View Full Version : Shamrock Rovers fans cancel bus services to Derry
07/07/2011, 4:13 PM
Where's my Aslan CD,must stick on "Crazy World"
Rovers claiming police protection from a force for a state who they called Liam Coyle a traitor for playing for, Derry fans quoting the PSNI in defence. Jaysus.
DannyInvincible
07/07/2011, 4:16 PM
The stewards in the ground are part of the safety problem there.
Go on...
PSNI say they can enter the stadium. So why have they told Rovers fans in the past that they won't go to the area and any incident must be reported at Strand Rd. station. These things do not add up.
When would the PSNI ever have told Rovers fans they would never go near the area? Why would they have said that when it just isn't true? I don't believe you.
And when they mention the Strand Road, I think they mean to ring them up before tomorrow night and have a chat about your concerns, as the supporters clubs concerned clearly haven't even done that yet, inexplicably.
(Edit: I've been corrected via PM and now believe you with regard to this event in 2007. It's very unfortunate and I don't understand the reasoning given by the PSNI myself, but they should still have been contacted by the supporters clubs on this occasion if there is a genuine fear for the general safety of those on buses and so forth.)
If you really want, I could go stand outside the Brandywell tonight and get a few photos of any passing patrol cars?!
Please do. :D
Whatever the alleged reason for a non-response to an incident - and I believe it has already been pointed out to you that there are other means to report it - it does not automatically equate with the nonsense put out to the press by fans of shamrock rovers.
There are many other means of reporting it indeed. However it is reported, there was going to be no police response to the area because the police were not going to that area. This seems to be at odds with "it's not a no-go area", unless circumstances have changed.
There should be no bringing of stewards or using Derry stewards. There should be a visible legitimate police force presence in the area. If there is no problem in the area with the PSNI, why is there no visible PSNI presence..
horton, please do find the lesser spotted PSNI officer walking around in uniform on a matchnight in the area or even rarer, in the ground. A photograph would be more than I have ever seen.
dcfc_1928
07/07/2011, 5:08 PM
We've had Bohs fans and Linfield fans arrested outside the stadium over the last few years - does that suggest that it is a no-go area for the police?
07/07/2011, 5:14 PM
What's delusional about this. See below. You have seemed to have missed it before.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0fretxesAwI
It's called head in the sand. This shows your supporters involved in racist chants, not alleged racist chants, but showing them involved in racist chants and if you're in denial about that then you'll be in denial about everything else. It is a smokescreen.
....and wrong again. We know what that's about, and it's not denial, nor is it racism. Even if it was, it has nothing to do with our access to/from the Brandywell. The club was cleared of any racist chanting at the time.
Pats or other supporters don't have any trouble at the Brandywell.
.....wrong again. Evidence of it is in the very thread, from at least fans of 2-3 other clubs. Have a look.
Maybe one day, someday, you'll be right.
....and wrong again. We know what that's about, and it's not denial, nor is it racism. Even if it was, it has nothing to do with our access to/from the Brandywell. The club was cleared of any racist chanting at the time.
.....wrong again. Evidence of it is in the very thread, from at least fans of 2-3 other clubs. Have a look.
Maybe one day, someday, you'll be right.
Well if making monkey noises to a player is not racism, then no wonder you're in denial. Still can't get an answer outa of you to back up your comment regarding SEVERAL clubs having trouble at the Brandywell, no dates, no club names. Just a big smokescreen to hide your embarrassment of racism at your club.
SwanVsDalton
07/07/2011, 5:34 PM
There should be no bringing of stewards or using Derry stewards. There should be a visible legitimate police force presence in the area. If there is no problem in the area with the PSNI, why is there no visible PSNI presence..
The PSNI believe the arrangements are acceptable. They have no issue with the level of security at Derry games and, contrary to the oft-stated belief here, have a continued valued input in providing that security. But they, and the club, are willing to listen to the concerns of any fans or clubs if they pick up the phone.
The PSNI, of course, do operate in Brandywell, but that doesn't mean it's a good idea for them to take sole charge of large-scale security operations for Derry games. The difference between the two is obvious.
