View Full Version : Is Roddy Collins a plonker?
eoinh
05/07/2004, 11:13 PM
What a stupid comment at the end of the EL programme on TV3!
I dont even have to mention what he said - the daftest thing ever. :rolleyes: :mad:
05/07/2004, 11:25 PM
I dont even have to mention what he said.
Does he want to be taken seriously or not ..... did he just bury any hope at all that he might of had.
about moving the city match (IF THEY GOT THROUGH) against Nantes to Dublin. Even Noel King was shocked!
monutdfc
06/07/2004, 7:58 AM
While I agree that was a very stupid idea, on the whole I thought that Roddy and Kinger worked much better than Rico and Kinger. Roddy tries to say more than the obvious - with Rico it's generally a replay of the goals with him telling you which was a good goal or bad defending or whatever. And I quite enjoyed his name-dropping.
But what does Kinger have against Pat Dolan? That was a pretty nasty comment he made about being no fan of Dolan's.
No way, King and Rico is the right partnership. Shoddy is a príck, doing the league down every chance he has. And how you can say he's more incisive than Rico, "great player, I signed him for bohs and I'd sign him again tomorrow" - well you might if anyone gives you a job... :rolleyes:
06/07/2004, 8:49 AM
i couldn't even look at rody, i was so shocked that st noel was wearing a normal tie, i cried myself to sleep :(
liamon
06/07/2004, 9:50 AM
Moving the game to Dublin would be a kick in the teeth for all the local fans in Cork. Daft idea.
I also didn't like his comment about Cork City being good enough to do well in Europe, but not tough enough for league football. Why can't eL clubs play decent football? Why do we have to scrap and push and shove? Why not put the ball on the deck and pass it? That's the way forward. That's what will entertain the fans and build the league. And it can work. Jut look at the unbeaten run CCFC had recently.
Collins is a disaster and shouldn't be left near the league in any capacity.
06/07/2004, 10:46 AM
I think he was simply inferring that the cross might not hold the crowd if cork go thru....but god help us, the man isn't the brightest, now is he?
NorthoftheLee
06/07/2004, 11:04 AM
Yes..yes he is!
06/07/2004, 11:44 AM
I can't use quotes for some reason but if City are playing Nantes what is the story with the Cross.
I THINK that the shed would have to be closed which would reduce the capacity by 1,500 approx.
Even if the capacity was lower than previous games at the Cross I can't imagine Lennox moving the game to Dublin. He's just print 6,000 tickets and sell them and that would be it.
They'd be lucky to get 2,000 up there.
Stupid suggestion from a Dub who thinks the sun revolves around Dublin. A bit like the Dublin GAA chairman who was giving out that that they weren't playing Longford at Croke Park, even though the rules state the game had to be at a neutral venue.
In all seriousness lads, why even waste storage space on a thread about this f*cking joke?
King is an idiot but he mainly an inoffensive one.
Rico is definitely king of the eL punditry as can tell he got issues with Dolan (doesn't everyone) but doesn't allow it bias himself too much. Hes criticised city for defneding in depth but also praised for quality football.
Roddy is biased & has his own agenda for everything. Doubt hes ever made a comment without having a dig at someone & his touting for a manager job is just ugly. :(
btw Roddys name dropping "i signed him when blah blah blah..." is just sad.
06/07/2004, 6:25 PM
Is Roddy Collins a plonker?
Is this a trick question?
Is this a trick question? :p :) !!!
Stupid suggestion from a Dub who thinks the sun revolves around Dublin. A bit like the Dublin GAA chairman who was giving out that that they weren't playing Longford at Croke Park, even though the rules state the game had to be at a neutral venue.
Croke Park is neutral ground, Parnell Park is Dublins home ground. :rolleyes:
08/07/2004, 8:14 AM
oh yeah......but how come most jackeens wouldn't know their way to parnell park anyway :D
kevincronin2000
08/07/2004, 9:17 AM
Rody also implied that when bohs beat kaiserslauten away, the current greek manager was the manager of kaiserslauten then and got the sack.
So roddy is a better manager than the manager of the european champions?
Answer. NO
08/07/2004, 12:26 PM
Croke Park is neutral ground, Parnell Park is Dublins home ground. :rolleyes:
Who're you trying to kid? LAst time I looked the address for Croke Park was a Dublin one.
If Croke Park is so neutral why is Hill 16 being kept as a terrace after the outcry from Dublin fans? They see it as their home ground for Championship games.
How could Croke Park be considered neutral for a game between Longford and Dublin? :rolleyes:
Ringo
08/07/2004, 12:55 PM
Who're you trying to kid? LAst time I looked the address for Croke Park was a Dublin one.
If Croke Park is so neutral why is Hill 16 being kept as a terrace after the outcry from Dublin fans? They see it as their home ground for Championship games.
How could Croke Park be considered neutral for a game between Longford and Dublin? :rolleyes:
I suppose the same way Dalymount wouldn't be a home game for Shels/pats/ucd, DCfc or rovers.
