View Full Version : Liam Lawrence

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10

kingdomkerry
16/02/2008, 12:15 PM
yes "squad places" not team places. If we are going to qualify for a WC we need all our players playing at the highest level. If Liam is good enough for the epl he will be playing there soon enough

Philly
16/02/2008, 12:28 PM
Do we even have 11 players that have proven themselves at Premiership level though? The likes of Andy Reid, McShane, Long, Kelly, Miller, Murphy etc are all regular enough and we often don't have a choice but to start them. However, they aren't proven Premiership players and many will probably end up in the Championship.

16/02/2008, 1:59 PM
Its all well and good saying we should be picking a matchday squad totally based on the Premiership but whats the point picking 5 left wingers who are based in the Premiership to the exclusion of 1 right winger from the Championship.
The challenge for Trapattoni will be to either pick a side using our best players and find a formation for them, or upsetting some of our best players by using the best formation for the team with some of the lesser known players.

If you were to pick an enlarged squad (one that potentially cover for the next year in case of injuries family bereavements etc., who would be in it (and I'm going to include recently retired players who are still capable)?
Go along the lines of :
4 keepers (Given,
10 defenders (Finnan, Dunne, A O'Brien, O'Shea, Kelly, O'Halloran, McShane, St Ledger, Foley, J O'Brien)
10 midfielders (A Reid, S Reid, McGeady, Duffman, Ireland, Kilbane, McCann, Garvan, Hunt, Miller)
6 attackers (Keane, Doyle, Morrison, Keogh, Murphy, Lee)

In the midfielders the decision has to be made very soon whether to employ a specialist wide right midfielder ( be it a toung player or a championship player or whatever) or to persist with a winger like Duff, Hunt or McGeady.

Qwerty
16/02/2008, 2:44 PM
hasn't lawrence already played in the EPL, and done OK too. I see no harm in the better Championship players filling squad places if their form and their role warrant it.

Yes he played for Sunderland the last time they were in the EPL and didn't set the world alight. Keane let him go last year.

16/02/2008, 2:51 PM
He was arguably one of Sunderlands best players in what was a disaterous season. He was left go by Sunderland because of his off the field antics.

16/02/2008, 9:33 PM
He seems to be on form alright. He'd be worth a call-up in my opinion.

Scram
16/02/2008, 9:54 PM
He gave up the booze after his son was born last year. Looks a much more complete player now. Good dead ball delivery can score goals and no longer seems to drift out of games. Plus he is bigger than most of our players and uses his size to upset defenders.

Was going to start his thread after seeing the goals but I got here a bit late!

Really well taken goals and he doesn't look like a lad that would lose his bottle.

DEFINITELY a player to consider upfront as an alternate to Doyle (noting that we will in all likelihood have 1 upfront only and I see Robbie as one of a forward front 2 midfielders.

Ahead of Morrison etc. from what I can see.

irishfan86
18/02/2008, 3:15 AM
He's definitely added a lot of end product to his game this season, and let's face it we need to start scoring goals.

His set piece delivery is excellent as well, and this is another area we've been lacking in.

I'd like to see him given a chance at right mid, and if he impresses give it to him.

Definitely think he's got a role to play in this coming campaign though.

Condex
18/02/2008, 8:02 AM
He is on Soccer AM this morning.Asked Trappatoni to pick him!

Forget it, not good enough..

dr_peepee
18/02/2008, 8:30 AM
Was going to start his thread after seeing the goals but I got here a bit late!

Really well taken goals and he doesn't look like a lad that would lose his bottle.

DEFINITELY a player to consider upfront as an alternate to Doyle (noting that we will in all likelihood have 1 upfront only and I see Robbie as one of a forward front 2 midfielders.

Ahead of Morrison etc. from what I can see.

He's a right sided midfielder though.. He done o.k in the premiership. There was talk of an everton bid when they went down, and he never really performed after that..... I though he acquited himself very well on Soccer AM. I chuckled though when he stopped short saying "My Country" when he was talking of representing.. "It would be a huge honour to represent...... the republic of Ireland"

I was impressed with his maturity when talking about Sunderland and Keano, given how he departed. Didn't seem to bare any grudge, knuckled down and seems to be performing very well for it.

Him and Walters are both staking a claim for a spot. Doubt it'll be both.

We have a vested interest now in Stoke going up with Whelan, Lawrence and Delap there.

Come on Watford (O'Toole), Stoke and Ipswich via the playoffs!!!!!!

