View Full Version : Shamrock Rovers fans cancel bus services to Derry

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

SwanVsDalton
06/07/2011, 10:49 PM
I don't have a problem with Rovers fans flagging up DCFC's 'unique and privileged position' - thought it was quite decent for them to recall City's treble win.

How many Rovers fans will risk it and travel independently?

horton
06/07/2011, 10:52 PM
I gotta ask though, is it really that much of a privilege to be part of the circus that is LoI?

DannyInvincible
06/07/2011, 11:10 PM
I gotta ask though, is it really that much of a privilege to be part of the circus that is LoI?

It's like that local Summer holiday prize-draw my ma was telling me she bought tickets for the other day. First prize is a week away in Bundoran. Second prize is two weeks.

Aaron
06/07/2011, 11:11 PM

You obviously haven't heard of the IFA ;)

LOI_Fanatic
07/07/2011, 1:06 AM
I'm just going by what I've been told, that they were all attacked at once. They were coming out of the gate one by one so obviously the people attacking the bus would have had to picked the right time to strike.

What I'm saying is that the statement wasn't accusing Derry fans of planning the attack. Nobody apart from a few loony ultras think they were and nobody would interpret it that way.

That a dig at the srfc ultras?...

I can see where the Rovers SC's are coming from on this and its a problem that may escalate further in the future if its not nipped in the bud.

but on the other hand,a few gards walking along the road or driving infront of the buses (Especially the team bus,which got done last time) might discourage the vermin from bricking buses

bluewhitearmy
07/07/2011, 1:28 AM
That a dig at the srfc ultras?...

I can see where the Rovers SC's are coming from on this and its a problem that may escalate further in the future if its not nipped in the bud.

but on the other hand,a few gards walking along the road or driving infront of the buses (Especially the team bus,which got done last time) might discourage the vermin from bricking buses

Its more likely that they would find it more fun to brick both the guards and bus.

DannyInvincible
07/07/2011, 1:45 AM
The gardaí?! :D

Whatever about the Brandywell being a "no-go" for the PSNI, it's certainly a "no-go" for the gardaí.

07/07/2011, 1:47 AM
Nigel Worthington won't be happy with this. Might even cancel his Derry school tour.

DannyInvincible
07/07/2011, 1:49 AM
its a problem that may escalate further in the future if its not nipped in the bud.

In what sense?

07/07/2011, 2:03 AM
The Brandywell area isn't a "no-go" area for the PSNI. The insinuation of the release, however, is that Derry City are at fault for the actions of hoodlums outside the stadium, whatever about the behaviour of the stewards within it. The club can't be held responsible for the lack of police presence outside the ground or some subsequent lack of order.

As for within the stadium itself, it's my understanding that the club does liaise with the PSNI and there are officers in plain clothes observing every game. And that bit about Derry "enjoying a unique and privileged position..."; that's just petty and stupid. It comes across as a juvenile swipe, if not some sort of veiled, but ultimately impotent, threat.

Rovers fans don't have to go very far in this league to see a police officer in uniform, especially away games. Escorts out of towns, dog units at a sleepy Monday evening League Cup match at Belfield. Except the Brandywell, not even in the area.

If you spot a PSNI uniform around the ground on Friday night, can someone get photographic evidence? If it's not a no-go area, it should be no trouble :)

DannyInvincible
07/07/2011, 2:12 AM
Rovers fans don't have to go very far in this league to see a police officer in uniform, especially away games. Escorts out of towns, dog units at a sleepy Monday evening League Cup match at Belfield. Except the Brandywell, not even in the area.

If you spot a PSNI uniform around the ground on Friday night, can someone get photographic evidence? If it's not a no-go area, it should be no trouble :)

You should give either Max or Linda (http://www.psni.police.uk/index/g-district/foyle-area/foyle_city_centre_npt.htm) a buzz.

DannyInvincible
07/07/2011, 2:27 AM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/14056189.stm

According to the club, it has (or, at least, had planned to have) measures in place.

Derry director O'Doherty said that measures had been planned to ensure the safety of Rovers fans at Friday's game.

"The attacks occurred outside the ground and they were carried out by children," Mr O'Doherty told RTE.

"I don't want to minimise this in any way because first of all I want to apologise to any Rovers fan and indeed the owners of the buses but it did happen outside the ground.

"No League of Ireland club has jurisdiction for outside its ground.

"However, we recognise the special situation of The Brandywell.