08/07/2004, 1:02 PM
hill 16 is being kept a terrace as they could not get planning permission to cover it, because the train line behind it ( also known as railway end) would have to be closed for a number of months and the choo choo gang wouldn't agree to it, therefore all that could be done is a redelevopment of the existing structure.
08/07/2004, 3:07 PM
oh yeah......but how come most jackeens wouldn't know their way to parnell park anyway :D
Where? :D
08/07/2004, 3:10 PM
just follow the the smell of jealously..... but that could lead to turners cross as well ;)
08/07/2004, 3:25 PM
just follow the the smell of jealously..... but that could lead to turners cross as well ;)
No jealousy Max, only respect for the ******s, vide my prev posts on that subject. :rolleyes:
In any case, that trail certainly wouldn't lead to Longford! :D
08/07/2004, 4:38 PM
I suppose the same way Dalymount wouldn't be a home game for Shels/pats/ucd, DCfc or rovers.
I don't think its the same thing. All those clubs have their own home venue.
Dublin footballers play all their home championship games at Croke Park, therefore I don't think its reasonable to treat it as a neutral ground for a championship game involving Dublin.
08/07/2004, 9:20 PM
I think the whole idea of moving to Dubland for the game if they get through was was that turners wouldnt be big enough. Well then Musgrave park would be the answer would it not? I think cork played Munich there in 1991/2 and got a one one draw. The reason Limerick moved the game with Madrid to Dublin in 80/81 was yes for financail gain which went horribly wrong but a feww years earlier waterford drew the other LFC :) Liverpool FC and they moved it to Dublin. The problem was Liverpool were on tv every other week with match of the day and so the everyday person knew them...La Liga wasnt hi on RTEs schedule just as the EL isnt now. Hence the Limerick game only got 6,000....but the championa de Irlande drew 49,000 for the reuturn leg...and scored.....oh nosebleed!
sullanefc
09/07/2004, 12:38 AM
Should we get through, Cork football is for Cork people. I Dont see Cork City V Nantes getting a much bigger crowd at Landsdowne than at Turners Cross. I wouldnt see many cork folk heading up to Landsdowne and I wouldn't see many Neutrals heading there to see Nantes. If it was Real Madrid it might be different, but its ONLY Nantes.
liamon
09/07/2004, 10:56 AM
I wouldnt see many cork folk heading up to Landsdowne .
Don't know about that. But anyway, we shouldn't have to travel to see our team play at home.
Lansdowne would only have 20-25k seats & given the extra cost of travelling & hiring the ground would not probably make any financial sense.
Musgrave Park no sense either cos barely any seats.
Besides we getting way beyond ourselves speculating on the 3rd round as have to win sunday yet.
Dublin footballers play all their home championship games at Croke Park, .
no they don't! what planet are you on?
When was the last time before the London game?
Enda M
09/07/2004, 1:27 PM
ok am i missing something i thought there was a second leg against nec to play yet
When was the last time before the London game?
The quote was they played all their championship games in Croke Park. :rolleyes:
a touch of
Well, apart from plumbing, concrete, roads, law and order and the modern day calendar, what have the romans evrer done for us?
The quote was actually all their home championship games in Croker. So when was the last time Dublin played a home championship game in Parnell Park, before the (non all ticket) London game?
onceahoop
10/07/2004, 12:12 AM
Why would Cork want to play in Dublin. Stick to Turners Cross lads. If it's money you want you'll make it from the rewards for winning matches. As the best supported team in the EL you should stay where you are. I'm rooting for you on Sunday.
sullanefc
10/07/2004, 2:32 AM
Why would Cork want to play in Dublin. Stick to Turners Cross lads. If it's money you want you'll make it from the rewards for winning matches. As the best supported team in the EL you should stay where you are. I'm rooting for you on Sunday.
Nice one sham ;)
10/07/2004, 10:16 AM
home game
rovers.
LOL :D :D
10/07/2004, 10:16 AM
feck the bogball, and feck playin in jackland
10/07/2004, 4:18 PM
Roddy was obviously wrong on this point, but is he a plonker? I don't know. Like Dolan, he certainly spouts an inordinate amount of rubbish, but (largely like Dolan) you can't argue with his results at home or in Europe. I always like to see him on eL Weekly because he's far more entertaining than King (Roddy/Rico = The Dream Team.) He was at our game on Friday, incidentally, having a right old laugh in the directors' box.
Most people who've encountered him in a personal capacity seem to find him sound enough. For example, I was in a taxi on the way to a match earlier this season, and the driver told me he'd been friends with Roddy as a youngster, but hadn't seen him for years until the Bohs-Kaiserslatuern game. Roddy caught sight of him after the match, and interrupted a television interview to come over and say hello, then brought his kids into the dressing rooms to get autographs from the Bohs players and Djorkaeff et al.
13/07/2004, 5:17 PM
fair play to Roddy for highlighting that Alan Ratnolds had a tough time being player manager and should be relieved and allow ot concentrate on his game. I thought that was real big of him, seeing Alans present situation and suggesting that a new manager might be a way to solve it.
Fair play Roddy !! :eek: :( :rolleyes: