View Full Version : Ray Houghton Disgrace
Closed Account 2
30/06/2004, 10:09 PM
Kilroy-Silk got fired from his job for accusing all Arabs of being terrorists and I don't see a great deal of difference between what he said about Arabs and B&S insinuated about Irish.
thats because we, like the Germans vis-a-vis the war, are "European" and so are fair game for English jingoistic jokes. Also lots of groups like the "British Association of Moslems" made official complaints, generally us Irish (as groups) tend ignore such things as we can see it is most often morons who make the jokes. At the end of the day I live in England, most English people dont take the p*ss, the ones that do have a collective IQ that barley reaches double figures. Personally I think that if I make a huge song and dance about it, I might just come across as a complaining so and so (not that im saying people who complain are).
I dont find it a big issue, I cant remember seeing something like it on TV for a while so I dont think its widespread in the media. Ive rarely kopped any flack for wearing my Ireland shirt, the worst I got was when a gang of Pakistani's spat at me near Neasden, but I can hardly blame all the English people or media for that anyway.
Anyway I think B&S's idea is flawed, I havent studied the troubles much (we did it a tiny bit at school but it was mainly pre-20s (and actually pretty balanced from what I remember) and squeezed in between History of Medicine and Elizabeth I; and in my degree modules I picked the Soviet - Afghan War and the Portuguese in Africa instead of things like "the Troubles" and Vietnam). From what little I know, the most famous Southerner associated with the IRA is Sean O'Callaghan, who was an informer on them anyway. My view, and the impression I get from other Southerners my age is a lot of people in the South arent really that excited about the North or the IRA.
lopez
30/06/2004, 10:17 PM
we have a history of producing terrorists, once again I fail to see the problem - it sounds like a jolly jape at all thinks paddyMaybe an Irish satirist will do Baddiel dressed up as a skullcapped greedy shyster with a sweatshop, or a hook nosed porn producer exploiting 'Aryan' women or an Israeli soldier shooting an unarmed baby. As for the English and terrorism? They practically invented the art. :rolleyes:
Personally the most offensive thing about this show was that it was commisioned in the first place. It's unadulterated sh*te. I last watched it after the Tans - France game and even without their smugness the two muppets were atrocious. How anyone can find it remotely funny is in itself laughable. Bo Selecta's take on them a couple of weeks ago was spot on, with Baddiel (dressed up as an Orthodox Jew) begging the butt-faced Skinner to call him a Jew to make people laugh. Skinner obliges and the audience - equally as pathetic - laugh hysterically, as Baddiel declares in a mock Yiddisher accent: 'We are very funny mens (sic.)'
btw Whats the difference between this stereotyping, and that of "all England fans are hoolies" of a couple of weeks ago?Or calling all C0ckneys, w@nkers, even though probably the only ones you've met have been either on a dust-up at Euston station or in the Rovers Return. Are you a script writer for Coronation street? If I was a c0ckney I'd be pretty miffed at the stereotyping going on that pile of cr*p at the moment.
I'd not been across before to see OWC as I couldn't be arsed, tbh, but had to go and take a look to see my name in print (oh, the vanity...) Calling us "Brits" though? That's a great one. I bet he wrote that all by himself. Arsehole.
We obviously get right under their skins. Good to see the "siege mentality" is still alive and well in Olde Alsturr.
**** themTranquilo PP. It's because they think we won the lottery of life and threw away the ticket. Or just jealous that we have what they long for: Being born in Britain. :D
You forgot the other tag: 'The humour by-pass brigade.' I mean these people are far more thick skinned than us aren't they? It takes a lot to get them offended, like spelling the title of Britain's highest paid scrounger with a lowercase 'q' (one pathetic discredited inbred (copyright Davros) whined to a 'beggar' who did the unthinkable: Do you hate us that much?) or that we call our country 'Ireland'. In fact they are so hard to offend, they even have a section devoted to being offended on their website dedicated to FIFA's lowest rated regional team. I like the tw*t, proving what a load of pea-brained bigots they are, bringing up Skinner's religion into the equation (Note the refusal to accept from GAA apologists the similar argument that a past Protestant president means the broken glass spreaders are non-sectarian). Congratulations PP you've joined their moan list. Just upset no one asked for me. :(
Unsurprisingly, my old chum Dog Breath started the thread. Despite his protests that he's not interested in us he spends an alarming amount of time looking at this site. Hey Dog Sh*te, why don't you come on in? What: worried after the Army Groupie's poor showing that you'd end up going home with your sphincter in a articulated lorry? Ahh well, I did try! No doubt you'll be sending on Research Girl to do your fighting. I saw Pulp Fiction the other week for the first time and I can't say the gimp reminded me much of Davros but guess who Marsellus Wallace (the black bloke at the end of the red neck's penis) reminded me of. You've got it! Your good mate JohnB when he was on in January, until his own Butch Coolidge - played by Duncan Gardner instead of Bruce Willis - came along and ended his torture by getting the thread shut down. Happy days!!! :D
Can you combine my'double'-fingers salute to the Railway End......:D :D .....B.& S. Might have to joyride the H*ns souvenir shop to get sufficient'costumes'....