I'm sure there's a compromise here, but obviously Derry's 'unique and privileged position' meant Rovers didn't know the right area code to contact anyone for a chat.
07/07/2011, 5:42 PM
Well if making monkey noises to a player is not racism, then no wonder you're in denial.
I'm not in denial. I was there that night, and I know what happened. It wasn't racism, but you've made up your mind that it was, even when the club was subsequently cleared of it.
Still can't get an answer outa of you to back up your comment regarding SEVERAL clubs having trouble at the Brandywell.
Don't have to. Simply scanning this thread will do that for you.
Just a big smokescreen to hide your embarrassment of racism at your club.
You still don't quite get it, do you?
The PSNI believe the arrangements are acceptable. They have no issue with the level of security at Derry games and, contrary to the oft-stated belief here, have a continued valued input in providing that security. But they, and the club, are willing to listen to the concerns of any fans or clubs if they pick up the phone.
The PSNI, of course, do operate in Brandywell, but that doesn't mean it's a good idea for them to take sole charge of large-scale security operations for Derry games.
Policemen are supposed to police things. In Tallaght, the place is surrounded by cops for the more high-profile games. Escorting them across the motorway before and after the game, escorting them to/from the Luas, driving vans up/down the tram route, and together with the stewards, forming a "human wall" of a barrier after all games. The safety of everyone is their priority. In the Brandywell, it's a different story.
Fans of our club have contacted the police in the past over security incidents. The PSNI don't want to know. Derry want to wash their hands of anything outside the ground, and this stuff has been going on for too long with nothing done about it. So now the issue is in the open. It'll be up to 11 months before we go there again, that's more than enough time for those who have the power there to sort the issue out, to go and sort it out.
HulaHoop
07/07/2011, 6:10 PM
What's delusional about this. See below. You have seemed to have missed it before.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0fretxesAwI
It's called head in the sand. This shows your supporters involved in racist chants, not alleged racist chants, but showing them involved in racist chants and if you're in denial about that then you'll be in denial about everything else. It is a smokescreen.
What's delusional is your hear noises like that and you want to believe it's racist chanting so you do believe it whether it's true or not. Have a look at the video below, go to 2.06 and tell me what you think of the noises in it. Then compare it to the noises on the Ndo video.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K81uOpsjRZI
DannyInvincible
07/07/2011, 6:27 PM
What's delusional is your hear noises like that and you want to believe it's racist chanting so you do believe it whether it's true or not. Have a look at the video below, go to 2.06 and tell me what you think of the noises in it. Then compare it to the noises on the Ndo video.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K81uOpsjRZI
Aren't they singing "hoops, hoops..." there? Is that what they sing when Ndo gets the ball?... I'm not trying to have a go and I acknowledge the club was cleared, but it's all just a bit suspicious that chanting sounding distinctly like monkey grunting would just happen to start as soon as Ndo touches the ball accompanied by a backdrop of jeers, boos and whistles. Out of interest, what did the club argue? Was it coincidental?
07/07/2011, 6:38 PM
I'd be reasonably confident the Ndo clip is people monkey chants. I'd like to think those doing it were told to shut up.
Red Star
07/07/2011, 7:45 PM
Do SRFC Ultras support this boycott or will they be taken part in the boycott?
they're boycotting this forum RedStar so, er, take what you want from that....
;) ;)
You can believe anything you want to believe despite evidence to the contrary. Some people believe Bohs are a big club.:o
When the PSNI also stated that there had been no significant incidents in previous years, they can't honestly be looking to be taken seriously in anything they believe.
Ezeikial
07/07/2011, 11:31 PM
Policemen are supposed to police things. In Tallaght, the place is surrounded by cops for the more high-profile games. Escorting them across the motorway before and after the game, escorting them to/from the Luas, driving vans up/down the tram route, and together with the stewards, forming a "human wall" of a barrier after all games. The safety of everyone is their priority.
