View Full Version : Slovakia vs. Armenia
Factor this in lads. If Armenia win which is looking quite likely then Slovakia have to beat Russia which is quite possible.
This means are game vs armenia could have us winning the group if we win, or coming second if we draw.
Considering second means the playoffs..wouldnt you all prefer Armenia, a team we've proven we can beat in a home game as our playoff rather than the likes of Sweden.
Armenia win please.
Jaysus ive been trying to ram this point home to ye lot since last night!!! We have a reasonable chance of topping the group as things stand.
I still would like Slovakia to get two goals and draw.
Metrostars
06/09/2011, 7:47 PM
Wow
2-0
Time to get the calculators out again.
oh my God.
Another yellow card for the Slovaks, is that 4 or 5?
Real ale Madrid
06/09/2011, 7:48 PM
Wouldn't think that Slovakia will beat Russia at home , considering Armenia have them torn apart.
Also Russia look in decent enough form - I thought they were a smidge unlucky not to win today.
06/09/2011, 7:49 PM
Slovakia can lose here, win their next 2 games and definitely make the play offs, at the very least.
AlaskaFox
06/09/2011, 7:49 PM
I'm definitely going to have to do a massive permutations post now. :D
Sullivinho
06/09/2011, 7:50 PM
http://gif.bz/images/uw4qx8.gif
06/09/2011, 7:50 PM
I dunno tricky £2.11 is a lot of money......
]
Better than nowt ;)
Which is almost certainly what I would have got had I not cashed out.
I already lost £2 on Ireland and prior to that I lost $200 at poker, but 90% of that was winnings, they seem to
have flicked the doom switch on me playing poker so I have stopped whilst I have still some profit.
born2bwild
06/09/2011, 7:51 PM
Wouldn't think that Slovakia will beat Russia at home , considering Armenia have them torn apart.
Also Russia look in decent enough form - I thought they were a smidge unlucky not to win today.
Just a smidge, yeah.
ArdeeBhoy
06/09/2011, 7:52 PM
Mkhitaryan the Armenian midfielder was brilliant against Slovakia in the home game. Ran the show and scored a great goal. I'd be happy to have a player of that quality playing for us in midfield. Hopefully he runs the show tomorrow night and Armenia win or draw.
Mystic Noel, he got their second goal!
And will eat a small degree of humble pie myself, though amazed if Armenia come 2nd at the end...
06/09/2011, 7:53 PM
At least this should be end of the 3 horse photo finish scenario.
06/09/2011, 7:54 PM
Phew - well done.
I was in too minds, I doubted Slovakia would pull one back, then I noticed Armenia had a free kick on the edge of the
penalty area, that made my mind up, if that's goes in I will never see that £2.11 again I though - lol.
Armenians requiring the full treatment for all nicks and bruises.
Slovakia can lose here, win their next 2 games and definitely make the play offs, at the very least.
Your right, on that basis and assuming we'd win at home this is how the last couple of games would play out.
Russia 17 - 17 - 20
Ireland 15 - 18 - 21
Armenia 14 - 17 -17
Slovakia 14 - 17 - 20
greendeiseboy
Armenia are going to be tough....we'll need to be at our best. Guaranteed to be a sell out now
DannyInvincible
http://blinertv2.blogspot.com/p/tv.html
Cheers. I've been going through more streams in the past 80 minutes than I went through fingernails during our game against Russia, but they're all lagging for me or simply not working at all. This one is a bit of an improvement. Maybe just my own connection.
Real ale Madrid
06/09/2011, 7:55 PM
Flaming Nora 3-0
Fester
3 nill now
French Toasht
3-0. Game over.
3-0 fook me!
3 nil?? we're in GUBU land now
greendeiseboy
0-3 unreal
dantheman
06/09/2011, 7:56 PM
Wow 3-0
We will never beat these red shirted devils!!
Fergie's Son
This throws the cat in amongst the pigeons. We know what we need to do. Win our next two matches and we should be in good shape. End of story.