To be fair,the Linfield fans I met bought the concept of 'being there just for the game',though plenty of closed minds & bigots elsewhere......to be fair was 10 yrs.ago & the good Senor & DG(& his Bro.') tell me things are much changed?We'll see......
I don't qustion that, by the look's of some of the flag's in the stadio del la luz when the scum were playing, that's were they've gone off to :rolleyes: . I like to hear your conversation's with the Linfield fan's you met, i'd say that would be interesting, can't say i've got a problem about Linfield, after all they're an Irish team :D, as for the double finger salute to the railway end do they have people in that stand, i thought thought nobody was in that stand, but still it's been a long time since i've seen a puppet state match on telly, i tend to only take an interest in team's inside the top 100 in the fifa world ranking's. :p
sylvo
01/07/2004, 10:16 AM
So the best response is a good old dose of anti-semitism?
I HOPE you were being ironic.
Better stop that goose stepping around Wembley park station and pointing yer right finger tip's out of yer front window to all the thousand's in Nurumberg Hempsted there herr Lopez, cause Conor's got yer sussed, and shave that fcuking tash will yer.
lopez
01/07/2004, 10:34 AM
So the best response is a good old dose of anti-semitism?
I HOPE you were being ironic.Well spotted. You win the cuddly bear, Conor.
How many 'terrorists' - people who have used weopans/explosives against unarmed civilians - has Ireland produced. As a guess a lot less than the 3,000 tans that were banned from going to Portugal. Stereotyping is stereotyping. The shock statement above - which I'm glad offended - that you picked up on was intended to highlight where steroetyping has eventually lead. Skinner wouldn't have known this the eejit, but Baddiel has no excuse.
Pat O' Banton
01/07/2004, 10:35 AM
I'd not been across before to see OWC as I couldn't be arsed, tbh, but had to go and take a look to see my name in print (oh, the vanity...) Calling us "Brits" though? That's a great one. I bet he wrote that all by himself. Arsehole.
We obviously get right under their skins. Good to see the "siege mentality" is still alive and well in Olde Alsturr.
**** them. :)
Ahh, lovely Fermanagh, the county of the lakes.
Quite understand the pointlessness of looking at the Occupied Without Consent site as it has rapidly become the internets version of a particularly bad edition of Saint and Greavies, you know all matey jocularity without the humour, followed by a short ill informed serious debate, fairly dull now days.
However, PP, I must admit that I did have a quick look at the site to see your name in print (any chance of an autograph?) and what a suprise they all think that crass streotyping of Irish people is hilarious. Still what else did anyone expect of supporters of an artifically constructed geographic area that needed discrimination against Irish people to make the 'state' work, sadly it would seem that its their mentality.
BTW your right Fermanagh is Ireland's county of lakes not Cavan as they are currently claiming, eh Sylvo? (and when we perfect the rules of underwater Gaelic Football you watch the Ulster titles and All Ireland's role in. :) )
lopez
01/07/2004, 11:11 AM
Way too early in the morning for irony, lopez.
Just thought you might have joined Young Fine Gael - you know the slippery slope, you vote Fine Gael, next thing we're all comemorating Mr. Mussolini's birthday, and before you know it the noise of jackboots fills the air in every town...I always refer to the party as the 'blueshirts' but I think it's a bit cruel with irony. Just wondered why they didn't change the name as it was printed above the Fitzgerald saltire on O'Duffy's shirt in photos for prosperity. My old man remembers them as a boy in Kildare. He thought they were some sort of circus come to town. :D
Quite understand the pointlessness of looking at the Occupied Without Consent site as it has rapidly become the internets version of a particularly bad edition of Saint and Greavies, you know all matey jocularity without the humour, followed by a short ill informed serious debate, fairly dull now days.
However, PP, I must admit that I did have a quick look at the site to see your name in print (any chance of an autograph?) and what a suprise they all think that crass streotyping of Irish people is hilarious. Still what else did anyone expect of supporters of an artifically constructed geographic area that needed discrimination against Irish people to make the 'state' work, sadly it would seem that its their mentality.
