View Full Version : Mon 24th - Rovers v UCD 17.00 - MNS starts 23.40

Pages : 1 [2] 3

25/10/2011, 4:36 PM
when Bald Student pointed out that gravity makes Bowls bad when it rains.

That's a good point well made.

passerrby
25/10/2011, 6:06 PM
Heard on the radio this morning that the bowl holds 800 seated and 1500 standing is that correct

bullit
25/10/2011, 6:55 PM
The "implement" that was thrown onto the pitch earlier in the match looked like it was a pencil !! Bloody UCD Schooligans ;)

25/10/2011, 6:57 PM
Must be an awful flu going around Dublin. The poor Shams fans, about to win the league, can't even make any noise.

El-Pietro
25/10/2011, 7:27 PM
there goes my accumulator anyway. Was waiting on a Rovers 3 (or more) goal win to finish off a very ambitious bet

bullit
25/10/2011, 7:37 PM
there goes my accumulator anyway. Was waiting on a Rovers 3 (or more) goal win to finish off a very ambitious bet
I was caught mid-post there & had to edit :) I was about to say was that there was hope for the bet,not now :( !! 1-1

25/10/2011, 7:37 PM
About 4 mins of singing from the Shams fans then quiet again.

Couldn't help laughing at the 10 UCD fans celebrating ha

25/10/2011, 7:42 PM
McCabe cheating as usual

25/10/2011, 7:44 PM
The "implement" that was thrown onto the pitch earlier in the match looked like it was a pencil !! Bloody UCD Schooligans ;)

It might have been a cocktail umbrella.

CrowdedHouse
25/10/2011, 8:03 PM
Well done, I was in 'Hope-they-wrap-it-up-and-might-go-easy-on-us-Friday-night' mode

bullit
25/10/2011, 8:05 PM
And that is that !! Deserved win and title,Fair play to Shams.(Eats's ****e & drink's pish while typing:rolleyes:)

25/10/2011, 8:05 PM
RTÉ player shut down just after the kick-off!

Tbh, ref should've just blown it up once Rovers scored, would've saved a lot of hassle.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
25/10/2011, 8:12 PM
Congrats to Shams. Well deserved

25/10/2011, 8:25 PM
Well deserved title win indeed. Hardly a shake observed out there. They could make a habit of this title winning thing.

bingoballs
25/10/2011, 8:50 PM
Congrats Shams

25/10/2011, 9:24 PM
That's the ticket. Hadn't a hope of making it up to UCD but will definitely be writing off Friday and a large chunk of my wallet.

I think UCD deserve great credit - they were excellent, particularly in midfield. I think they were the better side up until Sives went off, which seemed to finally wake Rovers up. Russell got it tactically wrong, I think, in not taking a few more risks with his formation despite the havoc Sheppard and McCabe were causing. McCabe was just sensational and the way Sheppard is playing I'd have hime starting even when Twigg comes back.

And, it has to be said, just like in Belgrade Michael O'Neill got his substitutions spot on: Oman with the first goal and Kelly with the second from an O'Donnell shot. And Dan Murray proved his class with some excellent runs into midfield, finding men in space and a crucial block when it was still 0-0. Another league title for the worst defender in the history of football.

25/10/2011, 9:34 PM
Heard on the radio this morning that the bowl holds 800 seated and 1500 standing is that correct
No; 1500 seated and 1500-ish (never tested) standing.

Thought we played very well; really put it up to Rovers. Given we got utterly hammered out in Dalymount in our last game, it was some turn around. Why can't we be live on telly every week?!

Ultimately though, just as in previous ties, we tired in the last 20 minutes compared to Rovers, and that cost us (well, that and a fairly soft red card).

Still, always next year!

El-Pietro
25/10/2011, 9:47 PM
Another league title for the worst defender in the history of football.
he just hoofs balls and wins trophies

25/10/2011, 9:48 PM
Thought the red headed UCd defender was awesome, no coincindnce that Mccabe played much better when he was moved to the other wing.
Good game, well done Rovers.

25/10/2011, 9:52 PM
i am delighted for pat sullivan that he got his overdue league medal after missing the majority of the previous season and not getting a medal at all! legend at the flansiro for us..

25/10/2011, 9:55 PM
Thought the red headed UCd defender was awesome
Hugh Douglas (no 2)? Had an excellent game; that was just his eighth senior game too.

Thought we played some lovely one-touch stuff at times, but either didn't have the bodies up or didn't have the confidence to keep going once we got to the last 25 yards - too many long-range shots (granted, some of which were decent efforts). Could have really put the cat among the pigeons if we'd been able to play our way through the Rovers defence.

legend in Cork as well
He was our legend first! :p

El-Pietro
25/10/2011, 9:55 PM
legend in Cork as well

CSFShels
25/10/2011, 10:24 PM
Congrats Rovers.

shellyriver
25/10/2011, 10:33 PM
Aargh! Just 30 seconds more and UCD would have done us a massive favour. That said it was going to be impossible to see Galway drawing.