This was certainly not the case for the Setanta Sports Cup Final when a group of "fans" ambushed Dundalk supporters after they had crossed over the footbridge going into the match.
08/07/2011, 12:54 AM
I wouldn't use the footbridge to be honest. Just follow the Rovers fans and you'll be fine.
08/07/2011, 1:31 AM
Aren't they singing "hoops, hoops..." there? Is that what they sing when Ndo gets the ball?... I'm not trying to have a go and I acknowledge the club was cleared, but it's all just a bit suspicious that chanting sounding distinctly like monkey grunting would just happen to start as soon as Ndo touches the ball accompanied by a backdrop of jeers, boos and whistles. Out of interest, what did the club argue? Was it coincidental?
That incident caused a couple of pretty bleak threads on here.
Firstly, the thread dealing with the weekend's games where the booing happened, in which a number of Rovers fans accepted that a handful of clowns had made monkey noises and condemned them just as other fans did.
Bizarrely, they then backed away from that admission, and claimed that the noises had been 'short booing', then chants of 'hoops', and finally that the video had been doctored (despite it being commented on while the game was in progress from the TV4 feed).
The whole thing was repeated when an investigation/inquiry found that there was 'insufficient evidence' to proceed (or words to that effect).
08/07/2011, 2:08 AM
The whole thing was repeated when an investigation/inquiry found that there was 'insufficient evidence' to proceed (or words to that effect).
But apparantly, the video was "smoking gun" evidence according to some, and SARI of course. SARI have no interest in LOI football, and the case was thrown out when no racist behaviour was found.
been going to the Brandywell since Derry came back into LOI and never have had any problems only a warm welcome from everyone. Its great to see Rovers fans tellinjg Derry & the PSNI how to arrange security for a game ever so Ironic.
Mario
08/07/2011, 12:26 PM
There is no boycott, plenty of fans travelling their own way tonight.
SRFCUltras do not run buses to away games, so this whole thing is nothing to do with them!
Red Star
08/07/2011, 1:38 PM
There is no boycott, plenty of fans travelling their own way tonight.
SRFCUltras do not run buses to away games, so this whole thing is nothing to do with them!
Fair enough but if their banner isn't in the brandywell does that mean they support the call for more police in football grounds?
marinobohs
08/07/2011, 2:18 PM
You can believe anything you want to believe despite evidence to the contrary. Some people believe Bohs are a big club.:o
When the PSNI also stated that there had been no significant incidents in previous years, they can't honestly be looking to be taken seriously in anything they believe.
......So you think the PSNI cant be believed and MYPOST reckons SARI have some anti shams agenda... tell me, is Jim Corr in charge at Tallaght now ?:rolleyes:
As a matter of interest do shams think any club that has been subject to attacks/incidents at Tallaght should boycott future matches there and issue press releases ? Police presence in Tallaght or not there have been more negitive incidents in SDCC stadium in its short life than ever occured at the Brandywell.
To be fair, I'd say the northern cops have a higher bar when it comes to "significant incidents" compared to those south of the border.
They can't be believed if they start saying nothing has happened previously and despite the club acknowledging the problem, the PSNI saying they have no intelligence it will happen again, well it borders on naivety or incompetence..
Mypost can be believed, he outlined the flying from Sligo thing in great detail afterall...are you trying to doubt such logic?http://foot.ie/images/smilies/rolleyes.gif
I'm afraid despite mypost, Derry, yourself and a few others, I don't see what Tallaght or any other ground has to do with the issue at the Brandywell. You're welcome to not send buses to Tallaght if you feel like it. In Bohs' case, the less who attend, the better :)
passerrby
08/07/2011, 2:36 PM
I'm afraid despite mypost, Derry, yourself and a few others, I don't see what Tallaght or any other ground has to do with the issue at the Brandywell..
I think he is comparing the fact that one is lawless while the other has less law
Long winded whataboutery, so.
marinobohs
08/07/2011, 3:43 PM
They can't be believed if they start saying nothing has happened previously and despite the club acknowledging the problem, the PSNI saying they have no intelligence it will happen again, well it borders on naivety or incompetence..