"In recent games, such as the Bohemians game, our stewards stayed on and made sure there was clear and safe exit and that was offered.

"Unfortunately I think the Rovers guys had already made up their minds on this. It is regrettable and I'm extremely sorry they have taken this stance."

O'Doherty added:"If Shamrock Rovers decide they need a police escort to come to the ground that is entirely up to Shamrock Rovers.

"One situation has been taken here and used to make something that is not true overall.

"The vast, vast majority of visiting fans come to the Brandywell and never have the slightest problem."

What more can Derry City do as regards what goes on outside the stadium?

07/07/2011, 3:47 AM
I would ask the (unfortunate and generally misguided) Phibsboro-based travelling contingent for their opinions on the handling of that game.

EivissaPaul
07/07/2011, 4:15 AM
what more can Derry City do?? Are you that stupid?? right here goes..

1) Shamrock Rovers take a large travelling support and if 1000 hoops went to the Brandywell and paid 10 pounds in... how many pretty pennies would Derry city have in extra income??? Now i am pretty sure DCFC cant afford to be idiots business wise..

2) Entrance to Dalymount Park / Tallaght Stadium / Inchicore etc on big match days are 99% of the time, completely safe as stewarding & policing outside the stadiums are adequate and normally very well communicated with local police.. (THIS IS IN THE INTEREST OF THE HOME CLUB AS ITS THEIR GATE RECEIPTS BEFORE YOU REPEAT YOURSELF AGAIN SAYING THE LOCAL POLICE IN DERRY WILL DO NOTHING) failure to ensure home and away supporters have safe access to and from the stadium is a basic failure of responsibilities by the home club despite the problem being inside the stadium or out, Derry City & the PSNI need to address the problem in the interest of a) Derry City FC and its potential income & b) the income for the local people (players, stadium staff, stewards etc..)

3) Take a bit of pride in your club, Derry is a fantastic club and has normally a fantastic set of fans. I know Shamrock Rovers fans have 'an element' but alot of clubs do, even Derry City has. You have a BIG PROBLEM outside your stadium if a club bringing up to 1000 fans paying 10pounds entrance will not travel because Derry City FC would rather blame Shamrock Rovers fans over songs etc than maybe hold weekly meetings with the PSNI and coordinate police levels like Bohs Rovers Pats do.

This argument is not over what club you follow, nor is it about which club has the worst set of fans. If you are the home club, in the interest of everybody you need to maximise the attendance of the fixture. People = money, Money = development, Development = ....... So if you are in charge of Derry City, you are obliged to the staff, players, fans and folk who work inside the stadium to optimise the business side of things.

This isn't brain science is it???

hoopy
07/07/2011, 5:42 AM
'However we recognise the special situation of The Brandywell'. Is that not admitting the fact that there's no cops in and around the place? Imhop the FAI should've nipped this problem in the bud long ago and made it a condition of membership in the league.

A N Mouse
07/07/2011, 5:59 AM
I think pretty obviously its done to shine a bit of light on the problem, and hope that the PSNI and/or Derry City could give a bit more assistance in getting our fans out of Derry safely.

After something happens shout about it from the highest height.

But if you really want to do something about preventing it, then it has be on the qt. And what assistance was sought? The release conspicuously neglected to mention anything constructive shamrock rovers or their fans may have contributed.

The only light that's been shone, by going about things in this manner, is the scrotesignal.

Instead of having the odd one from a mile radius you've basically put out the call to all surrounding districts - and given notice to would be scrotes, of either tradition, in outlying hamlets that there might be something to throw bricks at.

A N Mouse
07/07/2011, 6:35 AM
On a brighter note maybe this will ending the unceasing asking of rovers fans' favourite question when they come to this part of the world.

This is what it's like - wee wannabe hoods out wrecking stuff, and peelers can't do feck all about it without making it worse.

But sure being the big republicans that the same rovers fans are, they'd never look to invoke the protection her maj's constabulary.

07/07/2011, 7:07 AM
After something happens shout about it from the highest height.

The only light that's been shone, by going about things in this manner, is the scrotesignal.

Instead of having the odd one from a mile radius you've basically put out the call to all surrounding districts - and given notice to would be scrotes, of either tradition, in outlying hamlets that there might be something to throw bricks at.

If anything, they're less likely to fire stuff now, as part of the kick out of it, is the unexpected.

