View Full Version : Weekend latest - 21-24th October
legendz
23/10/2011, 4:12 PM
Good win by Shels last night. Finn Harps had a similar impressive win by the same score. I think Shels will secure promotion on Tuesday night, it's where my money would go.
Predictions for the week:
Shels 2-0 Harps
Athlone 1-1 Mons
Limerick 2-1 Waterford
Shels 1-1 Cork
My own predicted outcome:
1. Shels 69pts
2. Cork 67pts
-------------------
3. Limerick 66 pts
-------------------
4. Monaghan 65 pts
I wouldn't bet against Monaghan at all though. They are more than well capable of getting the win they require in Athlone. If I was given a free bet to put money on it, I'd say draw 1-1.
23/10/2011, 4:30 PM
Meh, Harps to beat Shels on Tuesday. Just wait.
Oh, and theres no way Mons are going to draw in Athlone.
23/10/2011, 5:40 PM
You never know, they have struggled to beat Mervue on a few occasions and Athlone thumped Mervue 4-1 only two weeks ago. Athlone have a Limeirck manager and a lot of limerick players. They won't go down easy and we certainly had to slug it out against them in our last meeting.
monutdfc
23/10/2011, 6:25 PM
Ye were told ye were up pending an appeal by Galway so what was the problem?
The problem is that Galway appealed to take their place in a competition in which they clearly were not going to compete, denying a club who were going to at least try and compete
legendz
23/10/2011, 7:37 PM
I'm only catching the tail end of this and just this post really. If the point is Mons would have served the Premier better than Galway, I have to say I agree. Good luck to Galway and fair play to them for being able to secure their premier licence for the season. How were they able to get the licence though and then face the problems that they have? It's a shame for the premier that there was not a healthy battle at the lower end of the table. The Mons would've been a great club to have been involved this season. I'd imagine it would have boosted the clubs profile as well, bringing in more support.
bluewhitearmy
23/10/2011, 8:00 PM
Maybe Galway thought they could at least compete enough to stay off bottom.
Maybe they thought they would get more sponsorship money being in the premier to help them survive as a club.
Even if they didnt why would they give up a place they earned on the pitch the season before just cos ye thought ye could do better.
If things were the other way round i highly doubt Monaghan would have said its ok lads we wont appeal as we think ye have a better team then us.
23/10/2011, 8:26 PM
Galway should not have been the bottom club this season. They had a mid-range budget and are based in a city, which makes them a slightly surer bet than Monaghan. But obviously you can't legislate for a club being run horrendously and in hindsight Monaghan would have contributed far more to the league.
monutdfc
23/10/2011, 8:33 PM
Maybe Galway thought they could at least compete enough to stay off bottom.
Maybe they thought they would get more sponsorship money being in the premier to help them survive as a club.
Even if they didnt why would they give up a place they earned on the pitch the season before just cos ye thought ye could do better.
If things were the other way round i highly doubt Monaghan would have said its ok lads we wont appeal as we think ye have a better team then us.
Totally agree with you,and as Charlie says Galway should have been able to compete, and the extent of their debt only came to light after the season started (so much for licensing).
At the time I was more ****ed with Drogheda getting Fingal's place despite doing a Galway the previous season.
23/10/2011, 8:39 PM
Bring it!
Cannot wait for Tuesday!
23/10/2011, 11:15 PM
heard a rumour in turners cross on fri last that all the clubs currently in the first division with premier division licences will be told to be on standby!
24/10/2011, 2:19 AM
So, Monaghan, Longford and Athlone?
monsexile
24/10/2011, 10:57 AM
Good win by Shels last night. Finn Harps had a similar impressive win by the same score. I think Shels will secure promotion on Tuesday night, it's where my money would go.
Predictions for the week:
Shels 2-0 Harps
Athlone 1-1 Mons
Limerick 2-1 Waterford
Shels 1-1 Cork
My own predicted outcome:
1. Shels 69pts
2. Cork 67pts
-------------------
3. Limerick 66 pts
-------------------
4. Monaghan 65 pts
I wouldn't bet against Monaghan at all though. They are more than well capable of getting the win they require in Athlone. If I was given a free bet to put money on it, I'd say draw 1-1.
That might not be far off. I think the most we can hope for now is third and we have a good record in Athlone having won 3 out of our last 4 there and having won 3-0 there earlier in the season. The Brennans and Keith Quinn will also be back from Friday night.
To get second we would need either Shels to defeat Cork (can't really see this happening) or Shels to only pick up one point in their last 2 matches or Shels to draw with Harps and lose to Cork and there to be a 7-goal turnaround i.e. Mons defeat Athlone by 6)
24/10/2011, 11:31 PM
So, Monaghan, Longford and Athlone?
did athlone get a prem div licence I cant remember!
25/10/2011, 9:51 AM
did athlone get a prem div licence I cant remember!
They surely did along with us and the Langers and the Blaas.
stann
25/10/2011, 11:03 AM
Cork, Shels, Mons, Athlone and Longford got 2011 Premier Licences IIRC.
We didn't get one for the first time since being down in the basement. Not enough referee's rooms being one (if not the) factor I think.
Surely though, if there are to be any clubs shifted upwards for next season (don't really think there will be), it will be based on the 2012 licences, handed out in the new year?
Mr Maroon
25/10/2011, 11:33 AM
Surely though, if there are to be any clubs shifted upwards for next season (don't really think there will be), it will be based on the 2012 licences, handed out in the new year?
Yes. Same with any clubs "shifted downwards".
25/10/2011, 12:24 PM
Cork, Shels, Mons, Athlone and Longford got 2011 Premier Licences IIRC.
We didn't get one for the first time since being down in the basement. Not enough referee's rooms being one (if not the) factor I think.
That's tight. My mistake. I noyef Ye only had a FD licence and thought it was odd.
It will all be based on 2012 licences but its good to outline those who had them in 2011 andwho would be affected by the implosion of a club.
It will all be based on 2012 licences but its good to outline those who had them in 2011 and who would be affected by the implosion of a club.
It is indeed, agree with that. :)
Should have been clearer, though, that the last line above was in answer to the rumours (which I have also heard tbf) that 2011 PD licenced clubs were being put on notice. Just so much chin music I think.
Yes. Same with any clubs "shifted downwards".
Apparently it's the new "relegated"!
25/10/2011, 1:45 PM
I would think if we are set to be in the Markets Field for the start of next season that we will have a premier division license also.
25/10/2011, 9:59 PM
I would think if we are set to be in the Markets Field for the start of next season that we will have a premier division license also.
I was going to ask why did ye not get a premier division licence for 2011?
redron
26/10/2011, 6:50 PM
I was going to ask why did ye not get a premier division licence for 2011?
Have you not been to any matches in Limerick during the last few seasons (since you were relegated)?
26/10/2011, 9:02 PM
Have you not been to any matches in Limerick during the last few seasons (since you were relegated)?
course I have. At the start of the season I didnt pass too much heed on the Premier Div Licences so long as we got our own. Its only from reading the thread that I realised that ye didnt get a licence that was all. so I was a bit surprised.
26/10/2011, 11:01 PM
The ground comes nowhere near Premier standard (and presumably their current plans weren't around this time last year).
Or it could be just that they don't have a CPO.
26/10/2011, 11:53 PM
Sure money is no object to Limerick. They'll probably just fly in a stadium from Dublin every Friday.
27/10/2011, 9:05 PM
I wouldn't bet against Monaghan at all though. If I was given a free bet to put money on it, I'd say draw 1-1.
So you wouldn't bet against a Monaghan win, yet if you were given free money, you'd bet against a Monaghan win?