Mypost can be believed, he outlined the flying from Sligo thing in great detail afterall...are you trying to doubt such logic?:rolleyes:
I'm afraid despite mypost, Derry, yourself and a few others, I don't see what Tallaght or any other ground has to do with the issue at the Brandywell. You're welcome to not send buses to Tallaght if you feel like it. In Bohs' case, the less who attend, the better :)
Perhaps Derry feel the same applies to shams :o
No perhaps about it!! I personally am delighted, simply because we might see a Derry/Rovers match where Rovers fans don't make complete dicks of themselves
SwanVsDalton
08/07/2011, 4:04 PM
If I didn't trust you unquestioningly Stu I'd say that photograph is doctored.
Nah just Zayed's been taking liberties with his cult hero status.
The level of horrendous scrawl is on par with a 3 year old's colouring book, so I wouldn't rule it out being actual Bohs handiwork.. :)
DannyInvincible
08/07/2011, 5:00 PM
Looks fake to me.
For a start, there are no punctuation or grammatical errors, like standard examples of local graffiti such as "PNSI OUT!", "S/f r da TRADERS" and "RANGERS IS A W*NKER".
well the less sissified Rovers fans who arent too scared to travel will be able to tell ya...! ;)
08/07/2011, 11:11 PM
Such a pity you didn't travel up guys, we really missed you. I hadn't realised your team was taking part in the boycott too.
Aaron
09/07/2011, 12:46 AM
Fair play to the Rovers fans there tonight, got behind their team the whole way through. For the scummy element of the Rovers fans, stay were you are, your not wanted nor needed. Up The City!!!!!!
09/07/2011, 12:53 AM
I'm sure yous would've appreciated the extra money.
For the hassle of a shower of scumbags? No thank you we're happy enough with the crowd that travelled tonight, no bother inside or outside the ground!!
09/07/2011, 1:14 AM
You'd prefer to lose out on 2-3k just to avoid a couple of annoying songs? I'd take the money to be honest.
DannyInvincible
09/07/2011, 2:38 AM
You'd prefer to lose out on 2-3k just to avoid a couple of annoying songs? I'd take the money to be honest.
Aye, but you don't know what it's like to have a queen.
09/07/2011, 3:38 AM
I was almost married, my boy.
09/07/2011, 1:28 PM
I was almost married, my boy.
You nearly married your own son?
Each to their own I suppose...
You nearly married your own son?
Each to their own I suppose...
he's a Shamrock Rovers fan, not a Sligo Rovers fan Chris... :D :p
Naw but O'Neil and Magilton would know. And you can add Turner to that list.
Taken from Derry City Chat forum.
Shamrock Rovers issue press release.
Shamrock Rovers supporters who took part in heavy combat after the Derry City game in the Brandywell on the outskirts of Londonderry on Friday night recounted their experiences from their hospital beds, where 22 of the wounded casualties of the battle were treated.
A consultant said "They suffer mostly from shrapnel and also from penetration of banana skins. "Mr Magilton, who was brought in by the club last week, runs the emergency room where the supporters are hospitalized. "Most of the injuries are in the limbs, a few of them are in the chest and stomach. Mr Magilton said "the most similar experience he can recall was when he was required to treat this many wounded after a recent friendly game in East Belfast."
The wounded supporters described the battle as a bitter one which took place in a built-up setting, one where enemy forces had organized a well-planned ambush. Supporters faced getting hit with orange peel from any and all directions. "They threw at us from 180 degrees," said one of the supporters. Most of the dead and seriously wounded are those from the initial wave of ground troops which tried to enter one of our buses. The supporters who suffered light wounds are primarily those who arrived on the scene to retrieve the bodies of the dead and wounded supporters lying in the Daisy Field.
