View Full Version : Mns - 5/03/12
I'd settle for some discussion of the 1st Division at this stage. It looked very much like an after thought this week. As I mentioned earlier, as they were discussing relegation candidates from the premier, it actually made sense to move on to discuss promotion from the 1st. Instead Con flapped around looking for some other filler question.
For clubs to provide their own footage from the 1st, I think they'd have to guarantee the use of it, for the clubs to justify the cost of hiring someone in. Then clubs could potentially offset some of the costs with increased revenue from sponsors/ pitchside advertisements who'd be guaranteed TV time.
08/03/2012, 4:36 PM
I don't mind not seeing first division coverage every week but there should be some games covered. Next week you have a Munster derby which highlights of which could be shown. Last season was probably the best season in a long time to show highlights of one or two matches with Limerick vs Shels, Cork vs Shels and Cork vs Limerick all being big games and decent games at that. I'm sure the fans of teams at the bottom of the premier wouldn't mind seeing what they could be facing at the end of the season and some fans wouldn't mind seeing what could be coming up next season.
There definitely should be some kind of a feature on one club a week and include the first division in that.
nosebleds
08/03/2012, 5:58 PM
I don't mind not seeing first division coverage every week but there should be some games covered. Next week you have a Munster derby which highlights of which could be shown. Last season was probably the best season in a long time to show highlights of one or two matches with Limerick vs Shels, Cork vs Shels and Cork vs Limerick all being big games and decent games at that. I'm sure the fans of teams at the bottom of the premier wouldn't mind seeing what they could be facing at the end of the season and some fans wouldn't mind seeing what could be coming up next season.
There definitely should be some kind of a feature on one club a week and include the first division in that.
well put together jofspring,have to agree
marinobohs
12/03/2012, 11:56 AM
Cant imagine it would break the Bank at RTE to cover 1or 2 1st Division games a week. Possibly identify a "featured match" each week ? this would give that game a little bit of publicity and remind fans here that we have a 1st Division !
12/03/2012, 6:07 PM
I take it back....I don't want to see the highlights of the Munster derby Friday :p
El-Pietro
12/03/2012, 6:07 PM
up with the dundalk pitch? it looks like it was snowing up there
HomerJay
12/03/2012, 6:11 PM
you must have a very white Tv.
Not a thing wrong with the pitch.
12/03/2012, 6:38 PM
Rico is such a bluffer. "It's about the level of consciousness". Yes, teams could well struggle if people are unconscious. Bang on there Rico.
12/03/2012, 6:39 PM
Liked that little video of Shane Long talking about him moving over and the other players that have moved over and been successful.
ger121
12/03/2012, 6:45 PM
Very good show so far this week. Liked the Long interview and the APOL piece. Hopefully we see a few more segments like that on the show over the course of the Season.
Think you are watching Emmerdale mate.
gufc2000
12/03/2012, 6:49 PM
Gavin Dykes now involved with Sligo, and Trevor Molloy involved with Monaghan I see.
Great camera angle from the Showgrounds, stand was packed so it looked really well on TV.
El-Pietro
12/03/2012, 6:57 PM
Think you are watching Emmerdale mate.
nah, im pretty sure Monaghan were away this week
Guinney
12/03/2012, 7:12 PM
Good show tonight, only bad was that I had to watch how bad Dundalk were the other night :(
Out of the gimmicks I think the Good, Bad & the Ugly is worthwhile.
12/03/2012, 8:21 PM
Jaysus lads the standard of referee is beyond a joke. And it's right across the board.
2 absolute howlers in the Bray-Derry game. Quigley sending off and Greacen handball.
Keane should never have been sent off in the Sligo game imo, yellow card yes but never a straight red (can't believe I just defended Keane, I feel dirty now)
Was it the Cork-Drogheda game where the elbow incident went unnoticed? Can't remember.
Didn't see the full show but those were horrible decisions.
sheao
12/03/2012, 10:23 PM
Jaysus lads the standard of referee is beyond a joke. And it's right across the board.
2 absolute howlers in the Bray-Derry game. Quigley sending off and Greacen handball.
Keane should never have been sent off in the Sligo game imo, yellow card yes but never a straight red (can't believe I just defended Keane, I feel dirty now)
Was it the Cork-Drogheda game where the elbow incident went unnoticed? Can't remember.
Didn't see the full show but those were horrible decisions.
Sky +'d MNS so have'nt watched it yet.
