View Full Version : GUST apply for first division licence

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

23/12/2011, 11:30 AM
If GUST meet the criteria I don't see any reason they should not be in the First Division. The FAI have no right to be iffy about it to be honest if they can meet the full criteria. GUST will be bringing more fans than Tralee, Carlow or whoever joins I'm sure and there is also a space there to be filled. Surely they could assemble a team to compete at worst at the bottom to middle of the division. The division is missing some decent crowd pullers next season. The last few years we have had Cork, Shels, and Derry who would all have had decent crowds (500+). These teams will be replaced by teams that might have more in the 100-150 range at a guess (and that might be being generous).

Next year the only teams that I can see pulling over 250 fans (at worst) every week to games will be Limerick, Waterford, Finn Harps, Longford and maybe Wexford Youths and Athlone. GUST could be added to that if accepted. Who knows about Cobh, they might get a bit of support back if they return.

The Division does need a Galway Utd team in some guise. I know there are two other teams to compete with in Galway but as far as support goes they would still be well a head.

geezer
23/12/2011, 12:05 PM
otherwise GUST will be down watching Limerick for some LOI football as things are going to be bitter in the city of the tribes

passerrby
23/12/2011, 12:58 PM
Fully agree loi needs Galway united to be competing however that cannot be addressed until the three team problem is sorted.
Only my opinion but don't think the fai will lose this opportunity to reduce it to two teams and hope that some magic amalgamation takes place

23/12/2011, 3:47 PM
Are you for real.
One of the best stadia in the country that cost 3million to develop and now will be growing weeds.

The use of Terryland Park has absolutely nothing to do with the GUST though??

Don't the Junior crowd use it for games??

1000 regular LOI Patrons. coming looking at games even though the home team hadnt won a game in 34?

Pure fantasy.

And a dangerous fantasy if that's what you're basing any figures for next year on.

600 season ticket holders

Fair enough but they were flogged at 100 quid a pop were they??

supporters want to keep their club alive whats so different in that to Cork or Derry. At least we have supporters who want to do that unlike , fingal, kildare, dub city etc

It's very different to Cork and Derry in terms of short term potential IMHO.

GUST will bring the following :

- the use of one of the best football stadia in the country

See above Re: Terryland. (I'm open to correction but I don't see what it has to do with the GUST.

- support of responsible local businesses

What does this even mean?!

- people who have years voluntary experience in the LOI

This is possibly a problem given recent history.

- large city and county wide support (1,500 after one win out of 39 competitive matches)

Again, dangerously delusional.

We will be a sustainable League of Ireland club run by League of Ireland people

Cringe! tbh.

sold all 600 season tickets last year which entitled all to membership of Gust on purchase of
We also put in €107000 this season over and above on of the season ticket figures, we have over 90 in a monthly draw and we have re introduced the club lotto 2 months ago

How does this breakdown roughly? That's decent.

I haven't read the rest of the thread yet but that is one mad cap statement right there.

FFS face. :rolleyes:

It have them written off even before they begin. I'm glad FORAS didn't listen to those kind of statements when it was crunch time. Fair play to GUST and i hope that all the hard work pays off for them

I said it was different to FORAS.

It is clearly, obviously, different to FORAS.

updating on whats happened since that DVD , that dvd was the "businessmen regime" that bull**** fudged a team up a division, it racked up mad debts up, won awards, it was a sham, The club has truly itself to blame but then left it to long time supporters to try and sort. No hands up, no responsibility just a disappearing act.
Sligo at least have seen off ceo types etc that know it all but there are not many league clubs that have not suffered under "businessmen" promising all sorts and leaving a bucket of ****.

Here we come to the crux of the issue.

This is a regime whos arse most of ye would have bent down to kiss at the time "that bull**** fudged a team up a division" and who continued were continually blindly supported even when other people within the league were starting to ring alarm bells.

By the time the GUST finally publicly pulled the plug on its support for this regime not only had the horse bolted but it had shat all over many local businesses.

People who I assume given the amount they talk about it are involved at some level then preceded to have a mass public washing of dirty linen on the likes of foot.ie. Lord knows what was being said in the pubs and clubs of Galway. It was no way to conduct yourselves and it's worrying.

Some of the stuff that even went on this year while the gust was left running the thing was completely out of order (and defended by people like you on foot.ie ffs)

Lessons need to be learned from the razzmatazz regime ye all so readily bought into and when you see several people opn here wittering away about four figure crowds and talking down to Mervue and Salthill it kinda makes you wonder.

