View Full Version : John Egan D Hull b.1992
19/04/2016, 11:54 PM
Goal for Egan today. Equalizer in a 1-1 draw away to Rochdale.
"visitors levelled when Egan headed in Jermaine McGlashan's right-wing delivery to stay in the top six on goal difference over Barnsley."
22/04/2016, 1:45 AM
Named in L1 team of the season too.
27/04/2016, 4:15 PM
Egan eager for Ireland call-up: http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/egan-eager-for-ireland-callup-34661643.html
TheOneWhoKnocks
08/05/2016, 1:25 PM
Egan speaks proudly of hoping to represent Ireland.
http://www.the42.ie/john-egan-kerry-gaa-legend-ireland-ambitions-2756317-May2016/
Has just scored his sixth league goal of the season for Gillingham but it's all in vain as they miss out on the playoffs.
08/05/2016, 1:30 PM
Egan speaks proudly of hoping to represent Ireland.
http://www.the42.ie/john-egan-kerry-gaa-legend-ireland-ambitions-2756317-May2016/
Has just scored his sixth league goal of the season for Gillingham to rescue a point against Millwall.
Not another one.
Olé Olé
08/05/2016, 1:45 PM
His next move will be interesting. Obviously he's going to leave Gillingham now and he'll have lots of options in the Championship as Brentford have been one of the more progressive clubs of recent times with a good recruitment policy so any player they're concretely interested in has to ***** the ears of other clubs at that level, although it appears that his performances over the last two years should have done that anyway. It was a bit disappointing when he left Sunderland but now he has two years of substantial action and experience at League One under his belt at 23 so it might be beneficial in the long-run anyway.
samhaydenjr
09/05/2016, 3:49 AM
His next move will be interesting. Obviously he's going to leave Gillingham now and he'll have lots of options in the Championship as Brentford have been one of the more progressive clubs of recent times with a good recruitment policy so any player they're concretely interested in has to ***** the ears of other clubs at that level, although it appears that his performances over the last two years should have done that anyway. It was a bit disappointing when he left Sunderland but now he has two years of substantial action and experience at League One under his belt at 23 so it might be beneficial in the long-run anyway.
It took me a few moments to figure out what the word under the asterisks was - did you do that yourself or is there now some sort of second-rate automatic censorship software being used on foot.ie? Because in that context, that word is OK, kind of like an old George Carlin joke about how you could and could not use it on American TV in the 1970s :)
Olé Olé
09/05/2016, 8:30 AM
It took me a few moments to figure out what the word under the asterisks was - did you do that yourself or is there now some sort of second-rate automatic censorship software being used on foot.ie? Because in that context, that word is OK, kind of like an old George Carlin joke about how you could and could not use it on American TV in the 1970s :)
Haha! I never even saw that. It was indeed the verb used to describe the ears erecting (is 'erect' allowed?) when alerted to something that I was using!
09/05/2016, 9:57 AM
Haha! I never even saw that. It was indeed the verb used to describe the ears erecting (is 'erect' allowed?) when alerted to something that I was using!
Apart from raising the chagrin of the automated censor, there is a concern about the phraseology.
The correct phrase to use is "príck the ears up" ....of other clubs
and not your overly aggressive usage of "príck the ears"..... of other clubs.:)
11/05/2016, 2:21 PM
Linked with Wigan, Brentford and signing a new contract with Gillingham today
Rob Brennan thinks he's going to Brentford: https://twitter.com/RobBrennan82/status/730151714888798208
John Egan joining Brentford then. Good move. #COYBIG (https://twitter.com/hashtag/COYBIG?src=hash)
Olé Olé
11/05/2016, 6:42 PM
Good move is right. James Tarkowski is up to the Premier League with Burnley after his time with Brentford. Another young centre half. Good Irish contingent there too (McCormack, Judge, Hogan). And for a lad who is very family-orientated, it's a lot closer to home than Gillingham or Sunderland would be.
01/07/2016, 8:25 PM
Signed a three year deal with Brentford: http://www.brentfordfc.co.uk/news/article/2016-17/brentford-sign-john-egan-on-three-year-deal-3164535.aspx
samhaydenjr
02/07/2016, 3:52 AM
Signed a three year deal with Brentford: http://www.brentfordfc.co.uk/news/article/2016-17/brentford-sign-john-egan-on-three-year-deal-3164535.aspx
Promising news and important for him to make a step-up to Championship level now after Gillingham didn't make it out of League one last season. Let's hope he settles in quickly and becomes another viable option at centre-back for us (with goal scoring potential to boot - 6 in 36 league games last season)
09/07/2016, 12:00 PM
Why Brentford's new defender hopes Martin O'Neill can help his cause: http://www.getwestlondon.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/brentfords-new-defender-hopes-martin-11585078
"Playing for Ireland is the goal of any Irishman growing up, and I'm no different, but I can't be getting too carried away just yet. Hopefully things like that will follow if I do well at Brentford. The club is my bread and butter, and I need to focus on doing well here.”
