View Full Version : FAI cup round 2 latest
bullit
24/05/2012, 8:45 PM
Fixtures & betting(PP) -
FRIDAY
Bray W. 7/4 Draw 11/5 Shels 6/4 (live RTE2 7:05 ko)
Blarney U 13/8 Draw 12/5 Malahide U 5/4
BohemianFC 2/9 Draw 9/2 Drumkeen U 11/1
Cork C 1/5 Draw 5/1 Athlone T 11/1
Derry C 1/6 Draw 11/2 Finn Harps 12/1
Drogs U 1/6 Draw 11/2 Mayfield U 12/1
DundalkFC 4/7 Draw 11/4 St Patrick CYFC 9/2
SD Galway 0/30 Draw 11/5 Mervue U 8/11
Sligo R 2/9 Draw 5/1 Mons U 9/1
UCD 3/10 Draw 7/2 Phoenix FC 8/1
Shams R 2/5 Draw 0/30 Limerick FC 13/2
SUNDAY:
Kildrum Tigers 9/2 Draw 5/2 Avondale U 8/15
Cherry Orchard 11/2 Draw 3/1 Longford T. 4/9
Douglas Hall 9/2 Draw 11/4 Wexford Y. 8/15
Everton AFC 5/1 Draw 3/1 Waterford U. 4/9
St.Patricks Ath. 2/7 Draw 4/1 Crumlin U. 8/1
-------------------------
PartySaint
24/05/2012, 9:02 PM
St Pats CY at 9/2 to beat Dundalk must be the shortest price for a non-league side away to a Premier Division team ever
thomas72
24/05/2012, 10:27 PM
joe gamble and denis behan missing for limerick huge losses need a full strenght team going up there to have any chance two keys players out cant see it myself
24/05/2012, 10:30 PM
joe gamble and denis behan missing for limerick huge losses need a full strenght team going up there to have any chance two keys players out cant see it myself
Its a big ask alright if ye are not full strength.
Here is an article about the City v Athlone game, good read (http://www.eveningecho.ie/2012/05/24/the-return-of-john-osullivan-to-turners-cross-with-athlone-town/).
PartySaint
24/05/2012, 10:40 PM
Ah that's a shame, ruins that game of any sort of contest. I was undecided whether to go to that game or the Bray Shels one. Bray Shels it is now
gufc2000
25/05/2012, 10:51 AM
It's evenings like this you miss when your team is gone. Always looked forward to this round of the FAI Cup.
adamd164
25/05/2012, 11:01 AM
Very little value to be had in those odds anywhere really, as is usually the case at this stage of the cup. If I was having a bet, maybe a double:
Malahide to beat Blarney,
Bray to beat Shels.
Battery Rover
25/05/2012, 11:33 AM
Might be a bit of value in Salthill @ 100/30 as it will very much depend on what Mervue United team turns up and Douglas Hall @ 9/2 looks ok against Wexford.
25/05/2012, 11:53 AM
Douglas Hall and maybe Athlone for a bit of value, 11/1 just seems a bit too high.
25/05/2012, 1:07 PM
And you can add Gary Sheehan, Cian Collins, Derek O Brien and Dominic Foley to the list too.
If we can stay anyway solid at the back we will give it a good go. We have some excellent young players. If we struggle t the back at all we are goosed.
25/05/2012, 3:19 PM
http://donegalnews.com/2012/05/25/harps-derry-hoodoo-explored/
Good piece on the Harps jinx against Derry.
We're out to 12/1 now, still too short considering we're missing O'Donnell, mcHugh, Clarke, Curtis, McGinty and Carlin.
adamd164
25/05/2012, 3:21 PM
And you can add Gary Sheehan, Cian Collins, Derek O Brien and Dominic Foley to the list too.
Derek seems to be injured most of the season so far, he's always struggling with it. Shame, was one of our best players last year on his day.
sullanefc
25/05/2012, 6:45 PM
Bray 0-1 Shels
thomas72
25/05/2012, 7:05 PM
cant believe the limerick team no bradley, sheehan, behan, gamble, foley, alot of of very young lads starting couple of 17 plus 18yr old in there experiance will do them good could be a long night
Bohs 2-0 up on Drumkeen United.
Drumkeen - they must have links with Derry City fans?
adamd164
25/05/2012, 7:29 PM
Latest:
Bray Wanderers 1-1 Shelbourne FC
Blarney United 1-1 Malahide United
Bohemians 2-0 Drumkeen United
Cork City 3-1 Athlone Town
Derry City 2-0 Finn Harps
Drogheda Utd 2-0 Mayfield United
Dundalk FC 0-0 St Patrick's CYFC
SD Galway 0-0 Mervue United
Sligo Rovers 1-1 Monaghan United
UCD 1-1 Phoenix FC NR
Shamrock Rovers 0-0 Limerick
Blarney United 1-2 Malahide United
"start spreading the news..."