BTW your right Fermanagh is Ireland's county of lakes not Cavan as they are currently claiming, eh Sylvo? (and when we perfect the rules of underwater Gaelic Football you watch the Ulster titles and All Ireland's role in. :) )
Hey show some respectos to Cavan, cause i'm sure old dog breath and army groupie will also get p***ed off by you dissing one of Ulster's county's.
What's wrong with our wee website or whatever it's called i think it's great, they all get on nicely with one another by the look's of thing's when Marty talk's they all jump up and agree in unision, great stuff, only down side for them is the obbsession with with these bloke's they call begger's, who go around stealing their player's, their fan's. What i want to know is who are these bloke's and where are they taking them after they steal them. Anyway i think it's a great laugh, the boycotting Carlsberg cause of the Cas ad, and giving out about mastercard was great stuff. :D :D
Hey show some respectos to Cavan, cause i'm sure old dog breath and army groupie will also get p***ed off by you dissing one of Ulster's county's.
What's wrong with our wee website or whatever it's called i think it's great, they all get on nicely with one another by the look's of thing's when Marty talk's they all jump up and agree in unision, great stuff, only down side for them is the obbsession with with these bloke's they call begger's, who go around stealing their player's, their fan's. What i want to know is who are these bloke's and where are they taking them after they steal them. Anyway i think it's a great laugh, the boycotting Carlsberg cause of the Cas ad, and giving out about mastercard was great stuff. :D :DCheck out the Bubble Cypriot Homie from Palmers Green that's walked onto the site (could this be Davros yet again?). He mentions the Northern b*stard state except he's talking about the Captain Kirks on his island not ourweecountry (sic.). :D
Pat O' Banton
01/07/2004, 2:59 PM
Check out the Bubble Cypriot Homie from Palmers Green that's walked onto the site (could this be Davros yet again?). He mentions the Northern b*stard state except he's talking about the Captain Kirks on his island not ourweecountry (sic.). :D
No doubt Turkish flags appearing in the Sandy Row as we speak :D
mickrev
01/07/2004, 3:13 PM
Its all in good fun. Sending letters to the paper is a right waste of time. Very funny it was. They do the same kinda stereotyping for every country, especially the germans.Big deal.
Pat O' Banton
01/07/2004, 3:24 PM
Its all in good fun. Sending letters to the paper is a right waste of time. Very funny it was. They do the same kinda stereotyping for every country, especially the germans.Big deal.
The point is that Irish people have suffered from negative streotyping in Britain for hundreds of years as exemplified by Punch catoons, the likes of Jim Davidson or extreme articles in a cross section of newspapers. For years irish people kept their heads down and almost hoped that it would blow over, well the sad thing is that it hasn't, its not just this piece, but also articles like Julie Burchill's infamous one in the Guardian last year that labeled the Irish Nazi sympathising, child abusers. It is the right of Irish people to live in this country (or any other country for that matter) without having to put up with this nonsense.
Ultimately I doubt if anyone would go on TV (or print for that matter) with such rubbish about black people or Asians because through the years they have stood up for themselves, fair play to them, its about time Irish people did the same.
01/07/2004, 4:14 PM
With respect Mick, it is a big deal to us Irish who live in Britain. As a minority community living in another country, we have suffered to assert ourselves and our rights for generations as Pat so rightly points out. The sort of crap that B&S came out with only serves to undermine our cause.
FWIW, I totally disagree that it's a waste of time writing to the papers. To ignore such jibes makes us complicit in their performance. If we don't speak, we give the likes of B&S carte blanche to repeat such slurs on our names. To do nothing is not an option.
:) PP
Its all in good fun. Sending letters to the paper is a right waste of time. Very funny it was. They do the same kinda stereotyping for every country, especially the germans.Big deal.Are you a graduate Mick? Well if the Irish just sat around twiddling our thumbs in the seventies and eighties your degree would get you a job as a roaddigger in Britain on your inevitable march to emigration back then. It's not that using terrorists/freedom fighters in a comedy sketch isn't funny - look at Kielty and the hole in the wall gang - it's the context. I'd give them the benefit of the doubt if they were otherwise hilarious. They're not. I take it it's a no about the degree because only the double digit IQ holders find these two c*nts amusing on any given subject.