TheOneWhoKnocks
13/08/2016, 3:20 PM
This lad should be a striker.
A brace for him so far. He looks very decent from the bits I've seen on their website.
13/08/2016, 4:58 PM
Before Egan's two goals today, the last Irish defender to score a brace in England was...John Egan for Gillingham against Port Vale in November 2014!
13/08/2016, 5:36 PM
Before Egan's two goals today, the last Irish defender to score a brace in England was...John Egan for Gillingham against Port Vale in November 2014!
Call them both up Trap!
13/08/2016, 7:57 PM
Call them both up Trap!
Let's do the time warp again!
Scratchy
14/08/2016, 12:09 PM
A brace for him so far. He looks very decent from the bits I've seen on their website.
He played well yesterday. Certainly if he can keep performing well for us (Brentford) then I have no doubt that he'll be in contention for a call up to the senior squad in due course.
Olé Olé
14/08/2016, 5:10 PM
He played well yesterday. Certainly if he can keep performing well for us (Brentford) then I have no doubt that he'll be in contention for a call up to the senior squad in due course.
I don't think he'd take a squad place from any of the centre-halves at the Euros but there might be some merit in bringing him in instead of Pearce (sub yesterday) or McShane (started yesterday).
As opposed to other options at that level:
Toner wasn't in the Villa squad (injured?)
Williams wasn't in the Bristol City squad (injured?)
I think Lenihan was midfield for Blackburn
Correct me if I'm missing anyone but there does appear to be some merit in calling him up fairly soon. He probably should have gone to the Championship last year as opposed to this year. In fact, I know he was working on a move to the Championship but it fell through for whatever reason (likely that Gillingham were unwilling to sell and had a high price, as a result. Same situation as January). That won't do him any harm in the long-term anyway.
Scratchy
14/08/2016, 8:51 PM
Just on your last point I believe we did make an enquiry for him in January but I think the Gills wanted £2m at that time.
I would agree that he's not in contention to replace the likes of Duffy and I think the Oman friendly may come a bit too soon but he may be worth having a look at in a squad for a friendly in the not too distant future so long as he maintains his club form.
DeLorean
15/08/2016, 12:10 PM
Goals here- (https://youtu.be/NKhrwFFPmt8?t=1m16s)
15/08/2016, 12:14 PM
I don';t know about the Duffy thing, if he keeps his form from the last few months of last season, which he looks like he is doing now then he should quickly be replaced.
DeLorean
14/09/2016, 8:39 PM
Has just scored a late equaliser at Villa Park. 1-1.
samhaydenjr
15/09/2016, 3:27 AM
Brentford's joint top scorer this season. He and Hogan have three each so far. A goalscoring centre-half is a nice weapon to have and right now, John Egan has as many League goals in his career (14) as John O'Shea and twice as many as Ciaran Clark (admittedly in lower divisions)
15/09/2016, 8:56 AM
Funny seeing the Kerry Gaelic lads tweeting about him. Fair play to them remember their "own".
DeLorean
15/09/2016, 9:21 AM
I guess he is their "own" though. His mother is from Kerry as well as far as I know, she played camoige for them anyway, as well as soccer for Cork Rangers. Egan Junior grew up supporting the Kerry footballers naturally enough. This article is ancient, before his old man passed away, but a good read all the same.
Irish Examiner: Sons & their fathers (http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/football/sons-and-their-fathers-131125.html)
TheOneWhoKnocks
17/09/2016, 6:44 PM
4 clean sheets and 3 goals in 8 league games. Not bad doing.
5-0 win against a Preston team that included Cunningham, Browne, McGeady and Doyle.
Doyle's goal drought goes on, but on a more positive note 4 of Brentford's goals came after Browne was substituted.
samhaydenjr
17/09/2016, 8:51 PM
4 clean sheets and 3 goals in 8 league games. Not bad doing.
5-0 win against a Preston team that included Cunningham, Browne, McGeady and Doyle.
Doyle's goal drought goes on, but on a more positive note 4 of Brentford's goals came after Browne was substituted.
