View Full Version : Mns - 5/03/12
Back tonight folks. 7pm RTE2
Nah Nah Nah Nah
05/03/2012, 5:46 PM
May as well say it before someone else........
Why didn't they show more highlights of the games?
WoodquayBoy
05/03/2012, 5:52 PM
And the First Division as well. Tsk tsk
ger121
05/03/2012, 6:07 PM
Don't know if I'm a fan of that highlight format used for Drogs v Rovers. Hard to follow the flow of the game
citybone
05/03/2012, 6:10 PM
They had the Cork City crest behind Shamrock rovers name a second ago. Barely covered us in the last 2 years and cant wait to show us tonight.
05/03/2012, 6:30 PM
Quigley and Martin reds were both definitely the right decision. Will there be anybody left who's not suspended this week?
gufc2000
05/03/2012, 6:33 PM
Some terrible reporting from Gortakeegan, sloppy reporting of names and that, she said there was a small crowd. I thought 1500 would be regarded as good for the Mons
El-Pietro
05/03/2012, 7:13 PM
how long does it usually take before its up online, had it in my head this was starting at half 7 and missed the first half
atfconline
05/03/2012, 7:14 PM
Some terrible reporting from Gortakeegan, sloppy reporting of names and that, she said there was a small crowd. I thought 1500 would be regarded as good for the Mons
And somehow linked it to the composure of Mons back four?!
05/03/2012, 8:07 PM
Rodster on Off the Ball
05/03/2012, 8:13 PM
Looked like a perfect tackle from Ventre for the free kick leading to Hughes' goal.
05/03/2012, 8:17 PM
Is George Hamilton really that hard to listen to?
05/03/2012, 8:23 PM
Don't know if I'm a fan of that highlight format used for Drogs v Rovers. Hard to follow the flow of the game
I'd say that was only done because the match had been on telly. It was hard to follow though.
CSFShels
05/03/2012, 8:29 PM
Looked like a perfect tackle from Ventre for the free kick leading to Hughes' goal.
He got the ball alright, but both feet off the ground and followed through into Kavanagh. I can certainly see why it was given.
05/03/2012, 8:53 PM
Highlights of Shams game were cat. Definitely not a free, never mind yellow card, for Shels goal.
Guinney
05/03/2012, 9:17 PM
Surprised they said there was a small crowd at Mon's match. We (Dundalk) had a great crowd up at it and that will be one of Monaghan's highest attendance this year I'd imagine. According to the extratime report there was 1500 at it. The stand was full - think it holds over 600.
Plus who is this O'Donnell chap playing for Dundalk?
Didnt know we signed a guy called Rob Walters either.
05/03/2012, 10:23 PM
Yet another season of irish football shown by RTE in blurvision. Agree about the shoddy reporting from the mons match, Gary Shanahan (who signed from the limerick fas course) shoots straight at his former teamate??? chris benniion wtf?
passerrby
06/03/2012, 8:49 AM
Yet another season of irish football shown by RTE in blurvision. Agree about the shoddy reporting from the mons match, Gary Shanahan (who signed from the limerick fas course) shoots straight at his former teamate??? chris benniion wtf?
I can only assume she was reading from a script as she was not at the game. **** poor commentary
As a it's new season, I decided to give it another chance. Much better that there was much less focus on the national team - the only bit that was focussed on LoI players making the step up which was good. Still not enough highlights, and still not good enough cameras - the slowmo's look terrible. Thought the highlights were ok, including the live game. A bit more effort than clipping down the same coverage was good imo.
As ever, disappointing with so much talk that they couldn't spend a couple of minutes on the first - would it have killed them to move from "who's in danger of going down" to "who's going to be in the mix for promotion and the play off"? The Waterford result probably deserved more coverage as well, given the implications of that on the first.
btw I thought it was a definite free that shels scored from against Sligo. The sligwegians would want to get with the modern interpretations of the rules if they think getting the ball makes it an automatic fair challenge.
White Horse
06/03/2012, 9:35 AM
I can only assume she was reading from a script as she was not at the game. **** poor commentary
A complete joke.
