View Full Version : Ray Houghton Disgrace
fergalr
28/06/2004, 12:50 PM
Anyone see Ray Houghton on ITV's Fantasy Football last night? I thought it was disgraceful stuff and I'm hugely disappointed that Houghton would associated himself with that type of garbage.
For anyone who didn't see it, Houghton recreated his Euro88 goal and "proved his irishness" by dressing up as a leprechaun, a river dance girlie, a potato and (to cap it all) a balaclava'd gunman.
Shoddy.
Junior
28/06/2004, 1:10 PM
...and (to cap it all) a balaclava'd gunman.
Shoddy.
to be fair he didn't dress as the above, he was on the other side of B&S in the Ireland strip.
That apart, though it was fairly ****e Irish stereotype stuff, not surprised that Houghton took part to be honest. If you've ever heard him on TalkSport he's not the brightest button!!!
dressing up as a leprechaun, a river dance girlie, a potato and (to cap it all) a balaclava'd gunman.
all irish things, wots the problem#???
if it was the dutch and they were all dreesed up in clogs and stuff u wouldnt pass comment
finlma
28/06/2004, 2:07 PM
all irish things, wots the problem#???
if it was the dutch and they were all dreesed up in clogs and stuff u wouldnt pass comment
It insinuates that the Irish are a bunch of terrorists. It was in bad taste in my opinion and not very funny.
I've seen your comments on another thread and you're just a wind up merchant so p*ss off back under the rock from whence you came.
we have a history of producing terrorists, once again I fail to see the problem - it sounds like a jolly jape at all thinks paddy
excellent stuff, only a fool would be offended by this.
and by other thread i presume u mean the ireland team? well yes i do think we play boring football
concanta
28/06/2004, 2:47 PM
wws - excuse my crudeness but could you shut the f*ck up
28/06/2004, 2:59 PM
we have a history of producing terrorists, once again I fail to see the problem - it sounds like a jolly jape at all thinks paddy
Well I thought it was representative of a particular strand of British humour that hammers jokes tirelessly into the f*cking ground long after they've stopped being funny, and then recycles them on the grounds that they're doing so ironically. Ray Houghton's participation was an embarrassment to football in this country.
and by other thread i presume u mean the ireland team? well yes i do think we play boring football
Of course they do, and always have (for the past twenty years anyway.) The only Ireland games worth watching for aesthetic reasons over the past two decades were Ireland 3-0 Denmark (pre-World Cup 2002 friendly, Duff and Keane run amok) and Ireland 0-2 Argentina (two brilliant goals from Bati and Ortega as the albiceleste hand Ireland their asses in a warm-up for France '98, Robbie Keane has some nice touches on his home debut.)
yes I'll delude my self that Ireland play attractive football and that euro 2004 would be better off had the russians and swiss lied down and died instead of kicking our ass in the qualifiers
backodanet
28/06/2004, 3:44 PM
it just cements the fact that he is a wannabe ....... i'm not saying wasn't a very good player for ireland and anyone else he played for ( i even sang to him in the Giants stadium) but he talks so much crap it is untrue........ muppet
only1kilbane
28/06/2004, 5:21 PM
oh get over it kids. thought it was a funny piece. Some people take things far too seriuosly gladly ray didnt and calling it a disgrace hope you taking the **** there !
Ray is a legend and was disgracefully along with aldo not giving a testomonial by the tight ****s at fai !
28/06/2004, 5:29 PM
You're kidding, right?
I take it anyone regarding this **** as a joke is too young to remember the likes of "no dogs, no blacks, no Irish" that prevented our people from accessing housing, jobs, etc. in Britain from the 1950s onwards? Would Baddiel and Skinner dress a Black man up in shackles and make fun of slavery? No way. Not a ****ing chance. :mad:
It's blatant racism. Nothing less. And - any 2G Irish reading this - it's your duty to complain as loudly as you can. I've already fired a letter off to the Irish Post, the producers, television company and to the Guardian to draw attention to this. They need to be told that in the 21st century this is not acceptable and we won't stand for it. Such filth should not be allowed on television. End of story.
