View Full Version : Waterford (Home)

Pages : 1 [2]

Minesapint
30/04/2012, 11:30 PM
I know he obviously has final say but i also know that he takes advice and listens to it from people in the club.
i think you should manage the team

Minesapint
30/04/2012, 11:35 PM
I noticed that alright, are the sport scientist and the other guy gone? By the way, anyone know what he did? Genuine question, maybe someone from the club can answer?
And any info bout the new guy?

On the game itself, that was an awful showing from the players. Its the same team that everyone have been praising the last few weeks, yet when they don't perform it's Scully's fault? Doesn't make sense to me, I wish people were as vocal about the players, as they are about the manager, because some of them look like big time Charlies without earning the right to do it.
If Scully played the game for them I'd say fair enough, but looking at the other night, Kelly and Behan were the only 'decent' performers. Coughlan, Gamble, Bradley, Brosnan, Guthrie, Gaffney, S.Tracy mught as well not have turned up. Gave nothing, no effort, nothing. Add in the subs, Sheehan and Derek O'Brien, neither looked fit or sharp. At least Derek tried to beat a man, his delivery was awful though. Really poor showing, if I was them, I'd be ringing Pat O'Sullivan and telling him to keep my wages for the week.
kingpin4 i have to agree players have been a big let down gamble has been a shambles he doent seem to care win or lose.

30/04/2012, 11:44 PM
kingpin4 i have to agree players have been a big let down gamble has been a shambles he doent seem to care win or lose.

Gamble was poor against Waterford away and home and Longford at home. Barr that he has been excellent in every other game. Never pulls out of a tackle, has scored two important goals and has put in some excellent blocks in the box. The main problem is the players are not doing the business in front of the home fans and most leave Jackman park very disappointed. This needs to change very fast.

01/05/2012, 12:41 AM
Joe Gamble, is in my humble opinion, the player of the season so far for Limerick.*

*I missed the Waterford game (hooray for me :) ) but that's it.

01/05/2012, 12:42 AM
but i also know that he takes advice and listens to it from people in the club.

Again I must emphasise the fact that he's not a fool.

kingpin4
01/05/2012, 1:23 AM
He's not alone... Others I have been disappounted with have been Purcell, Quinn, McGann, Derek O'Brien, Sheahan (the rare time I've seen him play) Bhandarker, Behan (at the start but looks to be coming good now) Brosnan. That's an awful lot of players who haven't played anything near to what they can. Suppose it's just football though, all those players play rubbish (for whatever reasons) ...results in manager getting sacked, reputation in tatters, players get a pay increase and a contract next season. Who'd want to be a manager? :)

Minesapint
01/05/2012, 10:59 AM
He's not alone... Others I have been disappounted with have been Purcell, Quinn, McGann, Derek O'Brien, Sheahan (the rare time I've seen him play) Bhandarker, Behan (at the start but looks to be coming good now) Brosnan. That's an awful lot of players who haven't played anything near to what they can. Suppose it's just football though, all those players play rubbish (for whatever reasons) ...results in manager getting sacked, reputation in tatters, players get a pay increase and a contract next season. Who'd want to be a manager? :)
I dont think pat sullivan should have gave scully a contract so soon.

bluewhitearmy
01/05/2012, 2:12 PM
Again I must emphasise the fact that he's not a fool.

Hes not but whoever was involved with giving Scully that length of contract and when they did made a fairly stupid decision.

Treaty Gooner
01/05/2012, 6:52 PM
I'd agree about Gamble, his passing range is outstanding, if they were more penetrating he would be far and away our best player. Bradley has those in his locker too. No point in making those passes to an isolater striker tho, with two deep wide players.

Partizan
01/05/2012, 9:49 PM
Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy
Whats it to do with any of us to stop anyone why didnt you stop em if you were so worried? How is any of what was said abuse? Half the stand was laughing at what was being said i find it hard to believe they would laugh at someone being abused.
They were making childish comments about his name being Willy stupid yes abusive not a hope. You need to get a life if you think any of what was said was abuse

I think you need to take a look at the clip here. The culprits here should be identified and dealt with appropriately by Limerick FC as per regulations set down by the Club.

bluewhitearmy
01/05/2012, 9:56 PM
I think you need to take a look at the clip here. The culprits here should be identified and dealt with appropriately by Limerick FC as per regulations set down by the Club.

This was before it looked like he was actually properly hurt....He had just moved himself from off the pitch back on to it any fans anywhere would have been annoyed about it even our keeper came over and had a go at him.

In fairness i should have said that nothing that was said after it became apparent he was actually hurt was abusive thats my mistake.

01/05/2012, 10:28 PM
Can't watch the video on the iPad but I was on the opposite side to it. WJK was getting abuse when he first went down cause it looked like he was only play acting to waste time by coming back onto the pitch. When it was realised he was genuinely injured (a minute or two into being treated) and was being seen to by the order of Malta the lads all stopped shouting at him and he was clapped off by everyone in the ground.

I'm not defending anyone but to say it got much worse after the video is very misleading to anyone not there.

02/05/2012, 12:49 AM

Whoever took that clip needs to have a severe word with themselves.

If I was a parent of one of the children in that clip, that blogspot would be getting a few enquiries to be honest.

dutchie
02/05/2012, 4:10 AM
In my travels to Jackman i am at times embarrassed and ammused by the chants and abuse shouted by a number in the stand,even at times shouting abuse to their own players,just stinks of ignorance to me!!!!!!

NeverFeltBetter
02/05/2012, 8:19 AM
Whoever took that clip needs to have a severe word with themselves.

If I was a parent of one of the children in that clip, that blogspot would be getting a few enquiries to be honest.

I actually didn't even consider that at all when I first looked at that clip. Not that you mention, this is just a small bit improper.

Regards the actual chanting, it wasn't like Waterford weren't wasting time during second half. The keeper was booked for it after all. In a game so synonomous with diving as the modern sport is, it's very easy to assume the person on the ground is either faking it completely or milking something minor. The Limerick fans were angry enough at the time, so they lashed out temporarily. They stopped when it plainly became something more serious (as most fans do). Do not pretend for a moment that Waterford fans have never done the same.

madblaa
02/05/2012, 11:10 AM
The chanting kept going even when HE was being put into the ambulance.

02/05/2012, 4:27 PM
Off topic garbage binned. This is not the place to complain about moderation, or spout bull about "libel" for that matter. If you have a genuine problem, post it in the Support forum.

I'd love to know where the idea that Foot.ie is "dying" came from. The stats for Foot.ie are actually almost identical to last year. I have to wonder where ye pick up this nonsense.

Back on topic now or I'm binning the lot.

03/05/2012, 11:35 AM
Another two posts removed. This thread is for discussion of the game, period. If you want to discuss anything else, start a new thread and keep it factual. Any more off-topic posts in this thread will result in infractions. Any unsupported comments on the other topic will result in suspensions or bans.