View Full Version : Gaa 2012
26/08/2012, 5:34 PM
Donegal missed two kickable points just before the Cork goal.
The Cork goal was atypical of the performance overall but that's two games in a row they've let in a needless easy score.
They'll have to keep the concentration up for 70min next time.
A joy to watch. Great game of football overall. Reminded me of Kerry v Tyrone 2008.
They're nailed on for me. No idea what we could do to stop that intensity. And we all know that if Mayo beat us next week that they will
have shot their load.
Gonna be a great day out in Dublin in the 23rd regardless.
Real ale Madrid
26/08/2012, 8:30 PM
Think Dublin will still be favourites against Donegal. Like Cork they have a big squad and can match them Physically. Unlike Cork they don't have a tactical clown working the controls. Mcguinness must have been rubbing his hands when he saw the team sheet and Cork were playing with 7 forwards - talking about walking into an open trap. Game was up as early as the 45th minute.
Depressing day to be a Cork fan, when you think of the talent in this team and only 1 AI to show for it, and the window is probably gone now, or at least getting narrower.
swinfordfc
26/08/2012, 9:06 PM
Fair play to Donegal ....... they destroyed Cork and the football they are playing is unreal, dont think Dublin or Mayo would get anywhere near them. I think Dublin will win next week cause Andy Moran is out for Mayo and he the only guy in the full forward line that can win his own ball and thus cause problems.
26/08/2012, 11:27 PM
Can someone explain to me how this is all negative? I don't think there's one thing about them that's negative.
Is it because they defend well and are economic with the ball in attack?
Reminds me of the puke football days. I remember feeling like I was watching a different game to everyone else.
A glorious day for the football fan and the ultimate advert for the sport.
junglegym
27/08/2012, 1:03 AM
After 2 mins today , I knew we were in trouble, Everytime a Cork player touched the ball he had his fist clinched waiting to give a pass. In my opinion , to beat the blanket defence you must be able to kick the ball over from 30/35 yards out and laugh away at the other 11/12 players inside you. Cork had the ability to do this on paper but got their tactics all wrong on the day. Hopefully Donegal go on and win it after todays fine display.
28/08/2012, 1:37 PM
Tickets for All-Ireland final = €80
Number of Donegal people in Croke Park last weekend = 40,000
Number of tickets allocated to Donegal fans for the final = 13,500
Grab All Association at it again. Disgrace.
Real ale Madrid
28/08/2012, 2:11 PM
Tickets for All-Ireland final = €80
Number of Donegal people in Croke Park last weekend = 40,000
Number of tickets allocated to Donegal fans for the final = 13,500
Grab All Association at it again. Disgrace.
How do you know how many tickets ye are going to get given Mayo have yet to play Dublin ??????
28/08/2012, 6:20 PM
Supposedly that's the number Donegal are to be given. Official word not released, Monday I believe it's confirmed, but that's the word on the street.
28/08/2012, 8:32 PM
So that *2 = 27000
Not including season tickets and corporates it seems pretty low.
Dub v Mayo not sold out just yet.
I've my tickets. And should we get to the final I'm sorted too. Whoop.
Real ale Madrid
28/08/2012, 9:28 PM
Supposedly that's the number Donegal are to be given. Official word not released, Monday I believe it's confirmed, but that's the word on the street.
Ye will get more tickets if its Mayo obviously - the ticket distribution is determined by the number of clubs in each county, the more clubs the opponents have the less tickets ye will get. They will be like hen's teeth if the dubs win next Sunday.
29/08/2012, 1:18 AM
Ye will get more tickets if its Mayo obviously - the ticket distribution is determined by the number of clubs in each county, the more clubs the opponents have the less tickets ye will get. They will be like hen's teeth if the dubs win next Sunday.
Which we won't, cos we should.
Listening to Ray Cosgrove talk about 2006 saying it was the low-point of his career... he then said "including 2002". Says something really.
The deflation in 2002 was like nothing I'd ever experienced. Well, 2010 v Cork was 100,000 times worse but excluding that.
I actually in a mad way didn't really mind the defeat v Mayo simply because I thought they would go on and do the business against Kerry. Boy was I wrong.