This isn't just a problem at our games in Derry, this is a long running problem in the area, involving a number of clubs. Pats go up there next month. We're just the ones to have taken a stand against it, as nothing has been done about it for far too long. It's up to others now to examine whether it's safe for their fans to travel to games there in the future.

DannyInvincible
07/07/2011, 7:40 AM
I would ask the (unfortunate and generally misguided) Phibsboro-based travelling contingent for their opinions on the handling of that game.

Hmm, wouldn't they just offer "misguided" opinions? As far as I understand, the Bohs buses left the ground safely with the stewards staying on after the game in order to ensure the vicinity of the stadium exit was clear and safe for the buses to pass. Or did you you have some hearsay to add with regards goings-on inside the ground?

1) Shamrock Rovers take a large travelling support and if 1000 hoops went to the Brandywell and paid 10 pounds in... how many pretty pennies would Derry city have in extra income??? Now i am pretty sure DCFC cant afford to be idiots business wise..

I'd mistakenly thought you were going to offer some ideas for solutions. What's really your point beyond pretending to care about Derry's gate receipts? :rolleyes:

(THIS IS IN THE INTEREST OF THE HOME CLUB AS ITS THEIR GATE RECEIPTS BEFORE YOU REPEAT YOURSELF AGAIN SAYING THE LOCAL POLICE IN DERRY WILL DO NOTHING)

I don't think I ever said that. In fact, it's you that is moaning that the PSNI will do nothing and it was the press release that erroneously claimed the Brandywell area was a "no-go" zone. It isn't.

failure to ensure home and away supporters have safe access to and from the stadium is a basic failure of responsibilities by the home club despite the problem being inside the stadium or out

To be honest, I don't think it is. Beyond the grounds of the stadium is neither the property nor the legal responsibility of the football club. I mean, how far do you expect that apparent onus of responsibility outside the ground to stretch? Do you want a reinforced Derry City-licensed security van escorting you up the M1 and through Newbuildings? You're being both unreasonable and ridiculous. Sure, the club wouldn't even be able to secure the safety of its own fans if it wanted to bus them between certain areas in and around the city, especially with the weekend that's in it.

You have a BIG PROBLEM outside your stadium if a club bringing up to 1000 fans paying 10pounds entrance will not travel because Derry City FC would rather blame Shamrock Rovers fans over songs etc than maybe hold weekly meetings with the PSNI and coordinate police levels like Bohs Rovers Pats do.

You're lapsing into hysterical nonsense now. No one's trying to deny there's a problem or even attempting to justify local youths throwing stones at buses.

If you are the home club, in the interest of everybody you need to maximise the attendance of the fixture. People = money, Money = development, Development = ....... So if you are in charge of Derry City, you are obliged to the staff, players, fans and folk who work inside the stadium to optimise the business side of things.

Well, certainly, but I'm still not really any the wiser having read your rant twice. You insinuated I'm afflicted with a certain level of stupidity before giving me the impression you were going to proceed to answer my question properly by offering a list of solutions, but as far as I can see, your offered solutions to addressing the problem amount entirely to the following:

"Take a bit of pride in your club"
"maybe hold weekly meetings with the PSNI and coordinate police levels like Bohs Rovers Pats do"

And that's it. Nothing else of substance. Your first suggestion is no more than blather - a rhetorical platitude - and your second is naïve in the extreme if you're of the belief that the club is neglecting to liaise with the PSNI on a regular basis; there are plain-clothes officers inside the stadium on every match day. The club has stated that it has plans to put measures in place for Friday's game, similar to those it successfully put in place in order to ensure the safe passage of the departing Bohs buses recently. The Brandywell area isn't a "no-go" zone for the PSNI, but if Derry City can't persuade the PSNI to enforce the rule of law in the area - not that it should have to anyway - I'm genuinely not sure what more the club can do.

'However we recognise the special situation of The Brandywell'. Is that not admitting the fact that there's no cops in and around the place? Imhop the FAI should've nipped this problem in the bud long ago and made it a condition of membership in the league.

There we go. At least it's out in the open now.

If anything, they're less likely to fire stuff now, as part of the kick out of it, is the unexpected.

Provide them with the itinerary and they'll be less bothered? Really?...

SwanVsDalton
07/07/2011, 9:17 AM

Early 1970's alive and kicking round Tallaghfornia way.

Haha. No. Almost certainly more likely.

We're just the ones to have taken a stand against it, as nothing has been done about it for far too long.

