View Full Version : Goals Can Come From Anywhere
30/11/2001, 6:44 PM
Originally posted by Casegrande
Good point, and perhaps not a coincidence that the two people here standing up for the Board have/had dealings with the club at an official level. I can be corrected on this Peadar?
I like Gerry, Bernie and all the rest of the lads in the SC who help out, am a volunteer with the club and try to do something positive.
If I’m not at a game it’s because I’m on the other side of the world and have a job to do.
Having flown in from Tokyo last week I took the chance to go to the Cross for the Galway game before I left for Seoul. I’m not looking for a medal here but I resent your “rose coloured glasses” jibe.
I was at Flancare Park on day one when the scoreline at full-time read 4-1.
I know things aren’t perfect but the football I see when I’m lucky enough to get to a game is very positive and augurs well for the future.
Liam Murphy id building for the future and the CCFC board put him where he is.
Casegrande
30/11/2001, 7:00 PM
I like Gerry, Bernie and all the rest of the lads in the SC who help out, am a volunteer with the club and try to do something positive.
I also am a member of the SC. What difference does that make? (BTW I don't believe Gerry is a member of the SC, and before you jump down my throat - I know Gerry does great work for the club, and has had to put up with a lot of **** because of having to deal with the idiots on the board)
If I’m not at a game it’s because I’m on the other side of the world and have a job to do.
You misinterpreted me. I was suggesting that because you don't have to put up with the same ole crap week after week on front of your eyes, you are not as affected?
when I’m lucky enough to get to a game is very positive and augurs well for the future.
You really aren't seeing where I'm coming from!
Casegrande
30/11/2001, 8:48 PM
This thread could possibly be merged with this (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?s=&postid=9963) one. Interesting last post by Vetinari...
a couple of things
Qualifying for the CL Group stages
if an Irish team does manage to make the breakthrough in the near future I very much doubt it will be City
manager's performance
while results seem to be going our way there a couple of points to consider:
1) our apparent inability to keep a clean sheet
2) the lack of cover we have in midfield since O'Brien, O'Halloran, Herrick, Tynan and to a lesser extent Moore and Cotter were let go
3) some strange tactical decisions from time to time
However, while Murph has been in the game a while he is a relative novice as a manager so maybe he is on a learning curve?
It would also be a lot better for the club if we had a fulltime manager - I don't think anyone could argue with that. And the fact that he's a fulltime coach at CSN doesn't make any difference to that.
btw when a manager leaves a club doesn't the assistant normally follow him? Especially when the manager has been sacked. Just a thought.
the board
IMHO the current board has taken the club as far as it can (that's becoming a cliché at this stage, I know) and seem to lack the necessary ambition to take things to the next level. Sure, you can say they tried to become more of a professional outfit last season with the appointments made, but when those appointments didn't work out, for whatever reason, going back to the old ways was a step backwards.
As for more people getting involved with the club, it would be great if that happened, but IMHO it's fulltime people that are needed at this stage as much as volunteers.
Basically we're a part-time club with low ambitions and that's the type of fan we can expect to attract under current circumstances - part-time and lacking in ambition.
btw Peader if sacking Liam Murphy is a quick fix what was sacking Derek Mountfield? And please don't anyone come back with 'not that bring back Mountfielfd crap again', I'm genuinely interested in what the sacking of Mountfield achieved, apart from the obvious trip to Latvia.
30/11/2001, 9:57 PM
Originally posted by joe
btw Peader if sacking Liam Murphy is a quick fix what was sacking Derek Mountfield? And please don't anyone come back with 'not that bring back Mountfielfd crap again', I'm genuinely interested in what the sacking of Mountfield achieved, apart from the obvious trip to Latvia.
Things were getting worse under Mountfield and scaking him stopped the rot!
Should we continue to sack managers like we did to Mountfield?
Personally I think he was too much of a nice guy and could easily be taken for a ride. A manager needs balls in this game.
I wasn't in favour of Murphy becoming manager but I think he's proved himself to me. A strong finish is the key to winning the league and Murphy knows how to do that.
Anyway Joe this is a Cork City forum not Cobh Ramblers :p
Things were getting worse under Mountfield and scaking him stopped the rot!
I would have preferred to see the 'Gang of 5' sacked (including Ollie Cahill) and sticking with our attempts to become a professional outfit. It might have meant finishing tenth (I dont think we would have got relegated).
