View Full Version : Have some balls and be honest about $h€l$
10/08/2004, 12:49 AM
Maybe we can see the bigger picture.
yeah right! :D
10/08/2004, 7:22 AM
but i support one team. the rebel army and i'll never support another.
i dont care about shels i want them to get 2 kickings this week one in dublin
so by that logic you'll be supporting Deportivo
sounds like you support two teams. :rolleyes:
dortie
10/08/2004, 8:20 AM
On the domestic side of things I hate everything to do with $hels, the main reason is their pathetic support and Ollie Bryne. How a team can be full time with an average gate of 1,000 always had me confused.
Anyway, in europe i hope they progress as its good for Irish domestic soccer in lots of ways. Particularly to stick two fingers up at English premiership fans who couldnt tell you the first thing about the Cities they support over there.
One big issue i will have however is if our FAI cup match on Friday 20th is called to be re-arranged............If $hels are a full time team then playing Deportivo 4-5 days after a domestic cup match should not be an issue.
10/08/2004, 10:41 AM
so by that logic you'll be supporting Deportivo
sounds like you support two teams. :rolleyes:
i couldnt care less about deportivo or shels. but if shels win it'd be bad news for us for obvious reasons
only in Ireland i tell you. rivallry is probably the biggest thing in football its what makes it grow. shouting for your own against someonr else.
i assume you'll be able to stop supporting shels on saturday yeah or will you be in the away section?
one club. one life.
10/08/2004, 10:43 AM
one club. one life.
this is the way im thinking
shels hammered can only be good for city on sturday
10/08/2004, 10:47 AM
i couldnt care less about deportivo or shels.
Seems to me you're obsessed to be honest
shouting for your own against someonr else.
IMO an EL team in Europe are our own
i assume you'll be able to stop supporting shels on saturday yeah or will you be in the away section?
No, I've decided to change allegiances, from now on I'll be a Shels fan. Grow up :rolleyes: .
10/08/2004, 10:51 AM
well you support the Dubs so. i'll put all my energies into support City.
Some of the lads can see where i'm coming from you obviosly cant
10/08/2004, 10:52 AM
i'd feel a hippocrite(spell) shouting for them wednesday and shouting agianst them saturday
double standards. they are my rivals
10/08/2004, 11:13 AM
IMO an EL team in Europe are our own
they are in my fcuking hole,
will people starting thinking outside box
HELLO!!!!!!!!!!!
BA!!!!!
10/08/2004, 11:23 AM
Lads, I think its win win
1. $h£l$ win: good for eL co-efficient, keep "we are all one in Europe" lot happy.
2. $h£l$ lose: Don't get to Champions league group stages, don't go on to dominate eL, keep "I don't want $h£l$ to win" lot happy.
As I am in both camps, I certainly will be happy tomorrow night!:D
(btw, I don't really understand why its so wrong not to support a rival club)
10/08/2004, 11:54 AM
On the domestic side of things I hate everything to do with $hels, the main reason is their pathetic support and Ollie Bryne. How a team can be full time with an average gate of 1,000 always had me confused.
We average 2,000, 2,500 last season. Still, if all you have on us is your imaginary lack of support thing, that's probably a good thing.
10/08/2004, 11:55 AM
Even if Shels lose this tie, they will enter the UEFA cup. If they get through their first tie they go into group stages. This would be good for other clubs as it would make retaining the title almost impossible with the amoutn of fixtures that Shels would have and next year someone else gets the chance to have a crack at the Champions League.
10/08/2004, 12:03 PM
We average 2,000, 2,500 last season. Still, if all you have on us is your imaginary lack of support thing,
and you call that a boast :eek: :eek:
Hate Shels. Couldn't ever want them to win any game.
I just hope they don't embarrass the league. They are well on the way though, after selling out and going to Lansdowne.
dortie
10/08/2004, 12:11 PM
We average 2,000, 2,500 last season. Still, if all you have on us is your imaginary lack of support thing, that's probably a good thing.
Imaginary lack of support ?????????? I was at the last game in Tolka were you would have been lucky to have counted 700. And thats when your top of the league ???
