View Full Version : Match Officials + Impartiality
13/03/2012, 12:00 PM
Apparantly the ref between City and Rovers being televised on Friday night next is a Shamrock Rovers Club Shareholder. Surely this guy shouldn't be reffing games of this nature considering.
Should the guy be reffing at all when you think about it?
El-Pietro
13/03/2012, 12:11 PM
I really dont think he is, I think he used to be a season ticket holder once upon a time. Neil Doyle right?
Sonny
13/03/2012, 12:18 PM
Yous have nothing to worry about as Doyle always overcompensates for his past allegiances by reffing us off the park.
sundance kid
13/03/2012, 12:21 PM
I really dont think he is, I think he used to be a season ticket holder once upon a time. Neil Doyle right?
He used to sell the programmes back when we played in the RDS. You don't need to worry, in my experience he goes out of his way to show he's not biased towards rovers. I do agree though, that he shouldn't be allowed do rovers games, the league are leaving him wide open to these accusations.
13/03/2012, 12:41 PM
4 posts in and no one has mentioned the spelling mistake in the tital? Shame on you pedants!
Anyway Doyle is a poor ref, but like all of them isn't biased on the field.
Not a single one of them is biased for/against any club.
Need to think of a better excuse a face
El-Pietro
13/03/2012, 12:42 PM
He used to sell the programmes back when we played in the RDS. You don't need to worry, in my experience he goes out of his way to show he's not biased towards rovers. I do agree though, that he shouldn't be allowed do rovers games, the league are leaving him wide open to these accusations.
Alan Kelly is the same for us. Never gives us any 50 50s and always sways towards the opposition to show hes not biased towards us as hes from Cork (plus is Danny Murphys brother in law)
Sonny
13/03/2012, 12:48 PM
Alan Kelly is the same for us. Never gives us any 50 50s and always sways towards the opposition to show hes not biased towards us as hes from Cork (plus is Danny Murphys brother in law)
I've also heard the bird that does Murphy's spray tan also does Kelly's bikini wax. ****ing jokeshop!
marinobohs
13/03/2012, 12:49 PM
Agree with that. incompetence often mistaken for bias.
Heard it said over years that Doyle is member/fan/whatever of shams. Dont see why that would exclude him as I suppose most refs would have a favourite team, only becomes a problem if the ref lets that "interest" impact on their decision making.
Does make for original names to call the ref (as opposed to usual abuse/chants) :o and great excuse for opposition fans (until that damned MNS shows the ref was right).
13/03/2012, 1:19 PM
We should probably be glad that they support LOI teams rather than Manchester United.
13/03/2012, 1:23 PM
4 posts in and no one has mentioned the spelling mistake in the tital? Shame on you pedants!
Technically i dont think we need an excuse when its a forgone conclusion :)
When do i get to say that Richie Winters is a plank and shouldn't never be let near a footie game again in his lifetime?
Fivesilver
13/03/2012, 1:26 PM
Yous have nothing to worry about as Doyle always overcompensates for his past allegiances by reffing us off the park.
Maybe you're right, but the fact that 'past allegiances' come up at all would suggest that he should have been allotted another game.
gormacha
13/03/2012, 1:48 PM
Maybe you're right, but the fact that 'past allegiances' come up at all would suggest that he should have been allotted another game.
I totally agree. In much the same way I don't think any refs from one city/town should ref a game that includes a club from that city/town unless both clubs are from there. If you get my garbled meaning.
Waterford's playoff game against Monaghan a couple of seasons ago was reffed by a guy who either lived in Monaghan or was originally from there (can't recall which). He had a shocker of a game, the worst I have ever seen, bar none, with three major decisions going against us. I was sick with anger over it. It was only a few weeks later that i realised we were totally outplayed anyway, and would have lost no matter who reffed it. But it caught my attention for that length of time because even the appearance of possible impropriety is a problem. Remove any doubt, that's my view. Fairer on the ref as well.
13/03/2012, 1:54 PM
Woops..
13/03/2012, 3:35 PM
Woops..
There has been a wave of poor spelling of late to be fair :)
13/03/2012, 3:44 PM
No idear what you meen.
askmehoop
13/03/2012, 4:09 PM
Apparantly the ref between City and Rovers being televised on Friday night next is a Shamrock Rovers Club Shareholder. Surely this guy shouldn't be reffing games of this nature considering.
Should the guy be reffing at all when you think about it?
Gettin' your excuse's in early ;-p
I agree , if there is any way the refs judgement may be questioned because of his allegiance to a club then he shouldnt be allowed to ref the game, but as the lads already posted he does go out of his way to to show he is impartial
Would you be complaining if Alan Kelly was ref? :)
Nahhh
El-Pietro
13/03/2012, 5:20 PM
Would you be complaining if Alan Kelly was ref? :)
Nahhh
we really dont like Alan Kelly reffing our games
You're not alone there!
codology
13/03/2012, 5:52 PM
Woman ref done the Rovers Bohs match in Tallaght,she was ok.Rhonda Daly was her name is she related to Paddy?She had to endure the "does your kitchen know your here "chant.