I wasn't in favour of Murphy becoming manager but I think he's proved himself to me.
He's proved nothing except that he gives the lads what they want. Part-time style training and none of this going professional rubbish - ie. cutting down on drink, eating better, preparing for games more...
Anyway Joe this is a Cork City forum not Cobh Ramblers
Are you on drugs?
Gerry Desmond
01/12/2001, 9:50 AM
OK, guys, been away from the PC for a bit a the discussion has certainly gotten interesting if a little meandering.
I'd like to clear up a few things, as I appear to have been misinterpreted, misunderstood and also quite frankly accused of stuff that basically just ain't so.
My original entry into this thread was a simple query, not a defence of Liam Murphy and/or the Board.
I have stated clearly in a subsequent post that it was neither my duty nor desire to do this.
I suggested that more people should be INVOLVED with the club. Specifically that referred to the business community. How they get involved, or if they want to get involved is entirely a matter for themselves: I am outside of that circle.
I stated that at least the current Board got involved (when the club was on its knees let it be remembered). Other members of the business community did not. This is a statement of FACT, not a defence of where the club is or isn't at the present moment in time.
Barry's Tea replied to a query on how would it be possible to qualify for the CL. He explained it exactly. It may be difficult to achieve, but it's not impossible. Who knows what the future will bring?
I have no problems with the fans who turn up. What more can they do? My problem would be with 'fans' who don't turn up...
There are 7-8 or whatever members of the CCFC Board at present. The Board has chnaged several times since the takeover in 1995-96. Maybe it will change again? Let's wait and see.
The Longford situation: the community involvement there was pretty unique, let's be fair. I personally don't think it was a reflection of how much the fans love the LTFC Board. I could be wrong of course, but that's my opinion.
Why don't I say negative stuff against the club/Board?
Two reasons basically:
1) I prefer to look at the positive side where possible.
2) I quite often say negative stuff about the board, occasionally to members of the Board themselves. However, I don't believe this is the place for me to do in so much as I don't believe it would achieve anything for me to do it here.
An exception: I have stated openly that the sacking of Derek Mountfield was very badly handled and reflected badly on the board.
I am not a member of the supporters club. Neither am I a member of the football club. I am a Cork City fan first and foremost and I am also privileged enough to edit the programme.
I only mentioned 1968 and that kind of stuff to give a perspective, not to be condescending or anything else. I've seen a lot in my time to know how boards have treated supporters over a long number of years. It strikes me as a little ironic that this time last year Bohs would have been the model club...look at them now: would we swap places right now?
I still maintain Éanna's suggestion that for Murph to win the CL and STILL be unacceptable is utterly bizarre, which is where I entered this thread.
If there is anything else that I have written in this thread that you still have a problem understanding, I'm not sure there is much I can help you with.
Gerry
It's a start (eventually we'll have you handing out 'Sack the Board' banners!)
the sacking of Derek Mountfield was very badly handled and reflected badly on the board.
This is the kind of thing that people are unhappy about. You say you like to concentrate on positive things about the club, which is good, but there is no point in being blind about the bad things that are going on.
Gerry Desmond
01/12/2001, 11:36 AM
Originally posted by Neil
It's a start (eventually we'll have you handing out 'Sack the Board' banners!)
This is the kind of thing that people are unhappy about. You say you like to concentrate on positive things about the club, which is good, but there is no point in being blind about the bad things that are going on.
Have I stated somewhere that I am blind to what is going on?
Mountield WAS a mess but, unless I am mistaken, it's history now? I mean: what can be done about it?
Let's move on: I can think of no other club in the country that would have so many people griping over stuff when the team is flying and silverware looks more of a possibility every week. (Note: that does NOT mean I am saying we will win anything. I've SIMPLY said: it's more of a possibility).
Sack the Board? Only the Board can sack the Board! Either by leaving, and letting the club in the lurch, or by accepting a buy out from another group of business people. C'est la vie!
I may know a lot of what is going on, or I may not. I have learned in this town (over long years) that most 'news' is incorrect/exaggerated/misinformed or countered by 'news' to the contrary almost immediately. It's difficult to unearth the TRUTH.
I'll say this: I keep my ear fairly close to the ground and usually I have an inkling of what's coming/going down. Not always, but usually. I consider my opinions on what that may be to be my own. I'm not convinced that MBs are the best place for them, and that's MY business and MY choice and I don't see why I should have to explain myself for it, but there you are anyway.
