View Full Version : Your Predictions for 2012!
03/02/2012, 1:10 PM
I actually think, that without a whipping boy like Galway to keep you off the bottom this year, you will be there. Not bitterness!
They had a decent team last year and have also signed some of ye're best players from last season so I don't see how not having Galway there will now leave them bottom of the league.
bluewhitearmy
03/02/2012, 1:31 PM
I actually think, that without a whipping boy like Galway to keep you off the bottom this year, you will be there. Not bitterness!
They have ye and Bray that they have stronger squad then so far anyway.
Your squad so far is awful.
marinobohs
03/02/2012, 1:58 PM
Just saying. :p
Someone has a serious fixation PS :rolleyes:
Still, if you say it every season then eventually......
03/02/2012, 2:11 PM
They have ye and Bray that they have stronger squad then so far anyway.
Your squad so far is awful.
Agreed. Mons had a better squad last season. They have not strengthened enough for life in the premier. They'll struggle badly and I'd imagine won't be far off the bottom.
03/02/2012, 2:37 PM
Not agreed coz we havent completed our signings and those that have come in are stronger and at least have premier division experience unlike those who were here last season. (excepting Fabio of course)
gufc2000
03/02/2012, 2:55 PM
Hard to make concrete predictions yet, it's only the beginning of February after all, it will be another month before all clubs have their squads finalised.
You'd expect the likes of Dundalk, Derry, Monaghan, UCD, Shamrock Rovers to snap up a few more yet. Cork and St Pats could do with another striker as well it would appear.
El-Pietro
03/02/2012, 3:20 PM
id be more worried about your own position - theyve taken all of your best players
03/02/2012, 3:25 PM
id be more worried about your own position - theyve taken all of your best first division players
fyp :-d
03/02/2012, 4:19 PM
I actually can't wait for the season to finish now......................
Now, now, be honest.
You can't wait for the season to finish because your own rate payer backed outfit are going to be terrible (again)
I've seen three or four Limerick fans on here bragging about walking the league.
Our average attendance is 500 - 600.
Our latent fanbase (ie the amount of people we could put into jester hats and onto buses for a Cup final) is probably in the region of 3000 - 5000.
So in summary 0.1% of Limerick fans have been bragging about walking the league.
Believe me though, I do genuinely feel a bit :( for Finn Harps, the very best of luck with everything this season. :ball:
Anyway, back to the thread, FAO fans of Cork, Shamrock and Sligo, which is best??
Option 1 (http://www.ehow.co.uk/how_6749958_clean-silver-trophies.html)
Option 2 (http://www.trophybuying.info/cleaning-my-trophy.html)
Option 3 (http://www.justanswer.com/home-improvement/13449-clean-trophies.html)
Thanx in advance.
bluewhitearmy
03/02/2012, 6:22 PM
Not agreed coz we havent completed our signings and those that have come in are stronger and at least have premier division experience unlike those who were here last season. (excepting Fabio of course)
Sava
Shane Grimes
Sean Brennan
Ryan Brennan
Fabio.
Who have ye brought in that are improvements on them then?
Bennion or Schlingerman better then Sava?
Bayly better then Ryan Brennan?
Have ye even signed anyone to replace Sean Brenan or Grimes?
Ill give you that Murphy may be a good replacement for Fabio.
LFC-Zulu
03/02/2012, 7:16 PM
Premier Division:
8) Monaghan
Please now, Mon's squad is ridiculous for the standard expected of them this year. Lost a fantastic keeper, and brought in two decent shot stoppers. Conor Murphy and Bayly are grand, while Reynor isn't properly proven. This does not equate to the sense of continuity and the overall betterment of quality that would have been in your side had ye held onto those who went to Drogs.
Really don't see how drogs are being rated so high.
Because, to most, their squad is better than the ones ranked below them in people's individual rankings. They've signed the majority of quality from yer squad last year, while re-signing some very decent players. They certainly won't be finishing four places behind Monaghan anyway, like you seem to think.