Was that the one on City's Kalen Spillane, then if so yeah it was unreal how none of the officals spotted it.
legendz
12/03/2012, 10:36 PM
Very good show so far this week. Liked the Long interview and the APOL piece. Hopefully we see a few more segments like that on the show over the course of the Season.
Agreed, thought the show was good this week. Long interview was good, would be great so see a few interviews with ex-LoI players over the course of the season. The APOEL piece was good, possibly influence by forum topics??!! Decent coverage given of the games, good comments on the crowd. Fair play MNS!
13/03/2012, 3:28 AM
Just got round to watching tonights MNS now on RTE player. I really wish they'd get rid of the music over the match reports. Really annoys me. Can hear absolutely zero atmosphere from the grounds and it's often too loud to even hear the report on the game itself.
Glad they got rid of all the silly gimmicks in the show, I don't mind the good bad and ugly segment though, it's a good touch at the end of the show really.
As said before, some sort of coverage of the first division or at very minimum a word from the panellists about the division would be good. I'd love to see the one feature game a week or something from it, but can't see it happening.
Nice little segment about the Cypriot league versus League of Ireland, and nice to hear a word from Shane Long about the league.
All in all, a good show this week, and it's steadily improving.
13/03/2012, 5:37 AM
One of the best shows since it started, no frills and good highlights.
WindmillWarrior
13/03/2012, 7:10 AM
Was that the one on City's Kalen Spillane, then if so yeah it was unreal how none of the officals spotted it.
No, believe it or not it was actually an elbow by a cork player!! Imagine that
The tackle on Duggan to which he foolishly reacted, was an absolute disgrace.
Brian Gannon could have broken his leg and then pulls off an oscar winning performance on the floor.
a cancer in the game.
not that Richie Winter would have noticed.
WindmillWarrior
13/03/2012, 8:12 AM
The tackle on Duggan to which he foolishly reacted, was an absolute disgrace.
Was it really that bad? The mns panel were a bit OTT for me. Calling Gannon a coward and all that. Looked to me like he just put his leg across the cork player to win the ball. His studs were showing a bit alright but I've seen a lot worse than that.
Brian Gannon could have broken his leg and then pulls off an oscar winning performance on the floor.
WindmillWarrior
13/03/2012, 8:22 AM
Sorry cant edit on my phone. Reply to 2nd quote:
he did make a bit of a meal of the push, but he was pushed to the ground, hes well within his rights to stay there! And he didn't seem to hold his face to me?, he just put one hand on his head in a kinda "I'm wrecked after that nasty push" kinda motion!
Claret and blue spectacles on me? I'd be interested in a neutral pov!
Fivesilver
13/03/2012, 8:43 AM
I'd be interested in a neutral pov!
Thought he overdid the reaction to being pushed, although not massively. Didn't think he was claiming to be hit in the face, more like that he was grievously traumatised by Duggan's savage attack. :p
But his tackle was awful. I thought it was worth a red.
legendz
13/03/2012, 9:58 AM
One of the best shows since it started, no frills and good highlights.
I've never had a problem with the show but agreed, last night was very good. I'll send them an email encouraging more of the same.
13/03/2012, 2:06 PM
Same as myself Legendz, literally just sent one off myself.
Another good show I thought, bar the usual whinge about sod all on the first. Longford top of the table, and a player who made his name with Longford on the panel and not even a passing comment to Stuey? It really let's the show down, considering they've enough conversations essentially just filling time.
Not really convinced on the good, the bad and the ugly - the MOTD2 2 Good 2 Bad that it's ripping off generally has stuff that hasn't already been in the highlights, but I'm not arsed enough to lodge a formal complaint.
13/03/2012, 3:44 PM
Definitely not first division games should be shown on MNS, and we've just been down there. The standard simply is not good enough, there are the odd few games alright but thats it. By and large its just not good enough. I know that the first year we were down there i wouldn't have wanted any of our games shown by we were brutal for the most part.
13/03/2012, 3:46 PM
Definitely not first division games should be shown on MNS, and we've just been down there. The standard simply is not good enough, there are the odd few games alright but thats it. By and large its just not good enough. I know that the first year we were down there i wouldn't have wanted any of our games shown by we were brutal for the most part.
All well and good saying that now your in the Premier, nobodys asking for a huge highlights package for the division, but some goals at least would be nice. There's far too much neglect in the media toward the first division. Maybe it would be a bit better if there was some coverage.