30/08/2012, 7:32 PM
The Swedish Milk maid, McDonald is on NewsTalk now.
swinfordfc
30/08/2012, 11:05 PM
The Swedish Milk maid, McDonald is on NewsTalk now.
Respect .... ye haven't a player that would lace his boots!
31/08/2012, 12:30 AM
Respect .... ye haven't a player that would lace his boots!
Now now. That was said in love for the man. A god of the game. Great interview too.
He's up there with Stevie O'Neill, wee Peter, Charlie Redmond, Ja Fallon and Jason Sherlock in my pantheon.
You should know that my ire is always reserved for Donaghy and Cooper. I could lace them easily.
ArdeeBhoy
31/08/2012, 12:31 AM
Think Dublin will still be favourites against Donegal.
Er, no guarantee the Dubs will beat Mayo, though I do hope they do...
swinfordfc
31/08/2012, 2:31 PM
Now now. That was said in love for the man. A god of the game. Great interview too.
He's up there with Stevie O'Neill, wee Peter, Charlie Redmond, Ja Fallon and Jason Sherlock in my pantheon.
You should know that my ire is always reserved for Donaghy and Cooper. I could lace them easily.
Fair enough .... That forward line of Mayo wont start on Sunday
31/08/2012, 2:50 PM
I know. Thankfully.
I still think you have it over us.
Either way... It will be epic.
Cusack 305 boom.
IsMiseSean
31/08/2012, 5:06 PM
No Michael Donnellan? Or is he above all those :)
bluemovie
02/09/2012, 4:22 PM
Congratulations, Mayo. Thoroughly deserved. Played by far the best football for the first 50 minutes until they went haywire. Some terrific points taken. It's a very unusual pairing in the final. I'd love if they went on to win it now.
02/09/2012, 5:03 PM
The time wasting today was horrific. McQuillan was afraid to let a football match break out. The best team won. But they have their work cut out in the final.
Real ale Madrid
02/09/2012, 6:53 PM
I thought Dublin were pretty disgraceful when they went 10 points down - how they finished the game with 15 men I'll never know.
swinfordfc
02/09/2012, 7:13 PM
Mayo was dead right to slow the game down when they had too.... All the majors team do it nowaday. Mayo play for only 55 mins and nearly got caught out, they have to do it for 70mins the next day. Dublin should have started with O'Gara and McManamon. They did damage in fairest - i cant under stand how Alan Brogan got through a test on that groin! - as soon as he kick the ball, he was gone.
What i hated the most today (it was the only thing) was that arse Brolly - who does he think he is! i met the C*** once and i swear if i ever see him again - i decked him. He talks rubbish and only ever won 1 all ireland medal and he thinks he can talk all his crap!
03/09/2012, 11:45 AM
Yep Brolly is a ****. The RTE panel are going on about Donegal as if they are going for 5 in a row. A few weeks ago they thought they were useless. Delighted Mayo will be be big underdogs. Horan has done a fantastic job, his team are no longer innocent and soft.
I also don't think Mayo choked when they went 10 points up. They put an almight shift in and a number of key players went off injured. Dublin were bound to react but Mayo weathered the storm.
DannyInvincible
03/09/2012, 11:50 AM
The complements and praise afforded to Donegal by Spillane and O'Rourke have surprised me in light of the negative opinions they held last year (and earlier in this year's championship, according to shakermaker).
I feared Mayo were going to bottle it yesterday. The game could so very easily have gone Dublin's way had they put away that glorious one-on-one goal chance at the end.
IsMiseSean
03/09/2012, 12:01 PM
I feared Mayo were going to bottle it yesterday.
They normally save that for the Final :)
03/09/2012, 1:33 PM
96 was the year they should have won Sam. That Meath game still sickens my old man. Dodgy ref didn't help. 2004 and 2006 they just came up against a fine attacking Kerry team and couldn't live with em. Naive and paid with a hammering. I don't think they choked, they just came up against a superior team. Like Italy up against Spain in the Euro 2012 final.
1951 is a long wait. I think I'm gonna read the excellent House of Pain to get ready for the final.
swinfordfc
03/09/2012, 1:57 PM
They normally save that for the Final :)
Tryical galway man :)
Enjoy the fun but it still be nice to meet ye sometime in the Connacht final, when ye ever reached it ;)
IsMiseSean
03/09/2012, 2:49 PM
Tryical galway man :)
Enjoy the fun but it still be nice to meet ye sometime in the Connacht final, when ye ever reached it ;)
We're concentrating on the Hurling this year ;)
swinfordfc
03/09/2012, 3:01 PM
We're concentrating on the Hurling this year ;)
And seriously, the best of luck in the final - i hope ye do it and bring "Liam" back to the west!
