Fox has wandered past and offered a pity union.

Somewhere, the Rubberbandits are weeping into their plastic bags. It's all gone Pete Tong once again at the RSC.

06/07/2012, 8:22 PM
Nigel, feck off.

06/07/2012, 8:23 PM
If it makes you feel any better, Harps will probably lose to Mervue tomorrow night.

06/07/2012, 8:27 PM
Terribly sorry Dunny. Tis 4-0.

06/07/2012, 8:28 PM
OG aswell

06/07/2012, 8:32 PM
Derry with a man sent off. Simon Madden with 2 yellows.

06/07/2012, 9:36 PM
Cheers Waterford, I guess. We still have to win tomorrow mind you. Perhaps we'll have learned to defend since last week. McDonagh may help with that I guess.

wonder88
06/07/2012, 10:01 PM
Limerick's loss to Waterford gives Longford a great opportunity. Pat Scully must have a good contract that would cost a big payout for Limerick if they sacked him because it looks like he is getting a poor return for the resouces/playing budget given to him.

bullit
06/07/2012, 10:10 PM
Dunny has a new fan :D

Dean Hayes ‏@DeanGHayes (https://twitter.com/DeanGHayes) Hello new followers! I'd like to think one of you is the guy from Foot.ie who said I was on crack. I'm not...most of the time.

L.T.F.C.
06/07/2012, 11:03 PM
Bootiful.

06/07/2012, 11:55 PM
Limerick's loss to Waterford gives Longford a great opportunity. Pat Scully must have a good contract that would cost a big payout for Limerick if they sacked him because it looks like he is getting a poor return for the resouces/playing budget given to him.

From what I had heard it wouldn't cost much to get rid of him at all.

Seems we are great against the weaker teams but muck against half decent teams with more hunger.

We have now lost 4 out 5 games against the other teams fighting for promotion. Shocking record really.

Waterford deserved their win as we barely created anything.

07/07/2012, 8:01 AM
Dunny has a new fan :D

Christ, we are being watched! :D

Im not on the Twitter machine tho Dean.

http://download.lardlad.com/framegrabs/2F08/035.jpg

bullit
07/07/2012, 8:33 AM
Four fixtures today,Sligo R v Bray W. live on RTé @ 3.45

SDG v WexfordYouths @ 7PM

Longford T. v Athlone T. @ 7.30

Finn Harps v Mervue U @ 8pm

07/07/2012, 9:15 AM
3.45? wow

dong
07/07/2012, 12:46 PM
3.45? wow

Surprised?

07/07/2012, 1:49 PM
Didnt even know this was on TV. Something to watch now. :)

07/07/2012, 1:54 PM
Thoroughly enjoyed last night's game, despite the relatively poor standard of play and terrible weather.

Went with a 4-3-3, strangely enough, with Eddie McCallion in midfield. UCD played well in spells, forced Doherty into a couple of cracker saves. Doubt they'll finish bottom this season.

Some banter in the stands too. Twigg, Turner, Sives and Jansson were behind us, Turner getting a good touch now. And then Éamon Zayed turned up.
Terrible attendance, horrible weather, poor football but a great night. One of those ones that make following the LoI brilliant.

bullit
07/07/2012, 3:00 PM
*prompt*- start making some noise Sligo supporters ffs

07/07/2012, 3:03 PM
New stand looks well.

07/07/2012, 3:05 PM
If they filled in the two corners on that end now and had some sort of small terrace on the far end it would look fantastic.