I don't necessarily like certain members of the Board. FACT. For certain, certain members of the Board don't care very much for me. Absolute FACT.
I might PREFER if they had no part in the club, THEY might prefer it if I got lost. C'est la vie.
Casegrande came on here asking questions and accusing me of defending the Board because I couldn't/didn't answer them. FACT: I don't have the answers. My suggestion: ask the Board the questions. Cas's reply: he wants to talk about it here. No answers here, amigo, only frustration for you if you keep asking them...
Gerry
I'm genuinely interested in what the sacking of Mountfield achieved.....
We may not have got relegated under Mountfield last year but we were in serious danger of which would have almost killed the club. Mountfield obviously needed to be given time but the results & performances kept getting worse. However the manner in which Mounty got sacked was disgraceful & anyone involved in should be ashamed of themselves. I believe it reflected badly on the club both locally & nationally.
If the Board want to treat their roles as a part-time thing then thats fine but they need to appoint pay fulltime commericial manager as opposed to have a certain person all but do it in name for barely part-time money.
I think its pointless going fulltime on the pitch without professional backup staff off the pitch.
I believe we are progressing nicely on the pitch (nothing to do with being 2nd in the table), turners cros is progressing steadly but seem to be where we were 10 years ago off the pitch.
Originally posted by Barry's Tea
Anyone who knows anything about the club will know and agree that a certain lady never stops working for the club but there are jobs that only the board can do.
Sack the board is a quick fix.
Sack Liam Murphy is a quick fix.
I agree 100% with you. My point is, Gunther is aprt of a cartel at the club that has been there too long (players, management and board) and it's going stale. The club needs to be sorted out from top to bottom. I never said Murphy should be the only one to go.
to be honest, gunther would not have been my choice for manager. It seemed not bringing in new blood would be a bad thing for the club. But you have got to say things look good.
I cannot remember when the club had so many good young players. we are gunning for glory on 3 fronts.
Dare i say it a treble? :D
the crowds should now in the coming weeks be back at the cross for the big matches that are on the horizon... ;)
why dwell on the negatives?
Originally posted by Pablo
the crowds should now in the coming weeks be back at the cross for the big matches that are on the horizon... ;)
Let's hope so, and let's hope the money that is generated will be spent wisely - is that a fair comment lads?
Originally posted by joe
Let's hope so, and let's hope the money that is generated will be spent wisely - is that a fair comment lads?
yes :D
ccfcman
01/12/2001, 3:52 PM
gerry hit the nail on the head.........what has murphy done thats wrong & who is the prpoper manager so??
goalside
02/12/2001, 1:00 PM
Hi lads, give gerry d a break. support your club and stop shooting yourselvs in the foot. up the board
Lose them negative vibes lads,nowan thought Murph would do much but in fairness to him he's got the boys flyin'. Go down to Cashmans now and throw a score on the double while the odds are still good! Doucha Gerry.
03/12/2001, 12:07 PM
its a shame that the negative aspects are always dwelt upon
I don't think anyone is dwelling on anything negative. Rather they're highlighting some aspects of our club which they are unhappy with and would like to see improved.
Gerry Desmond
03/12/2001, 9:34 PM
Originally posted by joe
I don't think anyone is dwelling on anything negative. Rather they're highlighting some aspects of our club which they are unhappy with and would like to see improved.
But will they be improved on this MB?
Gerry
no but they would be discussed and maybe people that had differing views as people here clearly do would be able to view them and then someone unaware of either side and I'll bet there are alot of city fans that know nothing about the board, can read both sides and make up their mind, one way or the other
and logically they will find the board to be cowboys :D , who care more about $$$ then the fans or the club
its getting things out in the open..like..kinda..like
Originally posted by Gerry Desmond
But will they be improved on this MB?
Nobody's suggesting that, but surely discussion is a good thing? Message Boards may bot be the ideal place to discuss things but there's not really anywhere else is there?
Gerry Desmond
04/12/2001, 8:45 AM
Originally posted by joe
Nobody's suggesting that, but surely discussion is a good thing? Message Boards may bot be the ideal place to discuss things but there's not really anywhere else is there?
Joe & James:
It's good, ok, that stuff is talked about here; I don't have a problem with that, in fact I welcome it. My point is that there is a LIMIT to what this MB can achieve. It can't, especially, IMPROVE the lot of the club, nor can it provide answers that ONLY club directors can provide, a point I made earlier.