ArdeeBhoy
03/09/2012, 5:05 PM
O'Gara's been fecking gash this year. In the games I've seen.
Well done Maigh Eo. Due to the 'wait' factor, Good luck in the final.
03/09/2012, 7:09 PM
I'm glad Dublin wont be in the final, nothing personal but they are ugly and without the elegance of the Brogans in evidence, they are short of class.
It should also be mentioned that Mayo were cynical in the extreme, deliberately dragging down players with rugby tackles, with absolutely no connection the game of gaelic football, how that type of thing is not a red card is beyond me. In the end it wasn't football that got Mayo through, it was crude cynicism that kept the Dubs from steamrolling them.
That game was a far cry away from the football spectacle of the Donegal Cork semi final which was played to the end in the best spirit of the game. I just don't see anything other than a resounding win for Donegal in the final.
04/09/2012, 11:55 AM
Mayo being the better team for the first 55 minutes was what won em the game Geysir.
I'm delighted Mayo have finally dropped the nice guy image and are cynical when they have to be. Kerry were the masters at it and nobody ever said anything.
swinfordfc
04/09/2012, 10:24 PM
Mayo being the better team for the first 55 minutes was what won em the game Geysir.
I'm delighted Mayo have finally dropped the nice guy image and are cynical when they have to be. Kerry were the masters at it and nobody ever said anything.
If Kerry were Cynical in the last 10 mins of the All Ireland last year, Dublin would not be all ireland champions now - simple as - Mac would never have score that goal last year - Marc O'Shea say as much last Sunday night!
05/09/2012, 11:33 AM
If Kerry were Cynical in the last 10 mins of the All Ireland last year, Dublin would not be all ireland champions now - simple as - Mac would never have score that goal last year - Marc O'Shea say as much last Sunday night!
Well those last 10 minutes were surreal. Kerry had the game in the bag. 99 times out of 100 a Kerry team from the last 10 years would eat up time on the clock by stopping other teams taking frees quickly, kicking balls away slyly on the touchline and halting the oppositions momentum by fouling players. Why they didn't do that in the final is a mystery to me.
07/09/2012, 8:15 AM
Ah the fabled scramble for tickets for the Hurling is all over the radio. It's the one thing that annoys me about some GAA supporters how there's always this crap going on every year.
I remember last year when I got my tickets for the football final and people were at me about looking out for spares and how did I get them etc.
If you don't know how to get tickets for games you obviously don't go.
I had a Mayo friend onto me about looking out for a ticket for the final... The lad has been to one match in the last 15 years and it was this years replayed league game in McHale against Dublin. And I gave him my tickets for it.
I have my fingers in pies out there for a ticket. And if I get it... It's mine. :-)
Tír Connail abú!
EAFC_rdfl
07/09/2012, 9:23 AM
Ah the fabled scramble for tickets for the Hurling is all over the radio. It's the one thing that annoys me about some GAA supporters how there's always this crap going on every year.
I remember last year when I got my tickets for the football final and people were at me about looking out for spares and how did I get them etc.
If you don't know how to get tickets for games you obviously don't go.
I had a Mayo friend onto me about looking out for a ticket for the final... The lad has been to one match in the last 15 years and it was this years replayed league game in McHale against Dublin. And I gave him my tickets for it.
I have my fingers in pies out there for a ticket. And if I get it... It's mine. :-)
Tír Connail abú!
As a Donegal man living where I am, I don't fully agree with that bit above. Was at most of the championship matches this year, buying our tickets on ticketmaster. Now I am pretty much stuck entering stupid facebook competitions and buying raffle tickets from all the clubs round and about me here, to try and source tickets. I am asking anyone I know involved in clubs but getting nowhere concrete.
There's no point trying people up at home/clubs up at home. Being away for ten years I wouldnt even expect anything from them.
So its a bit unfair to say that if you dont know how to get tickets (for an AI final) you don't go to matches.