02/07/2004, 12:01 AM
who bloody cares. I hate agreeing with anything written in the rag, but there was an excellent comment on it in todays sun:
"f'goodness sake folks. That was no different to what hundreds of Irish fans did in 2002.There were leprachauns.....everywhere Ireland played at the World Cup finals in Japan and Korea. Nobody said they were a disgrace. Au contraire, they were described as great craic."
gets it spot on IMO. I don't remember the same fuss when another irish player dressed up for a crisps ad
02/07/2004, 12:07 AM
Can a leprahchaun not be a terrorist?
well, it would be a hell of a disguise :D
who bloody cares. I hate agreeing with anything written in the rag, but there was an excellent comment on it in todays sun:
"f'goodness sake folks. That was no different to what hundreds of Irish fans did in 2002.There were leprachauns.....everywhere Ireland played at the World Cup finals in Japan and Korea. Nobody said they were a disgrace. Au contraire, they were described as great craic."
gets it spot on IMO. I don't remember the same fuss when another irish player dressed up for a crisps adWonder what The Scum (let alone ourweeminds) would have said if they saw a number of Irish fans in Japan dressed up as Seamus O'Semtex with balaclavas and army surplas, which if you've been reading the thread is the main gripe. Couldn't give a f*ck about leprechauns, Irish dancers, spuds or even Viagra pills ffs.
finlma
02/07/2004, 9:37 AM
gets it spot on IMO. I don't remember the same fuss when another irish player dressed up for a crisps ad
If you're going to reply at least read the thread. No-one is complaining about the leprechaun jibe, it's the dressing up as a terrorist that people are p*ssed off about. If you're Irish living in England I think you'd understand what we're talking about.
Beavis
02/07/2004, 5:43 PM
If you're Irish living in England I think you'd understand what we're talking about.
Yous play this card far too often
Pat O' Banton
02/07/2004, 6:02 PM
Meaning?
What I have noticed from this thread is that it is those who are living in Britain who are far more likely to take offence at negative Irish streotyping then those who live in Ireland.
I feel that this is probably because Irish people living in Britain are for more likely to see anti-Irish rascism or be directly affected by it, so when those who live on the other side of the Irish sea feel that things like this are inconsequential many of us feel the need to challange this assumption. (this is not a slight against anyone)
On a positive note (already noted on this website in other areas) anti Irish discrimation in England and Wales seems to be on the wane, however this is no reason to protest if we see discrimination, negative streotyping, or offensive comments being made about the people from our nation.
i dont think that this is a card that anyone would want to ''play'' :mad:
finlma is just saying what he see's eveyday... wouldnt be much diffrent to what either myself or others living here have experanced recently
02/07/2004, 6:03 PM
"Play this card"? :confused:
That's because being Irish in another land, specifically England, is an inescapable factor in all of this. Try it. I give you three months before you see why we make such an issue of it.
:ball: PP
02/07/2004, 6:12 PM
Meaning?
What I have noticed from this thread is that it is those who are living in Britain who are far more likely to take offence at negative Irish streotyping then those who live in Ireland. I feel that this is probably because Irish people living in Britain are for more likely to see anti-Irish rascism or be directly affected by it, so when those who live on the other side of the Irish sea feel that things like this are inconsequential many of us feel the need to challange this assumption. (this is not a slight against anyone)
On a positive note (already noted on this website in other areas) anti Irish discrimation in England and Wales seems to be on the wane, however this is no reason to protest if we see discrimination, negative streotyping, or offensive comments being made about the people from our nation.
Welcome back to the board Pat. Once again, a thoughtful, incisive and eloquent view that I wholeheartedly agree with. :)
:D PP
Yous play this card far too oftenEver been called a thick Irish b*stard by one of your teachers, Beavis? Was your father ever been threatened with the sack after an IRA bombing because some mischievous colleague put it about that he was a chucky? No?! Well don't f*cking lecture me about playing 'cards'!
sylvo
02/07/2004, 10:44 PM
Anti Irish racism by the media is nowhere at all near the level's of the 70's and 80's, even our dealing's as a community with mr pole eeece man is a lot better these day's. Their a lot more interested in causing problem's for the asian community with their friendly stop and search tatic's then standing outside Irish pub's and club's with twenty odd pole eeece van's ready to give yer a taxi and b&b for the night which is what it used to be like.
But scratch the surface and it has'nt fully gone away just like it will not be forgotten by us you had to stand up to people that tried to make life tough in workplace's etc by c**ts who took their dislike for all thing's Irish from sh**e rag's like the s*n and thick Paddy joke's from w**k comedien's, i can't even remember the last time i heard an anti Irish in my workplace it's been so many year's which is total contrast to when i first started in my job in the late 80's. But the Julie Burchill article in the gaurdian prove's it has'nt fully gone away, proberly cause there are new arrival's in brit tan that they have taken a dislike to taking their attention away from us.