There are a great crowd at the game and the amount of errors in the commentary are inexcusable.
It looks like matches from Monaghan are going to get budget treatment from RTE.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
06/03/2012, 9:52 AM
As a it's new season, I decided to give it another chance. Much better that there was much less focus on the national team - the only bit that was focussed on LoI players making the step up which was good. Still not enough highlights, and still not good enough cameras - the slowmo's look terrible. Thought the highlights were ok, including the live game. A bit more effort than clipping down the same coverage was good imo.
As ever, disappointing with so much talk that they couldn't spend a couple of minutes on the first - would it have killed them to move from "who's in danger of going down" to "who's going to be in the mix for promotion and the play off"? The Waterford result probably deserved more coverage as well, given the implications of that on the first.
btw I thought it was a definite free that shels scored from against Sligo. The sligwegians would want to get with the modern interpretations of the rules if they think getting the ball makes it an automatic fair challenge.
Well I didn't think it was a free and either did Tony McDonnell and that's good enough for me
gufc2000
06/03/2012, 10:37 AM
Didnt know we signed a guy called Rob Walters either.
And apparently Conor Murray and Anthony Griffiths play for Monaghan
Shannonsider
06/03/2012, 11:40 AM
Not great to be honest. Record it and watched it late last night. Ended up rewinding through most of the talking in the studio. God for a highlight show, they show very little highlights. They could cut back with the chat and do some feature every week on a different club or player. Stuff like that would make it a better watch than 4 lads having a chat about 30 second highlights.
06/03/2012, 12:30 PM
And apparently Conor Murray and Anthony Griffiths play for Monaghan
Anthony Griffiths does. Just we call him Tony.
MagicMon
06/03/2012, 1:11 PM
If that is the smallest crowd at Gortakeegan all season then I'll be very happy!
Shannonsider
06/03/2012, 1:36 PM
If that is the smallest crowd at Gortakeegan all season then I'll be very happy!
Just have a Mon Dogs sale, crowd will be massive then.
lawman
06/03/2012, 1:44 PM
I'd say that was only done because the match had been on telly. It was hard to follow though.
It was even difficult to follow the live tv coverage...
could RTE approach Sky for some of their unwanted cameras? or better still, some of their camera men, and reporters;)
And with reference to MNS, a great idea would be to put the camera over Cons shoulder when he asks any of the lads a question.. bad enough having to watch him on that Garda crime programme....
harpstilidie
06/03/2012, 2:12 PM
Poor enough show in my opinion. Better than nothing though!
I wish they would commentate on the games instead of reporting on them!! Annoys me!
06/03/2012, 2:18 PM
The best part for me was when Tony McDonnell claimed Hawkins would get into any other team in the league. Good to see them adding a bit of humour to the show.
shellyriver
06/03/2012, 2:37 PM
Really lacking any real imagination or new angles - or a even bit of deep reporting. It's a weekly show surely they could come up with a segment - bar that shrill Orange-county wanna-be drivelling on about clubs when no one is interested.
I agree, with the constant guff from the panellists - in truth, they seem to know little about any club, bar the usual either a club they were involved in or follow, ie Ritchie St Pats, Goggle Eyes UCD etc.
It seems as though Shams are doing well and that will suffice -- they really need to up the ante, particularly when you consider it is the same sad camera positions for each ground.
Why not consider a short section, now and then, re top Junior sides in each province etc? All in all it needs freshening up.
lawman
06/03/2012, 2:53 PM
I have the programme on series record and promised myself that I would only watch it again if I heard that anything juicy happened in any of the games over the weekend. I even tried watching it with the sound off but while it was better it still falls short of what we want to see. MORE OF THE FOOTBALL AND less talk....
I would go to more live games if they weren't all played at the same time on the same night... apart from travelling as far as sligo on a Saturday night as a nuetral, just too far, sorry.
Watched it on the rte player last night, decent show...not enough talking about the games, but I suppose they don't have enough cameras to cover incidents in anything other than the main view.