Even your cup game recently against Finn Harps failed to bring in more than 500....
Your the one with the imagination.
BTW Im following EL football since i was 13, im now 30, $helbourne were nobodies in the 80s....are you old enough to remember that ?
Shelsman
10/08/2004, 12:12 PM
All this "for the good of the League" talk is utter cráp - how does it benefit the League if, for example, Shels earn enough money to entice Hunt and Crowe away from Bohs. The rest of us will spend our the remainder of our lives competing for second place.
Four things:
1) Shels can only field 11 players, so if they sign all the best players in the eL they can still only put 11 of them on the field.
2) Players want to play matches rather than sit on the bench, there is a limit to the number of players Shels can realistically sign e.g. if Hunt or Crowe sign for Shels and spend most matches on the bench, they will go back to another eL club. If other players see this they might decide to stay where they are and be guaranteed first team football.
3) Given that ye all say that the Shels support is so bad, the notion of Shels dominating the league is fatuous, as the prize money will only last so long.
4) It's up to other clubs to ensure they offer their best players long term contracts, in that way they are under no obligation to sell their best players for any price.
Shelsman
10/08/2004, 12:13 PM
i dont care about shels i want them to get 2 kickings this week one in dublin and one in Cork
I'm sure every Shels fan will gladly see Shels lose to City if we got into the CL Group Stages.
10/08/2004, 12:30 PM
i'd feel a hippocrite(spell) shouting for them wednesday and shouting agianst them saturday
double standards. they are my rivals
Hypocrisy? Double Standards?
Have a read of your own posts.
When bohs were doing well i was delighted for them. This too applies to Rovers and even though i like them even less i still grudgingly respect them.
i was gutted for Longford because i have a soft spot for them.
You seem quite happy to support other EL teams in Europe "one Club. one life" yeah? :rolleyes:
I don't like Shels, I especially dislike Olly Byrne and Pat Fenlon. I will scream blus murder at their players on Saturday and will celebrate wildly should (hopefully when) City beat them.
But i can put that aside tomorrow because I believe that the positive press and UEFA coefficient resulting from a Shels draw or win at home will have a positive effect on the league.
Even though I hate the phrase, that more an example of "thinking outside the box" than not supporting them because they're not us will ever be.
10/08/2004, 12:34 PM
Imaginary lack of support ?????????? I was at the last game in Tolka were you would have been lucky to have counted 700. And thats when your top of the league ???
Even your cup game recently against Finn Harps failed to bring in more than 500....
Your the one with the imagination.
BTW Im following EL football since i was 13, im now 30, $helbourne were nobodies in the 80s....are you old enough to remember that ?
The fact remains our average attendences is as good as anyones bar Cork. You must not like to admit that so fair enough, I can accept bitter small timers wanting to cling onto something but there you go, that's the truth. :)
What exactly is the point your trying to make about Shels being nobodies in the 80s?
10/08/2004, 12:46 PM
The fact remains our average attendences is as good as anyones ?
still nothing to boast about. attendances like that are woeful
$hel$ average crowds seem to be boosted greately cos of local dublin derbies which explains why both Derry & Cork City fans always seem to see 1000-1500 crowds at Tolka.
10/08/2004, 2:33 PM
Moving back to the game itself and potential outcome....would it not be in ye're best interests to see shels do well, grind out a result of some description, and run themselves into the ground ragged while doing so?? Ye got them at 5 o clock the following saturday, and if they're not humiliated they will have the biggest single game of their lives to look forward to which will surely deflect from them and reflect on thier performance saturday??Plus they might pick up some knocks....who knows.
For what its worth, I hate them too...with a passion but I hope they do well, mainly for the above reasons only. GIVING THEM TOOLS THAT MUCH DOSH CAN ONLY BE DANGEROUS.
"First Irish side ever to progress four rounds in a European competition"
when was this then, or are we looking into the future a fair bit ?