As for the middle class jewish ex public school boy who's trying to be a gezzer and his friend from a s**te brummie suburb with his s***e brummie accent and their Ray Houghton skit, these two are just reaching for the bottom of the comedy barrell due to them being as funny as death, their send up of their own country's manager and his girlfriend a minute after the tans v France game prove's that, i don't think any tv station in europe apart from ITV would let their country's manager be shown up in that way. I only seen two of those show's and one was because that enemy of our wee c**t tree website Dermot O'Leary was on it, and fair play he did'nt stand for any bulls***e of them.
Still if anything good is to come out of this (and it take's more then some Chelsea groupie and some ex wineo from west brom to put my nose out of joint) it's that it gave army groupie and his back slapper's something to smile about over on our wee c**t tree, which is a lot more then their pub team has given them, i'm sure their laughter were'nt as loud as mine the night we gubbed them 4-0. :D, look forward to speaking to yer soon dog breath. :p
02/07/2004, 10:46 PM
According to today's Mirror, Ray admits he was "hought of order" :rolleyes:
sylvo
02/07/2004, 11:21 PM
Hey,Sylvo......yer v.quiet on the el Cabhan honchos........
Was up there last week, up there again with me dad in a couple of week's time. as for sunday v Derry, come on Cavan :D
Ever been called a thick Irish b*stard by one of your teachers, Beavis? Was your father ever been threatened with the sack after an IRA bombing because some mischievous colleague put it about that he was a chucky? No?! Well don't f*cking lecture me about playing 'cards'!
and yet you still chose to continue living there. :rolleyes:
I lived with english guys in germany and there was plenty of slagging, so what. get over it
Beavis
03/07/2004, 7:50 AM
"Play this card"?
That's because being Irish in another land, specifically England, is an inescapable factor in all of this. Try it. I give you three months before you see why we make such an issue of it.
Relax lads,I empathise with your side more than most and I fully understand the significance of national identity when living in a foreign land.I have no problem with your arguments and why yous would be offended by Houghtons actions.All I'm saying is that whenever theres an arguement between ex-pats/2nd gen and someone living at home it usually ends up with the statement 'If you're Irish living in England I think you'd understand what we're talking about.'Point being it is continually used to undermine the opinion of people living at home when it come to such issues when there are no further points to be made.
Duncan Gardner
03/07/2004, 8:55 AM
Fantasy Football was a bit weak even in its first series (Euro 96?). Now it's embarrassing. The masked gunman stunt was particularly unacceptable.
Lopez. Nice to see you back here as choleric as ever. Er, what does what having a university degree have to do with anything? :( Maybe you knocked out another in your fortnight off?
Plastic Paddy. Less of the contrived outrage, please. If you don't like yer user name, change it to something else! (That's not to downplay the real prejudice people of your generation, and certainly those older, have faced over here).
Sylvo. There aren't many pubs in places like Ballinamallard (which is but a village), because the economics of the trade have forced many to close- just like in rural areas of the Republic and Britain. Nothing to do with local attitudes to the devil's buttermilk- locals just have to go into Enniskillen for a session.
Liam 88. I've never read any book on Irish history published post-1981 which hasn't mentioned the hunger strike then, nor any claim that the IRA (either in the 1920s or more recently) refused to negotiate. Self-evidently in the first case, because obviously the treaty that set up the Free State was negotiated. And it's pretty widely known that Adams and McGuinness have been involved in ongoing talks with the British since 1972. Maybe less widely known, but easily checkable by anyone at A-Level/ Leaving Cert. standard, is that unionist paramilitaries have murdered more people since 1994, than nationalists. Again, I've never read any book on the subject that fails to mention the UDA/ UVF etc. Maybe you or your brother could provide a source?
Davros. You've been telling me (and some of the guys on here) since the 1980s how you were 'indoctrinated' at primary school in NI in the early 70s. Yet even when pressed you fail to offer any evidence whatever. Come on, let's hear it!
I know others who went to Omagh Academy and its feeder schools; I went to a similar school myself; my primary school was used by UDA men both future and current (literally- they drilled in our PE gym!). But for all that I don't know of any 'indoctrination' of the type you claim. It's true that in unionist schools you're more likely to learn about the Duke of Wellington than Sean Lemass- wrongly, in my opinion- but that's not the same thing, is it? In any case, they're hardly going to be mentioned in P3 or P4- you shipped off to yer beloved Tanland shortly afterward, eh? :)
only1kilbane
03/07/2004, 9:13 AM
Jesus christ guess nobody has a sense of humour then. People should calm down and realise rayo meant no harm. if it was the other way around and was on an irish show with say shearer slagging the english it would be hillarious . get over it lads
Pat O' Banton
03/07/2004, 9:48 AM
I lived with english guys in germany and there was plenty of slagging, so what. get over it
Oh dear, as a electorate that doesn’t believe that its resources can take some non Europeans using its hospital beds do you really think that Ireland would support the return of all those who live abroad and claim Irish identity? :rolleyes:
Does the fact that we live abroad mean that we should not be offended by people giving negative stereotypes to Irish people, would you like to see anti – Irish rascism continue or is your solution to deny our background? Should we run away from these problems or not comment, should we let rascists drive us out, because that seems what you are advocating us to do, (if I am misinterpreting you feel free to set me straight.)