First:
1) Waterford United
2) Limerick
3) longford
Waterford coz they don't have to play us and Scully will bottle.
The man won his last eight games of last season when the pressure was on the most. Bottler, alright. Limerick finished 24 points ahead of Waterford last year, with a worse squad and better teams to beat. Limerick are far better from the start this season, and despite Waterford's ONE big signing, I have then to finish third. I don't see how people think Longford's squad is worse than Waterford's.
I actually can't wait for the season to finish now. I would LOVE to see Limerick screw it all up now. I hope to jesus they finish 2nd with all the fans up their own holes about walking the league this season.
Sir, if you would kindly remove the lemon..
Please, inform us. Do a head to head on personnel in versus personnel out.
Sava
Shane Grimes
Sean Brennan
Ryan Brennan
Fabio.
Who have ye brought in that are improvements on them then?
Bennion or Schlingerman better then Sava?
Bayly better then Ryan Brennan?
Have ye even signed anyone to replace Sean Brenan or Grimes?
Ill give you that Murphy may be a good replacement for Fabio.
Absolutely. However, he's not as good as Fabio, in my opinion.
bullit
05/02/2012, 3:43 AM
Windmill,you may change the Sig there.
Dundalk 1 - "the worst team to ever play in the premier" 2
Oh so sorry,i forgot..you's guys like to live in the past so keep her lit ;)
Premier Division:
1. Rovers
2. Derry
3. Sligo
4. Cork
5. Pats
6. Shelbourne
7. Bohemians
8. Bray
9. Dundalk
10. Drogheda
11. UCD
12. Monaghan United
First Division:
1. Limerick
2. Longford
3. Waterford
4. Finn Harps
5. Athlone
6. Salthill Devon Galway
7. Mervue
8. Wexford
galwayhoop
05/02/2012, 9:48 AM
Premier Division:
1. Rovers
2. Sligo*
3. Pats
4. Cork**
5. Derry
6. Shels
7. Drogs
8. Bohs
9. Dundalk
10. Bray
11. UCD
12. Monaghan United***
*Unless Foster gets managers job.
** Assuming they bring in a striker to replace Cummins
*** Unless Rod make some decent signings.
First Division:
1. Limerick
2. Longford
3. Waterford
4. Athlone*
5. Harps
6. Salthill
7. Mervue
8. Wexford
*I don't know why but I think ATFC could upset the playoff chances of WUFC or LTFC.
05/02/2012, 10:54 AM
I actually can't wait for the season to finish now. I would LOVE to see Limerick screw it all up now. I hope to jesus they finish 2nd with all the fans up their own holes about walking the league this season.
You may notice that almost all of the other fans are making the same prediction. However as we're making our judgements based on nothing I'll hope that Harps come last by a country mile and several other unpleasant things happen to the club along the way (nothing too serious mind you. :) Also, again, your failure to understand the word 'all' continues to baffle.
I'll go:
Premier
1. Shamrock Rovers
2. St. Patrick's Athletic
3. Sligo Rovers
4. Derry City
5. Cork City
6. Shelbourne
7. Bohemians
8. Drogheda United
9. Dundalk
10. Bray Wanderers
11. UCD
12. Monaghan United
First Division
1. Limerick (we probably won't even concede a goal Nigel, much less drop points :rolleyes:)
2. Waterford United
3. Longford Town
4. Athlone Town
5. Mervue United
6. Finn Harps
7. SD Galway
8. Wexford Youths
MagicMon
05/02/2012, 11:04 AM
lengthy ramble
Good to see the Limerick fans haven't let their impending success stop them from getting wound up so easily. With only 28 games yous lads must be looking forward to doing a spot of crowd-counting at other grounds? :p
(I agree that Monaghan need to get more players and better players in, but we were in a tougher situation last year when the season started so In Rod I'll Trust. Would be more than happy with Premier football in 2013)
WindmillWarrior
05/02/2012, 12:39 PM
Windmill,you may change the Sig there.
