View Full Version : Shamrock Rovers v Derry City
hoops1
13/10/2011, 10:29 PM
Thought Derry were unfortunate not to be going in at half time ahead. On another night I would feel sorry for that lad that made the mistake because every time
I have seen him he has been outstanding.Second half we played much better and could have won by more. The fact a draw was no use to Derry played into our hands.
Verdebianco
13/10/2011, 10:36 PM
On a great night for Rovers, it has to be said the 300 or so Derry fans were a credit to their club esp on a thursday night, fair play.
C'mon the hoops!
placid casual
13/10/2011, 11:01 PM
to all the mouthy sligo fans on here, and to our real rivals,de boez....
THATS why wer'e Champions.
13/10/2011, 11:08 PM
On a great night for Rovers, it has to be said the 300 or so Derry fans were a credit to their club esp on a thursday night, fair play.
C'mon the hoops!
mayb its me but I didnt hear any chantin from the derry fans all nite long...
13/10/2011, 11:21 PM
Fair play to Rovers, they did the job they needed to.
monkey9
13/10/2011, 11:25 PM
Mrs Kenny will never be allowed to work for Rovers... he made that decison when he came out with his 'untruths' comments relating to the Zayed incident... speaking of which goal bound header takes a wicked spin and comes back into Brushe's hands and destination of the league is changed...if that ain't Karma !!... fair play to Derry tonight though they put up a decent show in what was a cracker
So you hate Bohs and Derry City!! Is there any part of you that takes pleasure in a Shams victory??
bullit
13/10/2011, 11:27 PM
Congrats to Shamrock Rovers. Would take some major shocks to stop them now. Will be an interesting winter there seeing who will be coming and going after the final Europa game. Looking forward to their remaining Europa games and hopefully they can repeat their European exploits next season.
Derry have had a fantastic season, slipped up a bit lately but still have re-established themselves as a serious premier division side. The basis of a good team is there, hopefully they can challenge next year, they are a major asset for the premier division.
Sligo gave it a good rattle too, took apart the poor sides but they will have to start the search for a striker immediately if they are to get the full reward for some of their excellent football next season.
Hard to imagine these 3 not being the top 3 again next season. All seem in reasonable state financially (as far as anyone can tell in this league). Pats might be in the mix again. Perhaps Cork may be competitive if they can come up.
Fair play to a Club like GUFC that just don't forget their debt's and re-form as a new Club !!!!
C'mon the hoops!
Very much so. Best humoured and loudest travelling support this season for me.
Draw was probably a fairer result, but that's six points instead of two..
and it's always kind of empty up towards the away section. The East stand is always jammers.
It's the end I'm usually in. The turnstiles are down the far end so you have to specifically make the long arduous perilous journey...the East Stand and the other end of the main stand are handier.
Plus the away supporters are there..might catch something from them :)
hoops1
13/10/2011, 11:41 PM
You obviously haven't being paying attention Sligo are the best team in Ireland its those bad refs are the reason they are not top.
Gutted but at the end of the day, rovers were the best throughout the season. Fair play to them but we will be back next year
Candystripe
14/10/2011, 2:25 AM
Just back, what a 1st half Derry had. A few great chances and some decent football when rovers couldn't get out of their own half for long spells.
The injury to Mc Glynn changed the game IMO and I think Kenny got it wrong with putting Mark Farren on instead of either Higgins or Harkin (both came on later in 2nd half) as we changed our shape and it suited Rvrs.
The stand opposite ours was almost full and probably was with what looked like most sections being more like a terraces with most standing.
Rovers seemed very nervous and Derry looked like they were on a mission like no other for the 1st half but we missed chance after chance and just didn't get the rub of the green which could have had the season lasting a bit longer.
Ah well, we've had an amazing season which very few expected and showed that we can play good stuff at times.Our younger players have now a great 1st season behind them in the premier and hopefully next year we can keep out title hopes alive for just as long.
Throat is fecked right now but hey it's better than roaring at a TV screen in some bar watching some team which will never mean as much from a different island.
A great occasion and as much as I dislike Shamrock Rovers congratulations.