RivaldoBabb
18/02/2008, 8:47 AM
12 goals and 15 assists this season!

And also dont forget he also made one amateur porn movie this season too.

http://www.theoffside.com/world-football/a-sunderland-sex-tape-just-in-time-for-the-holidays.html

Wasnt this the reason he, along with chris brown and ben alnwick got the boot from Sunderland?

Hes a good championship player and in fairness to him he was half decent in the premiership too, I recall a cracker against Chelsea. He'd just be a squad man though.

dr_peepee
18/02/2008, 10:27 AM
And also dont forget he also made one amateur porn movie this season too.

OOh!! There we are alluding to his departure and then you, totally, went there!!!

deecay
25/02/2008, 3:58 PM
This fella needs a call-up,he is running the show in the championship

irishbaz
25/02/2008, 4:00 PM
whats his position?

Seagull-4-life
25/02/2008, 4:01 PM
This fella needs a call-up,he is running the show in the championship

Never before has a truer word been spoken. Uncle's from Stoke and a massive fan so he's always telling me about them, especially how Liam Lawrence is doing.

deecay
25/02/2008, 4:02 PM
Attacking or right mid

Seagull-4-life
25/02/2008, 4:10 PM
Mainly a right winger mate but could play just off the striker as well i'd say...some shot on him

carloz
25/02/2008, 4:23 PM
Will be nice if Stoke come up. Nice irish contingent there and i believe that Lawrence and Whealan might have a role to play for us very soon

25/02/2008, 5:39 PM
He's either scored or set up over half of Stokes goals this season. Not bad in the team top of the league.

25/02/2008, 5:46 PM
I know I bang on about this alot, but one important thing about Lawrence is that not only is he a handy player, but he's big and athletic. That's one reason Kilbane has been so important for us. On the opposite side of the pitch I think Lawrence is a better player and has at least Kilbane's physicality.

Who is a better footballer - Ireland or Lawrence? Ireland I'd say, but I'd be more comfortable with Lawrence playing right midfield because he can handle himself against the big boys.

26/02/2008, 8:41 AM
Who is a better footballer - Ireland or Lawrence? Ireland I'd say, but I'd be more comfortable with Lawrence playing right midfield because he can handle himself against the big boys.

And he appears to have learnt from mistakes, unlike Ireland.

Drumcondra 69er
26/02/2008, 8:41 AM
He was Sunderland's best player last time they were up (I know that's not saying much). Was unlucky with injuries and was always for the high jump once that sex tape came out (the lass in it was a proper Sunderland scrubber to boot, what was he thinking?!).

Funny thing is Sunderland could really do with him at the moment, maybe RK was a little hasty in letting him go. His old mate Yorkie has some similar celuloid antics floating around if memory serves me correctly after all!

RiffRaff
26/02/2008, 10:53 AM
whats his position?

On the pitch or in his video?

Ozymandias
26/02/2008, 12:09 PM
whats his position?

behind the camera we believe

Drumcondra 69er
26/02/2008, 12:18 PM
behind the camera we believe

Think he was well and truly in front of the camera. He was behind the lass alright!

26/02/2008, 2:28 PM
was that the video being passed around on mobile phone, where 4 lads are or more are there and laughing and all taking turns?!

i didnt recognise any of them...

26/02/2008, 3:19 PM
LIAM LAWRENCE is hoping Giovanni Trappatoni can find the Potteries on his map of the British Isles — now that the Stoke winger is a star in stripes again.

The midfielder scored a spectacular volleyed goal to keep Stoke in top spot.

He has been here before, winning the Championship with Sunderland three years ago, and reckons he can repeat that.

But the Stoke flier admitted he was gutted earlier this month after being ignored by the Republic of Ireland.

His response has been to grab four goals in as many matches and now he wants new Republic boss Trappatoni to come and see for himself.

Lawrence, 26, aims to cap a superb season by returning to the top flight and making the Italian’s first Republic squad.

He said: “I don’t know if Mr Trappatoni knows where Stoke is. But we’ll have to get him down here. I think that would open his eyes a bit!”

Lawrence was called up two years ago by Steve Staunton but never capped.

He added: “If I carry on playing well then I’ve got every chance. All I can do is keep doing what I’m doing and hope someone will have a look.

“To have 13 goals from midfield is very pleasing

“There’s competition with the strikers, we’ll be fighting over penalties soon!

“I have scored a better goal with my left foot for Sunderland at Fulham. I got BBC’s Goal of the Month for that but this was close to my best.

boovidge
26/02/2008, 3:50 PM
out of interest, how does liam qualify for Ireland?