Oh so sorry,i forgot..you's guys like to live in the past so keep her lit ;)
Haha! was just thinking that the other day, but cant be a*sed really. Besides it reminds me of how far Mick as taken us and the marvelous job hes done, and continues to do...
frenchman
07/02/2012, 1:22 PM
the two rovers (thought sligo woul edge it with north signing and manager change in tallaght but now it's seems all even!!)
derry (need to replace zayed but should be heading for europe)
pats, cork, shels (one on it's way down and the other two looking very good promoted teams)
drogheda (good manager with five very good ex-united players (best 1st div keeper , a very good defender, two of the best midfielders in the 1st and o'brien who will come back to life)
dundalk, bohs,(hard to tell dundalk looing .....empty!!! bohs too
monaghan (should have a good start (a certain continuity from last year (apart from the drogheda 5)
bray very empty with dempsey adn murphy huge losses)
ucd not sure but lost meenan which is a big loss in my opinion......
that said ucd and bray had great A championship teams so they may be a lot better than this table
for the first
limerick
BIG GAP
waterford
longford
BIG GAP
the rest
with wexford or salthill at teh bottom
Spudulika
07/02/2012, 3:13 PM
I don't know why everyone, except the ones brainwashed up in mondog-land, has Monaghan being rock bottom. I admit they've lost some decent players, but they'll be set out for keeping it tight and battling to heroic draws and tight wins against near neighbours. The danger for them is the manager doing a legger when he figures everyone is out to get him, or Ferguson retires in May. I am worried for Dundalk but they at least have some solid lads, Bray haven't done anything of note which adds to their woes. Limerick will find it hard to be fully consistent on a rotten pitch with good ball players, so we'll see. I still tip them and Sligo to be champs come November.
Candystripe
07/02/2012, 4:28 PM
Shams by a country mile.
Sligo might implode and have a clearout during the summer.
Derry,Pats and Cork to fight for 2nd to 4th
Roddy to leave Mons in the game prior to confirmed relegation.
Dewie101
07/02/2012, 10:32 PM
Rovers (no key players lost, Twigg coming back to full fitness since 2010. strong signings made)
Sligo (lost two of their best. Without Ryan they wont be as good as last season)
Derry (hard to call without Kenny there)
Pats (some good signings, full of players not required by Rovers/Sligo at the end of the day)
Shels (solid team, will be a nice battle with themselves, dunalk, monaghan)
Dundalk
Monaghan
Bohemian (anyone of the bottom 4 could go down, although Drogs are a dead cert.)
Bray
UCD
Drogheda
07/02/2012, 10:49 PM
Rovers (no key players lost, Twigg coming back to full fitness since 2010. strong signings made)
Sligo (lost two of their best. Without Ryan they wont be as good as last season)
Pats (some good signings, full of players not required by Rovers/Sligo at the end of the day)
Dundalk
Monaghan
Bohemian (anyone of the bottom 4 could go down, although Drogs are a dead cert.)
Bray
UCD
Drogheda
No Cork?
Hibs4Ever
08/02/2012, 6:58 AM
They also signed 2 of the best players available in North and Quigley
PartySaint
08/02/2012, 5:48 PM
pats, cork, shels (one on it's way down and the other two looking very good promoted teams)
One on it's way down? How did you come to that conclusion??