Great achievement by Derry to be in a position to be challenging for the league last night. However any sympathy from me is subdued when you see that ham(you all know what that means-it's not an anti Muslim jibe) Zayed diving. Derry fans were a credit to their club whether you could near them on tv or not.
14/10/2011, 7:04 AM
Good game last night, especially second half. Agree with Richardson that European football has definitely helped Rovers, much more organised, more confident and much better at passing it around now - looks like they could dominate the league for a while.
Calcio Jack
14/10/2011, 7:39 AM
So you hate Bohs and Derry City!! Is there any part of you that takes pleasure in a Shams victory??
Don't hate either... for what's it worth I recently said I felt sorry for Bohs etc. and in the post above I praised the manner in which Derry played lat night. I do however have very little regard for Kenny and Zayed after their comments relating to Turner as despite the inquiry at the time finding Turner innocent of racism neither Kenny or Zayed had the decency to publicly withdraw their unfounded allegations.
So kindly don't make a comment that I hate anyone or any team as I don't... I do to repeat that I dislike the actions of both Zayed and Kenny as explained above.... as to whether I got any pleasure from last night, I like you are a fan so I really think both of us know I don't need to respond as we both already know the answer.
Mad Moose
14/10/2011, 8:08 AM
Cracking game last night. I've been watching these games afterward on RTE player from over here and its never quite the same as a live stream. Only just found my way to watching the live streams on rte.ie and it was excellent last night. Derry deserved a share of the points.
desaintsno.12
14/10/2011, 8:22 AM
The benefits of Renters playing in Eurpoe was totally over played last night by that gob****e Rico - the man has his head so far up the renters hole its unreal. They looked better than Derry because they have by far the best team and squad in the country having spent far far more than anyone else in the country. its not ****ing rocket science
14/10/2011, 8:42 AM
Its UK City Of Culture and it's not until 2013. But I appreciate the sentiment!
Oh right, it was a guy in work from Derry who told my that. I just presumed it was a Euro CoC.
The benefits of Renters playing in Eurpoe was totally over played last night by that gob****e Rico - the man has his head so far up the renters hole its unreal. They looked better than Derry because they have by far the best team and squad in the country having spent far far more than anyone else in the country. its not ****ing rocket science
Stop sitting on the fence and tell us what you really mean !! :)
14/10/2011, 8:54 AM
Well they def looked and played differently to the times I saw them at the start of the season. Playing in Europe has helped them, they are more confident on the ball, dont panic as much, and are more organised, its not rocket science!
desaintsno.12
14/10/2011, 9:02 AM
Well they def looked and played differently to the times I saw them at the start of the season. Playing in Europe has helped them, they are more confident on the ball, dont panic as much, and are more organised, its not rocket science!
and playing a few games in europe (half of which they got spanked in) has all of a sudden developed this ? or is that alco MON sobered up for a few weeks and finally has them playing like they should have been doin at the start of the season considering the far far superior squad and talent, compared to everyone else, he had available ?
Straightstory
14/10/2011, 9:18 AM
The second half was far superior in quality. Would have been interesting if Zayed had scored in the first half instead of ball coming back off post...
horton
14/10/2011, 9:43 AM
Great achievement by Derry to be in a position to be challenging for the league last night. However any sympathy from me is subdued when you see that ham(you all know what that means-it's not an anti Muslim jibe) Zayed diving. Derry fans were a credit to their club whether you could near them on tv or not.
I don't. Care to clarify what you mean by ham then? I've tried googling and theres a whole range of meanings from several racial/religious slurs to meanings that have no relevance? :rolleyes:
SwanVsDalton
14/10/2011, 10:26 AM
Very disappointing. The better side won. Feel for Graecen, he's had a great season but in some ways it's a karmic swing for Mannus' howler at the Brandywell.
Annoying having to listen to Rico on the TV though - I missed the first 15 minutes but from then we bossed the first half and easily could've gone in ahead. But he kept banging on about how both sides played better in the 2nd. Eh? We completely fell apart after Rovers scored.
Anyway fair play to Rovers. We'll be back next year.
14/10/2011, 10:36 AM
I don't. Care to clarify what you mean by ham then? I've tried googling and theres a whole range of meanings from several racial/religious slurs to meanings that have no relevance? :rolleyes:
Abbey actor maybe?