PS any spare tickets on foot.ie will be greatly appreciated!!
09/09/2012, 1:14 AM
As a Donegal man living where I am, I don't fully agree with that bit above. Was at most of the championship matches this year, buying our tickets on ticketmaster. Now I am pretty much stuck entering stupid facebook competitions and buying raffle tickets from all the clubs round and about me here, to try and source tickets. I am asking anyone I know involved in clubs but getting nowhere concrete.
There's no point trying people up at home/clubs up at home. Being away for ten years I wouldnt even expect anything from them.
So its a bit unfair to say that if you dont know how to get tickets (for an AI final) you don't go to matches.
PS any spare tickets on foot.ie will be greatly appreciated!!
For starters as a man who was going to Championship games this year you could have invested in a season ticket?
My jibes at people not knowing where to get tickets is not at the likes of you, it's at those tossers who weasel out of the woodwork every September.
09/09/2012, 2:24 PM
Its' the big one! Come on Galway!
09/09/2012, 4:05 PM
I just can't bet at all. I lay and still lost! AH!!!!
KK for the replay!
swinfordfc
09/09/2012, 9:10 PM
Great Match ..... shame we have to wait 3 weeks though for replay!
10/09/2012, 8:09 AM
Well at least there's some football match in the middle.
swinfordfc
10/09/2012, 2:42 PM
Well a least there's some football match in the middle.
You wouldn't think so down here but i'm glad - its the way it should be - hopefully it be quiet till next week!
10/09/2012, 4:03 PM
You wouldn't think so down here but i'm glad - its the way it should be - hopefully it be quiet till next week!
In Swinford?
I was trying to work in some smart-ass comment about Julians of Midfield but failed.
have you bagged a ticket yet?
Was onto the GAA today about tickets for the Hurling Replay and they are going through the clubs for the replay. Silly.
swinfordfc
10/09/2012, 9:13 PM
In Swinford?
I was trying to work in some smart-ass comment about Julians of Midfield but failed.
have you bagged a ticket yet?
Was onto the GAA today about tickets for the Hurling Replay and they are going through the clubs for the replay. Silly.
In Mayo generally ..... Ah Julians ... now that's a blast from the past :)
No ticket yet but early doors!
10/09/2012, 10:42 PM
In Mayo generally ..... Ah Julians ... now that's a blast from the past :)
No ticket yet but early doors!
I'll never forget the time driving to Midfield from Galway with a lad from the "town" and being pursued by bikers from just outside Tuam to Midfield. I had no idea there was a bikers festival held in Julian's car park! Mad ****!
It got funnier as I had to break into yer man's gaff as he forgot his keys in Galway!
swinfordfc
11/09/2012, 3:26 PM
That went on for a couple of years but doesnt happen now i think!
17/09/2012, 3:24 PM
What I tell ya? 14,000 tickets. Donegal county board have been refused more too. Demand is very high in the county, and the GAA won't budge from 14,000.
Doesn't surprise me really. Considering there seems to be about 40,000 tickets being given away over facebook....
17/09/2012, 3:30 PM
What I tell ya? 14,000 tickets. Donegal county board have been refused more too. Demand is very high in the county, and the GAA won't budge from 14,000.
Doesn't surprise me really. Considering there seems to be about 40,000 tickets being given away over facebook....
Demand is always high.
It's the tooth. I would love to know how many we were allocated last year... Alls I know is I got 2! :)
17/09/2012, 3:43 PM
Not sure, but as far as I know, there's something like 20,000 tickets allocated to non-competing counties.
The disgusting thing is, there's tickets being sold online for upwards of 200 and 300 euro.
17/09/2012, 3:52 PM
Not sure, but as far as I know, there's something like 20,000 tickets allocated to non-competing counties.
The disgusting thing is, there's tickets being sold online for upwards of 200 and 300 euro.
Well I've always personally had a face-value or give-away principle when it comes to tickets and I can never condone scalping. EVER!
If I came across a ticket for Sunday (still praying I will) and I couldn't go I would be selling it for what I paid for it which would be no more than 80 bills.
I could have made a killing last year for 2 Lower Cusack tickets. But for what? I would have missed out on my favourite sporting moment of my life. Priceless.
If the tickets have serial numbers or seat numbers, email the GAA and they will be cancelled.