Straight up balls out, this isn't Lim till I die on an LOL Galway lulz wind up. It doesn't matter one whit to me who's in the First Division next year because I fully expect it to be a procession. If it was up to me I'd have GUSTFC in there in a flash, three teams an hour up the road, lovely stuff. I just don't get it though. Like what's the plan, genuinely??

geezer
23/12/2011, 7:46 PM
Straight up balls out, this isn't Lim till I die on an LOL Galway lulz wind up.

never you would never believe it, Terryland is the home of Galway United, Its held in trust for soccer by the GFA but it was developed by the Terryland Development Committee. We have in writing that we are welcome in Terryland with open arms any season because of the integrity of the people involved with GUST

Bar giving you a copy of the business plan id be here all christmas, lets just say league of Ireland supporters are important to the League, The region is important, We have sponsors,investors & no mean amount of supporters but who wouldnt put any more into the old regime. We have an agreement to work and immerse ourselves into a huge area just west of the river with a club Corrib Rangers established over 30 years with juvenile, Junior teams that have welcomed us in, have secured top class training facilities in that area thanks to that partnership and will learn from each other on how to develop a football club in coaching, social and community skills.

Even if we dont secure a licence and im positive we will, The new Galway United ST FC will continue and is only entering its 2nd year. I would ask for your support and appreciate it and acknowledge hands up we swallowed some massive bull**** and believed it might work even at the expense of other clubs and thats probably unforgiveable but we have to re start and learn from the harsh lesson

Sean South
23/12/2011, 8:13 PM
Spot on Lim till I die, spot on squire.

Patrick Dunne
24/12/2011, 12:30 PM
Thanks to all for the messages of support, and constructive criticism. Please visit our facebook page and sign our petition ... www.facebook.com/gustfc

24/12/2011, 2:27 PM
Lim Til i Die...by far the most knowledgeable person on foot.

passerrby
24/12/2011, 2:38 PM
Sorry geezer but that's pure DVD material but best of luck anyway

geezer
24/12/2011, 7:21 PM
Sorry geezer but that's pure DVD material but best of luck anyway

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=460INShy3BU

Happy Christmas everyone

Guitd
03/01/2012, 5:48 PM
Gust fc on a roll as it geathers momentum towards obtaining a lincence from the FAI to keep soccer in Terryland for the coming season http://www.facebook.com/#!/gustfc/posts/306915306014193

03/01/2012, 5:55 PM
So ye have a sponsor but no license?

DVD is in the post

Guitd
03/01/2012, 6:08 PM
So ye have a sponsor but no license?

DVD is in the post

ya for those who dont know much about football, licences havent been issued yet for the coming season prob wont know until end of jan

03/01/2012, 6:33 PM
Sorry. Gah it is for me so....:confused:

Guitd
03/01/2012, 9:45 PM
this is getting interesting i wonder when this will become public smells of a dirty tricks campaign starting http://www.facebook.com/#!/GalwayAdvertiser/posts/10150503983981941

gufcfan
03/01/2012, 9:50 PM
Could be wrong but it sounds an awful lot like nonsense to me. Sure it's no secret that certain people at Mervue were ready to do cartwheels last Valentines day when the FAI denied the old club a licence. Don't really know anyone at Devon, but they'll hardly be cheering GUST FC on when decision day comes around. They will hardly see it in their interest.

If it's a someone of stature in politics or business, let them have it, should they be revealed.

Louth4sam
03/01/2012, 10:28 PM
this is getting interesting i wonder when this will become public smells of a dirty tricks campaign starting http://www.facebook.com/#!/GalwayAdvertiser/posts/10150503983981941

Dirtier than walking away from your debts or cheating other clubs?

gufcfan
03/01/2012, 10:38 PM
You obviously haven't even the slightest idea what happened in Galway.

Louth4sam
03/01/2012, 10:51 PM
You obviously haven't even the slightest idea what happened in Galway.

I know exactly what happened. Bottom line is Debts are being walked away from and other clubs have been screwed. Most recently Monaghan last season

03/01/2012, 11:02 PM
I know exactly what happened. Bottom line is Debts are being walked away from and other clubs have been screwed. Most recently Monaghan last season
They're not the GUST's debts. I don't know what the current board of directors plan to do but I can't imagine they'll be able to pay them back without a club (or with a club, really).

bluewhitearmy
03/01/2012, 11:58 PM

How..?