frenchman
08/02/2012, 7:14 PM
on its way down from their european heights, (ie fahey, guy era)..........sorry should have pointed that out
PartySaint
08/02/2012, 8:05 PM
:D Fahey has been gone 3 seasons now. We have improved in the last 2 season on where we finished the season before that as well and got through 2 rounds of Europe last season :)
born2bwild
09/02/2012, 4:47 AM
Premier
1. Shamrock Rovers
2. Sligo Rovers
3. Pat's
4. Derry
5. Cork
6. Shels
7. Drogheda
8. Bohs
9. Dundalk
10. UCD
11. Bray
12. Mons
8-team Mini League
1. Limerick
2. Longford
3. Athlone
4. Waterford
5. Mervue
6. Harps
7. Wexford
8. STD
1st time post
10/02/2012, 9:59 PM
Dundalk
Monaghan
Bray
UCD
Drogheda
Surely Sullivan,Murray Sheppard and Stevens were key players last year no?? Gartland is definitely a step up on Murray and Kavanagh and Brennan could be great signings but i think the loss of Sheppard could be key for ye if Twigg is misfiring/injured etc. Have ye signed a keeper yet?? Still think your squad is better than anybody elses but hopefully if we can hit the ground running(going to be made tougher now with all this stuff going on with cook)it will be a close run thing. Also think Pats will go close this year as theyve made decent signings but goals might be their only problem. Shels. Derry and Cork should be sloid if unspectacular while i think the bottom 6 will be a long way adrift and nearly any of the 6 teams could finish 7th or bottom.
born2bwild
10/02/2012, 10:28 PM
Dundalk
Monaghan
Bray
UCD
Drogheda
No.
Drogheda have a much stronger team than last year; they'll finish above Dundalk, Bohs, Bray and UCD.
Monaghan, on the other hand, will be doomed by August.
adamd164
10/02/2012, 10:37 PM
Bottom two will be Monaghan and Bray IMO.
Apart from that and Shamrock being there or thereabouts, it's very difficult to predict the league this year I think until we've seen a few rounds of games. Certainly feel it'll be the most competitive in a long while.
Aaron
10/02/2012, 11:19 PM
I cant see Bray being bottom 2. Jayo is a good signing for them, think he will fire them to mid-table
10/02/2012, 11:35 PM
Can't be bothered doing a full league tables prediction but the main ones are:
Premier:
Champions- SRFC ;-) The Shamrock variety probably.
FAI Cup - Pats or Shels.
League Cup - Cork.
Relegated (on the pitch anyway) - Monaghan and then UCD in a play off
First Division:
Winners The First Division's Man City, Limerick obviously.
Play off LTFC and Waterford with LTFC facing UCD then! Few people tipping Athlone I don't see it this year but they'll be moving up the table soon enough all right, unfortunately.
Bottom: Wexford possibly.
L.T.F.C.
11/02/2012, 3:38 PM
I think we can win the FD. Some great signings and if everyone can get fit we'll be fighting for top.
Shannonsider
23/02/2012, 5:14 PM
Premier Division:
1) Shamrok Rovers
2) Sligo Rovers
3) Derry City
4) St. Patrick's Athletic
5) Cork City
6)Shelbourne
7) Dundalk
8) Bohemians
9) Drogheda United
10) U.C.D
11) Bray Wanderers
12) Monaghan United
First:
1) Limerick
2) Waterford
3) Longford Town
4) Athlone Town
5) Mervue United
6) Finn Harps
7) SD Galway
8) Wexford Youths
Aaron
29/02/2012, 10:51 PM
My Predictions
Premier Division
1. Shamrock Rovers
2. Derry City
3. Cork City
4. Sligo Rovers
5. St Pat's Ath
6. Shelbourne
7. Bohemians
8. Drogheda Utd
9. Dundalk
10. Bray Wanderers
11. UCD
12. Monaghan Utd
First Division
1. Limerick
2. Finn Harps
3. Longford Town
4. Waterford Utd
5. Wexford Youths
6. Mervue Utd
7. Athlone Town
8. SD Galway
Setanta Cup: Derry City
FAI Cup: Cork City
League Cup: Shamrock Rovers
Top Goalscorer: Rory Patterson
1. Rovers
2. SPA
3. Sligo*
4. Cork City
5. Derry City
6. Shelbourne
7. Drogheda
8. Bohemian
9. Bray
10. Dundalk
11. UCD
12. Monaghan**
**If Roderick doesn't bail out early and their season can be recovered...
1. Limerick
2. Longford
3. Waterford
4. Mervue
5. SD Galway
6. Wexford Youths
7. Finn Harps
8. Athlone
SwanVsDalton
29/02/2012, 11:51 PM
Ummm...
