View Full Version : LOI matches weekending 16/7/2011

Pages : 1 [2] 3

WindmillWarrior
16/07/2011, 1:20 PM
They were very good. Mulvenna and Dinny Corcoran were superb. That big lanky number 11 was excellent as well. Oh and yer man, the number 8 that looks like Arshavin. Drogheda played a very tight pressing game with decent one touch play. They looked better than Rovers for much of it. Bit of a sickener at the end tbh.

Great match, actually, Drowda definitely deserved a draw.

There was a definite penalty for Drogheda about ten minutes in - I was stunned it wasn't given - offcials (especially Damien Hancock - 4th off) seemed more interested in imposing their own petty influence on the proceedings.

Spot on mate. The peno was feckin assault on the "big lanky number 11" (who is Gav Brennan - yes another from the same family!) - but its a total disgrace it wasn't given. Doyle defo seems to have a problem with Drogs. I know we all say it at times, but last night really was unbelievable. I don't like seeing real auld fellas going mental on the terraces because of ***** like Doyle, its not good for their health!
Aside from that we were really good as you say, just a shame we couldn't take our chances. of course in the 2nd half the full time aspect kicked in and Rovers did have most of the ball for the last 25 or so, but they really were poor. Very little class about them, on or off the pitch. I have a lot of time for proper Rovers fans, but there was a proper ruck going on in the away terrace for a good 10 minutes before the police intervened. From what I could see there was no self policing from Rovers fans at all.

marinobohs
16/07/2011, 1:25 PM
0-1 = three points

0-8 = three points

http://www.inpho.ie/cache/inpho/7f/83/3a/3a8972a5d7f564c2132353c2fd8907092a7e88fcca/INPHO_00526833.jpg

Yea, because no one ever won the League on goal difference (or have you only joined the bandwagon recently ?):rolleyes:

Meanwhile back in grown up world, not the first time shams have scored a late, late goal which does augur well for their title challenge. Great win for Sligo - in recent years by the time Sligo started a decent run in they were too far off the pace, could this season be different ?

With Pats and Derry still in the mix to win it (although outsiders) it will hopefully make for an exciting end of season:)

16/07/2011, 1:54 PM
http://www.paddypower.com/football/football-matches/league-of-ireland-division-1-matches/Finn-Harps-v-Shelbourne-2827556.html

Check the odds on 1st scorer for Harps. Johnny Minnock 40/1 is low enough odds considering he left us half way through last season.

Only 2 players on the Harps list can even play today.

16/07/2011, 2:23 PM
Yea, because no one ever won the League on goal difference :rolleyes:

Oh yes I remember tight leagues like it was last year, mb - do you? :) Sit down on my knee and I'll tell you all about it...

16/07/2011, 2:33 PM
Oh yes I remember tight leagues like it was last year, mb - do you? :) Sit down on my knee and I'll tell you all about it...

Dont do it Marino... "Uncle" dfx- will just rub you up the wrong way...

16/07/2011, 3:39 PM
"Uncle" dfx- will just rub you up the wrong way...

I won't stand for this defamation of my character....

....no relative of mine is a Bohs fan

16/07/2011, 5:13 PM
I think they still have a special olympics team.

They???

16/07/2011, 5:14 PM
Dont do it Marino... "Uncle" dfx- will just rub you up the wrong way...

How do you know mb won't enjoy it?

16/07/2011, 5:36 PM
How do you know mb won't enjoy it?

thats what scares me...

16/07/2011, 7:41 PM
thats what scares me...

Do you wanna rub him up the wrong way?
Is this what the issue is, your incessant jealousy of dfx's abilities to woo mb?

gufc2000
16/07/2011, 7:56 PM
Longford beat Salthill 1-0

Shels 1-0 up at present

ped_ped
16/07/2011, 8:01 PM
Limerick 1 up! (Brosnan, 71')

16/07/2011, 8:05 PM
We're 1-0 up at Finn Park.

ped_ped
16/07/2011, 8:18 PM
Limerick 1 up! (Brosnan, 71')

That's a result.

16/07/2011, 8:19 PM
Philly Hughes scores.

2-0 now.

16/07/2011, 8:26 PM
3-0 now.

Casso!

WOooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!

CSFShels
17/07/2011, 1:05 AM
Absolutely quality, can't wait for the Cork game in 2 weeks.

GalwayRed
17/07/2011, 1:32 AM
Another great win for us tonight. 8 league wins in a row. Still haven't dropped a single point away from home. I just hope we can keep it up :)

bluewhitearmy
17/07/2011, 1:55 AM
Shels have the league won.