Pat O' Banton
03/07/2004, 9:50 AM
Jesus christ guess nobody has a sense of humour then. People should calm down and realise rayo meant no harm. if it was the other way around and was on an irish show with say shearer slagging the english it would be hillarious . get over it lads
Personally I think that I have got a sense of humour that why I don't find this crap funny.
03/07/2004, 10:11 AM
Plastic Paddy. Less of the contrived outrage, please. If you don't like yer user name, change it to something else! (That's not to downplay the real prejudice people of your generation, and certainly those older, have faced over here).
It wasn't so much contrived outrage as drunken outrage, Duncan, at least with my first post on this thread! :o That's not to undermine the serious point made; I can handle leprechaun jokes, and even drunken stereotype jokes, but terrorist "jokes" at our expense are just beyond the pale.
And as for the user name, it's meant to be an ironic take on all the people over the years who have told me "ah sure, you're nothing but a plastic..."
So it stays. :)
:D PP
sylvo
03/07/2004, 10:43 AM
When all the slagging was going on did they slag yer with the media, or have their Police outside the pub where you were drinking, or spray paint graffti around yer area where you were living. I do be slagging my workmate's and vice versa as well, living and working over here is a lot different and a hell of a lot better to the way it used to be.
Yes it has taken the Irish community a while to loosen the the waggon's in a ring attitude, but now not being public enemy no 1 with the media and police has made our attitude toward's the native's and vice a versa a lot better.
One of the reason's why this skit has caused such anger is that it remind's a lot of people of the bad old day's when we had to put up with the constant anti Irish propaganda that used to be chucked at us by the British media which is something young people over in Ireland would proberly never have experianced. We all thought those day's might be gone.
I did'nt see the show, but i've already said that i found the send up of England's manager and his girlfriend very sad on the show that i seen, as a mate of mine said ''my kid's just missed seeing that thankfully''.
Not that i'm bothered about two toss pot so called comic's, but i'm sure David Baddiel would'nt be to happy at someone doing a skit of people being crammed into train's sent off to their death's in the same way as Frank Skinner i'm sure would'nt like to be took back to his day's laying face down in the street's banjaxed with a bottle of thunderbird in his hand.
lopez
03/07/2004, 12:23 PM
I lived with english guys in germany and there was plenty of slagging, so what. get over it A few years ago my father - a still ardent listener of RTE radio - told me of this woman on a call - in show whose parents were from Donegal and who had moved 'back' to Ireland. Her job was editor of a woman's magazine (possibly its founder) but it didn't stop one twisted old woman ringing in and asking why she was here 'taking our jobs.' Question from me to you is, were you that woman, Éanna?
Beavis, this sort of thing doesn't affect people in Ireland. It is clear - with a report that the Celtic Tiger is once more growling, with a 5% growth projected this year - that the all the stereotypes branded about the Irish over the years (thick, violent, feckless, lazy, good-4-nothing) don't ring true with the population in Ireland. The same is not the case in Britain. With much of the population of Ireland unable to get British TV in the seventies it is also easy to see why our attitude is often dismissed as over sensitivity. The behaviour of so-called funny men on the seventies programme, The Comedians (some of whom were Irish), was enough to p*ss off even the most anglophilic Paddy Terry Wogan.
People still use the term Irish to denote something stupid or incomprehensible. To me this suggests that the constant stereotyping about the thick Paddy will take generations to erase. However, things have improved. The recent 'slagging' I got about being Irish have been questions about what teams we were playing against in Portugal, not who I was planning to bomb this week. That's the way I want our relations to stay. For what it's worth I found the skint of Eriksson and the Italian bird probably more offensive than anything against the Irish in recent years. But then Nancy and Sven are the one's whose expense it's at, not mine. It's up to them to complain.
DG: Fortnight for a degree: Where do you think I've been? The Bob Jones University? Don't be looking down your nose at me because you're going to a 'real' university next year - providing of course you managed to find an iron for your shirt in time for your interview. BTW, being called to the bar is not to be confused with 'your Bitter is ready.'
