View Full Version : Shamrock Rovers v Derry City

Aaron
12/10/2011, 12:00 AM
Massive, massive game this Thursday night. Whoever wins will win the title IMO. Big ask for us to go there and win but I feel we can. If we do, it will give us real belief for our 3 remaining games

Team news for us is Eddie McCallion and Owen Morrison still out, but the rest are fit

Wee preview:

http://sc1sports.com/all-roads-lead-to-tallaght-shamrock-rovers-v-derry-city-match-preview/

12/10/2011, 5:09 PM
Very hard game to call. Hopefully Rovers will set out for a win and at worst get a draw. On paper, Rovers are on form though giving up leads against Bohs and Pats and nearly Dundalk and Bray, but Derry have had their own struggles at home to weaker sides. Drogheda in particular whom Rovers thrashed.

Rovers have a fortress in Tallaght with only two defeats to Bray and Sligo with nine men, but Derry are unbeaten in Dublin. They put wingers high up on Rovers' full backs in the first game in Tallaght, the same as what Rubin Kazan and Sligo have done since and got great return from along with moving Molloy in on Finn and McCallion on the wing. From then on they dominated the game after a lightning start from Rovers playing lovely football. On the other hand, Rovers when needing a goal in Derry finally woke up and pounded the home goal. Added to this, winner takes all..

Hmmm...it's the two sides I expected in the top two before the season started, though perhaps not this close..

SPXcyan
12/10/2011, 5:15 PM
I'm very much looking forward to this game as a neutral

Candystripe
12/10/2011, 7:19 PM
Even if we win we still have two hard games plus the Galway game.

If we win and it's a massive "if" it just keeps us in with a chance.

born2bwild
12/10/2011, 7:21 PM
1-2 Derry. No repeat of Gadaffigate, hopefully.

horton
13/10/2011, 9:21 AM
So has Sham any new chants ready for Kenny and Zayed(or his sister)? Should be a good game but I've a funny feeling Shams will hold us out for a draw as that's all they need to wreck our chances.

writerbk1969
13/10/2011, 10:56 AM
Just Follow The Floodlights on sale in shop lads (and Glenmalure) from today.
I'll be up there at 6-7 in coffee shop

VinnyDCFC
13/10/2011, 10:59 AM
Should be a cracker game and one which I wouldn't even dare to predict the result of but it's far from over whoever wins tonight......:cool:

The Run In

Sligo Rovers P 34 Pts 67

21/10 v Bohemians (A)
28/10 v UCD (H)

Shamrock Rovers P 33 Pts 68

13/10 v Derry City (H)
21/10 v UCD (A)
28/10 v Galway Utd (H)

Derry City P 32 Pts 63

13/10 v Shamrock Rovers (A)
16/10 v Galway Utd (H)
21/10 v St Patricks Athletic (A)
28/10 v Bohemians (H)

St Patricks Athletic P 34 Pts 62

21/10 v Derry City (H)
28/10 v Drogheda Utd (A)

Nah Nah Nah Nah
13/10/2011, 12:04 PM
Should be a cracker game and one which I wouldn't even dare to predict the result of but it's far from over whoever wins tonight......:cool:

The Run In

Sligo Rovers P 34 Pts 67

21/10 v Bohemians (A)
28/10 v UCD (H)

Shamrock Rovers P 33 Pts 68

13/10 v Derry City (H)
21/10 v UCD (A)
28/10 v Galway Utd (H)

Derry City P 32 Pts 63

13/10 v Shamrock Rovers (A)
16/10 v Galway Utd (H)
21/10 v St Patricks Athletic (A)
28/10 v Bohemians (H)

St Patricks Athletic P 34 Pts 62

21/10 v Derry City (H)
28/10 v Drogheda Utd (A)

If Shams win tonight it's over. Even with a draw they'd be massively odds on favourites to win it

13/10/2011, 1:56 PM
If they win tonight, Rovers would have still have to beat either UCD or Galway..

13/10/2011, 2:19 PM
If they win tonight, Rovers would have still have to beat either UCD or Galway..

Of course theres no chance of beating Galway..

13/10/2011, 2:29 PM
I think it would be great for Derry to win and it being their turn for the European City of Culture in 2012.

13/10/2011, 2:40 PM
So has Sham any new chants ready for Kenny and Zayed(or his sister)?

I do think he might be made aware of the locals' opinion of him and probably her. I think Mr. Kenny might avoid it..

SwanVsDalton
13/10/2011, 2:50 PM
I think it would be great for Derry to win and it being their turn for the European City of Culture in 2012.

Its UK City Of Culture and it's not until 2013. But I appreciate the sentiment!

Hibs4Ever
13/10/2011, 2:55 PM
If Derry win tonight, Shams will still win the league looking at the remaining games

13/10/2011, 2:59 PM
Anyone remember an occasion when the Premier Division trophy was present or the title was won at a UCD game? Certainly hasn't happened in my time going to games.

ger121
13/10/2011, 6:04 PM
I see Cunningham is the doing the analysis tonight. He really is becoming a LOI regular these days

13/10/2011, 6:16 PM
Blow it up ref

born2bwild
13/10/2011, 6:31 PM
Looks like Eammo's getting a bit of stick again.