"The battle began at 10.00 at night," he said. There were large oranges fired from rocket launchers, missiles and rocket-propelled grapes. I provided cover fire for supporters who tried to reach the wounded, and this went on for hours. Eventually, a plastic cup hit the bus where I was standing. I was thrown up against a window in the bus. In my lifetime I never expected to see bodies and people with wounds in their chest as i did last night
Manager O’Neill was wounded while attempting to recover a supporter’s body which was lying behind a Culmore taxi. "We tried to go in and retrieve the body but we didn't succeed, he said, "When I shot at the door of the taxi, the driver responded by shouting at me”, “F**k off back to Dublin, i’m only collecting a fair”. O’Neill who sustained shrapnel wounds to his leg after being hit by an empty fag packet, said the supporters did all in their power to prevent the Derry wains from laughing at them but to no avail.
The supporters also recounted feats of heroism displayed by their friends. "They carried supporters on stretchers while simultaneously singing about their Queen," O’Neill said, without thinking of the irony of his comment.
"It was hell on earth," Chris Turner said. "People risked their lives not only for the wounded but also for the dead bodies." Turner added that the Derry wains demonstrated impressive combat capabilities. "They are strong fighters, not like us, as we are scared sh**less of our own shadow," I would have thought that us white supremacists would have fared better than that bunch of b**** B*******, but then again i’m a racist.
Former Rovers centre-half Dan Murray was hit in his arm by a raffle ticket. "They fired from all directions, as we tried to get to the wounded," he said. "As I was about to throw a few insults, I got hit. After I was hurt, I couldn't do anything, but i had to try and save myself”
Some of the wounded supporters spoke of face-to-face clashes with the wains, however, none of the supporters could gave first-hand accounts of such incidents. The supporters who are from the worst slums in Dublin said their stay in Londonderry extended to four hours during which time they had to watch a team of local Derry City youngsters show them what passion for your team was all about.
A spokesman for Rovers said that’s the last time we’ll insist on having a Dub ref as he didn’t do his job by giving us every single decision.
Six Shamrock Rovers supporters issued a statement today after last night’s horrendous performance, both on and off the field.
“Chris Turner is nothing but a humped up racist, and that last night after the game while returning to base we saw a cow jump over the moon.”
09/07/2011, 5:31 PM
"Nobody threw a brick at me." Clear dig at Derry City fans there, the implication obviously being that the bus attack was premeditated.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oZFZ3JesBcw
Like i have been saying all week, nothing but a smokescreen. This quote below is taken from the Derry City site.
We were a bit late leaving the ground after the game on Friday night. As we got into our car on the Brandywell Rd, four Shamrock Rovers supporters, carrying drink and certainly well oiled, singing about supporting Shamrock Rovers walked the length of the street towards the Lecky Rd.
Not one being said boo to them, and they certainly didn't seem in any a bit apprehensive. So much for the neanderthals on their site saying they feared for their lives.
Like i have been saying all week, nothing but a smokescreen.
Ermmm...no buses went up..so why would there be anything happening.
Come back when buses go up and nothing happens to them.
A N Mouse
11/07/2011, 4:20 PM
Ermmm...no buses went up..so why would there be anything happening.
Come back when buses go up and nothing happens to them.
I'm pretty sure those two or three mini-buses in the car park belonged to shams fans.
I assume the team got the direct flight to the brandywell, certainly looked jet-lagged!
11/07/2011, 5:35 PM
no bother inside or outside the ground!!
After the game, I saw 4 of them throw, and look to throw stones at fans from both sides as they walked up the hill. A passing Derry fan then told them to stop.
11/07/2011, 5:54 PM
Mypost can be believed, he outlined the flying from Sligo thing in great detail afterall...are you trying to doubt such logic?
The Galway, Sligo and Derry flight services are suspended from July 22nd. The flight from Dublin to Derry even left on time on Friday night. Bah humbug!! :(
Last night a Derry City supporters bus was attacked outside Dalymount. The front windscreen was smashed. Derry City supporters later told the media, we won't be crying to anyone who'll listen about the bad football supporters in Dublin, as we aren't as easily scare s***less as some supporters from Dublin. We could of course boycott the place with some watery excuse similar to what others have done, but we are made of better stuff than that.