Gerry
04/12/2001, 11:37 AM
ok fair enough the club is far from ideally run. no arguements there. but come January we could be top of the league and in the later stages of both cups, the best support in the league, a good stadium with floodlights etc etc
i think many EL clubs would be envious but we love to have a gripe dont we?
why not support Gunther and the lads? weather or not we like the man or not this, fingers crossed could be some year.....
Casegrande
04/12/2001, 11:46 AM
the best support in the league
that's a joke for a start! we didn't have the 'best support in the league' against Dundalk in September when we were after a few bad results, or even against Galway last week when the West Brits were watching $eltic on Sky.
I hope we go on and win the league, it would be brilliant.
But I for one don't want to support a team that only draws a big crowd depending on our position in the League. We have to aim to build something a lot more concrete than that. A product that people are proud of and will support regardless of whether we're on top of the League.
Some people then just want a trophy, like in '98, we were in the biggest mess for a long time. We won the Cup and all the cracks were covered over - cracks that are still there today.
But I for one don't want to support a team that only draws a big crowd depending on our position in the League.
I suggest you start to watch $hel$ so as no matter where they in the league they still get a massive 1000-1500 ;)
Seriously though every club gets less for teams like Dundalk & more for the big games. CCFC don't foster a community spirit to increase the core support. I'd be a lot more disappointed if we couldn't get big crowds when top of the league.
jez lads that is some discussion all the same.
all i can do is offer my mates perspective on ccfc and the national league.
i have haranging them for years to go to games and they won't.
do you know what their reason are?
they claim all the 0-0 draws and the hoof football puts them off as well as the shameuteur nature of ccfc and national league football.
now we all know that isn't true but it does reflect in miniture the perception that people in cork have of ccfc and national league.
as for the way the club is run i personally don't think it is run any better or worse than it was since the late 80's which in my mind is on a ad-hoc basis. there is no money or glamour in national league for investors and exiists on a hand 3 mouth basis.
let's face it lads the national league is a shambles and this is coming from a supporter who actually daydreams about city winning 4 leagues on the trot ans whom my girlfriend wonders who i love more!!!!!!
keep the faith
why not support Gunther and the lads? weather or not .....
I support CCFC no matter what the weather :D always have and always will, no matter who's in charge or running the club
My point is that there is a LIMIT to what this MB can achieve. It can't, especially, IMPROVE the lot of the club, nor can it provide answers that ONLY club directors can provide, a point I made earlier.
I agree there's a limit to what this MB can achieve, but I do believe it can improve the lot of the club, discussing things and getting them out in the open is bound to, isn't it?
btw what's stopping club directors from providing those answers here? :)
why not support Gunther and the lads? weather or not we like the man or not this, fingers crossed could be some year.....
From my viewpoint, it's not a matter of whether people like him or not, or support the team or not, it's more trying to make sure that:
1) there's a team to support in the future (I wasn't around when previous Cork clubs were, but I don't want to see the same happen to my club,
2) the club develops, on and off the field, to a higher level.
We have to aim to build something a lot more concrete than that. A product that people are proud of and will support regardless of whether we're on top of the League.
that's what I'm talking about.
Originally posted by pete
I suggest you start to watch $hel$ so as no matter where they in the league they still get a massive 1000-1500
and yet Shels are recognised as one of the more professional clubs in the country. They can pay professional wages getting those sort of crowds :mad:
Gerry Desmond
04/12/2001, 2:26 PM
Joe, be realistic!
People (fans) ALWAYS talk about their club. Gripe, moan, argue, disagree, praise, slate and just about everything else you can think of.
MBs can make fans more informed, offer a chance to float ideas, let off steam even have a laugh. However, and I stand to be corrected here, I can't recall a single instance of directors ANYWHERE making a decision due to the influence of a MB.
It's strongly argued here by several posters that directors have NO time for fans and NO interest in them. To take that one step further: why should anyone then assume directors scour MBs to take the views of fans on board?
There's nothing stopping directors addressing fans via a forum or MB, but come on, Joe, what do you expect?
I've suggested earlier that questions be put to the directors; I wouldn't suggest here as a likely place to draw a response.
We all want a team and a club to be proud of, what would be the point otherwise? Take my word for it: questions are being asked here that aren't gonna be answered here. I've tried to make this clear, but it seems like the message is getting lost somewhere...