13/10/2011, 6:35 PM
Poor enough crowd in that main stand there. Stand across from it looks full though. Are shams not allowed to use the stand behind the nets for league games or something?

born2bwild
13/10/2011, 6:38 PM
Don't know - I've been over there 9 times this year anyway and it's always kind of empty up towards the away section. The East stand is always jammers.

CrowdedHouse
13/10/2011, 6:41 PM
What's with the scrum cap ?

13/10/2011, 6:43 PM
What's with the scrum cap ?

The lad hass just overcome a brain tumour

13/10/2011, 6:54 PM
Cmon Derry fs

13/10/2011, 6:54 PM
nice avatar Dunny - i knew you were one of the sensible ones on here ;)

El-Pietro
13/10/2011, 7:00 PM
Peter Collins sounds like a Formula One car. Has anyone ever been more suited to commentating on one "sport"

13/10/2011, 7:02 PM
Fair play to Kenny, does his homework.

El-Pietro
13/10/2011, 7:03 PM
saying that KennyCunningham is a breath of fresh air, actually taking the game seriously, not meaningless rhetoric but proper analysis

born2bwild
13/10/2011, 7:04 PM
Fair play to Kenny, does his homework.

Yeah he's top class. And he hasn't said "One v One Situation" once yet!

13/10/2011, 7:06 PM
Agree with the KC comments above. I actually enjoy hearing his insight.

born2bwild
13/10/2011, 7:12 PM
Retarded defending

13/10/2011, 7:12 PM
Ah f**k off Ricketts

13/10/2011, 7:14 PM
Graecen ye can have a fvcking nap AFTER the match :mad:

13/10/2011, 7:16 PM
Well done Doherty

1st time post
13/10/2011, 7:56 PM
Thats that. Amazing how quickly the league became an anti-climax. Five days ago it looked like it was going to be one of the best finishes to a league ever with 3 teams having a chance of winning it to it been(well all but)decided now!!

13/10/2011, 7:59 PM
Rovers deserved that tbh, wtf was Greacen(sp?) at fs

13/10/2011, 8:01 PM
Aye we weren't in it in the second half at all. Heads dropped fairly quickly too.

adamd164
13/10/2011, 8:02 PM
Thats that. Amazing how quickly the league became an anti-climax. Five days ago it looked like it was going to be one of the best finishes to a league ever with 3 teams having a chance of winning it to it been(well all but)decided now!!
An anti-climax for Sligo and Derry fans, sure, but Shamrock Rovers fans won't see it like that.

Delighted for Ger Doherty, arsehole.

born2bwild
13/10/2011, 8:03 PM
Rovers deserved that tbh, wtf was Greacen(sp?) at fs
They did, yeah. But, you never know. Philly Hughes hasn't sung yet. The College! The College! The College!

Nah Nah Nah Nah
13/10/2011, 8:06 PM
Even if UCD took points from Shams there's no way in hell Galway will

horton
13/10/2011, 8:07 PM
My greatest worry is that Shams will try to sign Zayed now, the fans clearly loved him tonight:(

13/10/2011, 8:08 PM
My greatest worry is that Shams will try to sign Zayed now, the fans clearly loved him tonight:(

With SK, replacement for MON perhaps? :D

1st time post
13/10/2011, 8:22 PM
An anti-climax for Sligo and Derry fans, sure, but Shamrock Rovers fans won't see it like that.

Delighted for Ger Doherty, arsehole.

Ya agreed and i know if we were to have won it i wouldnt have cared when but i was more on about the league in general. Fans of all clubs seemed to be excited about the potential of the run ins in both divisions and now the 1st is where the drama us at!!

13/10/2011, 8:46 PM
Even if UCD took points from Shams there's no way in hell Galway will

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_-pqvOPnNEk

Dave_SRFC
13/10/2011, 8:59 PM

He's a bit lardy now he can hardly run...and he's a fookin cheat.

13/10/2011, 9:03 PM
Ah leave hooperman alone Dave

13/10/2011, 9:33 PM
Done and Dusted, 2 games early. Bring on the Treble.

13/10/2011, 9:39 PM
Done and Dusted, 2 games early. Bring on the Treble.

I salute you..

Calcio Jack
13/10/2011, 9:39 PM
With SK, replacement for MON perhaps? :D

Mrs Kenny will never be allowed to work for Rovers... he made that decison when he came out with his 'untruths' comments relating to the Zayed incident... speaking of which goal bound header takes a wicked spin and comes back into Brushe's hands and destination of the league is changed...if that ain't Karma !!... fair play to Derry tonight though they put up a decent show in what was a cracker

abcd
13/10/2011, 9:49 PM
Congrats to Shamrock Rovers. Would take some major shocks to stop them now. Will be an interesting winter there seeing who will be coming and going after the final Europa game. Looking forward to their remaining Europa games and hopefully they can repeat their European exploits next season.

Derry have had a fantastic season, slipped up a bit lately but still have re-established themselves as a serious premier division side. The basis of a good team is there, hopefully they can challenge next year, they are a major asset for the premier division.

Sligo gave it a good rattle too, took apart the poor sides but they will have to start the search for a striker immediately if they are to get the full reward for some of their excellent football next season.

Hard to imagine these 3 not being the top 3 again next season. All seem in reasonable state financially (as far as anyone can tell in this league). Pats might be in the mix again. Perhaps Cork may be competitive if they can come up.