Nah Nah Nah Nah
25/05/2012, 8:30 PM
3 1 to Monaghan
MeathDrog
25/05/2012, 8:46 PM
What the f--- happened in the Showgies?
horton
25/05/2012, 8:46 PM
Bohs 2-0 up on Drumkeen United.
Drumkeen - they must have links with Derry City fans?
badum tish:p
thomas72
25/05/2012, 8:52 PM
ref is screwing limerick big time in talla 2 stonewall pens turned down disgrace it was a pen in ice hockey
25/05/2012, 8:55 PM
Just out of Mass for my cousins husband months mind. Think a
m gonna go to mass instead of matches from now on!!!! Whooohooooo!!
adamd164
25/05/2012, 8:57 PM
Thanks Mons ;)
Dave_SRFC
25/05/2012, 8:58 PM
The bit of poop must be gutted going out at such an early stage...
25/05/2012, 9:11 PM
Phoenix put in a good shift against UCD tonight, they were well organised and hungry for the tie. Superior quality and fitness won out in the end though.
Always nice to see the favourite go out straight away, allows the dream to grow just that little bit more.
El-Pietro
25/05/2012, 10:19 PM
we were so poor for the first 30 minutes or so. slow, ponderous, passing all over the place. Athlone really took the game to us and could have been up by 2 or 3. Once we scored the first though we never looked back. Vinny Sullivan scored three and was unlucky not to get a a fourth with a beautiful chip that looked to have beaten the keeper but just went over the bar.
Tadhg Purcell should have had 4 or 5, he had one chance early on, just before Vinny scored our first where he was one on one with the keeper and rather than shooting allowed their defence to catch up with him and only ended up with a corner (which we proceeded to score from). Still nice confidence boost for the team and we got to give a couple of younger players a run out.
SwanVsDalton
25/05/2012, 11:37 PM
Three excellent goals for City out of the four scored against Harps. McLaughlin's second is a contender for goal of the season - flicked the ball up with his foot before hitting it on the volley from 20 yards, looping over Gallagher and in the top corner. Screamer.
Harps were a little unlucky, created a couple of decent early chances, and you could tell they were struggling for personnel.
Very tight game in Tallaght ruined by the referee. Played at a pre-season pace for 75 minutes, yet he was brandishing cards for nothing. Limerick didn't threaten much bar a few long throws and Rovers held out well, except for two stonewall penalties, one in particular in injury time...deary me.
Hopefully Hancock on Monday and Buttimer today are put back on u-8 game duty and never seen at a Rovers game again.
26/05/2012, 12:37 AM
Encouragingish stuff for us in Tallaght tonight all things considered
Our midfield and attack consisted of a 23 year old defender, a 22 year old, two 19 year olds and two 17 year olds. I fully expected us to be walked on after a bright start but it never happened.
Can kinda see how Rovers could struggle to break teams down doesn't seem to be any massive plan to them (I've had a similar complaint about ourselves all year)
Lot of "simulation" going on with them as well at times but I suppose that's Premier football.
As for Buttimer. :bulgy:
Firing yellow cards around like snuff at a wake. :bulgy:
To not give that second penalty after turning down the first one and dishing out that red card. :bulgy:
He was looking right at both the penalty shouts as well the coward.
Overall, happy enough with the performance and if we couldn't win I'd rather the defeat to the draw. Life goes on.
Any Rovers fans have the crowd?? Kinda hard to guage from where we were. Far stand looked pathetic but stand we were in looked quite full (but hard to guage)
Dave_SRFC
26/05/2012, 6:53 AM
Was Alan Keane sent off for simulation last night? The big girls blouse....
26/05/2012, 9:50 AM
Plenty of that from shams lads last night too, Twigg, McCabe to name but two.
Buttimer destroyed that game last night. For a ref that is usually so picky he left Powell take foul throw after foul throw, rolling ball non stop from free kicks, gave Limerick one or two frees that were Shams frees and vice versa. Sent off Paudie Quinn after 30 seconds for what seemed a very very harsh decision. Two penalties right in front of his eyes he pretended he didn't see. Hopefully MNS pick up on his mistakes because the ruined the game for everyone there.
We were missing Gamble, Behan, Derek O Brien, Gary Sheehan, Dave Ryan and Dominic Foley and had to play a majority of under 19 players. Thought we held our own very well and David O'Leary in the middle of the park was probably the outstanding player from both sides. Daryl Kavanagh changed the game when he came on though as had been expected. His pace and skill killed our back 4 while Twigg and O'Neill probably suited it a little better.
adamd164
26/05/2012, 10:42 AM
Fair play to ExtraTime.ie, live updates and a match report on our game produced by volunteers.
