Thread: Is Roddy Collins a plonker?

Is Roddy Collins a plonker?

What a stupid comment at the end of the EL programme on TV3!

I dont even have to mention what he said - the daftest thing ever.

Quote Originally Posted by eoinh
    I dont even have to mention what he said.
    Does he want to be taken seriously or not ..... did he just bury any hope at all that he might of had.
    Last edited by A face; 06/07/2004 at 9:02 PM.

No...

about moving the city match (IF THEY GOT THROUGH) against Nantes to Dublin. Even Noel King was shocked!

While I agree that was a very stupid idea, on the whole I thought that Roddy and Kinger worked much better than Rico and Kinger. Roddy tries to say more than the obvious - with Rico it's generally a replay of the goals with him telling you which was a good goal or bad defending or whatever. And I quite enjoyed his name-dropping.
    But what does Kinger have against Pat Dolan? That was a pretty nasty comment he made about being no fan of Dolan's.

No way, King and Rico is the right partnership. Shoddy is a príck, doing the league down every chance he has. And how you can say he's more incisive than Rico, "great player, I signed him for bohs and I'd sign him again tomorrow" - well you might if anyone gives you a job...

i couldn't even look at rody, i was so shocked that st noel was wearing a normal tie, i cried myself to sleep
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

Moving the game to Dublin would be a kick in the teeth for all the local fans in Cork. Daft idea.

I also didn't like his comment about Cork City being good enough to do well in Europe, but not tough enough for league football. Why can't eL clubs play decent football? Why do we have to scrap and push and shove? Why not put the ball on the deck and pass it? That's the way forward. That's what will entertain the fans and build the league. And it can work. Jut look at the unbeaten run CCFC had recently.

Collins is a disaster and shouldn't be left near the league in any capacity.

I think he was simply inferring that the cross might not hold the crowd if cork go thru....but god help us, the man isn't the brightest, now is he?

Yes..yes he is!

I can't use quotes for some reason but if City are playing Nantes what is the story with the Cross.

I THINK that the shed would have to be closed which would reduce the capacity by 1,500 approx.

Even if the capacity was lower than previous games at the Cross I can't imagine Lennox moving the game to Dublin. He's just print 6,000 tickets and sell them and that would be it.

They'd be lucky to get 2,000 up there.

Stupid suggestion from a Dub who thinks the sun revolves around Dublin. A bit like the Dublin GAA chairman who was giving out that that they weren't playing Longford at Croke Park, even though the rules state the game had to be at a neutral venue.

In all seriousness lads, why even waste storage space on a thread about this f*cking joke?

Thumbs down

King is an idiot but he mainly an inoffensive one.

Rico is definitely king of the eL punditry as can tell he got issues with Dolan (doesn't everyone) but doesn't allow it bias himself too much. Hes criticised city for defneding in depth but also praised for quality football.

Roddy is biased & has his own agenda for everything. Doubt hes ever made a comment without having a dig at someone & his touting for a manager job is just ugly.

btw Roddys name dropping "i signed him when blah blah blah..." is just sad.

Is Roddy Collins a plonker?
    Is this a trick question?

Quote Originally Posted by dancinpants
    Is this a trick question?
    !!!

Quote Originally Posted by paudie
    Stupid suggestion from a Dub who thinks the sun revolves around Dublin. A bit like the Dublin GAA chairman who was giving out that that they weren't playing Longford at Croke Park, even though the rules state the game had to be at a neutral venue.
    Croke Park is neutral ground, Parnell Park is Dublins home ground.

oh yeah......but how come most jackeens wouldn't know their way to parnell park anyway
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

Rody also implied that when bohs beat kaiserslauten away, the current greek manager was the manager of kaiserslauten then and got the sack.

So roddy is a better manager than the manager of the european champions?
    Answer. NO
    First Division Champions

Quote Originally Posted by Ringo
    Croke Park is neutral ground, Parnell Park is Dublins home ground.
    Who're you trying to kid? LAst time I looked the address for Croke Park was a Dublin one.

If Croke Park is so neutral why is Hill 16 being kept as a terrace after the outcry from Dublin fans? They see it as their home ground for Championship games.

How could Croke Park be considered neutral for a game between Longford and Dublin?

Quote Originally Posted by paudie
    Who're you trying to kid? LAst time I looked the address for Croke Park was a Dublin one.

If Croke Park is so neutral why is Hill 16 being kept as a terrace after the outcry from Dublin fans? They see it as their home ground for Championship games.

How could Croke Park be considered neutral for a game between Longford and Dublin?
    I suppose the same way Dalymount wouldn't be a home game for Shels/pats/ucd, DCfc or rovers.

hill 16 is being kept a terrace as they could not get planning permission to cover it, because the train line behind it ( also known as railway end) would have to be closed for a number of months and the choo choo gang wouldn't agree to it, therefore all that could be done is a redelevopment of the existing structure.