04/01/2012, 12:35 AM
CEO of Supermacs Pat McDonagh today announced that he will be supporting Galway United STFC in there application for a licence this season.

gufcfan
04/01/2012, 12:52 AM
Dirtier than walking away from your debts or cheating other clubs?

The CEO and directors of Galway United did a brilliant job of probably setting football in Galway back 10 years and have now ridden off into the sunset, leaving the supporters to pick up the pieces and do the only thing they can do. This isn't some sort of trick or master-plan on the part of the trust. GUST did everything they could to save Galway United but seeing as the owners of the club seemed determined to do the opposite, what happened unfortunately was inevitable. I know in my heart that Galway United shouldn't have been in the Premier in 2011 or 2010 for that matter. Maybe not even the league. Not with the criminal within an asses roar of the club. Whatever about 2010, as much as the fans including myself prayed United would get a licence for 2011, the dogs on the street knew what Leeson was up to, but Delaney and Co. were happy to gloss over it and pat them on the back for the great fund-raisers they done, like the big formal event with God knows how many suppliers that were never paid. God forbid they get an accountant to actually test any of the ludicrous figures he must have given them.

Anyone having a go at the Galway United Supporters Trust should try to understand the situation and see the herculean efforts they put in over the years and continue to as they attempt to build something that they surely deserve at chance to develop themselves, using the common sense and honesty they have always been known for as long as I've known them. Anyone that has dealings with them will find this out for themselves.

John Fallon, Colm Feeney, Peter Gilhooley, Dave Curtis, Tom McEvaddy, Billy Brogan, Donal Downes, John McCormack and Nial O'Reilly were the board that appointed Leeson CEO in 2007. They should be hung, drawn and quartered for giving possibly the most notorious liar and fraudster in the world control of the club and free reign to do what he liked without any oversight whatsoever.

Some of the aforementioned had alter-egos that, shock-horror, actually seem to know how to run a sensible business and aren't bad at it either. Some others were allegedly :rolleyes: clueless chancers starstruck by having the rogue trader on speed-dial. I can't understand how the latter ever managed to be taken seriously at any level in the business world. That said, they might not have been until they stumbled across Galway United...

Someone mentioned the DVD. Even the guy who made the effing thing had to go to great lengths to get paid.

04/01/2012, 2:46 AM
John Fallon, Colm Feeney, Peter Gilhooley, Dave Curtis, Tom McEvaddy, Billy Brogan, Donal Downes, John McCormack and Nial O'Reilly were the board that appointed Leeson CEO in 2007. They should be hung, drawn and quartered for giving possibly the most notorious liar and fraudster in the world control of the club and free reign to do what he liked without any oversight whatsoever.

they appointed nick as a commerical manager back in 2005, see http://www.rte.ie/sport/2005/0416/galway.html. He named himself as CEO of the club in 2007 when none of the then board wanted the position. As you can see from that report the madness was already well set in in the club even before his appointment.

Patrick Dunne
04/01/2012, 7:35 AM

If you are implying that GUST kept gate receipts from the relegation play-offs which where due to be allocated to Monaghan United, this is totally incorrect. Both clubs were allocated the gate receipts from their own home leg of the play-off, as per the FAI.

Louth4sam
04/01/2012, 8:10 AM
How..?

Galway united were obviously in no shape to compete in the premier division both on the field and off the field. Running up debts they couldn't afford deprived a well run club in Monaghan a place they deserved.

Louth4sam
04/01/2012, 8:15 AM
I know in my heart that Galway United shouldn't have been in the Premier in 2011 or 2010 for that matter.

Well then why wait until you are relegated until you make a stand? Maybe if GUST made a stand then, when there really was some sacrifice then you might gain a bit more sympathy from some quarters. Very convenient setting up a "new" club that will be debt free and I assume will buy back the Galway United crest and history at a future date.

Guitd
04/01/2012, 9:33 AM
Well then why wait until you are relegated until you make a stand? Maybe if GUST made a stand then, when there really was some sacrifice then you might gain a bit more sympathy from some quarters. Very convenient setting up a "new" club that will be debt free and I assume will buy back the Galway United crest and history at a future date.

So what do we do so as the application from Galway united fc has been withdrawn and that name and company is been run/owned by the directors along with all the debths that they are responceable for So the only option open to the fans who want a club to support in the league of ireland is to apply for licence as a new club ,they have the experiance of last year behind them as the kept united afloat to the best of their ablity

Louth4sam
04/01/2012, 10:11 AM
So the only option open to the fans who want a club to support in the league of ireland is to apply for licence as a new club

Only option??? Are you serious? There are already two clubs in Galway why not approach one of those instead of setting up a "new club"?