Seagull-4-life
26/02/2008, 3:57 PM
Not sure to be honest but all that matters to me is that he can

irishfan86
27/02/2008, 1:19 AM

He was drinking a Guinness during the video.

theworm2345
27/02/2008, 5:16 AM
They did a little special on him in The Championship this weekened, I'll post it if anyone wants. He has a kid now and a wife/girlfriend (you'll have to tell me, Drummy69 if it is the same girl from the video), looks like hes settled down perhaps.

27/02/2008, 7:07 AM
Yes, saw it. Stoke lost last night to Preston. If they have a bad run and fade from the scene, Lawrence will do likewise I am afraid. Such is the way of these threads.

If players are good enough, they WILL play in the Premiership. Garvan, Lawrence, Whelan, Lee etc etc. If they are top players, a Premiership club with sign them (e.g. Andy Reid). If not, the Championship is their level. That said, that might be good enough for us at that level because we're not hugely blessed with talent at the moment.

27/02/2008, 8:24 AM
Yes, saw it. Stoke lost last night to Preston. If they have a bad run and fade from the scene, Lawrence will do likewise I am afraid. Such is the way of these threads.

If players are good enough, they WILL play in the Premiership. Garvan, Lawrence, Whelan, Lee etc etc. If they are top players, a Premiership club with sign them (e.g. Andy Reid). If not, the Championship is their level. That said, that might be good enough for us at that level because we're not hugely blessed with talent at the moment.
But then there's the likes of Hunt who probably never would have played in the premiership if his team hadn't got promoted.

Drumcondra 69er
27/02/2008, 9:05 AM
They did a little special on him in The Championship this weekened, I'll post it if anyone wants. He has a kid now and a wife/girlfriend (you'll have to tell me, Drummy69 if it is the same girl from the video), looks like hes settled down perhaps.

Saw it, looked like a different lass! :D:D

Drumcondra 69er
27/02/2008, 9:09 AM

Sorry mate but that's rubbish. A lot of getting the break into the premiership is down to luck. There's plenty of examples of players who would never have got to th Premier league without a promotion that weren't out of place there, Neil Redfearn back in the day, Jimmy Bullard and our own Stephen Hunt to name 3 off the top of my head. Look at Wigan and Readings squads and you'll see plenty more. A lot of clubs won't take a punt on Championship players and will go foriegn instead, doesn't mean the players aren't good enough, they perhaps don't represent the same value.

gwhite
27/02/2008, 9:35 AM
Stoke v QPR is on live on Sky this Sunday, will be a chance to have a decent look at Lawrence.

27/02/2008, 9:38 AM
Stoke v QPR is on live on Sky this Sunday, will be a chance to have a decent look at Lawrence.
don't forget Glen Whelan, Rory Delap, Martin Rowlands, and Damien Delaney!

gwhite
27/02/2008, 9:48 AM
don't forget Glen Whelan, Rory Delap, Martin Rowlands, and Damien Delaney!

Of course mate. Yes, plenty to run the rule over there....

kingdom hoop
27/02/2008, 11:17 AM
Yep, looking forward to this. 1.15 on Sunday. Should be a good, competitive game once the players have wiped the sleep out of their eyes. Reports say Delaney at LB has been solid defensively and decent enough on the ball since his switch from Hull in January. Meanwhile captain Rowlands has been outstanding at CM for the past few months; energetic, very good on the ball, and never-say-die attitude.

Funnily enough, Delaney and Lawrence will be facing off, and so will Whelan and Rowlands!

27/02/2008, 1:18 PM
Sorry mate but that's rubbish. A lot of getting the break into the premiership is down to luck. There's plenty of examples of players who would never have got to th Premier league without a promotion that weren't out of place there, Neil Redfearn back in the day, Jimmy Bullard and our own Stephen Hunt to name 3 off the top of my head. Look at Wigan and Readings squads and you'll see plenty more. A lot of clubs won't take a punt on Championship players and will go foriegn instead, doesn't mean the players aren't good enough, they perhaps don't represent the same value.

If a player performs consistently in the Championship and the team isn't promoted, he will be noticed by Premiership clubs. I also suspect they are cheaper options than some of the very average foreign imports I've seen bought for high fees so I don't agree with your last statement. There is a big jump between the Championship and the Premiership (see Derby under the care of our nearly manager, Jewell) and some players can do well in the Championship (e.g Lawrence) but not make it in the Premiership. The only one I have genuine hope for is Garvan but if he doesn't get a chance soon, he'll drift in to anonimity.