17/07/2011, 1:56 AM
I kinda like the new, post Ollie, Shels. There, it's off my chest. Helped by your manager being someone I know to be a gent I suppose. I know people who've had first hand dealings with Joe Casey too and think very highly of him. Nobody will catch you now and he'll have ye competitive in the Premier Division next year. But if you could see yer way to losing to us in a few weeks I'll appreciate it, thanks.

born2bwild
17/07/2011, 2:40 AM
Shels have the league won.
There are 3 months of matches left. Your club has a pretty strong squad now - you did play Behan, Gamble, and Maher out tonight. Add O'Flynn and Purcell to that and you have got a serious team - a first eleven at the level of St Pat's or Derry.
But I guess you're fishing for compliments?

17/07/2011, 2:56 AM
Compliments along the lines of "stab city galacticos" we can do without.

17/07/2011, 8:53 AM
There are 3 months of matches left. Your club has a pretty strong squad now - you did play Behan, Gamble, and Maher out tonight. Add O'Flynn and Purcell to that and you have got a serious team - a first eleven at the level of St Pat's or Derry.
4 of them wouldn't get near Pats first team. I'd imagine it's the same with Derry

17/07/2011, 9:51 AM
Another great win for us tonight. 8 league wins in a row. Still haven't dropped a single point away from home. I just hope we can keep it up :)

Hope ye keep that up and take 3 from Cork too :D

PartySaint
17/07/2011, 11:03 AM
4 of them wouldn't get near Pats first team. I'd imagine it's the same with Derry

He is mad for saying first division teams are at the same level as us, When we were top last season he was saying Shels were at about the same level as us:dunno:

bluewhitearmy
17/07/2011, 11:40 AM

Behan is 5-6 games away from any kind of fitness Maher came off injured lastnight.

O Flynn is another 4-5 weeks away from coming back so what use is it to have their names in the squad?

No-one will catch Shels not a hope they have the squad to handle any injuries they get from now til the end. More then happy for em to run away with the league as long as they (ye?) take points off teh other teams going for 2nd.

born2bwild
17/07/2011, 11:44 AM
Compliments along the lines of "stab city galacticos" we can do without.

Sorry. I should have said the 'German Shepherd Superstars' Woof Woof!:D

born2bwild
17/07/2011, 11:47 AM
Did you see the first goal you conceded against Shaktar Borat last week? I'd bet Shaun Maher and Pat Purcell would have dealt with that better.

17/07/2011, 12:01 PM
I bet that's what the Karagandy coach said at half time. "Here lads, we can get at this lot. They're no team of Pat Purcells."

Rasputin
17/07/2011, 12:14 PM
Did you see the first goal you conceded against Shaktar Borat last week? I'd bet Shaun Maher and Pat Purcell would have dealt with that better.
Your an absolute genius, cannot fault this logic.

gufc2000
17/07/2011, 12:24 PM
You are joking right?

born2bwild
17/07/2011, 12:25 PM
Your an absolute genius, cannot fault this logic.

Ok, I may be over stating it a bit but I've seen both Limerick and Pats a few times this year and there is not that much between them.

bluewhitearmy
17/07/2011, 12:52 PM
Wexford player racially abused in the RSC Friday im being told. Anyone else hear anything about this?

Battery Rover
17/07/2011, 1:57 PM
Wexford player racially abused in the RSC Friday im being told. Anyone else hear anything about this?

Discussion going on at btid.net about it. The guy who did it realised immediately he was wrong and has apologised from what I read. Seems to be a bit of history between him and the player. It takes a bigger man to apologise for something like that than it does to commit the offence.

Time to move on in my opinion.

Troubadour
17/07/2011, 2:07 PM
Behan is 5-6 games away from any kind of fitness Maher came off injured lastnight.

O Flynn is another 4-5 weeks away from coming back so what use is it to have their names in the squad?

No-one will catch Shels not a hope they have the squad to handle any injuries they get from now til the end. More then happy for em to run away with the league as long as they (ye?) take points off teh other teams going for 2nd.
Surely the most injury prone player in the league ever? The man is an absolute disaster for injuries.

bluewhitearmy
17/07/2011, 2:09 PM
Discussion going on at btid.net about it. The guy who did it realised immediately he was wrong and has apologised from what I read. Seems to be a bit of history between him and the player. It takes a bigger man to apologise for something like that than it does to commit the offence.