Gerry
MBs can make fans more informed, offer a chance to float ideas, let off steam even have a laugh.
exactly...my point...why do we always have to assume that just because things are going well on the pitch that they are so good off the pitch...many mnay people dont know whats going on.. some of us hear things stories have observations..why not share/ discuss them..with people here..try to inform others of whats going on etc etc...i think that every criticism I have of the board and of Liam Murphy as a manager is justified and I have yet to hear anyone actually disprove any of my points...all I hear is oh we are doing well ..shut up stop complaining..
and there were some going on about oh thats the usual cork thing..fickle supporters etc etc always complaining..
well its very easy to complain when things aretn going well and you're losing...BUT when things are going well as they are now and when we won the cup in 98...lots of things get glossed over ..
I've suggested earlier that questions be put to the directors; I wouldn't suggest here as a likely place to draw a response.
We all want a team and a club to be proud of, what would be the point otherwise? Take my word for it: questions are being asked here that aren't gonna be answered here. I've tried to make this clear, but it seems like the message is getting lost somewhere...
Gerry
Gerry, when or where is the correct forum to do so.
before Micheal O Leary turned up at a supporters club meeting...when had a director ever turned?
this year it only IMO happened because of other reasons..and not because they were asked and simply said yes..they had to be pushed,pressured and threatened into turning up..
As far as I know Liam Murphy has been asked to turn up at one supporters club meeting..yet he cant find the time ie 1 hour to turn up to answer question from supporters club members that week in week out sell lotto tickets,buy lotto tickets , sell programmes, do stewarding at games and support the club in general..
Dereck Mounfield....was doing results wise much much worse then Liam Murphy as a manager...yet he turned up!!!
whats gunther afraid of ?
as i said before the club is not being run professionally. absolutly no doubt about that. My point is the stadium has been developed, the team is winning, we have some fine young local talent, the crowds are up and will get better over the next few matches.
ok, if winning trophies and supporting a good local team who are doing well isnt enough what would ye suggest is an acceptable position for CCFC to be in?
Gerry Desmond
04/12/2001, 2:58 PM
Originally posted by James
exactly...my point...why do we always have to assume that just because things are going well on the pitch that they are so good off the pitch...many mnay people dont know whats going on.. some of us hear things stories have observations..why not share/ discuss them..with people here..try to inform others of whats going on etc etc...i think that every criticism I have of the board and of Liam Murphy as a manager is justified and I have yet to hear anyone actually disprove any of my points...all I hear is oh we are doing well ..shut up stop complaining..
and there were some going on about oh thats the usual cork thing..fickle supporters etc etc always complaining..
well its very easy to complain when things aretn going well and you're losing...BUT when things are going well as they are now and when we won the cup in 98...lots of things get glossed over ..
I take your point, James BUT mine is that it's unrealistic to expect the Board of CCFC to get involved in the debate here.
1) Please don't assume that if I suggest everything is going well on the pitch that the implication is that everything must be hunkydory off of it as well. I've rarely known the two to go hand in hand.
2) I accept some people don't like Liam Murphy's style of management: fine. My argument would be that he has a job to do and he's doing it fairly well as far as I can judge at least. The results bear this up.
3) However, it should be remembered that he is not in the position all that long and he has transformed the team from a struggling outfit to serious championship contenders.
4) He has been brave enough to try different formations 4-5-1, 3-5-2 etc, but wise enough to call it a day when they haven't worked out.
5) He is also very prepared to change team selection early in a game. This leaves him open to the suggestion that he picked the wrong team/player, but my point would be that he can see the problem and addresses it as soon as he sees it.
6) Like everyone else there is a chance that he will blossom even more as he learns more etc etc.
7) Give the guy a chance. The club was in turmoil this time last season - is he expected to make everything rosy overnight?
8) He's not afraid to throw the kids in, which was a justifiable criticism of most previous CCFC managers
9) You are 100% correct about the state of things around the time of the 98 Cup win...
Gerry
04/12/2001, 2:59 PM
i think that every criticism I have of the board and of Liam Murphy as a manager is justified and I have yet to hear anyone actually disprove any of my points...all I hear is oh we are doing well ..shut up stop complaining..
You have heard it before, and you'll hear it again, "Managers are judged on their results". Some one posted Murphy's record and I think that it was something like Played 29 ; Points 60. Thats a record anyone would be proud of. Who is a better manager, Mick McCarthy or Louis Van Halle? Id say LVH but who resigned this autmn and who is going to Japan? Its results that keep you in your job and thats what Murphy is doing, so lay off. His buys have been excelent and he has us as title contenders, unlike the last 2 years.