We want 4
born2bwild
3-0
http://www8.livetv.ru/webplayer.php?t=sopcast&c=114018&serv=broker.sopcast.com:3912&lang=en&eid=85189&lid=89402&ci=323&si=1
Ha ha ha ha ha!
EAFC_rdfl
NOW:
ussr 17
roi 15
armenia 14
slovakia 14
MATCHES:
roi - 2 wins (andorra a, armenia h)
slovakia - 2 wins (ussr h, macedonia a)
ussr - 1 win (andorra h), 1 loss (slovakia a)
arm - 1 win (macedonia h), 1 loss (roi a)
END:
roi 21
slovakia 20
ussr 20
armenia 17
Though based on tonight, the Slovakia win over Russia could easily be flipped, giving us 2nd place instead of 1st....I think :-)
06/09/2011, 7:57 PM
Armenia at home not a formality then...........
This throws the cat in amongst the pigeons. We know what we need to do. Win our next two matches and we should be in good shape. End of story.
The final game against Armenia gonna be just massive now. But at the start of the day we would have snapped hands off for this, its all in our hands, we could not ask for much more. Well except for Slovakia to beat Russia so that we can top the group as well :)
3-0 wow! Shows how bad we were last Friday and indeed how we let 2 points slip over there but anyway I'm delighted, at least 2nd place is back in our own hands again with two games left. Armenia have been amazing in this group and could be higher only for a late penalty for Macedonia resulting in a 2-2 draw over there earlier in the group.
Macedonia could be the team to look out for though. They've only edged past Andorra tonight but they have proven tough opponents throughout this group and could have more points. I'd venture that they could do us at least 1 favour before this group is out.
So many complications but at least we have it back in our own hands and I don't think anyone is going to underestimate Armenia now.
06/09/2011, 7:58 PM
And best of all we have actually beaten armenia - away from home!! :party::party::party:
born2bwild
We will never beat these red shirted devils!!
It's grand - half of the team will disappear at half time through a tunnel out into Dublin 4.
Noelys Guitar
Slovakia barn door and banjo up front
danonion
Cannot see Slovakia getting 6 points from their remaining two games. They will be lucky to get a point. Bear in mind that Slovakia at home is a glamour tie for Macedonia and I would fancy them to win.
dantheman
Armenia are going to be tough....we'll need to be at our best. Guaranteed to be a sell out now
Your right, on that basis and assuming we'd win at home this is how the last couple of games would play out.
Russia 17 - 17 - 20
Ireland 15 - 18 - 21
Armenia 14 - 17 -17
Slovakia 14 - 17 - 20
RUS - ARM - SLO head to head. Who wins?? I think Armenia
Unbelieveable stuff. (Nice of Denmark to give Armenia some spare jerseys too btw)
Metrostars
06/09/2011, 7:59 PM
Total collapse by Slovakia
06/09/2011, 7:59 PM
Armenia at home not a formality then...........
We will be playing for a draw obviously ;)
Drawing our way to a world cup finals penalty shoot out!!
06/09/2011, 8:00 PM
Can we have a 4 way tie?
06/09/2011, 8:01 PM
Football. Bloody hell.
Noelys Guitar
Russia are not certain to qualify as Slovakia will play a lot better against them. It could well be Ireland 21, Russia 20 Slovakia 20.
Sullivinho
Cannot see Slovakia getting 6 points from their remaining two games.
Absolutely shocking performance tonight. I thought they might slip up in Macedonia but didn't see this collapse coming at all. A bit worried about Armenia now!
06/09/2011, 8:02 PM
Last week Trap went down to the crossroads and sold what was left of his football soul, to the devil. We play crapball in exchange for qualification.
rebelmusic
06/09/2011, 8:02 PM
The flip side of this is that if Russia beat Slovakia we only need to win/draw against Armenia to at least make the playoffs which i really would fancy us. We may be ****e at winning games but we're the hardest team in the group to beat i would venture.
writerbk1969
06/09/2011, 8:03 PM
You'd have to face Armenia to do Macedonia now, which means a point would probably do us for 2nd when we play them at the Aviva....just what Trap will love, not having to win