So you can be a racist all you want as long as you say sorry afterwards?

If he is on that forum and people know who he is he should be banned simple as that cant just let him off with it because he has said sorry imo.

MeathDrog
17/07/2011, 2:14 PM
It takes a bigger man to apologise for something like that than it does to commit the offence.

What?

17/07/2011, 2:16 PM

Time to ban him in my opinion.

17/07/2011, 2:57 PM

Pat Purcell was with Pats for 3 years (when he was in his prime) and didn't get a first team run out. Shaun Maher was part of the Galway team that have conceded about 150 goals so far this season. Neither are premier division quality, never mind good enough for our team.

Really don't want to sound like I'm knocking Limerick, as thats not the intention. Just settle down with the comparisons

bluewhitearmy
17/07/2011, 3:02 PM
Pat Purcell was with Pats for 3 years (when he was in his prime) and didn't get a first team run out. Shaun Maher was part of the Galway team that have conceded about 150 goals so far this season. Neither are premier division quality, never mind good enough for our team.

Really don't want to sound like I'm knocking Limerick, as thats not the intention. Just settle down with the comparisons

Dont think Paddy was in his prime when he was with ye to be fair and he is definitely good enough for the premier but not for the top premier teams like Pats and Derry.

poster
17/07/2011, 3:02 PM
Pat Purcell was with Pats for 3 years (when he was in his prime) and didn't get a first team run out.

Played for us in a friendly at the start of the season about 6/7 years ago. Thought he was decent but went back to Limerick after the game.

da bishop
17/07/2011, 3:47 PM
Wexford player racially abused in the RSC Friday im being told. Anyone else hear anything about this?it was a waterford player who was abused and the person who did it should be banned.

bluewhitearmy
17/07/2011, 3:53 PM
it was a waterford player who was abused and the person who did it should be banned.

It was a Wexford player. He is apparently from Waterford though.

17/07/2011, 4:41 PM
Pat Purcell was with Pats for 3 years (when he was in his prime) and didn't get a first team run out.

Comparing players like this is a waste of time if you ask me. Players can perform a lot different from season to season. Purcell in my opinion is playing way better than he has ever played and seems to be in his prime now. Take Kavanagh for example, he was decent enough for us, in and out of the team and not guaranteed a game all the time with us in the first division. A season later and he has turned himself around and is playing great stuff for Pats in the premier. I'm sure this time last year Pats fans would have said he wasn't good enough for Pats. Then you have Peter Hynes who was known for being a lazy git everywhere he went but has been a workhorse for us and put in a great shift in every game.

Battery Rover
17/07/2011, 5:42 PM
So you can be a racist all you want as long as you say sorry afterwards?

Racism is totally wrong and will always be.

17/07/2011, 6:20 PM
Comparing players like this is a waste of time if you ask me. Players can perform a lot different from season to season. Purcell in my opinion is playing way better than he has ever played and seems to be in his prime now. Take Kavanagh for example, he was decent enough for us, in and out of the team and not guaranteed a game all the time with us in the first division. A season later and he has turned himself around and is playing great stuff for Pats in the premier. I'm sure this time last year Pats fans would have said he wasn't good enough for Pats. Then you have Peter Hynes who was known for being a lazy git everywhere he went but has been a workhorse for us and put in a great shift in every game.

I wouldn't have commented on Kavanagh as I've never seen him before. I have seen purcell (not good enough), Maher (not good enough any more) and Hynes (never good enough).

Agree players can get better though its unlikely in lads aged 27+

bluewhitearmy
17/07/2011, 6:21 PM
I wouldn't have commented on Kavanagh as I've never seen him before. I have seen purcell (not good enough), Maher (not good enough any more) and Hynes (never good enough).

Agree players can get better though its unlikely in lads aged 27+

Whens the last time you seen Purcell?

17/07/2011, 8:10 PM
Pat Purcell is a decent 1st division centre back but he would get destroyed in the Premier Division where teams tend to hoof less and have a bit more mobility up front.

17/07/2011, 10:45 PM
ITT: People forgetting a good third of the Premier Division is stinking garbage.

noddy102
18/07/2011, 12:39 AM
ITT: People forgetting a good third of the Premier Division is stinking garbage.

This referring to the UCD team that just beat Villareal or the Drogheda team that was a whisker away from a draw with Rovers. Both are continually improving sides. Only Galway are stinking garbage and only Shels, in my opinion, would be good enough to beat any other Premier teams consistently.

A few money grabbers and you think your Man City ;)