And you say that I'm overoptimistic :D. Seriously, glad to see that Egan appears to have made a successful transition to Championship level - gives us more options at centre-half, especially with JOSH likely in his final campaign. We're not in dire need of centre-halves just yet but it would be good to get Egan and Hoban involved in the not-too-distant future as long as they maintain their form.
TheOneWhoKnocks
04/02/2017, 12:30 PM
Contract extended.
http://www.getwestlondon.co.uk/sport/football/transfer-news/brentford-look-secure-long-term-12554876
The head coach said: “I am really happy that John has extended his current deal. It shows that he is happy at the Club and we match his ambitions to play at the highest level.
“John has settled really well and it hasn’t gone unnoticed by all our coaching staff that his peers recognize him as one of the best trainers at the Club.
“This drive and enthusiasm is enabling him to better himself in the Championship and push others around him to collectively realise their potential.”
TheOneWhoKnocks
21/02/2017, 7:23 PM
John Egan has scored his fourth league goal of the season against Keiren Westwood's Sheffield Wednesday.
samhaydenjr
22/02/2017, 1:38 AM
John Egan has scored his fourth league goal of the season against Keiren Westwood's Sheffield Wednesday.
Well thank goodness his 5-month scoring drought is over :p
22/02/2017, 9:24 AM
Well thank goodness his 5-month scoring drought is over :p
I won't share your joy but I think Westwood might have done better as it was right over his head although he was a bit off his line (26 seconds in to the video)
Uyv8CyEorqw
DeLorean
22/02/2017, 9:51 AM
A keeper will never like to be beaten by that kind of goal but it had an almost freakish loop on it. I wouldn't blame him at all.
29/04/2017, 10:53 AM
Interviewed today in the Independent: 'My Dad will always be there with me, he's in my thoughts every day. A lot of my traits come from him' (http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/other-soccer/my-dad-will-always-be-there-with-me-hes-in-my-thoughts-every-day-a-lot-of-my-traits-come-from-him-35665047.html)
DeLorean
23/05/2017, 1:51 PM
End of season interview with Egan - https://www.brentfordfc.com/news/2017/may2/john-egan-interview/
DeLorean
04/08/2017, 9:00 AM
Egan speaks to The Examiner about his old man, the new season and his Ireland chances - http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/brentford-and-ireland-defender-john-egan-continuing-a-proud-sporting-tradition-456357.html
22/08/2017, 8:38 PM
Goal for Brentford in an away win in the league cup over QPR
17/11/2017, 4:00 PM
short interview with efl.com touching on Brentford's form, international recognition and more: https://www.efl.com/news/2017/november/brentford-john-egan-talks-bees-ireland-and-his-career-so-far/
DeLorean
18/07/2018, 4:44 PM
Appears to be joining Sheffield United. I saw a fee of £3-4m mentioned elsewhere - https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/john-egan-set-for-transfer-to-sheffield-united-856163.html
03/10/2018, 2:30 PM
Short interview with Egan on the 864 podcast: http://robofthegreen.ie/episodes/the864-johnegan-ep012/
19/10/2018, 11:34 AM
Egan ranked ninth in FourFourTwo's top ten players of the Championship this season so far
20/06/2020, 8:47 AM
Set to be offered a new contract by Sheffield United: https://www.thestar.co.uk/sport/football/sheffield-united/sheffield-united-manager-issues-important-update-about-contracts-decision-regarding-loan-duo-looms-2889952
eitoof
21/06/2020, 2:45 PM
Red carded at St James Park. Bad day at the office for John.
Fixer82
22/06/2020, 11:21 AM
I've read it was a ridiculous red card. Both managers agreed afterwards, although his own manager more than Bruce of course
seanfhear
22/06/2020, 12:10 PM
Sheffield Utd with the season they have had are entitled to a bad day at the office. Maybe their system just needs more drill than others ! ! !
CraftyToePoke
22/06/2020, 12:28 PM
I've read it was a ridiculous red card. Both managers agreed afterwards, although his own manager more than Bruce of course
His first yellow was. His defending in the lead up to his second was pantomime.
05/07/2020, 1:00 PM
Egan scores his first of the season, making him the twelfth Irish player to score in the Premier League this season, the first time that many players have scored in a single season since 2012/13
Also, it's the 23rd goal scored by an Irish player in the current season, equalling the total from 2018/19
Eirambler
05/07/2020, 1:33 PM
Great finish too, if one of our young strikers had done that we'd be raving about it.
First Irish goal in the Premier League since the lockdown I think, it took long enough to come and then came from an unlikely source when it did.