10/08/2004, 2:44 PM
"First Irish side ever to progress four rounds in a European competition"
they think that when they go out tomorrow(and they will), that it is progress into the eufa cup
i call it demotion :D
ccfcgirl
10/08/2004, 5:03 PM
BEST of LUCK tomorrow night to shels :) :) :)
10/08/2004, 5:27 PM
they think that when they go out tomorrow(and they will), that it is progress into the eufa cup
i call it demotion :D
Who said the fourth round I'm talking about isn't the group stages of the champions league :p
10/08/2004, 6:11 PM
Who said the fourth round I'm talking about isn't the group stages of the champions league :p
are u a comedian in disguise
blobbyblob
10/08/2004, 6:24 PM
They might have to move to Croke Park!!! :D
Hypocrisy? Double Standards?
Have a read of your own posts.
You seem quite happy to support other EL teams in Europe "one Club. one life" yeah? :rolleyes:
I don't like Shels, I especially dislike Olly Byrne and Pat Fenlon. I will scream blus murder at their players on Saturday and will celebrate wildly should (hopefully when) City beat them.
But i can put that aside tomorrow because I believe that the positive press and UEFA coefficient resulting from a Shels draw or win at home will have a positive effect on the league.
Even though I hate the phrase, that more an example of "thinking outside the box" than not supporting them because they're not us will ever be.
I gave my reasons for that. i never supported those clubs. never. i was happy for them for the reasons i outlined.
Maybe we shouldnt tackle them on Saturday in case they get hurt for the second leg.
sure its for the good of the league :rolleyes:
10/08/2004, 6:40 PM
All this "for the good of the League" talk is utter cráp - how does it benefit the League if, for example, Shels earn enough money to entice Hunt and Crowe away from Bohs. The rest of us will spend our the remainder of our lives competing for second place. People have referred to the Rosenborg scenario - they've won the Norwegian league twelve years running. That's not good for any League.
The Rosenborg thing is a total non-starter, theirs is a unique position in European football. Maccabi Haifa reached the Champions League proper two seasons ago, and while they've won both Israeli championships since then (once on goal difference, once by six points) no-one speaks of them as the Israeli Rosenborg.
The fact is, someone needs to make the Great Leap Forward in order to bring the league (financially and in terms of credibility) onto the next level. And I hate to break it to you, but apart from Shels, Bohs and possibly Cork, third/fourth is the best anyone else can hope for in the current climate. I don't know about you, but I'd rather live off the scraps of a banquet than scraps of scraps.
We're some piece of work, us eL fans. We bitch when our teams don't do well in Europe. We bitch when our teams DO do well in Europe. We bitch when people don't support the league. We bitch when people do support the league.
10/08/2004, 8:55 PM
And I hate to break it to you, but apart from Shels, Bohs and possibly Cork, third/fourth is the best anyone else can hope for in the current climate. I
except for dublin and waterford,they will always be happy with survival
10/08/2004, 8:58 PM
except for dublin and waterford,they will always be happy with survival
What exactly is your problem? Specifically or in general terms, I'm interested in both.
Dr.Nightdub
10/08/2004, 9:08 PM
Sheridan, it's a historical thing. Cork football fans are ALWAYS intrigued as to how other clubs survive. Ask any fans of United, Alberts, Athletic, City, Hibs, Celtic... :p
ShelsTim
10/08/2004, 11:59 PM
Would you support Spain against Ireland if there was a manager or a captain or a few players that ou disliked? It's the same story, you're basically supporting Spain against Ireland, your country, your people, your team. You're a small-minded, parochial idiot. I'll support Cork or Bohs or even Rovers to the World Club Cup final, and then still scream my head off for them to lose against Shels the next Friday. It's not about petty jealousies or made-up **** that you hate about rivals, this is supporting your countrymen, supporting Ireland on the World Stage. Putting local fueds ahead of it is sad and is what has Ireland and the EL in the state it is, though thankfully we're pulling ourselves out, no thanks to people like you.
adamcarr
11/08/2004, 12:03 AM
Cool Signature ShelsTim
this is supporting your countrymen, supporting Ireland on the World Stage.
but Shelbourne are British.