As much as it pains me to see a delightfully skilfull UCD play their role in Shams clinching the League, fair play to them they ground out the league.

Winning ugly is what they have done all season, but ultimately its a results business. Congrats.

Aaron
25/10/2011, 10:37 PM
Congrats Rovers!! No matter what is said, whoever finished top of the pile deserves to be there

1st time post
25/10/2011, 11:28 PM
Ya congrats to Shams. Ultimately best team always wins the league and for the majority of the season they were always that little bit ahead of us or if they werent had games in hand or something. Also for all peoples talk about various teams bottle(its been said against both us and Shams)if both teams win as expected on Friday, we will have picked up 23 points from our last 27 and they will have picked up 20 with their only defeat coming against us. Impressive finish from both i would have taught.

25/10/2011, 11:30 PM
Sligo shouldn't really have got too many hopes up. UCD drawing would merely have delayed the inevitable for another 3 days, and I wouldn't have been upset with only having drawn tonight. But we'll take our opportunities when we get them.

Not the greatest performance ever, didn't like the pitch invasions at the end, looks awfully messy on tv, and intrusive for the players/management, but still job done, and next year, we can go for the treble.

WoodquayBoy
25/10/2011, 11:39 PM
Congrats to Shams, well done especially to Galway man Stephen O'Donnell, deserves his league medal after the sh&te he had to put up with here last season. Same goes for Shep

1st time post
25/10/2011, 11:41 PM
Sligo shouldn't really have got too many hopes up. UCD drawing would merely have delayed the inevitable for another 3 days, and I wouldn't have been upset with only having drawn tonight. But we'll take our opportunities when we get them.

Not the greatest performance ever, didn't like the pitch invasions at the end, looks awfully messy on tv, and intrusive for the players/management, but still job done, and next year, we can go for the treble.

Dont think anyone really was, just would have been good to bring it to the final day of the season even if it would have been irrelevant with yous playing Galway. Speaking of the final day, is it the worst in the history of the league??Absolutely nothing to be decided even for irrelevant placings.........

Waits for egg on face when u.c.d. beat us 7-0 and derry win 5-0 and we finish 3rd:)

25/10/2011, 11:44 PM
Congratulations to Shams and commiserations to Rovers on what has been a truly epic season. Hoping though that sligo can keep that team together. You could do worse than take on Nutsy if Paul leaves.

26/10/2011, 12:07 AM
Hugh Douglas (no 2)? Had an excellent game; that was just his eighth senior game too.

Thought we played some lovely one-touch stuff at times, but either didn't have the bodies up or didn't have the confidence to keep going once we got to the last 25 yards - too many long-range shots (granted, some of which were decent efforts). Could have really put the cat among the pigeons if we'd been able to play our way through the Rovers defence.

He was our legend first! :p

Agreed about Hugh Douglas and about the long range shots. It got a bit frustrating watching UCD shoot nearly everytime they got within range, having often moved the ball so well to get into that position in the first place.

Congratulations to Rovers. A well deserved title.

26/10/2011, 12:34 AM

He was the MOTM for me. McCabe, Ricketts or Stevens got nothing out of him. Indeed him going off and three at the back (?) offered up the space that O'Donnell ran into..

Rovers were awful tonight, one dimensional, but winners. Better than hitting the post 25 times and losing to a goal from corner. 16 is so very last year..great chant-leading on the steps after the game from Twigg. :)

Spudulika
26/10/2011, 4:30 AM
Well done Rovers, almost missed the match online (except for a text from the Bowl telling me to watch). I only wish a certain former Dublin midfielder would give a little support, and finance, to the FC so that they could get in a couple of older heads.

26/10/2011, 5:12 AM
RTE's coverage of the game was again, appalling. Starting with MNS, when they made TOD stand outside on the pitch in the torrential rain reporting the postponement, instead of letting him sit in the covered stand for a report. He's only just returned from time out remember.

On the night itself, Belfield is the closest LOI ground to RTE, why didn't they go down there to present their coverage? Lansdowne Road is only around the corner also, but they're always there for every Ireland game. Why one rule for some and a different one for the LOI?

Reports also that their live online feed cut out just after we scored the winner because the original allocated programme time expired. This is not the first time it's happened, and they should do something about it.