04/01/2012, 10:17 AM
So basically stop being fans of Galway United and become fans of Mervue or Salthill instead?

Guitd
04/01/2012, 10:24 AM
Only option??? Are you serious? There are already two clubs in Galway why not approach one of those instead of setting up a "new club"?

Sorry most galway fans dont live in those "parishes"

Louth4sam
04/01/2012, 11:47 AM
So basically stop being fans of Galway United and become fans of Mervue or Salthill instead?

I thought Galway United are gone so I don't see your point?

04/01/2012, 11:53 AM
A holding company is gone (or at least probably going). Just like at Cork, Derry and to some extent Shamrock Rovers etc. Are you as annoyed about what happened with them as may be happening at Galway? Or do you just want Galway United to go away?

And were you annoyed when Dundalk had issues a few years ago and had to cut player wages weeks after signing new ones?

04/01/2012, 12:00 PM
GUFC or GUST have offered to meet both SDFC & MUFC but they are not interested. As for SDFC & MUFC merging not a hope.

We have the support of the Local FA,Connacht FA and all Junior Clubs in the City & County as being the only way forward for Soccer in Galway City & County. Over 90% of the debt is Bank related and GUST have undertaken to pay all footballing debts from the 2011 season ie the ones we are responsible for.

The Supporters group are owed a large six figure amount from the holding company.

gufcfan
04/01/2012, 12:09 PM
That is the single most ridiculous comment I've read on foot.ie for a long time and that's saying something.

marinobohs
04/01/2012, 12:15 PM
That is the single most ridiculous comment I've read on foot.ie for a long time and that's saying something.

No, what is a lot more ridiculous is that Galway United - or any other club - should just fold (reneging on liabilities) and restart as if nothing happened.

If it genuinely wants to start from scratch then start at non league level - like any other "new club" would.

Louth4sam
04/01/2012, 12:18 PM
A holding company is gone (or at least probably going). Just like at Cork, Derry and to some extent Shamrock Rovers etc. Are you as annoyed about what happened with them as may be happening at Galway? Or do you just want Galway United to go away?

Slightly less annoyed as at least they were relegated as punishment. I think it's a disgrace that clubs can walk away from debts and then buy back the clubs history a year later. A dangerous precedent had been set with Cork and Derry and I could see other clubs going that route as it's an easy option and Galway are the first.
The FAI should have stopped this by insisting that if a new club is formed then they are that. No history, use of crest, same name etc.

Finn harps had financial problems recently, why bother fund-raising why not just fold and form a new club?

And were you annoyed when Dundalk had issues a few years ago and had to cut player wages weeks after signing new ones?
I like almost every Dundalk fan was annoyed at the time. We should have received some sort of punishment from the FAI but I'm not surprised that we didn't

gufc2000
04/01/2012, 12:19 PM
No, what is a lot more ridiculous is that Galway United - or any other club - should just fold (reneging on liabilities) and restart as if nothing happened.

If it genuinely wants to start from scratch then start at non league level - like any other "new club" would.
What part of bank debt owed by the previous holding company is not liable to GUST do you not understand?

GUST will honour the debts they accrued, but why should they be responsible for the directors loans and bank debt built up by the previous regime

gufcfan
04/01/2012, 12:20 PM

GUST have never had control of a football club. They were running it during the 2011 season because the directors abandoned it. The people who did this have ****ed off.

Louth4sam
04/01/2012, 12:22 PM

Please explain.

I responded to a post saying "So the only option open to the fans who want a club to support in the league of ireland is to apply for licence as a new club" that there are two other clubs in Galway you could support

Louth4sam
04/01/2012, 12:25 PM
GUST have never had control of a football club. They were running it during the 2011 season because the directors abandoned it. The people who did this have ****ed off.

Ah i get it, what you are saying it is ok for fans of clubs to ditch the clubs that are in debt to set up new clubs? Great stuff. I must bring this up at the next Dundalk supporters trust meeting as the club owes a far sum.

On second thoughts maybe I'll wait until we are relegated first as no point in going down a division unless we have to

gufcfan
04/01/2012, 12:26 PM
Dundalk goes bust in the morning. What do you do, buy a Drogheda United jersey and go to Monster Munch Park in March? Cop on would you... Mervue despise Galway United and Devon wouldn't be any fan of the club either.

04/01/2012, 12:27 PM
Ive Followed GUFC for 35 years and I go to see the other 2 teams but I would never support one of them. If Dundalk were in the same situation would you follow Drogheda build a bridge and get over your bitterness.