Who's yer man there? A bitter Pats fan? For what?
14/10/2011, 10:42 AM
Illiteracy?
hoops1
14/10/2011, 10:52 AM
Cahmpoins.
PartySaint
14/10/2011, 11:37 AM
Although their title challenge ended last night Derry fans must be delighted with how the season has gone so far, Hopefully they take their eye off the ball and drop a few more points:)
Aren't Derry going to be barred from Europe for 5 years following the financial chicanery this time two years ago?
I hope to see Pats finish ahead of Bohs to get the 3rd league Euro spot!
We will. We're miles ahead on goal difference witha 3 point cushion. Even a loss to Derry, we should be OK with the alst game against Drogheda.
Bohs have to play Sligo at home, then Derry away.
We'll win the Cup so if Derry are barred, Bohs will get the next spot. or Bray if they're barred ;)
14/10/2011, 2:24 PM
We will. We're miles ahead on goal difference witha 3 point cushion. Even a loss to Derry, we should be OK with the alst game against Drogheda.
Bohs have to play Sligo at home, then Derry away.
We'll win the Cup so if Derry are barred, Bohs will get the next spot. or Bray if they're barred ;)
Wow Bray in Europe, this league just gets better and better,lol
14/10/2011, 2:30 PM
On that, are Bray in the Setanta as things stand? Is next year's format the same as this year's?
14/10/2011, 2:44 PM
Well that was very satisfying. I was disappointed (well not disappointed, but you know what I mean) that Derry never really looked like they wanted to win the game, in the second half at least. They seemed to be all over the place in the second half and Kenny's changes were poor (taking Farren back off when he'd caused the defence way more problems than Zayed). Rovers looked a bit nervous at the back, particularly in the first half, but Sullivan and Ricer had excellent games. Can't believe Ricketts got man of the match - apart from his excellent dead ball deliveries, and goal obviously, he was muck for most of the game. The Derry full back had him in his pocket all game.
On that, are Bray in the Setanta as things stand? Is next year's format the same as this year's?
Depends on whether you think there'll be a setanta cup next year or not
Bonnie Shels wins the prize. Ham actor. Surely it's not just a Dublin saying?
CiaranR
14/10/2011, 4:47 PM
Don't hate either... for what's it worth I recently said I felt sorry for Bohs etc. and in the post above I praised the manner in which Derry played lat night. I do however have very little regard for Kenny and Zayed after their comments relating to Turner as despite the inquiry at the time finding Turner innocent of racism neither Kenny or Zayed had the decency to publicly withdraw their unfounded allegations.
Turner was presumed innocent because there wasn't enough evidence to show that he had actually done what he was accused of. On the same token, Zayed wasn't proved to have been telling lies. There's obviously a lacuna of fact here, and we'll never know for sure what actually happened.
I understand that you're backing your player. Fair play. But try not to be so resentful.
born2bwild
14/10/2011, 5:00 PM
Bonnie Shels wins the prize. Ham actor. Surely it's not just a Dublin saying?
Of course it's not just a Dublin saying. As an adjective a 'ham' actor is an actor capable of portraying only the most cliched emotions, hackneyed reactions and predictable tones of voice.
It's also a verb - to ham something up - is to deliberately behave like a ham actor.
William Shatner is a ham actor.
In the context of the match last night calling Zayed a ham would be to suggest that he was diving, a chancer, a clown.
14/10/2011, 5:12 PM
Depends on whether you think there'll be a setanta cup next year or not
Yeah, that's kind of what I was wondering alright. Any word on that either way?
bullit
14/10/2011, 5:30 PM
I was told that it will be on next year alright. 6 teams from FAI Cup Winners, EA Sports Cup Winners and then the remaining four places being allocated from league placings.
Calcio Jack
16/10/2011, 7:56 PM
Turner was presumed innocent because there wasn't enough evidence to show that he had actually done what he was accused of. On the same token, Zayed wasn't proved to have been telling lies. There's obviously a lacuna of fact here, and we'll never know for sure what actually happened.
I understand that you're backing your player. Fair play. But try not to be so resentful.
Not being resentful.... fact is that both Zayed and Kenny made an accusation, fact Turner owned up to what he said, fact the tribunal found that Turner was innocent of the charge of racism levelled at him.