I was the one who said that City fans were fickle after the "Gunther Brigade" all came out in force after we lost to $hels after a string of good results. None of them had said anything for quite a while until we lost that match & suddenly they were there again. Coincidance? I think not :eek:
04/12/2001, 3:01 PM
Too right Gerry :)
[/begin rant]
If the Directors are businessmen of any credibility they should know its much much cheaper to retain existing customers (to an extent we are customers of some degree) than to go out & find new customers.
If the club were sufficiently organised they would realise there will be 5k+ city supporters at the cup game of which maybe up to 2k hadn't attended the cross this season yet. Win or lose the club should seek to retain as much of these 'customers' as possible for the next game.
However since there is no club organisation the only means of retaining the 'customers' is if the club win.
[end rant/]
oh dead right here is not the place for the directors to get involved nor would i expect them to here...i beleive it was joseph who raised that..i merely have been trying to voice my concerns..to the masses that while we are doing well on the park all is not roses in the CCFC garden!!!
BUT where is the place to ask these question..
gunther i dont beleive is the right man for the job..thats all i'm saying..i support what he has done and is doing 100% ..and fair play to the players for getting the results in recent games..
now gunther
it's players win matches not managers
Unexplainables
i mean carey on the right side of midfield when clearly he has been one if not the best full back with hoggie in the league
playing deccie right back - was skinned against rover v Billy woods
seems to me like he was just trying to find a place to play him!
not playing napier - our player of the year last year, and someone who clearly gave his all for city whenever he played
getting rid of both right wingers...colin o brien and tynan a player with bags of potential..if not the finished product yet
and that whole 451 thing.what was that about..tactically i still think the man is inept..
BUT the players are doing the business on the park...and clearly now is not the time to upset the status quo
City for the league....eh Ollie ;)
Originally posted by pete
[/begin rant]
If the Directors are businessmen of any credibility they should know its much much cheaper to retain existing customers (to an extent we are customers of some degree) than to go out & find new customers.
If the club were sufficiently organised they would realise there will be 5k+ city supporters at the cup game of which maybe up to 2k hadn't attended the cross this season yet. Win or lose the club should seek to retain as much of these 'customers' as possible for the next game.
However since there is no club organisation the only means of retaining the 'customers' is if the club win.
[end rant/]
dead right Pete
according to Micheal Porter in the Harvard Business Review..standard reading for any Commerce student its up to 5 times more expensive to get a new customer then it is to retain an existing one.
but thats the problem..they dont see it as a business, nor us as customers...they see us as fools that no matter what they do or dont do will still pay our money week in week out..and then when the club is doing well they get the extra floating fans that come back and they make more money..
eg I was in the Horseshoe at the start of the season before one of the home games and clearly overheard a City director laughing to one of his buddies how they screwed so many people with the price of the celtic tickets
Gerry Desmond
04/12/2001, 3:27 PM
BUT where is the place to ask these question..
Dunno, but it ain't here!
gunther i dont beleive is the right man for the job..thats all i'm saying..i support what he has done and is doing 100% ..and fair play to the players for getting the results in recent games..
now gunther
it's players win matches not managers
And so I suppose it's managers who lose them not players?
Unexplainables
i mean carey on the right side of midfield when clearly he has been one if not the best full back with hoggie in the league
Others could argue that he is lost as a full back and hasd more to offer in a more advanced role...
playing deccie right back - was skinned against rover v Billy woods
seems to me like he was just trying to find a place to play him!
I've seen Carey play poorly at right back also...
not playing napier - our player of the year last year, and someone who clearly gave his all for city whenever he played
I too think Stephen should be in. Murph disagrees, obviously, and he's the boss. If I were to argue with him he'll point to his results. What would I point at: might have beens and maybes?
getting rid of both right wingers...colin o brien and tynan a player with bags of potential..if not the finished product yet
There may be reasons for one of those, and I'm NOT getting into that here. I would say it had very little to do with talent on the pitch, however.
and that whole 451 thing.what was that about..tactically i still think the man is inept..
I've explained that before...he erred on the side of caution fair enough, but, even then, it was a player's mistake that cost him the home tie and also in fact an aggregate success: who was it that said manager's lose matches?