Duncan Gardner
03/07/2004, 12:44 PM
Miaow :) (I did actually dress up for that interview, thanks- though not in full three piece pinstripe like my Ukrainian co-interviewee. It was a very hot day).
I really don't see your need to throw around snide comments about whether people have been to university, as you did further up this thread. If you do do it to me or John Baird on OWC, we'll mix it and respond in kind- but the more sensitive souls on here will just be scared away. is that really what you want?
As I said in reply to PP above, like you and he, P O'B*and Sylvo, I was very disappointed re the Skinner/ Baddiel sketch. Shame that most on OWB and foot.ie think we're overreacting. But maybe we need to chill, eh?
Now come here for a virtual cuddle, you fat bald sweetie :)
PP: I understand your ironic intent of course, but equally you must realise that both OWC and foot.ie include a large proprtion of those who'll readily criticise your namesakes. You know they're going to do that, so you can hardly squeal in outrage when they do, given that non-one's forcing you to read or to use the handle you do.
* loved yer cover of Baby come Back with Ali Campbell BTW.
[QUOTE=Duncan Gardner
* loved yer cover of Baby come Back with Ali Campbell BTW.[/QUOTE]
DG noooo don't encourge him about that song, that song also bring's back bad memories. Bring bak me telly.
1MickCollins
03/07/2004, 4:30 PM
Lopez & the rest, the 20th century will be remembered for the Holocaust, Stalin's pogroms, genocide from Cambodia to former Yougslavia. Apartheid and segration, nuclear madness. Humankind is real real nasty, it's in our DNA.
I don't think an isolated insensitive remark or stupid sketch on a TV program is really very shocking. If you see a wider pattern of racism against the Irish in 2004 that would be different but nobody has suggested that is the case, and in fairness I think people in the Muslim and Black communities have much more reason to complain than you do.
Duncan Gardner
03/07/2004, 5:19 PM
Davros. You mention- repeatedly- your experiences at primary school aged eight, as a justification for your often quite extreme views expressed here. Yet you refuse to detail what actually happened. You must realise that this is likely both to weaken your argument, and to raise the possibility that you're backfilling- ie making up long after the event what OUGHT to have happened to fit in with your wider opinions formed since.
But I'm quite happy to drop the subject if you are.
I really don't see your need to throw around snide comments about whether people have been to university, as you did further up this thread. If you do do it to me or John Baird on OWC, we'll mix it and respond in kind- but the more sensitive souls on here will just be scared away. is that really what you want?
My point was that such was the perception in the seventies about 'thick Paddies' that a degree carried as much clout then for an Irishman as it does with say an Iraqi or Somali now. There were a few isolated cases, but the most successful Irishmen in Britain financially and socially of the period were entrepreneurs, mainly although not exclusively, in the construction game.
As for you and Marsellus Wallace, well I know you like a cyber-rumble and you ain't gonna get it on OWM unless you are Tony Fearon (wasn't he shot by that spacer farmer in Norfolk?) or someone else from 'across the political divide'. It's worth it coming on here - even if you have to put up with Davros' insults. Dunno about Research Boy: He only pops up as the Dog Sh*te's and the Army Groupie's advocate, which is a shame because, unlike like OWM, there's fat chance of being banned unless you bring up C*****. :eek:
As I said in reply to PP above, like you and he, P O'B*and Sylvo, I was very disappointed re the Skinner/ Baddiel sketch. Shame that most on OWB and foot.ie think we're overreacting. But maybe we need to chill, eh?
Well, as I said, I think the sketch on Sven was more offensive (not to me) than anything against the Irish in years. It shows how things have changed since the seventies and how p*ss poor these two w*nkers are. Did see Skinner squirm a few months back after bringing on Matthew Kelly who he had previously made a joke about his alleged paedophilia.
Now come here for a virtual cuddle, you fat bald sweetie :)
Are you talking to me or your mate from the daleks? :confused: Don't tell me you've been to the Pride march today because the drinks were half price. :o
Duncan Gardner
03/07/2004, 7:05 PM
Aye, I was there, thoroughly enjoyed it. According to some purple-clad dykes possee [self-styled] I was chatting to, I need to get more in touch with my gay side :)
Anyway, the balding genius texted me in a sulk to say I talk more sh*te on here than anyone "except those fcuking l*ng*rs". Now that won't do- if I can't match the M*nstermen in dishing it out, maybe I should take a break from web boards for a couple of weeks, like you two did.