A stand? This press release and the attendant publicity has done nothing constructive to help the situation and only exacerbated it.

Rovers fans were largely up-in-arms about the Zayed incident becoming public for the negative reputation it would attach to the club and league. How is this snide, insinuating statement, and the misguided idea Brandywell is a Mad Max style badlands, helpful in alleviating the problems Rovers fans have coming to Derry?

horton
07/07/2011, 9:25 AM
Folks, I think I've solved the issue. I've been in contact with a local tour company and they'll meet the Rovers buses at the border and bring the fans in so their own coaches won't be attacked:

http://i1232.photobucket.com/albums/ff377/Hano27/URLImage-2-1.jpg

Photo courtesy of Ultras forum, no hoods will come near ye's now:)

hoops1
07/07/2011, 9:48 AM
I will be heading up, wont have time for my dinner in the city centre. But looking forward to a good nights football.

07/07/2011, 9:50 AM
Provide them with the itinerary and they'll be less bothered? Really?...

No itinerary has been given. In fact, there is no itinerary full stop. The buses are not going.

Haha. No. Almost certainly more likely.

A stand? This press release and the attendant publicity has done nothing constructive to help the situation and only exacerbated it.

How is this snide, insinuating statement, and the misguided idea Brandywell is a Mad Max style badlands, helpful in alleviating the problems Rovers fans have coming to Derry?

It has made the issue public. We've had to make it public, because no authority responsible at these games have been prepared to do anything privately to sort out the issue. The brickies want it to remain a local matter, and not in the public eye. Once it's in the public eye, the kick got out of it is reduced.

SwanVsDalton
07/07/2011, 9:57 AM
It has made the issue public. We've had to make it public, because no authority responsible at these games have been prepared to do anything privately to sort out the issue. The brickies want it to remain a local matter, and not in the public eye. Once it's in the public eye, the kick got out of it is reduced.

The issue was already public. The club have committed to taking extra measures for this Friday's game. I'm not aware of any private correspondence between SRFC (or fans) and DCFC, but if there has been any I'm sure some compromise could've been reached. Though the fact remains, there's only so much Derry can do to ensure any fans safety - there's only so much any club can do.

The scumbags responsible are going to get more of a kick out of any heightened publicity. They aspire to the Celtic-scarf-over-mouth shot on the evening news and they want to get a rise out of people, they're hardly going to retreat because they're getting more attention.

07/07/2011, 10:02 AM
The scumbags responsible are going to get more of a kick out of any heightened publicity. They aspire to the Celtic-scarf-over-mouth shot on the evening news and they want to get a rise out of people, they're hardly going to retreat because they're getting more attention.

They live on the shock and surprise their actions get. Now they don't have it. There's no kick got out of vandalism, when everyone is watching them. So they'll lay low for a while. In the meantime, it's up to Derry and the PSNI to sort it out. Neither side wants to admit responsibility for the issue though, so everyone loses.

SwanVsDalton
07/07/2011, 10:10 AM
They live on the shock and surprise their actions get. Now they don't have it. There's no kick got out of vandalism, when everyone is watching them. So they'll lay low for a while. In the meantime, it's up to Derry and the PSNI to sort it out. Neither side wants to admit responsibility for the issue though, so everyone loses.

You really don't understand the mindset at work here. Rovers fans, and bus companies, if they travelled would've expected to be attacked I imagine. So where's the shock and surprise in that?

The police get it every day - I doubt the attackers are loading up on the PSNI because they'll be surprised. Likewise for the less common but equally sickening attacks on ambulances and fire engines.

They get a kick out of vandalism. Period. A bit of publicity only pushes the novelty factor further.

marinobohs
07/07/2011, 10:41 AM

The really sad part is these morons will see shams (in)action as a victory - shams are "scared" to come up. Hopefully an accomadation can be reached, I recall when we played Linfield at Windsorthe Bohs buses were met at outskirts of Belfast and escorted in (I appreciate this may be more difficult in Derry given the PSNI may also be a target)
During our trips north in SETANTA Cup I found PSNI to be far betterthan Gardai at handling matches, although again appreciate difficulty for them in policing atthe Brandywell.

Bottom line is no fan should have safety concerns going to any game and everthing than can be done must be done to accomadate this.

Derry
07/07/2011, 11:16 AM
what more can Derry City do?? Are you that stupid?? right here goes..

I have to say this is the worst myopically post i have ever read.

Don't make me laugh, the most you ever bring to the Brandywell is about 200, and we could do without most of them as drunks are not wanted.