BUT the players are doing the business on the park...and clearly now is not the time to upset the status quo
City for the league....eh Ollie ;)
How are you surviving not getting to the Cross, James?
Gerry
eh its tough surviving gerry..looking forward to those programmes from you if the bloody things ever get here..but i find a good stiff whiskey and lots of beer and a long telephone call home does the trick..(next phone bill is going to kill me)
Man u really gota learn how to use the edit quote thing properly...bloody hard to read your points...(or maybe there werent any there :D )
of course players lose games...just as much as they win them
devine knocked us out of the cup in the replay IMO.. etc etc thats not what i was suggesting for a second..
no way about carey..definately a full back and a bloody good one.
no arguement about deccie so..he has no longer gotten a place on the side..clearly he is too slow..he was when i left and i doubt he has gotten any faster in the mean time...every time i have seen the ball go near him in the last 2 years i have to worry about what he's going to do with it...if he misses the hoof :D
First off, there was a smiley ( :) )attached to my comment about directors posting comments on MBs (in all my time on the net I've only seen it happen once). And I agree that this wouldn't be the right place for directors to talk to fans. And I know that questions are being raised here that won't be answered here, and possibly nowhere.
My biggest concern for this club is off-the-field. I don't think I've been too critical of the management or team this season or ever.
Pablo says:
as i said before the club is not being run professionally. absolutly no doubt about that. My point is the stadium has been developed, the team is winning, we have some fine young local talent, the crowds are up and will get better over the next few matches.
but the stadium is not our own and probably never will be (at least not with our current board IMHO) and the developments have as much, if not more, to do with the MFA/FAI as City. It's great that the team is winning and that the crowds are returning but as pete says it's imperative that something is done to keep the crowds coming. The year we lost the league to Pats we had huge crowds, yet two years later where did they go? They can't all have emigrated :D. Nothing is being done, from what I can see anyway, to keep these people coming to matches even when the team are losing.
7) Give the guy a chance. The club was in turmoil this time last season - is he expected to make everything rosy overnight?
Some people might say the club was in turmoil 18 months ago, but no doubt he'll be given longer than his predecessor to get those roses blooming!
Re: Carey's positioning, I didn't see Friday night's match but against a poor Galway side I didn't notice him do any more attacking than he has done from right-back all season. To think he used to play centreback for the youths!
Gerry Desmond
04/12/2001, 4:22 PM
[QUOTE]Man u really gota learn...
Talking about Man U now, James - you are drinking too much!
no way about carey..definately a full back and a bloody good one.
Only making the point that some people might see him as a midfielder...players have been known to change position...
Gerry
I hate the way people talk about the way the "club was in turmoil while Mountfield was around", like as if it hadn't been in turmoil ever before that (or since then for that matter)!
Fair enough results were bad (thank you Ollie Cahill et al), but in my opinion the club as a whole had, for the first time ever, a bit of a future. There was a bit of optimism that I had never felt at the club.
Now that we are winning again, everything is supposedly ok. People are going on about "not dwelling on the negative", but it's just what the Board want: for us to forget about the way they are screwing the club and it's fans while the results are coming our way. I'm sure they are rubbing their hands with anticipation of the cash that will be floating around in the weeks to come. Plenty of golf for the boys....
**** the lot of 'em. ****s.
i agree they are **** s but what can we do ? i only say dont dwell on the negative because i want us to win the league, god knows 1 championship ever is a discrace
i dont think its so much dwelling on it Pablo, as informing those that think and say "oh everything is great and fine and the club is great"...when its not
1 championship in 17 years isnt that bad
of course 2 in 18 years (touch wood) is better :D
look at our average placing since we were formed ( anorak job for someone ), and you'll find quiet a good average position..
we are consistantly in the top 3 granted.......a city and club of Corks size should be dominating or certainly regularly wimming major EL/cups
or am i expecting too much?
No, you're not. And this is the whole point - We should be striving for a situation where the club is expected to win the league every year.
But this can never be expected to happen with the current state of affairs. We need an ambitious Board, our own ground, a full-time pro playing staff and most of all a general set-up that entices players (young and local especially) to join.
i agree with all your points....bar the ground . THE CROSS IS JUST FINE....WE HAVE A LONG LEASE ON IT NOW ANYWAY I BELIVE....... but the full time setup is a must.
In fairness to the Borad they did apparently attempt to buy the cross from the MFA a couple of years ago but the MFA didn't want to.