View Full Version : English team arrive to greetings from Irish supporters

Pages : 1 [2]

07/06/2012, 4:36 PM
I see those 10 or so Irish fans managed to get the grandstand position. They certainly made themselves heard. I don't really see what the fuss is about, not that I'd bother wasting my breath at the English team bus, never mind a precious alcohol fumed breath.

I hope that bus driver improves on his turning skills.

07/06/2012, 5:12 PM
Would there not have been a lot of Irish staying around this area?
Presumably it is a 'decent' area to stay in? I mean why else would the English choose it?
Anyway it seems the England camp is in a a busy tourist area of the city where visitors are likely to be, so no surprise that there are Irish there, I expect many Irish will be staying in such an area, you are going to make the best of it when you go out there, not just camp outside the stadium!! (if you can afford it)

07/06/2012, 6:47 PM
A glance at the notoriously catty hotel review website Tripadvisor might sound a few notes of caution for England's mercilessly pampered travelling stars. The Stary's facilities are rated as "limited" by one guest. Dingy rooms and being "kept awake to 5 in the morning" by a wedding party are also cited along with, most alarmingly of all, the observation that it is "quite loud as it is located in the party district".

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2011/nov/07/england-hotel-stary-krakow-euro-2012

So the England team chose the noisiest amd most rowdy place they could find.
No surprise there were a good few Irish fans in this district and no surprise they got a lively reception.

07/06/2012, 7:04 PM
Seems the English were upset they retorted with ""You're going down with the euro".
I hope three is action taken to stop the fans who chanted that ever supporting England oversea in the future :p

07/06/2012, 7:12 PM
I think you are over-egging the 'upset',TC.

Céad míle fáilte for the England team (http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/competitions/euro-2012/9315503/Euro-2012-England-hierarchy-attempt-to-douse-flames-of-Rio-Ferdinand-selection-furore-as-team-get-warm-welcome.html)

They arrived like rock stars, given the big build-up. For an hour, the English and the Irish supporters had been trading banter outside the Hotel Stary, a boutique establishment with two roof terraces for sun-bathing and a cave where players can rub themselves in salt. Life’s a grind.
The mood was good-natured, a game of verbal ping-pong breaking out to wile the time away. The English began teasing the Irish with chants of “Thierry Henry”, a reminder of the Frenchman’s handling offence in Paris, which prompted a riposte of “One Maradona”. The English, showing rare awareness of life beyond the sports pages, responded by serenading the Irish with “You’re going down with the Euro”.

The Legend
07/06/2012, 8:43 PM
lol reading the reaction to this on some english forums, i saw some of the most anti-irish comments i have ever seen. Some of them were so blatantly historically incorrect it was funny. Ah its good to see the 'ol rivalry hasn't been killed off by the new generation yet.

mark12345
07/06/2012, 8:55 PM
Are you saying he's not a racist then....;)

I'm not saying he is or isn't and if he is that's his problem. But it's not outs. Why are our lads going out of their way to start the sh**. What was all that about the great Irish supporters and how they travel so well and make friends wherever they go?

But I guess I'm in the minority here. I have been in the company of English fans and paid them the due respect when their team was playing. Found I got as good as I gave. But as I say, I'm in the minority.

DannyInvincible
07/06/2012, 9:10 PM
lol reading the reaction to this on some english forums, i saw some of the most anti-irish comments i have ever seen. Some of them were so blatantly historically incorrect it was funny. Ah its good to see the 'ol rivalry hasn't been killed off by the new generation yet.

Where's this?

07/06/2012, 9:43 PM
I'll be interested to see how England do. But its all about Ireland for me, what England do is largely irrelevant.

In fairness I think what happened what primarily just banter, still thou if I knew the England team bus was around the corner, don't think I'd bother go for a look

07/06/2012, 9:51 PM
But I guess I'm in the minority here. I have been in the company of English fans and paid them the due respect when their team was playing. Found I got as good as I gave. But as I say, I'm in the minority.

Never.

I hope they crash and burn as always. They are our neighbours and there's nothing more enjoyable than your neighbour making a balls of it.

If France beat England I will be the first one onto my English mates to slag them.

I land in London at 9pm on Monday night so hopefully I'll get the aftermath of an English loss. NYIAOW!

07/06/2012, 10:59 PM
I'll be interested to see how England do. But its all about Ireland for me, what England do is largely irrelevant.

In fairness I think what happened what primarily just banter, still thou if I knew the England team bus was around the corner, don't think I'd bother go for a look

Course you would!!
I bet you would.
I would I woudl take a look if Jedwards or One Directions tour bus turned up round the corner despite
not wanting to be associated with either. It's normal curiosity.

youngirish
07/06/2012, 11:32 PM
It could have been helped if the Irish fans (or at least a small number of them) hadn't decided to act like idiots.