Drumcondra 69er
29/02/2008, 4:18 PM
If a player performs consistently in the Championship and the team isn't promoted, he will be noticed by Premiership clubs. I also suspect they are cheaper options than some of the very average foreign imports I've seen bought for high fees so I don't agree with your last statement. There is a big jump between the Championship and the Premiership (see Derby under the care of our nearly manager, Jewell) and some players can do well in the Championship (e.g Lawrence) but not make it in the Premiership. The only one I have genuine hope for is Garvan but if he doesn't get a chance soon, he'll drift in to anonimity.

You have got to be joking? Look at the fees Southampton got for Theo Walcott and Kenwyne Jones for example? You honestly think foreign players of similar experience would cost anything close to that? Britsh players have been more expensive then their foreign counterparts for years hence why so many clubs shop abroad for value these days.

What do you make of the likes of Bullard and Hunt who needed promotion to play in the EPL and were ignored for years prior to this?

29/02/2008, 8:45 PM
The only one I have genuine hope for is Garvan but if he doesn't get a chance soon, he'll drift in to anonimity.Yeah, if he hasn't got a CL winners medal by the time he's 8 then off to the knacker's yard.

01/03/2008, 12:06 AM
The knackers yard? - that would be Leeds then.

theworm2345
02/03/2008, 5:24 AM
You have got to be joking? Look at the fees Southampton got for Theo Walcott and Kenwyne Jones for example? You honestly think foreign players of similar experience would cost anything close to that? Britsh players have been more expensive then their foreign counterparts for years hence why so many clubs shop abroad for value these days.

What do you make of the likes of Bullard and Hunt who needed promotion to play in the EPL and were ignored for years prior to this?
I guess the nearly 4,500 miles between Trinidad and England don't make Kenwyne foreign enough ;):)

02/03/2008, 7:43 AM

Andy Reid wasn't expensive I think. He has always stood out at the lower grade. SOme of course are over priced. Both Bullard and Hunt are players on the category of being good Championship but average Premiership players. In all honesty Hunt neither sets the world alight in the Premiership.

Yeah, if he hasn't got a CL winners medal by the time he's 8 then off to the knacker's yard.

Slight exaggeration but are you denying that unless he gets to the Premeriership he won't fulfill his potential?

02/03/2008, 11:46 AM
But you said soon, Owls Fan you said if he does not get a chance soon.

02/03/2008, 11:55 AM
The older you get the longer the concept of soon.

02/03/2008, 2:01 PM
I turned on QPR vs Stoke at the start of second half. Rowlands has been superb, his passing really crisp and accurate, totally outshining Whelan who plays a similar role for Stoke. Not once has Rowlands opted for a speculative pass "into the channels". He'll probe and probe and if nothing is available he'll send a crisp pass across field to a full back. Very continental! It's about the 10th time I've seen him, a few times live and a few times on TV, and by far his best showing yet, though I hear he's been very good since De Canio took over at QPR.

Lawrence hasn't done anything and Delaney looks solid enough without having been tested defensively (Stoke only have 10 men). No sign of Delap.

FarBeag
02/03/2008, 2:27 PM
Watched the OPR V Stoke match this afternoon and I have to say I was very impressed by both Delaney and Rowland’s. Haven’t see too much of them before but If these two guys particularly Rowland’s play like this on a regular basis I really cannot understand why they have not been called into the Ireland squad. I know Rowland’s played briefly under McCarthy but he is a player and completely outshone both Lawrence and Whelan.

I also like the look of Delaney, a left back comfortable with two good feet , big and strong with good engine on him. Hopefully both get a call up. On this performance they deserve it but as I said don’t know how consistent they are.

02/03/2008, 3:26 PM
Watched the game as well (good game too) and agree with the above. Lawrence was anonymous and eventually was substituted and looked none too pleased about it. Whelan did what Whelan does. Plays some nice stuff but then will be caught in possession or give one away carelessly. I like him as a player but just don't think he has the ability to go the one step further needed to play either Premiership football or more importantly international football for us. That said, we're not exactly swamped with talent in the midfield.

Oh, and by the way apro pos nothing, the Stoke defender was sent off because in the middle of their usual referee bashing, the Sky commentators ignored the fact that he lauched in to his tackle with both feet off the ground at one stage. Doesn't matter if he won the ball or the QPR player wasn't in danger. Highly dangerous and illegal.