11/08/2004, 1:15 AM
this is supporting your countrymen, supporting Ireland on the World Stage..
this is about having shels ****ed for saturday
11/08/2004, 1:27 AM
I don't know about you, but I'd rather live off the scraps of a banquet than scraps of scraps.
No ... thats just not good enough. The league should be organised enough policy wise etc. to prevent this living off scraps no matter where it comes from. We should be learning from other leagues mistakes and improve the league with the resourses being made available to it.
DolansWaistcoat
11/08/2004, 7:27 AM
I heard depor are only bringing 8 fans.Thats a disgrace,they deserve a beating for that.
Will shels bring that much to spain even if they hammered tonight?
eL Bettor
11/08/2004, 10:07 AM
The berry vest of luck to Shels tonight.
to hell with the begrudgers here, I've never come across such a bunch of moaners.
11/08/2004, 11:54 AM
even if
:D :D :D
ccfcgirl
11/08/2004, 12:05 PM
I dont think shels will get hammered tonight but if they do there will be no shame in it theve already made Irish history and hopfully it wont be the last for any loi team to do well in history.come on the shels
DolansWaistcoat
11/08/2004, 1:36 PM
:D :D :D
I hope your eating those smilie faces corner,at 9:50 tonight.Come on the shels,please don't get hammered.
Now a few short term injuries for the big game saturday,that would be the job.
11/08/2004, 2:35 PM
I hope your eating those smilie faces corner,at 9:50 tonight.
dont think so
LFC in Exile
11/08/2004, 2:53 PM
I really don't get this Shels bashing. Particularly from Cork City fans who were supported by everyone in the league in their Inter-Toto Cup run.
Rivalry is great - but just because you want to beat Shels on a Saturday does not mean that you have to hope they get beat tonight. The two games are separate competitions - Shels winning tonight could be good for Cork on Saturday (attention elsewhere, tiredness etc) and Shels getting stuffed tonight coul dbe good for Cork on Saturday (dejection, anti-climax, tired etc). But Pablo and his buddies are doing just what they accuse of Ollie Byrne and Shels of doing. Putting their club's interest before the leagues.
Ollie Byrne's priority is Shels and the only criticism I have of him is that he puts his club before the good of the league. But all of the top (and some bottom) clubs do exactly the same. That is the problem with the eL imo and its major stumbling block. I have a lot of respect for what Shels have achieved - so what if they have 1,000 fans, 2,500 fans or 24,000 fans - they have put together a fine squad of players.
Cork got great support from the league and other supporters - the anti_Shels crowd seem to have a bit of a short memory. 6 games postponed to accommodate Cork's run. Shels have to play you on Saturday after a CL game tonight. If Shels' had got 6 games postponed there would have been shouts that Ollie Byrne was running the league.
C'mon Shels!
And I hate to break it to you, but apart from Shels, Bohs and possibly Cork, third/fourth is the best anyone else can hope for in the current climate.
I think that Drogheda United may wish to argue with you on that point, despite what $h€£$ may think, their website still has them top of the league. hmmm.
11/08/2004, 3:12 PM
I think that Drogheda United may wish to argue with you on that point, despite what $h€£$ may think, their website still has them top of the league. hmmm.
You're right, apologies to Drogs. A very good side who have played some of the best football I've seen in the eL this season.
I'm another Cork City Fan who hopes Shels gives Deportivo a serious run for their money. Shels can dominate the league only if the other teams let them. There's €325,000 available in the Setanta cup and as two teams have made history in Europe this season there's no reason why three or four can't do well next season. All we need is belief and a slice of luck.
Flynninio
11/08/2004, 3:28 PM
to those 2 or 3 city fans that keep going on about wanting shells to lose will ye get some sleep and turn of the pc.the VAST majority of us will be screaming at the tv sets tonight for shells.i would even be screaming for them maggots from tallaght eventhough i have fought enough of them over the years ;) only joking i never fought them ;)well not them all :D
Pablo hereby calls a truce for 90 mins tonight
i grudgingly wish The *****s luck tonight ;)