:mad: PP
KeanoOnTheBall
28/06/2004, 9:40 PM
I thought it was very funny, some of you take life too seriously. It was a harmless joke. They were taking the **** out of Paul Parker and the England team in a previous show. Lighten up lads and ladettes.
1MickCollins
28/06/2004, 10:41 PM
What's all this "we" sh!t about?
1MickCollins
28/06/2004, 10:56 PM
oh get over it kids. thought it was a funny piece. Some people take things far too seriuosly gladly ray didnt and calling it a disgrace hope you taking the **** there !
Ray is a legend and was disgracefully along with aldo not giving a testomonial by the tight ****s at fai !
It's sound lazy and not very original, is that the best they can come up with?
Still I'd much prefer to be a potato than drunken Engerland moron filled with incoherent rage:
But it's nice to see a little honesty in the British media, from the Independent on Sunday:
"Grievances expressed against the referee, Urs Meier, are reprehensible. Possibly these are observed more acutely from abroad, but these xenophobic, periodic fits of national indignation render us utterly ridiculous in the eyes of our fellow Europeans. And, excuse this observer for an intrusion, but wasn't the Swiss official's decision actually correct? Just a small point."
"To complain is as much nonsense as the platitudinous verdict from the self-serving England followers, that everyone loves us. Take it from me, they don't. And certainly not all of "us". Not if you're a family or a couple in the proximity of certain alcohol-fuelled individuals with their disturbingly racist refrains."
Neish
29/06/2004, 12:40 AM
Anyone see Ray Houghton on ITV's Fantasy Football last night? I thought it was disgraceful stuff and I'm hugely disappointed that Houghton would associated himself with that type of garbage.
For anyone who didn't see it, Houghton recreated his Euro88 goal and "proved his irishness" by dressing up as a leprechaun, a river dance girlie, a potato and (to cap it all) a balaclava'd gunman.
Shoddy.
Christ sake will ya lighten up, its just a harmless dig, they do it to everyone including their own players fans and media personalaties. If people get offened by that type of **** its no wonder the worlds so ****ed up.
I was always a Fantasy Football fan, and they have always done things like this, but to be honest in this Euro2004 series they do seem to be scraping the bottom of the barrell and just trying to offend and its only idiots who actually get worked up about it
29/06/2004, 12:48 AM
I wouldn't go overrboard about B and S, it's fairly typical of
their style of humour, I was a little shocked about the terrorist
but I think it's much like people complaining about Alf Garnet being
racist/sexist, I mean Baddiel is a Jew afterall and the show basically
involves taking the **** out of people.
Good luck to Ray, it is a honour to be selected for a **** take
and he shows he is "game for a laugh" (or skint).
Nice to see the goal (and the remake) again.
As for Englands disallowed 'goal', the ref was correct and it was
embaressing to see all the TV pundits and ex-refs go along
with the sham that the ref made a mistake, even encouraging
people to email him personal abuse, then they wonder why
many England fans are mindless thugs.
Its seems fouling the keeper is the best rehearsed England's
'set-peice' when they are in the shyte.
29/06/2004, 8:10 AM
I saw the Ray Houghton'incident. Personally I thought it was hilarious:) Maybe years ago I would have been angry and upset but we should be big enough to be able to have a laugh about ourselves.
I've already fired a letter off to the Irish Post, the producers, television company and to the Guardian to draw attention to this. They need to be told that in the 21st century this is not acceptable and we won't stand for it. Such filth should not be allowed on television. End of story.
PP, I see Ray Houghton himself is missing from that list. He must have agreed to do that stuff, yet it's all Skinners and Baddeils fault? Didn't see it, so not going to comment on what went on, but if you're that offended look at the person that could've said "no".
Dricky
29/06/2004, 8:43 AM
You're kidding, right?