The norm as we all know is that one is innocent until proven guilty, as Turner was proven to be innocen therefore mesrrs Kenny and Zayed appear to be either ignorant of that or chose to ignore it.
Therfore as I've already mentioned I have no respect for either Zayed or Kenny because neither of them had the honesty or decency to withdraw their unsubstantiated accusations, which makes them in my view two pathetic individuals with no class and they are therefore for me not welcome in terms of either being a future employee of SRFC and I'll reiterate that Kenny at least has zero chance of that ever coming to pass.
SwanVsDalton
16/10/2011, 9:04 PM
Well that was very satisfying. I was disappointed (well not disappointed, but you know what I mean) that Derry never really looked like they wanted to win the game, in the second half at least. They seemed to be all over the place in the second half and Kenny's changes were poor (taking Farren back off when he'd caused the defence way more problems than Zayed).
Bit harsh on your own side? We were completely rattled by the goal but credit to Rovers, they ruthlessly closed the game down. Always thought if Rovers opened the scoring they'd go on to win the game.
CSFShels
16/10/2011, 9:37 PM
Not being resentful.... fact is that both Zayed and Kenny made an accusation, fact Turner owned up to what he said, fact the tribunal found that Turner was innocent of the charge of racism levelled at him.
The norm as we all know is that one is innocent until proven guilty, as Turner was proven to be innocen therefore mesrrs Kenny and Zayed appear to be either ignorant of that or chose to ignore it.
Therfore as I've already mentioned I have no respect for either Zayed or Kenny because neither of them had the honesty or decency to withdraw their unsubstantiated accusations, which makes them in my view two pathetic individuals with no class and they are therefore for me not welcome in terms of either being a future employee of SRFC and I'll reiterate that Kenny at least has zero chance of that ever coming to pass.
If something happened you and the person who did it was found innocent would you withdraw the claims?
born2bwild
16/10/2011, 10:00 PM
If something happened you and the person who did it was found innocent would you withdraw the claims?
If the person I had wrongly accused was a person of totally impeccable character from a club renowned for its open-minded and respectful support I would not only withdraw the claims but I would hand myself in at the nearest Garda station and demand to be arrested as a matter of public safety.
16/10/2011, 11:18 PM
fact Turner owned up to what he saidDo you have any evidence to back this up? I asked after the investigation if we'd ever found out what Turner had actually said (and admitted to saying), and nobody was able to tell me.
placid casual
17/10/2011, 8:51 AM
If the person I had wrongly accused was a person of totally impeccable character from a club renowned for its open-minded and respectful support I would not only withdraw the claims but I would hand myself in at the nearest Garda station and demand to be arrested as a matter of public safety.
I can only assume your not old enough to remember ollie byrne..
punkrocket
17/10/2011, 8:58 AM
Of course it's not just a Dublin saying. As an adjective a 'ham' actor is an actor capable of portraying only the most cliched emotions, hackneyed reactions and predictable tones of voice.
It's also a verb - to ham something up - is to deliberately behave like a ham actor.
William Shatner is a ham actor.
In the context of the match last night calling Zayed a ham would be to suggest that he was diving, a chancer, a clown.
Or just plain clumsy as in hamfisted
17/10/2011, 1:54 PM
I can only assume your not old enough to remember ollie byrne..
He missed out on the "glory" years.
Anyone remember an occasion when the Premier Division trophy was present or the title was won at a UCD game? Certainly hasn't happened in my time going to games.
Has/Can the area behind the dugouts ever be used...?
Capacity wise..
17/10/2011, 2:01 PM
I don't think so; not concrete. The "terraces" behind either goal are usable obviously; the official capacity is 1500 standing and 1500 seated. Think it was 2200 this time last year for the 3-2 win.
marinobohs
17/10/2011, 3:39 PM
Do you have any evidence to back this up? I asked after the investigation if we'd ever found out what Turner had actually said (and admitted to saying), and nobody was able to tell me.
The FAI decided to ban him (Turner) to show the world how innocent he was. Shams did not appeal the ban for the same obvious reason :rolleyes:
Surely time to move on for all concerned ?