2) Entrance to Dalymount Park / Tallaght Stadium / Inchicore etc on big match days are 99% of the time, completely safe as stewarding & policing outside the stadiums are adequate and normally very well communicated with local police.. (THIS IS IN THE INTEREST OF THE HOME CLUB AS ITS THEIR GATE RECEIPTS BEFORE YOU REPEAT YOURSELF AGAIN SAYING THE LOCAL POLICE IN DERRY WILL DO NOTHING) failure to ensure home and away supporters have safe access to and from the stadium is a basic failure of responsibilities by the home club despite the problem being inside the stadium or out, Derry City & the PSNI need to address the problem in the interest of a) Derry City FC and its potential income & b) the income for the local people (players, stadium staff, stewards etc..)

Entrance to Brandywell is also 99% completely safe in all match days. And we have found it safe to go to the likes of Dalymoint, yet every time you go to dalymont Garda are out in force because you have an element who isn't there for the football but to cause nothing else but trouble.

3) Take a bit of pride in your club, Derry is a fantastic club and has normally a fantastic set of fans. I know Shamrock Rovers fans have 'an element' but alot of clubs do, even Derry City has. You have a BIG PROBLEM outside your stadium if a club bringing up to 1000 fans paying 10pounds entrance will not travel because Derry City FC would rather blame Shamrock Rovers fans over songs etc than maybe hold weekly meetings with the PSNI and coordinate police levels like Bohs Rovers Pats do.

You have one brass neck telling any supporter to take pride in their club. It's laughable to say Rovers fans have an element. Well you can say that again, as their element causes more trouble in away grounds than all other clubs put together.

This argument is not over what club you follow, nor is it about which club has the worst set of fans. If you are the home club, in the interest of everybody you need to maximise the attendance of the fixture. People = money, Money = development, Development = ....... So if you are in charge of Derry City, you are obliged to the staff, players, fans and folk who work inside the stadium to optimise the business side of things.

Good job it's not about who the worst set of fans are, as a poll among the LOI supporters would show you topping the league.

This isn't brain science is it???

Good job it's not brain science as you're clearly lacking in the brains department.

The common denominator in trouble at away grounds in the LOI is Shamrock Rovers. We have even seen you have battles among your own supporters in the Brandywell, so please spare us your hypocrisy and come back to us when you have put your own house in order.

This attempt by Rovers supporters to blacken Derry City is a smokescreen to hide the problems of racism (i would say alleged but we have all seen their actions on you tube. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0fretxesAwI )within their club.

The alleged racism against Eamon Zayed has been completely overshadowed by this smokescreen, and if you have any idea on Rovers motives at this time, go on their forum, and mention the Zayed incident and you'll know what i mean.

07/07/2011, 11:23 AM
You really don't understand the mindset at work here. Rovers fans, and bus companies, if they travelled would've expected to be attacked I imagine. So where's the shock and surprise in that?

The police get it every day - I doubt the attackers are loading up on the PSNI because they'll be surprised. Likewise for the less common but equally sickening attacks on ambulances and fire engines.

They get a kick out of vandalism. Period.

They do, but they're like bored youngsters everywhere. They do damage when you least expect it. When they're watched/observed/policed, they're not so big then. The PSNI don't police that area, Derry don't want to know, so they have an easy life. Tomorrow, they'll have no buses to hit, so they probably won't bother. No fun in hitting nothing after all.

pateen
07/07/2011, 11:24 AM

Thats mad, but then sadly that what a minority of Shamrock Rovers fans causing due to their own presence

07/07/2011, 11:30 AM
The common denominator in trouble at away grounds in the LOI is Shamrock Rovers.

Wrong.

This attempt by Rovers supporters to blacken Derry City is a smokescreen to hide the problems of racism.

The alleged racism against Eamon Zayed has been completely overshadowed by this smokescreen.

Wrong again.

The racism is "alleged", the bus bricking has hundreds-thousands of witnesses. The racism also involves another club and has lasted a month. The bus bricking involves several clubs, and has gone on longer.

But do keep up your delusion, that the "common denominator in trouble" is SRFC. No matter how many times you throw it out, it'll still be wrong.

SwanVsDalton
07/07/2011, 11:44 AM
They do, but they're like bored youngsters everywhere. They do damage when you least expect it. When they're watched/observed/policed, they're not so big then. The PSNI don't police that area, Derry don't want to know, so they have an easy life. Tomorrow, they'll have no buses to hit, so they probably won't bother. No fun in hitting nothing after all.