I take it anyone regarding this **** as a joke is too young to remember the likes of "no dogs, no blacks, no Irish" that prevented our people from accessing housing, jobs, etc. in Britain from the 1950s onwards? Would Baddiel and Skinner dress a Black man up in shackles and make fun of slavery? No way. Not a ****ing chance. :mad:
It's blatant racism. Nothing less. And - any 2G Irish reading this - it's your duty to complain as loudly as you can. I've already fired a letter off to the Irish Post, the producers, television company and to the Guardian to draw attention to this. They need to be told that in the 21st century this is not acceptable and we won't stand for it. Such filth should not be allowed on television. End of story.
It used to be writen on the way into Bandon...... well no blacks no catholics. maybe thats why we in Cork no longer find it offensive. Besides that, the ball in the back of the net is so much sweeter and they can never take that away from us, we still slag 'em off over it, and look at us on Paddy's day we have many people running around dressed a lot worse then he was. I wouldn't read too much into it and face it any time have I got news from you is on they let Irish presenters slag the hell out of the English, even their queen. I know its a different channel but same mentality and higher viewer ratings..
They will never get over it and we'll keep reminding them.
liam88
29/06/2004, 9:19 AM
PP makes a good point that the terrorist link should not be emphasised. In England i get all the insults at school all the time "you Irish are a bunch of terrorists". I normally ignore it or tell the "Roy Whiting, Myra Hindley and Ian Huntley are English-does that make you a bunch of paedophiles"-morons :rolleyes:
29/06/2004, 9:45 AM
It used to be writen on the way into Bandon...... well no blacks no catholics. maybe thats why we in Cork no longer find it offensive. Besides that, the ball in the back of the net is so much sweeter and they can never take that away from us, we still slag 'em off over it, and look at us on Paddy's day we have many people running around dressed a lot worse then he was. I wouldn't read too much into it and face it any time have I got news from you is on they let Irish presenters slag the hell out of the English, even their queen. I know its a different channel but same mentality and higher viewer ratings..
They will never get over it and we'll keep reminding them.
Exactly. Spot on -on all accounts. What was the final score again? :D
Bowsy
29/06/2004, 10:18 AM
Living in England you get used to such nonsense. Not saying it's not offensive but you have to try and laugh at yourself occasionally(although I didn't find the same old gag I've heard 500 million times all that funny to be honest). Water off a ducks back to me at this stage. One thing that doesn't make it easy is the English's inability to laugh at themselves. It's like a mate who loves taking the p*ss but freaks when you try to do it to him. The reason the English don't realise the true offensiveness of this is because they now "love the Irish" and haven't a clue about all those centuries of treating us like dirt. English educational system seems to play down Anglo-Irish history. I wonder why?
English educational system seems to play down Anglo-Irish history. I wonder why?
In fairness, the English educational system doesn't do any "empire" activities. Concerntrates on Internal History (Civil War, Tudors etc), and the World Wars. I don't remember doing much on Ireland or India, Pakistan, Africa etc etc etc. I'm sure if you talk to black or asian people they'd have similar complaints.
Closed Account 2
29/06/2004, 11:02 AM
I wouldnt get too wound up about it. Yeah it annoying, that like jokes towards the Germans about the war, we seem fair game, and the points that someone made about how much more out-cry there would be if they'd made say a joke about all Arabs being terrorists is true.
My experience of living most my life in England hasnt been too bad, yeah you'd get the jokes at school but none of them seemed to be that malicious. As an adult I dont find that many people make a big issue over Irishness, then again I dont mix with the moronic minority of nationalistic English people - for a start I dont know anyone who has those stupid St.George flags on their cars.
29/06/2004, 12:10 PM
I think Baddiel and Skinner just wanted to up the shock factor... they'd treat other nationalities and races the same so its not anti-Irish..., i laughed at the piece but felt guilty about it at the same time... complaining is a waste of time, why do we feel the need to complain to tv companies every time someone portrays us as "Oirish".... makes us all look a shower of whingers...
29/06/2004, 12:28 PM
Dress up a famous Iraqi as Saddam Hussein and I'm sure it'd get a bad reaction.
finlma
29/06/2004, 1:09 PM
If stereotyping is the problem, wasn't there an ad featuring a famous Irish footballer dressed as a leprechaun running around on Patrick's Day...for Walker's crisps? I'd say his name only everyone will get upset for bringing it up again.