She was ****ing brutal. At one point she awarded Bohs a goal kick, only to change her mind and award a corner when all the players had completely ignored her and were setting up for the corner anyway.
He is a terrible referee anytime he is involved in a Rovers game. He did the postponed UCDD game last season. Shocking. Only in the LOI could you find worse in Buttimer and Hancock.
13/03/2012, 6:59 PM
That is absolute quality.
Time to bet on a Cork penalty or Rovers red card...
askmehoop
13/03/2012, 7:30 PM
not as cruel as the 'who let the dogs out' chant towards the then limerick physio when we played in the 1st div. poor woman
CSFShels
13/03/2012, 7:54 PM
not as cruel as the 'who let the dogs out' chant towards the then limerick physio when we played in the 1st div. poor woman
Jesus that is mean.
askmehoop
13/03/2012, 8:11 PM
Jesus that is mean.
incredibly, it was right in her face as she walked by. and you know how close the fans are to the pitch in the main stand in Tolka. That was the same match as the bread board incident. Sometimes i miss the first division.
gormacha
13/03/2012, 8:28 PM
Is it? I thought it was fairly pathetic myself.
Hang on, I imagine the "its only a joke/bit of banter" retort is on its way.
askmehoop
13/03/2012, 8:35 PM
i dont think any of the lads that chanted that would go home and say it to their wife/gf without getting a slap, im sure she took it in her stride
gormacha
13/03/2012, 8:42 PM
i dont think any of the lads that chanted that would go home and say it to their wife/gf without getting a slap, im sure she took it in her stride
I'm sure she did take it in her stride. She wouldn't have got that far in the game without coming up against that type of cowardly bull**** all the time.
If they wouldn't say it to their wives or girlfriends, why do they say it to a lone woman in the middle of thousands of men? Cowardly and nasty. Big men.
Fivesilver
13/03/2012, 8:43 PM
Seriously though, and not blaming Shams or Doyle himself, how many refs are there in the league? How difficult would it be to give a game to a ref who's not identifiably a fan of one of the teams involved? It should be a given, and w.ould be anywhere else in the world, but never underestimate the muppets that run our league
13/03/2012, 8:45 PM
Sometimes i miss the first division.So some of you do remember your time there? :eek:
13/03/2012, 9:02 PM
I do indeed think it's funny. To anyone with a sense of humour I believe it would be quite funny too.
Put it this way, why should a female linesperson be treated any different to a male linesman? I've heard some shocking things being said to linesmen over the years, why should a lineswoman be treated any different? It's football, if she doesn't want abuse, she's in the wrong game.
13/03/2012, 9:14 PM
Yeah, let's throw in a bit of racism too while we're at it. If you can't see why singling out one person in the stadium based on no other characteristic than their gender isn't totally out of order then I'm afraid you'll never understand. This isn't political correctness gone mad, it's just basic common decency.
13/03/2012, 9:32 PM
Likewise CD that works the other way around too. Singling out one person because of their gender over all the other abuse that goes on at a football match is a bit over the top don't you think? Regardless, the point is, a Lineswoman, or Linesman, should be able to take any sort of abuse thrown at them whatever their gender, colour, height, weight or anything. It's part of the job.
13/03/2012, 9:39 PM
If you can't see why singling out one person in the stadium based on no other characteristic than their gender isn't totally out of order then I'm afraid you'll never understand. This isn't political correctness gone mad, it's just basic common decency.
It's basic common decency not to abuse anybody, player, physio, or match official at a game, but it happens every game, everywhere, just the same.
gormacha
13/03/2012, 10:05 PM
To anyone with a sense of humour I believe it would be quite funny too.
I told you the "its only a joke" defence would be the first thing wheeled out.
Regardless, the point is, a Lineswoman, or Linesman, should be able to take any sort of abuse thrown at them whatever their gender, colour, height, weight or anything. It's part of the job.
What utter nonsense. That's a manifesto for racism, sexism and homophobia and whatever else you're having. That might be your idea of acceptable behaviour, but its not mine. Fairly pathetic to be honest.
I suppose you were one of the people defending Andy Gray and that utter slimeball Richard Keys? "Just a bit of banter." http://thefcf.co.uk/2012/03/01/stop-banter/14866/
13/03/2012, 10:05 PM
Likewise CD that works the other way around too. Singling out one person because of their gender over all the other abuse that goes on at a football match is a bit over the top don't you think? Regardless, the point is, a Lineswoman, or Linesman, should be able to take any sort of abuse thrown at them whatever their gender, colour, height, weight or anything. It's part of the job.
1. I don't think so. Singling out somebody for something unrelated to their performance or character is the most petty and hurtful type of abuse.