I agree. All this behaviour shows to the average English person is that we are a small nation still carrying a chip on our shoulder. The English generally couldn't give a **** about the Irish team, we are not even on their radar most of the time.

Crosby87
07/06/2012, 11:34 PM
You love Jedward Tricky.

ArdeeBhoy
08/06/2012, 12:18 AM
I'm not saying he is or isn't and if he is that's his problem. But it's not outs. Why are our lads going out of their way to start the sh**. What was all that about the great Irish supporters and how they travel so well and make friends wherever they go?

What sh*t? It's banter, as countless others have said. You're so wrong about decent 'Ingerland' fans it's untrue. We just respect each other. End of.

All this behaviour shows to the average English person is that we are a small nation still carrying a chip on our shoulder. The English generally couldn't give a **** about the Irish team, we are not even on their radar most of the time.

Where have you been living?
Or are you oblivious to the last 800+ years of Irish history??

DannyInvincible
08/06/2012, 12:31 AM
I agree. All this behaviour shows to the average English person is that we are a small nation still carrying a chip on our shoulder. The English generally couldn't give a **** about the Irish team, we are not even on their radar most of the time.

Dunno about that. They seemed pretty pumped up for a friendly the last time we played them:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YOhQp8ENmzs

08/06/2012, 12:53 AM
You love Jedward Tricky.

Certainly do, got all their records, and wait outside their hotel screaming my pants off!! ;)

08/06/2012, 12:57 AM
Certainly do, got all their records, and wait outside their hotel screaming my pants off!! ;)

That's a very important "s". I read it a bit too quickly there a second ago.

08/06/2012, 12:59 AM

I am really surprised by all these comments, apparently it was the English fans who started chanting "Thierry Henry" at the Irish fans.
What it shows to me is a bunch or bored Irish fan's going to greet the English team in typical football fan irreverent manner.
This kind of stuff is bog standard in the English leagues between rivals, except that this is far milder and friendlier.
Had a Man U coach drove through Liverpool it would likely have had it's windows smashed.

08/06/2012, 1:00 AM
That's a very important "s". I read it a bit too quickly there a second ago.

I see what you mean!!

08/06/2012, 1:02 AM
I am really surprised by all these comments, apparently it was the English fans who started chanting "Thierry Henry" at the Irish fans.
What it shows to me is a bunch or bored Irish fan's going to greet the English team in typical football fan irreverent manner.
This kind of stuff is bog standard in the English leagues between rivals, except that this is far milder and friendlier.
Had a Man U coach drove through Liverpool it would likely have had it's windows smashed.

Imagine if they drove their coach through Sligo.

08/06/2012, 1:03 AM
I see the video has 'gone global' on the youtube sports most viewed page!!
Unsurprisingly I might add.

ArdeeBhoy
08/06/2012, 1:08 AM
Imagine if they drove their coach through Sligo.

Or even worse, Doire. Or more seriously Dundalk!!

Not Ringsend, mind.;)

ArdeeBhoy
08/06/2012, 1:10 AM
Dunno about that. They seemed pretty pumped up for a friendly the last time we played them:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YOhQp8ENmzs

Though actually I'm wrong. These cretins the Guards struggled with initially should remember Ringsend.
The first part of their downwards spiral that evening...

Crosby87
08/06/2012, 1:12 AM
What with the racism, the various situation of injuries, and bound to be surprise teams, plus the usual problem of "its not a party without the Irish" solved...
This may be one hell of a time.

08/06/2012, 2:31 AM
This is hooliganism? My good god are you for real?

Yeah, I am for real. Are you?

Look at what happened and how it's going to be perceived.

A bunch of Irish showed up at the England team's arrival reception and started shouting: "you'll never beat the Irish" and also called John Terry a racist. First of all they went out of their way to show up at an event which had nothing to do with Ireland and therefore it will be perceived that these clown were looking to start trouble. And that is exactly what they were doing.

English people, anywhere they may be, can only feel slighted by that sort of behaviour - given that it was unprovoked - and who the hell can blame them? And that could very easily translate into a hiding for some innocent Irish person during the tournament if the Irish / English paths should cross. I mean it's simple logic.

As JByrne says. How would we feel if a group of English fans did the same?

If you can't see that logic my friend, well.........................

Seriously lad, if this is what you think hooliganism is, you're living a very sheltered life.

Like most, I wouldn't give a flying feck if English fans do the same. It's football. There's was nothing over the top and no 'party tunes'. You're 'logic' is sensitive over the top nonsense.

Fixer82
08/06/2012, 2:46 AM

Both of them? Cool!!!