One rule for one, another rule for the rest...
Stereotyping as a leprechaun is one thing and I can take this as a joke but stereotyping as a murdering terrorist is another thing altogether.
Kilroy-Silk got fired from his job for accusing all Arabs of being terrorists and I don't see a great deal of difference between what he said about Arabs and B&S insinuated about Irish.
29/06/2004, 1:09 PM
If stereotyping is the problem, wasn't there an ad featuring a famous Irish footballer dressed as a leprechaun running around on Patrick's Day...for Walker's crisps? I'd say his name only everyone will get upset for bringing it up again.
One rule for one, another rule for the rest...
There's a difference between a leprechaun and an IRA gunman or a replica of the famine.
I haven't got to see it yet but there is supposedly a full page article in the Irish Sun the program. Websites and the FAI have been flooded with complaints, OFCOM are investigating the entire thing and there is a big chance Houghton will be sacked by RTE. I would feel sorry for him if it went that far TBH but surely he knew what he was getting himself into.
BTW if anyone has the Sun, scan in the article if you get the chance. Cheers.
plasticpat
29/06/2004, 2:00 PM
....I don't understand, is this a good thing?
Ah, so you have no problem with stereotyping per se., just the type of stereotype protrayed.
I know I shouldn't bite, as I don't particularly agree with the arguement, but wasn't that advert based in a Patricks Day Parade? Sure no one get's dressed up for them do they Conor?
Not arsed if he gets sacked from RTE as I don't rate him, particularly when he's co-commentator. He's absolutely brutal on talk sport as well from what I've heard of it. Also, if some people are getting up in arms about the Fantasy Football show, at least some are willing to take Houghton's role in it in to account rather than it just being "English TV and typical bias".
btw Whats the difference between this stereotyping, and that of "all England fans are hoolies" of a couple of weeks ago?
29/06/2004, 3:07 PM
Conor I have to disagree there, the leprechaun thing as was said abouve is during St. Patricks Day parade and lots of Irish people dress up in that sort of stuff during the parade. However the terrorist thing is a lot more serious. I would rather be a leprahchaun than a terrorist. Also it should be remembered that during the The Italy game in the 1994 world cup Loyalis Gunmen shot down people watching the game. This was the day Ray Houghton scored that great goal. I think Ray should have been wiser to been involved in such a poor show and insenstive joke. Skinner and Baddiel have lacked any new material in the new show and as a result they are giong for shock value as it is the only way to get a reaction. Houghton should have been wiser to have had any part to play in it. THe comparison with the Kit Kat add is stupid.
Yeah Conor, doesn't really bother me that much either. Did bug that earlier in the thread that complaints were flying left, right and centre about it - but none to the man who let himself dress up in those ways.
Haven't seen this Fantasy Football - the original series was okay, the radio show was far better. Always going to struggle re-introducing a series after this much time has past.
only1kilbane
29/06/2004, 3:37 PM
Some people really need to get off there high horse and take a chill pill. It was a joke found it quite funny myself and nobody should take it to serious. Some people obviously need to take there finger out of there respective holes and relax .
29/06/2004, 3:46 PM
PP, I see Ray Houghton himself is missing from that list. He must have agreed to do that stuff, yet it's all Skinners and Baddeils fault? Didn't see it, so not going to comment on what went on, but if you're that offended look at the person that could've said "no".
I am offended, Macy. Having grown up in England at the height of the IRA's "activity" here (and being bullied, labelled an "Irish pig" and plenty worse not just by my peers at school and where I lived but also in some cases by their parents), I'm particularly sensitive about the terrorist inference.
As for Ray Houghton, he should have known much, much better, especially with the Loughinisland atrocity taking place the day he scored against Italy in the 1994 World Cup. I'd vouchsafe though that he didn't write the material that caused this pain and offence. I reserve my ire for those that did and those that sanctioned it. As for Houghton, he gets only my pity. He must truly be as thick as pig**** to have allowed that to go on.