This 7pm fad also needs to be binned and only used for sensitive fixtures on Gardai advice, not to suit television. Several fixtures in the past 12 months have had to ko then and it's madness for everyone else involved. No LOI game should ko before 7.30pm. It is a relief then, that ko times for this Friday are set by the FAI and not by RTE, the only time it happens in the season.

bullit
26/10/2011, 5:37 AM
RTE's coverage of the game was again, appalling. Starting with MNS, when they made TOD stand outside on the pitch in the torrential rain reporting the postponement, instead of letting him sit in the covered stand for a report. He's only just returned from time out remember.

On the night itself, Belfield is the closest LOI ground to RTE, why didn't they go down there to present their coverage? Lansdowne Road is only around the corner also, but they're always there for every Ireland game. Why one rule for some and a different one for the LOI?

Reports also that their live online feed cut out just after we scored the winner because the original allocated programme time expired. This is not the first time it's happened, and they should do something about it.

This 7pm fad also needs to be binned and only used for sensitive fixtures on Gardai advice, not to suit television. Several fixtures in the past 12 months have had to ko then and it's madness for everyone else involved. No LOI game should ko before 7.30pm. It is a relief then, that ko times for this Friday are set by the FAI and not by RTE, the only time it happens in the season.
Go and enjoy ffs .Have a pint or a drink or a smoke of what ever make's you tick !!

Buller
26/10/2011, 10:58 AM
Go and enjoy ffs .Have a pint or a drink or a smoke of what ever make's you tick !!

Sure all Mypost ever does is moan sure! You not know that by now?! :P We coulda just won the europa league final and he'd be complaining about the stewards....

17 LEAGUES AND 24 CUPS!!! :D :D :D

hoops1
26/10/2011, 11:30 AM
Great night last night and another to come Friday. Well deserved by the club. Brilliant what they have done this year.
Congrats to Shels. Even one year in the first is a year too many. Great night for all the Shels fans who stayed the course.

26/10/2011, 11:35 AM
Next you'll be expecting to admit he's wrong sometimes!

legendz
26/10/2011, 12:59 PM
Congrats to South Dublin Rovers on winning the league. Congrats to the mighty Shels as well on their promotion. Sligo and Derry have pushed SDR well this season. I think both clubs can go into the Europa League with a mindset of looking to aspire to at least the play-off rounds. Getting there will be another matter but sure that's football. There'll be good nights but set-backs as well. I think this season's top 3 will represent themselves, the league and Ireland well.

Mario
26/10/2011, 1:21 PM
Congrats to South Dublin Rovers on winning the league. Congrats to the mighty Shels as well on their promotion. Sligo and Derry have pushed SDR well this season. I think both clubs can go into the Europa League with a mindset of looking to aspire to at least the play-off rounds. Getting there will be another matter but sure that's football. There'll be good nights but set-backs as well. I think this season's top 3 will represent themselves, the league and Ireland well.
It remains to be seen if the FAI admit Derry to the Europa League or if they will be barred under the 5 year rule!

Personally I think the five year ban should apply as Derry draged the name of the league through the mud with their cheating two seasons ago. The old company behind the club was wound up and then the new company and club were parachuted into the first division while claiming the history of the previous club!

Pats deserve to be in Europe next season, not Derry!

legendz
26/10/2011, 1:31 PM
I'd expect myself that Sligo will win the cup but wouldn't write off Shels, that'd see Pat's through. Personally I think the league current top 4 are the best 4 to go into Europe. I wouldn't have much hope in any of the rest.

26/10/2011, 1:42 PM
Personally I think the five year ban should apply as Derry draged the name of the league through the mud with their cheating two seasons ago.
If that was the only criteria, Rovers wouldn't have been in Europe last year

Pats deserve to be in Europe next season, not Derry!
Both will be in Europe this year

26/10/2011, 2:07 PM
Next you'll be expecting to admit he's wrong sometimes!

It has happened :eek:

hoopy
26/10/2011, 5:57 PM
Worked out better for us that the league went to the second last game as it gave certain Sligo fans on here false hope. Unfortunately for them you can't change the inevitable. The Hoops are havin' a party and Sligo's crackin' up:D

GalwayRed
26/10/2011, 6:26 PM
Congrats to Rovers on the league title. Well deserved.

26/10/2011, 6:36 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=nPb4-Nwb16c

Some good interviews here (I like this guy) - Magilton and Ricketts come across as well sound
I think it has been a good season really (apart from the strict referring), and im already looking forward to next season. Will be great to see Shels and Cork back, more of the same from Pats, Derry and Sligo, hopefully a better relegation dog fight, and more success in Europe:D

26/10/2011, 9:11 PM
is this Stephen O'Donnells first league medal? I know he spent a season at Bohs but not sure when?

26/10/2011, 10:29 PM
I think he got a league medal with Bohs in 2008

Also has FAI Cup medal and Setanta Cup

27/10/2011, 12:23 AM
Where's the Galway avatar, Dunny? :D

27/10/2011, 12:37 AM
Settings > edit avatar