View Full Version : Match Series 17

Pages : 1 [2]

theworm2345
07/07/2012, 3:53 PM
Goal Byrne, mistake by Davoren.

EDIT: Excellent run and finish there by Alan Keane.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
07/07/2012, 4:57 PM
Another bad performance by us

abcd
07/07/2012, 5:09 PM
Must say that was an enjoyable game. Sligo piled on the pressure late on and could have won it but overall Bray deserved at least a point. Sligo were below their best but Bray isn't going to be an easy game for anyone for the rest of the season. Bray defended well. Keane's goal was a bit too handy but they did the basics well and looked relatively comfortable for most of the game. Danny North didn't have his best day in a Sligo jersey.

Fair play to the Sligo fans for clapping Jason Byrne off (even at a stage when Bray were trying to run down the clock), really again showed today why he has been a quality player in this league for over a decade now, took his goal well and held up and laid off a lot of ball when Bray were struggling to get out. Really think he could have had another year at a top club in the league, he mightn't do much running but he is extremely streetwise and always a threat.

Must say the Showgrounds is starting to take shape nicely as well, hopefully developing the ground can be an enduring legacy for them from this strong period for the club.

Big game at Tallaght tomorrow. Pats can make a major statement tomorrow with a result. If Rovers lose I think the game is up for Stephen Kenny and it'll leave them with a mountain to climb to regain the title. If Rovers win it puts them back within 6.

CraftyToePoke
07/07/2012, 7:34 PM
H.T. - 0-0 between Longford and Athlone.

legendz
07/07/2012, 7:58 PM
North should have won the game for Sligo. It was a bad miss. In a different code, if the Gooch missed a chance like that, I'd be shocked.

gufc2000
07/07/2012, 7:59 PM
It said in the team news for Finn Harps/Mervue that Thomas McBride has been banned for 7 games for picking up his 2nd red card of the season. What did he do to warrant that, or is that an other crazy FAI rule? That's a quarter of the First Division season after all

07/07/2012, 8:05 PM
Must say the Showgrounds is starting to take shape nicely as well, hopefully developing the ground can be an enduring legacy for them from this strong period for the club.

Getting worse for away fans though. That away section is horrible. The cage/gate half way down the stand is completely unneccessary. The Showgrounds now has the worst view in the country if you're an away fan (or a home fan in the same stand, I suppose).

CraftyToePoke
07/07/2012, 8:07 PM
It said in the team news for Finn Harps/Mervue that Thomas McBride has been banned for 7 games for picking up his 2nd red card of the season. What did he do to warrant that, or is that an other crazy FAI rule? That's a quarter of the First Division season after all

I think there was some afters following his sending off in Limerick last week, don't recall all the details. I don't think he went peacefully though, may have payed inappropriate attention to a corner flag en route also.

07/07/2012, 8:11 PM
Getting worse for away fans though. That away section is horrible. The cage/gate half way down the stand is completely unneccessary. The Showgrounds now has the worst view in the country if you're an away fan (or a home fan in the same stand, I suppose).

The view from the away section in Hunky Dunky park is terrible.

gufc2000
07/07/2012, 8:11 PM
Salthill 2-2 Wexford (res)

Finn Harps 3-2 Mervue (latest)

Longford 0-0 Athlone (latest)

CraftyToePoke
07/07/2012, 8:22 PM
Longford 0-0 Athlone (latest)

5 minutes added on.

MeathDrog
07/07/2012, 8:25 PM
The view from the away section in Hunky Dunky park is terrible.

As is Oriels.

QED there are poor views in the away terraces in LOI.

07/07/2012, 8:25 PM

It was mentioned here after last week's games that he had apparently spat at a team-mate? Don't know if it was confirmed. He definitely threw a kick at a corner flag and got quite vocal at officials, team-mates and supporters on his way to the dressing room too.

Also, come on Athlone, hold on, damn ye!

CraftyToePoke
07/07/2012, 8:30 PM
Also, come on Athlone, hold on, damn ye!

They have. Looks like they weren't beyond half way in the second half bar a late chance to steal it, but they hung on. Nothing like papering over cracks SLK, nothing like it.

07/07/2012, 8:33 PM
We were due a draw unfortunately. We need a proper goal scorer our strikers just don't score enough.