Some people really need to get off there high horse and take a chill pill. It was a joke found it quite funny myself and nobody should take it to serious. Some people obviously need to take there finger out of there respective holes and relax .
I refer you to my reasoning above. Leprechauns I can take as a jibe, terrorists no. If that means I'm a little uptight, then I make no apology for it whatsoever.
:ball: PP
As for Houghton, he gets only my pity. He must truly be as thick as pig**** to have allowed that to go on.
At the risk of raising a hornets nest.... Or he doesn't really care, as he doesn't really consider himself Irish*.
*Please note: that's not saying just because he wasn't born in Ireland, he can't be Irish.
29/06/2004, 3:53 PM
Ah, so you have no problem with stereotyping per se., just the type of stereotype protrayed.
First of all, I was not really offended by what was shown on the show but your argument isn't going to go far with people like PP. Just because one steriotype is OK doesn't mean every steriotype is OK. There would be no problem shown an Jamaican with a dreadlock wig sitting on a sunny beach but there would be a problem if the same person was shown cleaning floor with chains around his legs.
29/06/2004, 3:53 PM
At the risk of raising a hornets nest.... Or he doesn't really care, as he doesn't really consider himself Irish*.
*Please note: that's not saying just because he wasn't born in Ireland, he can't be Irish.
Well, it would be sad to think that a man who served Ireland with such distinction on the football field wouldn't consider himself even partly Irish in consequence. I take your point though; it is, after all, a possibility that he has no fealty to the green.
tbh, I've seen several interviews where it comes across as a total career move. Suppose it depends on whether it's acceptable to grow to think of yourself as Irish as result of playing for the team, or whether you should consider yourself Irish before you play for the national team. I'm of the later opinion myself. Anyway, ultimately that's a debate for another day/ thread (so mods feel free to split it).
29/06/2004, 6:04 PM
Can a leprahchaun not be a terrorist?
btw Whats the difference between this stereotyping, and that of "all England fans are hoolies" of a couple of weeks ago?
:D :D :D
30/06/2004, 8:53 AM
Heard this morning there's an article about this in today's Times, anyone got it to post here?
30/06/2004, 12:59 PM
Right click on the link and click "save target as...". Use Windows Picture Viewer (or any other program) to zoom and read the text.
http://homepage.eircom.net/~gearoidw01/houghton.jpg
30/06/2004, 1:52 PM
Yellow card for soccer hero Houghton after ITV own-goal
Former Irish soccer star Ray Houghton was last night given a vote of confidence by RTÉ despite his controversial appearance on ITV's Fantasy Football show on Sunday night.
The former Liverpool and Aston Villa star's involvement in the satirical sketch has been criticised by Irish interest groups in the UK and by fans for stereotyping Irish people as leprechauns and terrorists.
Houghton is a regular panellist and commentator for RTÉ Sport and is currently working for the national broadcaster during Euro 2004 in Portugal.
The ITV show, which is presented by comic duo Frank Skinner and David Baddiel, re-created Houghton's famous goal against England during the 1988 European Championships in Stuttgart.
When Houghton, who was born in Scotland, was asked if he considered himself to be "really Irish", he was shown dressed up as a leprechaun, a potato and as a Jean Butler lookalike.
However, most complaints arose when Houghton was seen standing beside what appeared to be a paramilitary gunman dressed in a khaki army jacket and a balaclava.
The Irish soccer hero, best remembered for his goals against England and against Italy in the 1994 World Cup, was also shown standing beside Baddiel when the comic impersonated Shane McGowan clutching a bottle of whiskey.
An RTÉ spokesman told The Irish Times: "There is no question over Ray's position in relation to his appearance on the ITV show. I'm not sure how many here saw the sketch, but Ray will be fulfilling his Euro 2004 duties as planned."
The British television watchdog, Ofcom, confirmed yesterday that numerous complaints had been made to it about the sketch and that it was investigating the matter.
However, as of last night ITV said it had not been contacted by Ofcom in relation to the sketch, and would act only if and when such contact was made.
