View Full Version : Tonights Latest 5/8/11

05/08/2011, 5:12 PM
We seem to have lost the run of ourselves a bit with Europe and the Dublin Super Cup. Back to our own teams now for the lot of us :D

Bohemians - Shamrock Rovers
Bray Wanderers - Drogheda United
Galway United - Derry City
Cork City - Shelbourne
Waterford United - Limerick FC
Monaghan United - Athlone Town

SwanVsDalton
05/08/2011, 5:20 PM
Here's hoping for a triple European hangover and City to take advantage.

05/08/2011, 6:15 PM
I know it's a tangent, but it's bad to think that Dalymount has fallen that far behind - it should be a super compact stadium, pity it's got tatty.

05/08/2011, 6:20 PM
Hoof hoof hoof hoof hoof hoof hoof hoof hoof hoof hoof hoof hoof hoof. What the **** do they do in training??

TiocfaidhArmani
05/08/2011, 6:48 PM
Shels 1-0 up after four minutes. Casssoooooo!!!!

05/08/2011, 6:49 PM
Monaghan United Team: Sava, Whelan, Grimes, A Byrne, Aidan Collins, Foley, Reilly, Quinn, O'Brien, S Brennan, Keegan. Subs: Paul Byrne, Marks, Philip Byrne, R Collins, Rossiter, D Byrne, Isichei.

bullit
05/08/2011, 6:58 PM
Shels 1-0 up after four minutes. Casssoooooo!!!!
Any on line commentary stream ??

05/08/2011, 6:58 PM
Our best centre back starting in midfield....quality stuff :eek:

dong
05/08/2011, 7:07 PM
Nice bit of editing you did there. I'll fill in the gaps.

Glad I could sort that out for you.

Scorched in fairness.:D

OneForTheFuture
05/08/2011, 7:10 PM
1 all in cork....Cummins

bullit
05/08/2011, 7:11 PM
Derry 1 up and Mons 1 up .

OneForTheFuture
05/08/2011, 7:21 PM
2-1 cork

bullit
05/08/2011, 7:22 PM
And Derry 2 up V Gallway.

bullit
05/08/2011, 7:25 PM
Drogs hit the front in Bray.

05/08/2011, 7:25 PM
Limerick 1 up, Behan.

total hoofball
05/08/2011, 7:33 PM
That 45 minutes already indicates Shels have commenced their annual bottlefest. Some turnaround for Cork

05/08/2011, 7:55 PM
As expected, a horrible 4-5-1 rubbish defensive formation at Dalymount again tonight. In fairness though, Fenlon only bothered to change it to 4-4-2 after Twigg's winner :cool2:

More convincing win than the scoreline suggests, but Agent O'Brien came to the rescue again. Heroic efforts from him..

05/08/2011, 7:58 PM
Limerick 2up, Behan again

05/08/2011, 7:59 PM
Waterford pull 1 back, 2-1 Limerick.

05/08/2011, 8:01 PM
1-2, Conor Sinnott for Waterford.

bullit
05/08/2011, 8:02 PM
Sweat on again for Lims as Waterford pull 1 back

05/08/2011, 8:12 PM
Derry 3 up in Galway.

Cork 3-1 Shels.

OneForTheFuture
05/08/2011, 8:14 PM
cork 3-1 up now

adamd164
05/08/2011, 8:16 PM
Shels 100% away record down the swanny. Let the annual bottle-show begin!

05/08/2011, 8:17 PM
Drogs 2 up in Bray.

Cork 4-1 Shels

OneForTheFuture
05/08/2011, 8:17 PM
cork 3-1 up now

4-1 now

adamd164
05/08/2011, 8:23 PM
Drogs 2 up in Bray.

Cork 4-1 Shels
Sligo loan signing Daryl Horgan got the goal. Cracking player he is.

05/08/2011, 8:27 PM
Bray 1-2 Drogs.

05/08/2011, 8:30 PM
5 minutes added in the Limerick match.....where did that come from.

05/08/2011, 8:37 PM
Phew!!!!!! Waterford 1-2 Limerick.......Can't remember the last time we won down there.

05/08/2011, 8:43 PM
Results

Bohemians 0-1 Shams (Twigg)
Bray Wanderers (McGuinness) 1-2 Drogheda (Corcoran, Hand)
Galway 0-3 Derry (Zayed x2, McEleney)

Cork (Cummins, O'Neill x2, Horgan) 4-1 Shels (Cassidy)
Waterford (Sinnott) 1-2 Limerick (Behan x2)
Monaghan (O'Brien) 1-0 Athlone

total hoofball
05/08/2011, 9:04 PM
If you told me in March that Drogheda would have effectively retained their PD status by August I woulda........

hoops1
05/08/2011, 9:08 PM
Handy win.Scoreline not a reflection of our dominance. 1-0 Flattered bohs.

05/08/2011, 9:29 PM
Our best centre back starting in midfield....quality stuff :eek:

Didn't happen. Cory Tracey was the latest defender pushed forward but he played fairly wide.