The Shels Sligo game I'm sure had plenty of incident that could warrant more discussion than showing a 0-0 draw between Dundalk and Monaghan or indeed Rovers's win that was already on the telly..talk about the fouls, list the late goals Shels like to concede and was there any hint they'd do it again in other set-pieces they defended etc...
blueblood
06/03/2012, 6:39 PM
Far too much nonsense talk as usuall, would it kill them to show replays of goals or certain refereeing decisions etc during the highlights for thet game! instead they talk rubbish then only sometimes show a replay of the goals, even if they showed replays while their talking rubbish so we dont have to look at them, also why do they show the Brandywell from that angle so the ground and crowd look rubbish, surely it's in RTE's interest to make the show and the league look a good product.
At least they didn't show the karaoke thing or 60 seconds.
Suppose it,s better than nothing but they could easily change 1 or 2 things.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
07/03/2012, 5:50 AM
Better then MNS coverage
http://vimeo.com/37891953
gormacha
07/03/2012, 9:41 AM
As a few have said, its better than nothing, but there is huge room for improvement.
I have the usual, annual, complaints: not enough highlights; too much analysis; not enough FD coverage. But apart from these structural issues, there are problems with the style of presentation...
The low camera "Champions League Magazine" style presentation of the Drogs/Rovers game only works if the viewers have seen the full game, as you can't actually tell what's happening. Most watching MNS wouldn't fall into that category.
There's insufficient use of replay (do they not have this facility?), and what replays they do show are usually shown at full speed. So, for example, we didn't get a proper look at any of the sendings off. It probably wasn't needed for the Quigley one, but the other would have benefitted from it.
Some of the reporting and scripting is pi55 poor. And as for the bed music... jaysus, enough already. Preferably cut it out completely, or if you must have it, try and find something better than that duller-than-dishwater-generic-almost-indie-guitar-rawk. My preference would be for some dirty techno, but I guess that's an acquired taste, so I'd settle for some upbeat electronica, the go-to music for all highlights programmes around the world. They could do worse than listen to the bed music used in MasterChef, which is always top-notch.
The killing thing is that most of these problems are easily fixed. There are tried and tested highlight formats on many other channels. I don't see why RTE don't use one of these. They seem happy enough to ape other broadcasters in most other type of programmes, so why not the football?
Straightstory
07/03/2012, 11:38 AM
[QUOTE=
The low camera "Champions League Magazine" style presentation of the Drogs/Rovers game only works if the viewers have seen the full game, as you can't actually tell what's happening. Most watching MNS wouldn't fall into that category.
[/QUOTE]
Very much agree. (Someone else has mentioned this too). I was at the game and was very disappointed to see those gimmicky camera angles in the MNS highlights. Report from Drogheda was otherwise good, though.
I felt Liam Coyle on the panel was somewhat, eh, 'lacking in charisma'.
However, good to see the show back.
marinobohs
07/03/2012, 11:51 AM
To be fair it is far and away the best LOI show ever (admittitedly the bar was pretty low) apart from the budget limitations there are also infrastructural limitations at most grounds (camera sites etc) the presenters and contributors are all personable and show a genuine interest in LOI.
allowing for the above there are a few changes that would improve the show in my opinon
- more match highlights. most viewers are already LOI fans and are looking for highlights rather than views. current format often spends more time talking about game than showing it.
- No gimmicks. singing contests, hotshot etc are best left to "Soccer saturday" if the producers need fillers a segment on a club (preferably first Division or Junior) would be of much more interest. Alternatively a short piece about foreign similar sized leagues might prove interesting.
- First Division Appreciate there may not be budget to cover 1st Division (I am a trusting kind of guy !) but if clubs cannot provide footage (have they been asked ????) then perhaps one 1st division club could be covered each show.
- National Team it is a football show and national team are our flag ship but any comment should be brief and at end of show (issues are addressed ad nauseum elsewhere on TV)
Above are just a couple of points I feel would enhance the show without breaking the bank at RTE (all those rugger and bogball games to cover)
jafrazer
07/03/2012, 12:22 PM
Better then MNS coverage
http://vimeo.com/37891953
Cheers!