Ms Eithne Rynne, of the London-based Federation of Irish Societies, said: "Sketches such as these set the Irish community in Britain back. It is disgraceful the way Irish people are lumped in stereotypes like leprechauns, Riverdance and a gunman. It is disappointing, particularly in this day and age, that Irish people still experience such portrayal."
Houghton, who made 73 appearances for the Republic of Ireland, last night refused to comment about the controversial sketch, which was broadcast last Sunday night.
liam88
30/06/2004, 2:16 PM
In fairness, the English educational system doesn't do any "empire" activities. Concerntrates on Internal History (Civil War, Tudors etc), and the World Wars. I don't remember doing much on Ireland or India, Pakistan, Africa etc etc etc. I'm sure if you talk to black or asian people they'd have similar complaints.
Sorry I've got to take a stand on this! My brother has just completed his History A Level which includes a modual on Northern Ireland. He was taught how Tyrone is "the accursed county", the Irish never negotiate and always use violence and how the Republicans disagree with the good-friday agreemant. He was all about IRA terrorism and hardly any about UDA/UDF/UDV, they never even mentioned Bobby Sands......a load of rubbish
parnell ranger
30/06/2004, 2:38 PM
Can a leprahchaun not be a terrorist?
never see the film "Darby o Kill "n the little peeple?
Sorry I've got to take a stand on this! My brother has just completed his History A Level which includes a modual on Northern Ireland. He was taught how Tyrone is "the accursed county", the Irish never negotiate and always use violence and how the Republicans disagree with the good-friday agreemant. He was all about IRA terrorism and hardly any about UDA/UDF/UDV, they never even mentioned Bobby Sands......a load of rubbish
Kudos to the British Educational System for remaining as impartial and objective as a Rupert Murdoch produced news show. :(
PP was having a look on my favourite comedy website OUR WEE C**T TREE when in with all the kissing of army groupie's ass, i seen them talking about this very subject and yer name turned up. Old mad dog, aka dog breath was talking jazz with all the other lovely old lady's about it and chucked in that he had read yer post's. He also said it was a shame that their new hated enemy Dermot O'Leary was not on that show.
Never seen the show because i was over in Ireland, chilling out in a bar in Fermanagh that night,but If B&S are going to do a send up of classic Irish goal's that make all the lovely old lady's on OWM laugh so much why stop there, why not also do a send up of the only time we got to a major championship with the deciding game being in Ireland when Alan Mac scored @ parc an Windsor. I'm all for it. :rolleyes:
30/06/2004, 3:23 PM
PP was having a look on my favourite comedy website OUR WEE C**T TREE when in with all the kissing of army groupie's ass, i seen them talking about this very subject and yer name turned up. Old mad dog, aka dog breath was talking jazz with all the other lovely old lady's about it and chucked in that he had read yer post's. He also said it was a shame that their new hated enemy Dermot O'Leary was not on that show.
I'd not been across before to see OWC as I couldn't be arsed, tbh, but had to go and take a look to see my name in print (oh, the vanity...) Calling us "Brits" though? That's a great one. I bet he wrote that all by himself. Arsehole.
We obviously get right under their skins. Good to see the "siege mentality" is still alive and well in Olde Alsturr.
**** them. :)
Never seen the show because i was over in Ireland, chilling out in a bar in Fermanagh that night,but If B&S are going to do a send up of classic Irish goal's that make all the lovely old lady's on OWM laugh so much why stop there, why not also do a send up of the only time we got to a major championship with the deciding game being in Ireland when Alan Mac scored @ parc an Windsor. I'm all for it. :rolleyes:
Ahh, lovely Fermanagh, the county of the lakes. Shame they didn't extend to cover such lovely "wee" towns as Ballinamallard or Maguiresbridge though. Satsuma, anyone? ;)
You bring back great memories there Sylv. I was watching the game in the Dubliner pub on Digbeth in Birmingham and had sloped off for a p*ss when I heard the pub go up. I near lost half me lad in the hurry to zip up so I could get out and see what had happened! :D All of Wunzurr in silence and the Greens off to the US of A. Oh happy days...