5 minutes added in the Limerick match.....where did that come from.

Lots of injuries and the likes. We held on fairly well for a finish.

05/08/2011, 9:43 PM
Just got online now in London. Feck Ye anyway.

05/08/2011, 9:56 PM
Sligo loan signing Daryl Horgan got the goal. Cracking player he is.

forgot that daryl was playin I thought it was neal that scored!

05/08/2011, 9:59 PM
Didn't happen. Cory Tracey was the latest defender pushed forward but he played fairly wide.

Lots of injuries and the likes. We held on fairly well for a finish.

Was just going by the extra time which had Purcell down as a midfielder.

I know Waterford where missing plenty also but to be missing Gamble, Frost, Judge, O'Flynn and O'Leary and get a result in a place we haven't won in a long time is a great result in my book. Delighted with that.

06/08/2011, 2:25 AM
Was Anto Flood injured or just not used? He was immense in the first game in Dalymount. Kept the Rovers defence occupied for 90 minutes on his own - Fagan didn't cause half as much trouble.

Bohs have some good young players. Add ex-Rover Downes to the Belvedere academy and you have the makings of a good team, if only Nutsy would trust them ahead of senior loafers like O'Brien and Bayley.

06/08/2011, 8:42 AM
City barely had to get out of second gear last night. Frightingly easy.

06/08/2011, 9:08 AM
On the game, Rovers deserved to win alright, but they must be the most one-dimensional team I have ever seen. In the second half, practically everything went down the left wing, and they didn't even get that much change out of that. Twigg once tried to run to the right, and fell over just as he entered the right hand side of the pitch. Finn (who I was keeping a half-eye on out of UCD bias) was completely unused again, same as last Tuesday. But I suppose being one-dimensional is one thing; doing something about it is another.

horton
06/08/2011, 9:16 AM
City barely had to get out of second gear last night. Frightingly easy.

Any plans to resurrect the Brandy Blogs Kev?

06/08/2011, 10:03 AM
Any plans to resurrect the Brandy Blogs Kev?

The subject matter appeared to upset the manager at times.

Time doesn't really allow me , what with the commentary etc and getting stuff for programme done.

born2bwild
06/08/2011, 12:15 PM
Cork destroyed Shels at the back last night. Shels were bad - an appalling display of ineptitude in defence and midfield - their passing was awful and I hate to name names, but holy Jaysus, Colly James, what was that? Played like they'd never actually been in the same team before. A 9.2 magnitude implosion.
Cork ran riot in the end.

poster
06/08/2011, 12:24 PM
What's the story with Gary McCabe? Noticed last night Karl Moore took his number 7.

HulaHoop
06/08/2011, 12:29 PM
What's the story with Gary McCabe? Noticed last night Karl Moore took his number 7.

Picked up a knock against Copenhagen. Should be back next week.

So who's goal was this?

http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF747/544429.jpg

born2bwild
06/08/2011, 12:49 PM
On the game, Rovers deserved to win alright, but they must be the most one-dimensional team I have ever seen. In the second half, practically everything went down the left wing, and they didn't even get that much change out of that. Twigg once tried to run to the right, and fell over just as he entered the right hand side of the pitch. Finn (who I was keeping a half-eye on out of UCD bias) was completely unused again, same as last Tuesday. But I suppose being one-dimensional is one thing; doing something about it is another.
Finn is playing in the wrong team. Oh and PS, why are you talking about football? Don't you know this is the "you're a racist, you're a racist, you're a racist!" thread?

horton
06/08/2011, 4:10 PM
It's nice to see Derry top of the table (even if it's brief) for a change.:cool:

bluemovie
06/08/2011, 4:22 PM
I know Waterford where missing plenty also but to be missing Gamble, Frost, Judge, O'Flynn and O'Leary and get a result in a place we haven't won in a long time is a great result in my book. Delighted with that.

Missing three of our back four and our first choice strikers, but that probably still wouldn't have made a difference. Limerick deserved the win even if ye almost let us sneak back in for a point. It was a decade since your last win in the RSC. The signings made a huge difference. Gaffney's cross and Behan's header for the opening goal were quality. Couldn't begrudge a few luxury signings to Limerick after your years in the doldrums.

El-Pietro
06/08/2011, 5:34 PM
can this crap start getting moved to the bohs/rovers sections?

stop detracting from our 4-1 hammering of Shelbourne!!!

sullanefc
06/08/2011, 6:34 PM
Cork destroyed Shels at the back last night. Shels were bad - an appalling display of ineptitude in defence and midfield - their passing was awful and I hate to name names, but holy Jaysus, Colly James, what was that? Played like they'd never actually been in the same team before. A 9.2 magnitude implosion.
Cork ran riot in the end.

Shels looked very dangerous in the first 20 mins and could have scored more in that period. After that it was all City. Played them off the park.

By the way, to the Sligo Rovers fans, Daryl Horgan is class. Can we keep him please????