Battery Rover
07/07/2012, 8:40 PM
We were due a draw unfortunately. We need a proper goal scorer our strikers just don't score enough.

We are the same boat but I would reckon 3/4 more players to be signed during the week which will strengthen the squad in the areas we need.

07/07/2012, 8:59 PM
Ye seem to be on the right track the same as ourselves. There might be some Premier Division derbies in the next couple of years which would be novel.

Battery Rover
07/07/2012, 9:04 PM
We might have an El Classico play off this season which would be a very tense affair.

atfconline
07/07/2012, 9:40 PM
Longford in the first match (just coz) and some revenge against UCD in the second.

07/07/2012, 9:57 PM
Reckon Waterford have the edge for the third spot at the moment. I can see us finishing second to Limerick though, certainly.

NeverFeltBetter
07/07/2012, 10:40 PM
It was mentioned here after last week's games that he had apparently spat at a team-mate? Don't know if it was confirmed. He definitely threw a kick at a corner flag and got quite vocal at officials, team-mates and supporters on his way to the dressing room too.

I was speaking to a few of the lads down by that corner flag near the end of that game and they all said that MacBride spat at his own keeper. I think he was booked for the foul that brought the penalty, and saw another yellow for the spitting and "unprofessional conduct".

I wouldn't be too sure about the justice of the a 7 match ban, considering the overall length of the FD season and things that can happen in the heat of the moment, but it wasn't acceptable behavior.

07/07/2012, 10:48 PM
I'd say he was abusive to the officials either on the pitch or after the match. Sounds like he lost the plot anyway.

08/07/2012, 12:53 AM
Another horrible penalty given against us tonight, that's 3 poor decisions in a row, what have we done that's so bad to the officials?

Rhona Daly done our game tonight, had a very good 1st half, then gives a horrible penalty decision (our defender clears the ball, she deems it to be high foot even though Mervue guy's head was only 2 feet from the ground) and totally loses the run of the game (which was not a hard game to ref) pointing in the wrong direction for frees and realising her mistake and pointing in the other direction. A real pity, she was doing a really good job, getting most decisions right, then, she goes and gives everyone ammo to attack female officials.

08/07/2012, 1:38 AM
Sam, you're a sound guy from all appearances on here but I don't think I've ever seen you agree with a penalty decision against Harps. They can't all be the wrong call all the time.

08/07/2012, 2:59 AM
Sam, you're a sound guy from all appearances on here but I don't think I've ever seen you agree with a penalty decision against Harps. They can't all be the wrong call all the time.

Whether he's wrong or not most times, tonight was the most bizzare penalty decision I've ever seen given in a football game at any level. She had a great first half as said, but completely lost the plot in the 2nd half. All over the place, and visibly so.

legendz
08/07/2012, 7:38 AM
Whether he's wrong or not most times, tonight was the most bizzare penalty decision I've ever seen given in a football game at any level. She had a great first half as said, but completely lost the plot in the 2nd half. All over the place, and visibly so.

It wasn't a penalty in Limerick last week either. I had a good view of it. It was definitely outside the box and should have been a free-kick.

08/07/2012, 9:11 AM
Longford sent us up a DVD of the game it clearly showed that penalty to be a bad call.
Most Limerick folk plus our players are 100% certain the penalty last week was a clear foul outside the box and never a pen.
Hopefully the dude doing the groundhopper video caught the incident for the pen last night, absolutely shocking, the Mervue manager turned and laughed to the boys on the bench in disbelief.

Believe it or not, that's 3 pens against us in 3 games and none of them should have been awarded.

p.s. Im not a sound guy, I just seem that way at times, just depends on what Meds Im on at the time :terror:

08/07/2012, 2:02 PM
Rovers: Jannson, Sives, Rice, Powell, Oman, McCormack, McCabe, Finn, Brennan, Greene, Twigg

SUBS: Pieterse, Turner, O'Neill, Kavanagh, Hawkins, Gilbert, Dennehy

Pats: Clarke, Browne, Carroll, Flynn, Kenna, Bolger, Chambers, Jake Kelly, Russell, Flood, Dean Kelly

SUBS: Bermingham, Coombes, Hyland, Meenan, Murphy, O'Connor, Price

08/07/2012, 4:19 PM
They have. Looks like they weren't beyond half way in the second half bar a late chance to steal it, but they hung on. Nothing like papering over cracks SLK, nothing like it.