2. No, they shouldn't. If so, why stop at kitchen chants? Why not go for the jugular and say something truly depraved? If they should be prepared to take any sort of abuse, you should be prepared to chant the worst thing you can think of. Really ****ed up, Chuck Palahniuk-type nastiness. Go for it.
It's basic common decency not to abuse anybody, player, physio, or match official at a game, but it happens every game, everywhere, just the same.
Of course, but most abuse is at least performance-related and generally non-specific. It's not like Bohs fans will be shouting "nice arse!" at Killian Brennan when he returns to Dalymount. Or maybe they will, they're an odd bunch.
Sonny
13/03/2012, 10:08 PM
1.. It's not like Bohs fans will be shouting "nice arse!" at Killian Brennan when he returns to Dalymount. Or maybe they will, they're an odd bunch.
When did you first notice Killian had a nice arse?
13/03/2012, 10:14 PM
Coincidentally, right after he signed for Rovers!
13/03/2012, 10:18 PM
I don't think so. Singling out somebody for something unrelated to their performance or character is the most petty and hurtful type of abuse.
Of course, but most abuse is at least performance-related and generally non-specific.
I'd say a player or (particularly) a match official gets abuse about their appearance just as much as their performance. "Fat ****", "Ugly *****, "Short ******", "Bald *****", "Ginger ****" etc.
It's no less unacceptable if the target of such abuse is a man, in my opinion.
13/03/2012, 10:25 PM
I'd say a player or (particularly) a match official gets abuse about their appearance just as much as their performance. "Fat ****", "Ugly *****, "Short ******", "Bald *****", "Ginger ****" etc.
It's no less unacceptable if the target of such abuse is a man, in my opinion.
It's not really. A stadium full of men shouting abuse at a woman because she's a woman/focussing on her physical features is a lot different to the garden variety abuse male players get.
PartySaint
13/03/2012, 10:26 PM
It's not really. A stadium full of men shouting abuse at a woman because she's a woman/focussing on her physical features is a lot different to the garden variety abuse male players get.
They are shouting at her because she is the ref not because she is a woman
13/03/2012, 10:36 PM
Are refs particularly known for their culinary skills?
gormacha
13/03/2012, 10:41 PM
It's unsurprising that there are so many apologists for shouting abuse at a woman because she is a woman as its acceptable practice in most football environments. Doesn't make it right though. Ye can try and justify any which way you want, but its indefensible. I have no problem with the likes of "phuq off ref" if she made a poor decision, but shouting abuse at a woman on the basis of her gender in a crowd that will be at least 95% male is about as intimidating as it gets. That chant to the physio mentioned above is beneath contempt.
13/03/2012, 10:49 PM
It's unsurprising that there are so many apologists for shouting abuse at a woman because she is a woman as its acceptable practice in most football environments. Doesn't make it right though. Ye can try and justify any which way you want, but its indefensible. I have no problem with the likes of "phuq off ref" if she made a poor decision, but shouting abuse at a woman on the basis of her gender in a crowd that will be at least 95% male is about as intimidating as it gets. That chant to the physio mentioned above is beneath contempt.
I wasn't at the match, but I think it is far more likely that she was being shouted at because she was the referee. I'd guess that her gender influenced the kind of abuse she got, rather than being the sole reason she was getting abuse.
13/03/2012, 11:59 PM
Not once have I condoned the abuse given to people at games. I just said it happens. It's part and parcel of any referees job.
I never, EVER, condone personal abuse or sexism or racism or what have you, I simply am saying, it happens.
If you honestly believe a referee shouldn't prepare to deal with that then you are seriously deluded.
14/03/2012, 12:06 AM
The question of whether they should prepare to deal with it is completely separate from the question of whether they should have to deal with. If you want to equate sexism with calling somebody fat or a ginger, that's your decision. You might even laugh at it and think it's funny that the crowd is picking on and belittling somebody based on their gender. Maybe it's really funny, I don't know!
Or maybe the abuse that women, particularly in a male-dominated sport like football, have to endure on a daily basis isn't funny at all.
Or maybe it's absolute quality.
That was the same match as the bread board incident. Sometimes i miss the first division.
:victory:
I think it was a table top...had to run the length of the pitch too, great stuff.
14/03/2012, 12:24 AM
He is a terrible referee anytime he is involved in a Rovers game. He did the postponed UCDD game last season. Shocking. Only in the LOI could you find worse in Buttimer and Hancock.
And at that game, he sent a Rovers player off. He gave it half an hour before deciding to even up the teams.
As for Kelly, I remember him reffing a Cork-Drogheda game in Cork in the Setanta Cup. Cork were struggling to hold on to a narrow lead so with 15 minutes left, he sent an away player off. He enjoyed it so much that he sent another one off 3 minutes later. Cork duly took advantage within minutes and won the game. Not too many complaints then.
If you can't see why singling out one person in the stadium based on no other characteristic than their gender isn't totally out of order then I'm afraid you'll never understand. This isn't political correctness gone mad, it's just basic common decency.
You're watching the wrong sport I think. Anyone for a game of Polo?