Louth4sam
04/01/2012, 12:37 PM
Dundalk goes bust in the morning. What do you do, buy a Drogheda United jersey and go to Monster Munch Park in March? Cop on would you... Mervue despise Galway United and Devon wouldn't be any fan of the club either.

Ive Followed GUFC for 35 years and I go to see the other 2 teams but I would never support one of them. If Dundalk were in the same situation would you follow Drogheda build a bridge and get over your bitterness.

Firstly Galway United didn't go bust. GUST are walking away from them

And secondly If I was in the same situation I would probably do the exact same thing GUST are doing. It doesn't make it any less wrong. One thing I wouldn't be doing is coming on here and trying to defend my actions and asking fans of other clubs for support. I have no problem with GUST they are not doing anything that hasn't been done before. The problem is with the FAI

04/01/2012, 12:38 PM
Slightly less annoyed as at least they were relegated as punishment. I think it's a disgrace that clubs can walk away from debts and then buy back the clubs history a year later. A dangerous precedent had been set with Cork and Derry and I could see other clubs going that route as it's an easy option and Galway are the first.
The FAI should have stopped this by insisting that if a new club is formed then they are that. No history, use of crest, same name etc.

Finn harps had financial problems recently, why bother fund-raising why not just fold and form a new club?

I like almost every Dundalk fan was annoyed at the time. We should have received some sort of punishment from the FAI but I'm not surprised that we didn't

Agreed on all of this. But unfortunately the precedent is there and it would be unfair to deny GUST the same opportunity others have had, in some cases several times over. At least the GUST guys really tried to turn the old ship around.

But I've said it before and I'll say it again- if licensing is not there to prevent clubs running up debts, walking away from them and then starting again, what is it actually for? At some point they have to address this properly- but I think to do so now with GUST as the scapegoat would not be right.

There should be a period of five years at the very least before new entities can start claiming even the remotest of links with those gone before. There has to be a disincentive to this behaviour- otherwise there will be more and more of it. If Harps had had the option of following this route would we have been able to motivate people to work their butts off to keep the show on the road? Maybe not.

gufc2000
04/01/2012, 12:40 PM

And secondly If I was in the same situation I would probably do the exact same thing GUST are doing. It doesn't make it any less wrong. One thing I wouldn't be doing is coming on here and trying to defend my actions and asking fans of other clubs for support. I have no problem with GUST they are not doing anything that hasn't been done before. The problem is with the FAI
Why not? GUST have done nothing wrong, a lot of people like yourself have come on here spouting rubbish when they don't know all the facts

Louth4sam
04/01/2012, 12:45 PM
Agreed on all of this. But unfortunately the precedent is there and it would be unfair to deny GUST the same opportunity others have had, in some cases several times over. At least the GUST guys really tried to turn the old ship around.

But I've said it before and I'll say it again- if licensing is not there to prevent clubs running up debts, walking away from them and then starting again, what is it actually for? At some point they have to address this properly- but I think to do so now with GUST as the scapegoat would not be right.

There should be a period of five years at the very least before new entities can start claiming even the remotest of links with those gone before. There has to be a disincentive to this behaviour- otherwise there will be more and more of it. If Harps had had the option of following this route would we have been able to motivate people to work their butts off to keep the show on the road? Maybe not.

That's the crux of the problem. Where do you draw the line in the sand, if you allow GUST to become Galway United at a later date then what about the next club that tries to go down this route? Surely they deserve the same opportunity and the next club after that and so on.
I don't think that anybody is arguing that GUST haven't tried to turn the ship around as you put it, but somebody needs to be the scapegoat if not now then when?

gufcfan
04/01/2012, 12:47 PM
Galway United would never have been given a licence for 2012, which is the same thing.

The problem is with the FAI
Agreed. Licensing is an absolute sham.

04/01/2012, 12:49 PM
The line in the sand should come after a clear statement and amendment of rules from the FAI. That way the next club to run into the issue cannot really complain too much.

Louth4sam
04/01/2012, 12:51 PM
Why not? GUST have done nothing wrong, a lot of people like yourself have come on here spouting rubbish when they don't know all the facts

2011 - Galway United heavilly in debt
2012 - GUST FC is born. Start debt free
2013 - GUST FC renamed Galway United. Galway United are now debt free while clubs around them are up to their necks in debt.

It doesn't matter who owns the club. Galway United FC will likely be debt free this time next year. I really can't see how you can't see how this is unfair to other clubs