Compare that to RTE, who don't even have a ****ing match report on their website. Pathetic doesn't do it justice.
wonder88
26/05/2012, 11:27 AM
The "simulation" from our top players has become a joke by now. I suppose they have to do something in training, being full-timers, perhaps if they spend some time on improving their ball-control and passing the standard of the league might improve a little bit. No surprise about the performance from certain refs either, yet all these guys got paid for their efforts last night, and some people are surprised that crowds are declining.
26/05/2012, 11:46 AM
Our midfield and attack consisted of a 23 year old defender, a 22 year old, two 19 year olds and two 17 year olds. I fully expected us to be walked on after a bright start but it never happened.
That's what we call a bunch of veterans in Belfield.
Fivesilver
26/05/2012, 2:13 PM
The bit of poop must be gutted going out at such an early stage...
Looks like somebody's still hurting from that humiliation in the Showgies. Don't worry, just make sure Buttimer's fit for when we go to your halting site in August - man of the match for you last night by all accounts.
Fivesilver
26/05/2012, 2:16 PM
Plenty of that from shams lads last night too, Twigg, McCabe to name but two.
Buttimer destroyed that game last night. For a ref that is usually so picky he left Powell take foul throw after foul throw, rolling ball non stop from free kicks, gave Limerick one or two frees that were Shams frees and vice versa. Sent off Paudie Quinn after 30 seconds for what seemed a very very harsh decision. Two penalties right in front of his eyes he pretended he didn't see. Hopefully MNS pick up on his mistakes because the ruined the game for everyone there.
At least you managed to keep your sense of humour. :p
placid casual
26/05/2012, 4:04 PM
Looks like somebody's still hurting from that humiliation in the Showgies.
in light of the humiliation dealt out by the worst team in the league on your own team, at home as well, would you like to rethink that statement?
no, let me guess... your manager wants to concentrate on the league anyway . Probably a good choice of his behalf because you will need all the concentration youse can get to take the title off us,pal.
Dave_SRFC
26/05/2012, 4:56 PM
Looks like somebody's still hurting from that humiliation in the Showgies. Don't worry, just make sure Buttimer's fit for when we go to your halting site in August - man of the match for you last night by all accounts.
Thats right poopy boy...
adamd164
26/05/2012, 5:54 PM
Anyone know when the draw for the next round is... this Monday or the following?
Fivesilver
26/05/2012, 6:50 PM
Thats right poopy boy...
Going to have to give up here - there's no way I can handle this devastating wit and intellect.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
26/05/2012, 7:03 PM
in light of the humiliation dealt out by the worst team in the league on your own team, at home as well, would you like to rethink that statement?
no, let me guess... your manager wants to concentrate on the league anyway . Probably a good choice of his behalf because you will need all the concentration youse can get to take the title off us,pal.
I'm sure ye were saying "at least we're clear at the top" when we knocked ye out last year so it's the only saving grace we have from a bad week really.
Need to get a win in Dalymount to steady the ship. Although we had been playing pretty poor all season until the Drogs / Shams / Shels games so being 7 points clear without playing that well all season is a lot better then we're used to.
Bawnville Hoop
26/05/2012, 7:42 PM
I'm sure ye were saying "at least we're clear at the top" when we knocked ye out last year so it's the only saving grace we have from a bad week really.
Most of us were happy. We were playing midweek games constantly and I never seen a team so tired in my life than they were that Monday night.
Had bigger and better things to worry about, I believe we had Rubin Kazan the Thursday before hand. There will be more expectation this season should we not have consecutive midweek fixtures.
Dave_SRFC
26/05/2012, 8:01 PM
Going to have to give up here - there's no way I can handle this devastating wit and intellect.
Why was Keane sent off?
Nah Nah Nah Nah
26/05/2012, 8:15 PM
Why was Keane sent off?
Off the ball incident of some variety
bluemovie
27/05/2012, 2:30 PM
Longford and Wexford currently losing to non-league opposition - both 1-0 down to Cherry Orchard and Douglas Hall respectively. Blues 0-0 at Everton so far. Gary Dempsey had a penalty saved after Seanie Maguire was fouled.
Fester
27/05/2012, 2:35 PM
Cherry Orchard 2 up
bluemovie
27/05/2012, 2:41 PM
Blues one up. Second penalty. This time David Breen took it and scored.
bluemovie
27/05/2012, 2:44 PM
Wexford equalise.
bluemovie
27/05/2012, 4:01 PM
Blues won 1-0. Pats and Avondale through, Wexford get a replay, Longford out.
Gary Dempsey had a penalty saved after Seanie Maguire was fouled.Do you really think so? Shocking tumble, went down as easily just before the penalty, McKell was appalling, second penalty was equally as harsh, embarrassing for Long