:D PP
I'd not been across before to see OWC as I couldn't be arsed, tbh, but had to go and take a look to see my name in print (oh, the vanity...) Calling us "Brits" though? That's a great one. I bet he wrote that all by himself. Arsehole.
We obviously get right under their skins. Good to see the "siege mentality" is still alive and well in Olde Alsturr.
**** them. :)
Ahh, lovely Fermanagh, the county of the lakes. Shame they didn't extend to cover such lovely "wee" towns as Ballinamallard or Maguiresbridge though. Satsuma, anyone? ;)
You bring back great memories there Sylv. I was watching the game in the Dubliner pub on Digbeth in Birmingham and had sloped off for a p*ss when I heard the pub go up. I near lost half me lad in the hurry to zip up so I could get out and see what had happened! :D All of Wunzurr in silence and the Greens off to the US of A. Oh happy days...
:D PP
PP Was driving through Ballinamallard the other day funny enough, noticed there was no people to be seen on the street's @ all, it was like something out of 28 day's later,they must have been on OWM kissing army groupie's ass, don't no how the local's round that way cope with wanting to go down to the corner for a pint of the devil's buttermilk cause i noticed not one shebeen, maybe old dog breath could clear that mystery up for us. Not saying the Hilda's and Dorothy's on our wee mind's are paranoid, but they do have a thread so people can report back if anyone's dissing them :D , i guess old dog breath could clear that one up for us as well .
PP i'm all for doing a fantasy football recreation of those four goal's we scored against them @ parc an windsor along with John Aldridge's salute to the main stand.
1MickCollins
30/06/2004, 10:04 PM
Yellow card for soccer hero Houghton after ITV own-goal
Former Irish soccer star Ray Houghton was last night given a vote of confidence by RTÉ despite his controversial appearance on ITV's Fantasy Football show on Sunday night.
The former Liverpool and Aston Villa star's involvement in the satirical sketch has been criticised by Irish interest groups in the UK and by fans for stereotyping Irish people as leprechauns and terrorists.
Houghton is a regular panellist and commentator for RTÉ Sport and is currently working for the national broadcaster during Euro 2004 in Portugal.
The ITV show, which is presented by comic duo Frank Skinner and David Baddiel, re-created Houghton's famous goal against England during the 1988 European Championships in Stuttgart.
When Houghton, who was born in Scotland, was asked if he considered himself to be "really Irish", he was shown dressed up as a leprechaun, a potato and as a Jean Butler lookalike.
However, most complaints arose when Houghton was seen standing beside what appeared to be a paramilitary gunman dressed in a khaki army jacket and a balaclava.
The Irish soccer hero, best remembered for his goals against England and against Italy in the 1994 World Cup, was also shown standing beside Baddiel when the comic impersonated Shane McGowan clutching a bottle of whiskey.
An RTÉ spokesman told The Irish Times: "There is no question over Ray's position in relation to his appearance on the ITV show. I'm not sure how many here saw the sketch, but Ray will be fulfilling his Euro 2004 duties as planned."
The British television watchdog, Ofcom, confirmed yesterday that numerous complaints had been made to it about the sketch and that it was investigating the matter.
However, as of last night ITV said it had not been contacted by Ofcom in relation to the sketch, and would act only if and when such contact was made.
Ms Eithne Rynne, of the London-based Federation of Irish Societies, said: "Sketches such as these set the Irish community in Britain back. It is disgraceful the way Irish people are lumped in stereotypes like leprechauns, Riverdance and a gunman. It is disappointing, particularly in this day and age, that Irish people still experience such portrayal."
Houghton, who made 73 appearances for the Republic of Ireland, last night refused to comment about the controversial sketch, which was broadcast last Sunday night.
The only thing this shows is that Ray Houghton has no self respect and must be seriosuly short on cash - it's a pity to he a once half-great Liverpool and Ireland player prostituting himself like that, couldn't he do the decent thing and just become an alcoholic or pen a tawdry autobiography.
Though the potato costume is hilarious, I think I will go out an buy one.
BTW for you lovers of everything leprechaun related, here is a web cam link - it keeps the kids quiet :D
http://www.irelandseye.com/leprechaun/webcam.htm