See you after my trip to Ayrshire. I'll send ye a postcard :)
Aye, I was there, thoroughly enjoyed it. According to some purple-clad dykes possee [self-styled] I was chatting to, I need to get more in touch with my gay side :)Top man! I'm always saddened on these occasions, as my late Alsatian was himself of that said community. I saw a couple of multi-coloured honchos at Wembley this morning dressed up like Icarus awaiting to spread their wings and I knew it was Mardi Gras time again (or is that Shrove Tuesday).
liam88
03/07/2004, 9:55 PM
You think that's it's that easy to just move countries? Oh yeah I'll pack ma bags tonight and meet Dav and PP at the airport tommrow after mass-sod it why not catch a late night flight and head for the early morning Cobh cathedral service :rolleyes:
Jobs/family etc.
And why should we be pushed out of this country when we work (ok ok I only work on Saturdays but the rest of ya...) and earn our keep here!
You tell us to get over it in referance to the 'slagging'-mate, job discrimination and physical intimidation is bit more than 'slagging'. I won't bore ya all again with tales of people climbing on ma roof to rip down my tri or sliging things at our house-heck it'd be so much easier to hang a SJC out the window and sing GSTQ along with the rest of 'em-why not? Because we are proud of who we are!
Don't get me wrong the majority of English people are great, friendly, not racist and couldn't care less about the North.
The organised-self confessed racists are terrible but at least the admit what they are. The ones who really annoy me are the ignorant kids who think Irish+Catholic=IRA
To sum up-it ain't a bed of roses over here but we won't be forced out 'No Surrender' ey? :eek: :eek: (that's what I hear them all sing down the pub during the in-ger-land games).
Role on the 18th............... :D
liam88
03/07/2004, 9:58 PM
Just realised I missed out a whole page when I was reading!!! :eek:
Just thought I'd say that on a LOT brighter note I went down Southwark Irish fest today, when I finally found it -Dav'll know what I'm on about!
It was brilliant and great to see some Gaelic games! really really enjoyed myself-went with ma grandad (Tipperary) and saw and London Tip team beat a London Cork team :D all great craic!
Got some nice CD's and an inflatable tri-colour mallet!
Saw a few England shirts and all was peaceful and nice! :D
Pat O' Banton
04/07/2004, 10:32 AM
Lopez & the rest, the 20th century will be remembered for the Holocaust, Stalin's pogroms, genocide from Cambodia to former Yougslavia. Apartheid and segration, nuclear madness. Humankind is real real nasty, it's in our DNA.
I don't think an isolated insensitive remark or stupid sketch on a TV program is really very shocking. If you see a wider pattern of racism against the Irish in 2004 that would be different but nobody has suggested that is the case, and in fairness I think people in the Muslim and Black communities have much more reason to complain than you do.
Just because humankind is nasty (a point that I agree with you about) it doesn't mean that we shold not protest if we feel that we (or others are wronged.)
The point is this that there in recent times have been some shocking stuff in the media in recent years about the Irish, but this is defo on the decline, we want it to stay that way thats why we are making a fuss about this. Certainly the Muslim community do get a hard time from the Brit media but I would argue that the the black community do not get such rubbish spouted about them anymore, precisely because they have stood up for themselves and said that they will not accept such nonsense.
The cartoons on this link, from that bastion of nasty stereotypes 'Punch' show the Irish as violent and lazy. Baddiel and Skinner's caricature shows the Irish as violent, wheres the difference? If you find the Punch cartoons offensive then surely so are Baddiel and Skinner's portrayal.
http://www.nde.state.ne.us/SS/irish/unit_2.html
DG, come to Fulham and I will sing my entire back catalogue :eek:
lopez
04/07/2004, 10:52 AM
A good history of anti-Irish stereotyping can be found in: Nothing But the Same Old Story: Roots of Anti-Irish Racism by English writer (hence no allegations of misty-eyed Oirish prejudice) Liz Curtis, and published by 'Information on Ireland'.
liam88
04/07/2004, 12:57 PM
DG, come to Fulham and I will sing my entire back catalogue :eek:
DG in the hoops stand? That'll be the day!
Pat you got your ticket yet? Get it touch with Dav if not :D
Dav-DG still hasn't responded to the claims about showing his true colours with a certain flag last month :D mabye he'll join us after all............ :p
DG in the hoops stand? That'll be the day!
Pat you got your ticket yet? Get it touch with Dav if not :D
Dav-DG still hasn't responded to the claims about showing his true colours with a certain flag last month :D mabye he'll join us after all............ :pI think you'll excuse me and Pat if we don't comment on this topic about a certain club in North Britain. BTW, Dav's got me a ticket for this game at Fulham - part of my education/indoctrination he claims - and I'm just trying for a day off.
I think you'll excuse me and Pat if we don't comment on this topic about a certain club in North Britain.
you could always use another two teams as a comparison so you dont feel left out? ;)
welcome back by the way