But that's not really the point I was making. Of course they can't attack Rovers fans if they're not there. But the next time Rovers fans come up, if they do come, it's possible the attack will be heavier because your reaction has been very public. By your logic you guys should go ahead and travel on Friday since they're less likely to do anything.

If you want them to be adequately watched/observed/policed then making the relevant discussions with DCFC would've been far more useful than this public statement, which could very well make future trips Brandy-direction more fraught and, if anything, harder to police.

Louth4sam
07/07/2011, 11:52 AM
Entrance to Dalymount Park / Tallaght Stadium / Inchicore etc on big match days are 99% of the time, completely safe as stewarding & policing outside the stadiums are adequate and normally very well communicated with local police.. (THIS IS IN THE INTEREST OF THE HOME CLUB AS ITS THEIR GATE RECEIPTS BEFORE YOU REPEAT YOURSELF AGAIN SAYING THE LOCAL POLICE IN DERRY WILL DO NOTHING) failure to ensure home and away supporters have safe access to and from the stadium is a basic failure of responsibilities by the home club despite the problem being inside the stadium or out, Derry City & the PSNI need to address the problem in the interest of a) Derry City FC and its potential income & b) the income for the local people (players, stadium staff, stewards etc..)

Dundalk fans have been attacked at our last two visits to Tallaght. What are Shamrock Rovers FC doing to address this? Absolutely nothing I would imagine as its a policing issue and should be dealt with by the Gardai.

So according to you Shamrock Rovers FC have failed in their responsibilities to protect away fans? (I don't agree with you by the way)

marinobohs
07/07/2011, 12:04 PM
Folks, before we deviate further down the "who has attacked/been attacked more" route lets remind ourselves of what this is about - spectator safety. Have both clubs (in conjunction with PSNI) done all they can to maximise safety for those travelling to the match ? If yes, then job done (fans make up own mind). If no then revisit it.This is a responsibility on both clubs.
Dragging stuff like the Zahed complaint in to is pointless but will no doubt provide ammo for some lazy journo to hype the story out of all proportion

superjohnny
07/07/2011, 12:20 PM
Have to say, i think Derry City is an absoloute dump IMO....

marinobohs
07/07/2011, 12:33 PM
Have to say, i think Derry City is an absoloute dump IMO....

SORTED. Tell "the Lads" to forget the shams buses and look out for a fella called Superjohnny;1505942 :mad::mad:

07/07/2011, 12:34 PM
We can now safely say that there is no direct bus from Tallaght to Derry...

dong
07/07/2011, 12:41 PM

This isn't just a problem at our games in Derry, this is a long running problem in the area, involving a number of clubs. Pats go up there next month. We're just the ones to have taken a stand against it, as nothing has been done about it for far too long. It's up to others now to examine whether it's safe for their fans to travel to games there in the future.

Safe as houses for us every time.
It's because ye have such a large dirtbag contingent that those boys want to teach ye a lesson.

brandy86
07/07/2011, 1:28 PM
The PSNI rejects hooligan claims surrounding Brandywell

The PSNI has said that there is "no hooligan issues associated with Derry City" after a number of Shamrock Rovers fans cancelled buses to Friday's game at the Brandywell over security fears.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/14066878.stm

marinobohs
07/07/2011, 1:45 PM

The PSNI has said that there is "no hooligan issues associated with Derry City" after a number of Shamrock Rovers fans cancelled buses to Friday's game at the Brandywell over security fears.

Amazing if shams supporters began this without the club raising any concerns directly with PSNI and DCFC. Responibility for fans safety surely an issue for both clubs ?

SwanVsDalton
07/07/2011, 1:49 PM
Amazing if shams supporters began this without the club raising any concerns directly with PSNI and DCFC.

It was already quite obvious they didn't...

07/07/2011, 2:17 PM
Hmm, wouldn't they just offer "misguided" opinions? As far as I understand, the Bohs buses left the ground safely with the stewards staying on after the game in order to ensure the vicinity of the stadium exit was clear and safe for the buses to pass. Or did you you have some hearsay to add with regards goings-on inside the ground?

The stewards in the ground are part of the safety problem there.

PSNI say they can enter the stadium. So why have they told Rovers fans in the past that they won't go to the area and any incident must be reported at Strand Rd. station. These things do not add up.