If we can paper all the way to the Premier I will upgrade my view of crack papering. ;)

08/07/2012, 5:14 PM
Rovers 1-1 Pats FT

Currently 0-0 Bohs v Cork

08/07/2012, 6:51 PM
Cork 1-1 Bohs FT

dong
08/07/2012, 8:45 PM
John Russell is a class act.
Even though he had a quiet enough game he was always looking to receive the ball and his workrate is phenomenal.
Beautiful bit of work to set up the goal too.
Thought Shams should really have had it sown up at that stage. Looked like Powell fell asleep to let Flynn in.
Good atmosphere out there with plenty of singing from both sets of fans.

monkey9
08/07/2012, 8:51 PM
John Russell is a class act.
Even though he had a quiet enough game he was always looking to receive the ball and his workrate is phenomenal.
Beautiful bit of work to set up the goal too.
Thought Shams should really have had it sown up at that stage. Looked like Powell fell asleep to let Flynn in.
Good atmosphere out there with plenty of singing from both sets of fans.

John Russell is so good, i just can't believe it. I know you Sligo fans were gutted when he left and trust me, the Pats fans really appreciate him. He's just immense!

PartySaint
09/07/2012, 12:12 AM
We were crap, Russell and Clarke our best players. Some Sligo fans claiming Russell wouldn't get into their team LOL

Missing Ger O'Brien, Bermo, Forrester and Fagan and still got a draw, it's lucky we weren't playing a good team.

09/07/2012, 7:29 AM
Cork 1-1 Bohs FTWell in control from start to finish.
Duffer scored in the first half. his shot seemed to squirm under the Bohs keeper.
Tommy then shoots himself in the foot by replacing Kalen Spillane at centre half with Kevin Murray and with his first touch he hands Bohs a completely undeserved last minute penalty.
Bohs player was very cute and waited for the contact before he Darren Quiglied himself on to the floor.
Game should have been out of sight before this, had enough chances and only Tommy Dunne to blame.

dong
09/07/2012, 7:45 AM
Some Sligo fans claiming Russell wouldn't get into their team LOL

Never heard or read anything but positive comments on Russell from 99% of Sligo fans.
Obviously you will get an odd fool who knows nothing about the game.

wonder88
09/07/2012, 9:08 AM
Russell was always a good player but is getting more notice now that he is with a Dublin club. Does this result mean that the Shamrock fans (and Sadlier) still want Kenny out after 6 months at the club ?

Trainee
09/07/2012, 9:40 AM
Does this result mean that the Shamrock fans still want Kenny out after 6 months at the club ?

Rovers fans were signing we want Kenny out at Full time.

If Rovers fail to bet Dundalk on Friday he has to go

marinobohs
09/07/2012, 10:33 AM
Rovers fans were signing we want Kenny out at Full time.

If Rovers fail to bet Dundalk on Friday he has to go

Little doubt the majority of shams support have lost faith in Kenny as manager. Issue is can they afford to let him go ? Obviously to this point they cant/wont accept the cost of getting rid of him but I suspect that may change unless there is a dramatic improvement in results.

09/07/2012, 11:05 AM
Strange game in Tallaght. It's probably the best I've seen Rovers play against a Buckely managed side and they were good value for the lead. It was some of the best ball retention I've seen from them in a long time and they pressed Pat's right up the pitch, not allowing them to play out from the back, you could see this frustrating the Pat's keeper and defenders. Then it was the same old story, completely abandonded the high pressing game as soon as they scored and just invited waves of Pat's pressure, didn't commit anyone forward to support Twigg on the break so it wasn't sticking up front at all and Pat's got the inevitable equaliser. Having said that Twigg did have a great chance to make it 2-0 with a one-on-one but the Pat's keeper did well to save it. I think that was close to Rovers stongest side and the formation that suits them best, if their confidence wasn't so fragile they should be capable of putting together the results to get back in the title race, but with Kenny under so much pressure it's bound to filter down to the players so it's hard to see them getting it right. Maybe the European games will bring some welcome distraction and a couple of positive results to kick start their season.