- First Division Appreciate there may not be budget to cover 1st Division (I am a trusting kind of guy !) but if clubs cannot provide footage (have they been asked ????) then perhaps one 1st division club could be covered each show.
I offered the Shels footage numerous times over the last 3-4 year to no avail.
gormacha
07/03/2012, 1:03 PM
Then there's an editorial decision not to cover FD other than a 30 second results listing, because it couldn't be a quality issue as the shelstv stuff is pro standard.
Spudulika
07/03/2012, 1:15 PM
Just finished watching it, seemed okay, no gimmicks, decent coverage, no worries. LOI fans will never be happy, ever.
07/03/2012, 1:29 PM
Better than those Belgians fans.
marinobohs
07/03/2012, 1:42 PM
Cheers!
..well then my suggestion can be amended to "include some !st Division coverage" each week. I can understand them citing cost as reason for not doing so but if that is not the case then (especially given limited footie currently shown) decision should be revisited. To be fair quality of coverage by Shels has always been excellent.
LOI fans will never be happy, ever.
KNOW YOUR PLACE LoI FANS. Be grateful for the few crumbs and never look for improvements from your betters in RTE.
marinobohs
08/03/2012, 10:03 AM
Just finished watching it, seemed okay, no gimmicks, decent coverage, no worries. LOI fans will never be happy, ever.
Spud, I think most on here have acknowledged it is the best LOI show we ever had, No reason why we should not indulge in some constructive critisism around possible/potential improvements to the shows format. This forum would be reflective of the RTE target market for MNS (people with an interest in LOI) so would imagine they would welcome the feedback.
pateen
08/03/2012, 11:16 AM
Enjoyed the Show and no gimmicks this year. Well done lads
Nah Nah Nah Nah
08/03/2012, 12:37 PM
Cheers!
Excellent production. Don't think there was one major chance / incident in the game that wasn't in the highlights. And the quality is superb.
Would you consider interviewing the opposition manager after the game?
Spudulika
08/03/2012, 12:43 PM
Spud, I think most on here have acknowledged it is the best LOI show we ever had, No reason why we should not indulge in some constructive critisism around possible/potential improvements to the shows format. This forum would be reflective of the RTE target market for MNS (people with an interest in LOI) so would imagine they would welcome the feedback.
I understand constructive criticism, but at times it seems like there is a little bit of divorce from reality in place. Agreed on the forum being a target market, but as with the extratime podcast, posters were lining up to slam it without actually pointing out anything positive. And partisan bias always seems to win out, especially when the sad attitude of "them up in Dublin" pours through the screen. Each time I read that, I just think of the Healy-Rae Nuremburg rallies (on the back of tractor trailers). MNS, thankfully, has moved away from trying to desperately ape that god awful saturday morning tripe on sky. And the next logical step, for me anyway, is to include goal highlights of the 1st division - however it will only come from the clubs themselves getting their acts together. It doesn't cost much and there is bound to be someone in each club who enjoys some amateur camerawork (possibly of the adult kind and not as amateur as some of our national broadcasters efforts either).
Shannonsider
08/03/2012, 12:47 PM
I agree with people on the gimmicks. Some of them were good last year, but remember they have an extra game + discussion on that game for this season. To be honest, it shouldn't be a show to promote the league, but if they showed the First Division it would do more harm than good for a neutral watching. Better off with more highlights and less discussion and a feature like an interview with a different player or a feature on a young player in the league each week, to break up the highlights and chat.
gormacha
08/03/2012, 1:45 PM
but if they showed the First Division it would do more harm than good for a neutral watching.
Sod the neutrals! More seriously, I don't think anyone is advocating a full highlights package on the FD - I'm certainly not. Briefly showing the goals followed by a brief discussion would be my ideal, but I wouldn't even think that that's essential - noting the scores and major issues, and having a five/six minute conversation on those may be enough. At the moment its effectively ignored.