Derry
07/07/2011, 2:17 PM
Wrong.

Wrong again.

The racism is "alleged", the bus bricking has hundreds-thousands of witnesses. The racism also involves another club and has lasted a month. The bus bricking involves several clubs, and has gone on longer.

But do keep up your delusion, that the "common denominator in trouble" is SRFC. No matter how many times you throw it out, it'll still be wrong.

What's delusional about this. See below. You have seemed to have missed it before.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0fretxesAwI

It's called head in the sand. This shows your supporters involved in racist chants, not alleged racist chants, but showing them involved in racist chants and if you're in denial about that then you'll be in denial about everything else. It is a smokescreen.

Have a read at what other posters have to say about you. And Pats or other supporters don't have any trouble at the Brandywell. It's no wonder some of your supporters are known to be the dregs of Dublin, and their actions sometimes at the away games proves that. I man for Gods sake, fighting among your selves, wise up.

You say the bricking of buses involves several other clubs. Now tell me when that was and who are the several other clubs. Approximate dates will do.

07/07/2011, 2:28 PM
Wait... so Rovers fans made a racist chant against Ndo a few years ago, therefore all future racism allegations are automatically true?

Calcio Jack
07/07/2011, 2:30 PM

Well that's that then, as all Derry fans know if the PSNI say it's true then it must be true.

horton
07/07/2011, 2:35 PM

PSNI say they can enter the stadium. So why have they told Rovers fans in the past that they won't go to the area and any incident must be reported at Strand Rd. station. These things do not add up.

[sweeping generalisation]So you've always had satisfactory dealings with AGS?! Police(both North and South of the border) are stretched thin, and in many instances won't attend something if they've nobody available/if they prioritise it lower than other calls. I've called 999 a few times looking for the police, and have often been told to go to the Station to make a report, or to go check where the nearest CCTV camera is for them to check first as they wouldn't/couldn't send any cars. Similiarly, I've also had similar shocking experiences with the Guards(memories of Donegal and Kildare spring to mind).[/sweeping generalisation]

If you really want, I could go stand outside the Brandywell tonight and get a few photos of any passing patrol cars?!

07/07/2011, 2:41 PM
[sweeping generalisation]So you've always had satisfactory dealings with AGS?! Police(both North and South of the border) are stretched thin, and in many instances won't attend something if they've nobody available/if they prioritise it lower than other calls. I've called 999 a few times looking for the police, and have often been told to go to the Station to make a report, or to go check where the nearest CCTV camera is for them to check first as they wouldn't/couldn't send any cars. Similiarly, I've also had similar shocking experiences with the Guards(memories of Donegal and Kildare spring to mind).[/sweeping generalisation]

If you really want, I could go stand outside the Brandywell tonight and get a few photos of any passing patrol cars?!

At a football stadium, there should be no delay given that even AGS are in the ground. The reason specifically given to the Rovers fans calling was that the incident reported was in the Brandywell area. Not prioritising or wrong jurisdiction. If there were plain clothes officers in the ground, they should've been available at the very least.

A N Mouse
07/07/2011, 3:28 PM

So bring it with your club. Bring your own stewards. Take some measure of responsibility for the actions of your own unruly element.

Or is that what the parade of overweight blokes who seem to dislike staying in the stand, any time you're at the brandy, are meant to be there for?

Whatever the alleged reason for a non-response to an incident - and I believe it has already been pointed out to you that there are other means to report it - it does not automatically equate with the nonsense put out to the press by fans of shamrock rovers.

07/07/2011, 3:34 PM
Wait... so Rovers fans made a racist chant against Ndo a few years ago, therefore all future racism allegations are automatically true?

i think the point was that if you try and deny the evidence captured on live TV and dismiss it as people shouting "boo! boo!' at Joseph Ndo when the evidence is so clearly monkewy chants, then any other stringent denials you make should be viewed with the same skepicism. Its a very fair poiont and Rovers (fans and club) have brought it upon themselves with their head in the sand/deny at all costs approach to every accusation.

PartySaint
07/07/2011, 4:04 PM
What age are the lads that are throwing stones at the buses? I've been to Derry a few times supporting the Saints, Our buses have never had anything thrown at them but me and a friend got a fair few stones thrown at us on the way back to the bus once, Now these lads were no older than 10 so we didn't take much notice, If its the same lads the surely any steward in the ground wearing an orange jacket can see the buses off that would be enough to scare the kids off