1. Shamrock Rovers.
2. Sligo Rovers
3. Cork City
4. Derry City
5. St Patrick's Athletic
6. Shels
7. Bray Wanderers
8. Bohemians
9. Drogheda United
10. UCD
11. Dundalk
12. Monaghan United
First Division
1. Limerick
2. Longford Town
3. Waterford United
4. Mervue United
5. Athlone Town
6. SD Galway
7. Finn Harps
8. Wexford Yoofs
El-Pietro
01/03/2012, 7:50 AM
1. Shamrock
2. Sligo
3. Would have said City before we lost Graham - if we can replace him then we've a shot otherwise... St. Pats
4. Cork City
5. Derry City
6. Shels
7. Drogheda
8. Dundalk
9. Bohs
10. Bray
11. Monaghan
12. UCD
First Division:
1. Limerick
2. Longford
3. Waterford.
4. Finn Harps
5. Athlone
6. Mervue
7. SD Galway
8. Wexford
Changing my predictions to the following:
1. Shamrock Rovers
2. Sligo Rovers
3. Derry City
4. Cork City
5. St. Patricks Athletic
6. Shelbourne
7. Bohemian F.C.
8. Drogheda United
9. Bray Wanderers
10. Dundalk
11. U.C.D
12. Monaghan
First is pretty much the same, though I think everyone behind Longford is much of a muchness
01/03/2012, 9:33 AM
Premier Division
1. Shamrock Rovers
2. Sligo Rovers
3. St Pat's Ath
4. Derry City
5. Cork City
6. Bohemians
7. Shelbourne
8. Dundalk
9. Bray Wanderers
10. Drogheda Utd
11. UCD
12. Monaghan Utd
First Division
1. Limerick
2. Longford Town
3. Mervue Utd
4. Waterford Utd
5. Wexford Youths
6. Finn Harps
7. SD Galway
8. Athlone Town
Setanta Cup: Shamrock Rovers
FAI Cup: Shamrock Rovers
Top Goalscorer: Gary Twigg
CrowdedHouse
01/03/2012, 9:58 AM
Hard to see anything other than a 3 in a row for Shamrock Rovers
Limerick for the First
Other than that I'm losing interest as I have no team to support this year
01/03/2012, 10:44 AM
Premier Division
1. Shamrock Rovers
2. Sligo Rovers
3. St Pat's Ath
4. Derry City
5. Cork City
6. Bohemians
7. Shelbourne
8. Dundalk
9. Bray Wanderers
10. Drogheda Utd
11. UCD
12. Monaghan Utd
First Division
1. Limerick
2. Longford Town
3. Mervue Utd
4. Waterford Utd
5. Wexford Youths
6. Finn Harps
7. SD Galway
8. Athlone Town
Setanta Cup: Shamrock Rovers
FAI Cup: Shamrock Rovers
Top Goalscorer: Gary TwiggThat season ticket you have for Tallaght has you brainwashed. Not a hope of them winning everything.
01/03/2012, 10:59 AM
That season ticket you have for Tallaght has you brainwashed. Not a hope of them winning everything.
I don't think they'll win them all but if I was asked to put money on each competition individually I'd put it on Rovers. I think predicting them to win them all makes me more likely to be right than predicting different winners for each. I think they'll win at least 2 of them and there's about 4 others capable of winning something. I was going to put Derry for the League Cup as that used to be a given, but with Kenny at Rovers now it might not be the case.