I remain to be convinced that the average viewer would see much of a difference between the divisions in terms of quality to be honest. It may be there, but compared to the difference between the premier and most of the other football on TV it's minuscule.
Have to agree. And even some of the crowds, although decent still had plenty of empty seats not helped by camera positions (the missus was laughing at the away fans in Turners Cross, given the number of them, and the number of empty seats around them). So I don't see how it'd be that negative to have one 1st division game. However, my main issue is still the lack of discussion - a few minutes talk wouldn't take away from the precious premier division.
13/03/2012, 10:28 PM
I don't have any problem at all with first division games not being shown.
What I would like is for Con to actually read out the scores though, instead of saying something like "...and good wins for Wexford and Longford too." The least they can do is mention the names of the first division clubs each week.
legendz
14/03/2012, 12:07 PM
Is it not something to aspire to? One's club to be in the Premier and their games covered on TV. Hopefully as the season goes on if there's a big game in the promotion battle, it will get some coverage.
Promotion for it's own sake is something to aspire too - TV coverage doesn't come into it at all, for me at least. As for them doing it later in the season - can't see it, if they didn't do it last year, especially as there's an extra game in the premier. Just bloody discuss Con! It's about all that really lets the show down now all the gimmicky crap has gone.
CuanaD
20/03/2012, 3:56 PM
Another good show this week IMO - I enjoyed J.Mac's piece on the Ref's course, it was good to see players & Managers admiting that they didn't understand the rules; hopefully the PFAI can keep running this course & get as many as possible up to speed on the Laws of the Game.
Pat Dolan was a bit subdued (for him) in his first outing I thought.
Link to the show on RTE player:
http://www.rte.ie/player/#!v=1141139
20/03/2012, 8:30 PM
I thought the refs course was a load of rubbish and had no real place in the show. Aside from that, it wasn't bad. Disappointing though after how good it was last week.
legendz
21/03/2012, 1:19 PM
I thought the refs course was a load of rubbish and had no real place in the show. Aside from that, it wasn't bad. Disappointing though after how good it was last week.
I didn't have any qualms with the show and the refs course either.
21/03/2012, 2:55 PM
Why did they show so little of Cork v Rovers? The players mentioned a penalty appeal in the first half that hadn't been shown, seemed a bit silly. The picture quality on that game seemed to be worse than the rest to me too.
21/03/2012, 2:56 PM
Why did they show so little of Cork v Rovers? The picture quality on that game seemed to be worse than the rest to me too.
Looked awful. Could they not have just done a proper report on the match? It's like something Match of the Day would do, but then follow it up with a proper report..
Seagull
21/03/2012, 3:48 PM
I didn't have any qualms with the show and the refs course either.
Best bit of that was Johnny Mc pulling up and parking his car in a handicapped parking spot outside Abbotstown, good man Johnny!
Saw that. Good man Johnny!
bullit
26/03/2012, 5:50 PM
Anyone know what the name of the MNS twitter a/c is ? The website seem's to have dissapeared.
http://twitter.com/#!/rtemns
bullit
26/03/2012, 6:09 PM
Cheers Dunny,the thanks button here seems to have dissapeared as well.
bluewhitearmy
26/03/2012, 6:48 PM
O'Flynns miss is a joke.
Missed the 1st 20 minutes or so, but unless that contained a feature on the first division, the same complaint remains. It's much improved this season, but I still don't see why they can't spend a couple of minutes talking about the 1st. It'd be more interesting, and definitely more positive, than spending time giving out about the quality of bohs football (long balls into the "square" ffs), or the state of pitches.
27/03/2012, 11:18 AM
I did love Cons little quip about the Bohs v St.Pats match on Monday, simply saying "Well done to our editors for getting 3 minutes and 45 seconds of action from that match".
harpstilidie
27/03/2012, 11:28 AM
They are still while for getting players names wrong in the reports. They done it last night with Johnny Dunleavy, called him John Flanagan twice and one of the times it showed a close up of him with Dunleavy on the back. Unbelievable!
They also made a silly mistake with the caption that runs along the bottom of the screen. They had 'gaols' instead of goals at one stage.
27/03/2012, 12:14 PM
No mention of the LC either, which I thought was strange.
Liam Coyle was certainly improved over his first appearance.
askmehoop
27/03/2012, 3:49 PM
I did love Cons little quip about the Bohs v St.Pats match on Monday, simply saying "Well done to our editors for getting 3 minutes and 45 seconds of action from that match".
i think he was being genuine, they really did great job