PartySaint
01/03/2012, 11:27 PM
Premier
Rovers
Pat's
Derry
Sligo
Shels
Cork
Bohs
Bray
Dundalk
Drogs
Mons
UCD
First
Limerick
Longford
Waterford
Athlone
Finn Harps
Mervue
Wexford
Salthill
02/03/2012, 12:25 AM
Hard to judge at this point, but can't see a lot changing with squads at this stage so might as well.
Premier Division:
1) Shamrock Rovers
2) St Pats Ath
3) Sligo Rovers
4) Cork City
5) Derry City
6) Shelbourne
7) Dundalk
8) Bohemians
9) Drogheda
10) Bray Wanderers
11) Monaghan Utd
12) UCD
First Division:
1) Limerick
2) Waterford
3) Longford
4) Finn Harps
5) Athlone
6) SD Galway
7) Mervue
8) Wexford Youths
Revised on the night before the league starts. Cautiously optimistic one could say.
Premier Division:
1) Shamrock Rovers
2) St Pats Ath
3) Cork City
4) Derry City
5) Sligo Rovers
6) Shelbourne
7) Dundalk
8) Bohemians
9) Drogheda
10) Bray Wanderers
11) UCD
12) Monaghan
First Division:
1) Limerick
2) Longford
3) Harps
4) Waterford
5) SD Galway
6) Athlone
7) Mervue
8) Wexford Youths
horton
02/03/2012, 7:00 AM
^Cautiously optimistic? your only change is that Sligo will fall away and finish 5th instead of 3rd?:D Got my ticket for the Bohs game last night, can't wait!
02/03/2012, 7:17 AM
Premier Division:
1) Shamrock Rovers
2) Sligo
3) Pats
4) Derry City
5) Cork
6) Shelbourne
7) Drogheda
8) UCD
9) Bohs
10) Dundalk
11) Bray
12) Monaghan
First Division:
1) Limerick
2) Mervue
3) Longford
4) Waterford
5) Salthill
6) Harps
7) Athlone
8) Wexford
02/03/2012, 10:41 AM
Premier
1. Shamrock Rovers
3. Sligo Rovers
4. Derry City
5. Cork City
6. Shelbourne
7. Bohemians
8. Drogheda United
9. Dundalk
10. Bray Wanderers
11. UCD
12. Monaghan United
First Division
1. Limerick
2. Waterford United
3. Longford Town
4. Athlone Town
5. Mervue United
6. Finn Harps
7. SD Galway
8. Wexford Youths
I will also revise:
Premier Division
1. Shamrock Rovers
3. Sligo Rovers
4. Cork City
5. Derry City
6. Shelbourne
7. Bohemians
8. Dundalk
9. Drogheda United
10. Bray Wanderers
11. UCD
12. Monaghan United
First Division
1. Limerick
2. Longford Town
3. Waterford United
4. Athlone Town
5. Finn Harps
6. Mervue United
7. SD Galway
8. Wexford Youths
02/03/2012, 11:14 AM
^Cautiously optimistic? your only change is that Sligo will fall away and finish 5th instead of 3rd?:D Got my ticket for the Bohs game last night, can't wait!
Pish posh, thats the Premier Division, nobody cares about that really. It's the first division where it's all at. I'm cautiously optimistic of Harps grabbing a play-off spot this season.
Real Rover
02/03/2012, 11:19 AM
Premier
1. Shams
2. Derry City
3. Sligo Rovers
4. St. Pats
5. Shels
6. Cork City
7. Bohemians
8. Drogheda United
9. UCD
10. Dundalk
11. Bray Wanderers
12. Monaghan United
First
1. Limerick
2. Longford
3. Waterford
4. SD Galway
5. Finn Harps
6. Mervue United
7. Athlone Town
8. Youths
Pish posh, thats the Premier Division, nobody cares about that really. It's the first division where it's all at. I'm cautiously optimistic of Harps grabbing a play-off spot this season.
Setting yourself up for a fall in the finest Harps tradition. I salute you sir.