View Full Version : Weekend Latest (w/e 24 June)

Pages : 1 2 [3]

26/06/2011, 1:21 AM
4-0. I dunno what to make of Harps now.

26/06/2011, 2:04 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xswRGUZrrG8

Anyone at the game will understand, what a legend.

Fivesilver
26/06/2011, 10:00 AM
Re: Sligo v Rovers. Watching this game as a neutral and it was a very good performance from Sligo with the difference being several Shamrock Rovers players did not turn up. Sligo were superb with even Ndo tackling hard and they hunted in packs - with Ryan being the only real underperformer for me. Mind you Ndo was not as good as the tv lads were saying as he mispassed several times. Alan Kirby was the stand out player for me and deserved his standing ovation near the end but Sligo were the more passionate side and this was confirmed by the way they all piled on top of each other when the second went in. Blinkhorn wound Sives up something chronic and Doyle has the potential to be a very good player at this level whilst possibly making Sligo some money if this does happen. Buttimer was very good apart from not giving a penalty to both sides. Very good atmosphere generated by both sets of fans by the way and it sounded good on the telly - well done for braving the elements.

Pretty good summation - except the bit in bold suggests you didn't see much of him over the second half of last season, when he was dispossessing opponents for fun.

maksimir
26/06/2011, 11:36 AM
To be honest based in Cork I would'nt have seen much of Ndo recently! - Only what I see on the telly, but it's just that he always struck me as more of an 'arty' player who sprays the ball all over the park, instead of being a hard tackler so fair play to him. Also you're dead right about not seeing much in the 2nd half of last season or any 2nd half of a season as RTE seem to stop showing matches later on apart from the cup final. FWIW Sligo could push for the title but only if they work as hard as they did the other night - the psychological win over Shamrock Rovers should raise any lack of belief some players might have had, as the skill, attitude and togetherness is there. It is now over to the management of Sligo, Shamrock Rovers and St.Pats and barring injuries the strongest management team will see their side over the line - because if any of those were a lot better than the other two plus Derry then they'd be running away with it - and no team is.

passerrby
26/06/2011, 7:51 PM
A good won for the mons but made easy by the sending offs

bluemovie
26/06/2011, 8:16 PM
Cork 2 Blues 3. First time I properly enjoyed a match since October. Caretaker manager Paul O'Brien is having the Dalglish Effect. Massive improvement in team spirit, attack-mindedness and overall quality. Still not getting promoted, but things are a lot brighter than they were a month ago.

bullit
26/06/2011, 10:25 PM
This time last week Shams were 2/5 for the leauge.Now double that price @ 4/5,with Pats 100/30 and Sligo 4/1 .....
http://www.paddypower.com/football/irish-football/airtricity-league-premier-division?ev_oc_grp_ids=104106

jafrazer
27/06/2011, 9:13 AM
http://vimeo.com/25623671

28/06/2011, 6:59 PM
Dundalk 1-0 Bray (Quigley 10')

(Didnt know where else to put tonights scores..

bullit
28/06/2011, 7:13 PM
1-1 now in Bray. O'Connor for bray.

bullit
28/06/2011, 7:15 PM
2 - 1 to Dundalk ,Quigley from the spot for Dundalk and Joe Kendrick sent off foe Bray.

28/06/2011, 7:16 PM
Dundalk back in front. 1-2. Quigley

bullit
28/06/2011, 7:29 PM
Dundalk 3- 1 up now with a Quigly 1st half hat-trick

28/06/2011, 7:33 PM
Bray 1-3 Dundalk HT

White Horse
28/06/2011, 7:41 PM
Dundalk 3- 1 up now with a Quigly 1st half hat-trick

Not bad for a player deemed not good enough to get into a squad of 35 LOI players.

28/06/2011, 8:03 PM
Not bad for a player deemed not good enough to get into a squad of 35 LOI players.

Which strikers selected would you have him ahead of? Apart from Byrne, obviously

bullit
28/06/2011, 8:09 PM
Dundalk 4 -1 up now,Young mark Griffin with the goal !

White Horse
28/06/2011, 8:31 PM
Which strikers selected would you have him ahead of? Apart from Byrne, obviously

I'd take him ahead of any of the selected strikers.

He creates goals out of nothing. The LOI team will be feeding off scaps in the Dublin Super Cup. All those selected are decent forwards but they need service. I probably wouldn't have selected 16 midfielders and only 5 forwards.

bullit
28/06/2011, 8:37 PM
F/T @ The Carlisle grounds : Bray W 1 DundalkFC 5 (Keith Ward got the 5th.)

Ezeikial
28/06/2011, 11:11 PM
The 5-1 did not flatter Dundalk tonight, but does not tell the full story. With Bray down to 10 men after only 30 minutes with Joe Kendrick's red card and concession of a penalty, it was always going to be an uphill struggle to get themselves back into the game - but they certainly gave it a go and were unlucky not to equalise before Quigley completed his first half hatrick.

Even at that Bray continued to make chances and the match was still alive before Mark Griffin scored the fourth - thats his 6th goal in only 9 starts.

MOTM performance from Mark Quigley, who is in exceptional form lately, with Griffin, Bolger and Ward also doing well.

With 13 goals scored in the last 3 games, Friday night against Bohs cannot come quickly enough.

HomerJay
29/06/2011, 2:39 AM
Personally from watching Quigley, I think he is the best player in the league on pure quality. (And i said this before a hattrick tonight), there's players like danny north playing brilliant and that but i wouldnt take another striker in the league over quigley. He hasnt got too many lately as he was played on the wing.

PartySaint
29/06/2011, 3:01 PM
Quigley is the best striker in the league for me, He has everything, Ran the show for Dundalk last night but Buttiner did ruin the game with the red card and some other bizarre decisions

29/06/2011, 3:11 PM
In fairness lads for the last 4 years I've said Quigley is BY FAR the most talented player in the league.

Still wouldn't have him at pats though (and wouldn't have him ahead of Twigg either). Don't rate Zayed but he'st op scorer so probably deserves to be in there

Quayman
29/06/2011, 5:27 PM
Quigley is the best striker in the league for me, He has everything, Ran the show for Dundalk last night but Buttiner did ruin the game with the red card and some other bizarre decisions

Last man tackle on the six yard box to avert a clear goal(he was never going to miss from there) defo a red for preventing the goal.

Ezeikial
29/06/2011, 5:56 PM
Buttiner did ruin the game with the red card and some other bizarre decisions

Agree with Quayman that the ref had no option but to issue the red card. If the game was ruined as a contest that was down to Kendrick not Buttimer.

Some of his decisions though were a bit strange. A free out when the Bray defender stooped very low to head the ball was strange enough but to book Griffin for his challenge was certainly bizarre. Not the worst referring performance though overall

hoopy
29/06/2011, 7:16 PM
that's fit sure, is it? Think you're being a bit premature there.

I don't think so

29/06/2011, 7:18 PM
No, either do I now...

WindmillWarrior
30/06/2011, 12:40 PM
great win for Dundalk - did their fans enjoy it though? Did they even make it?
http://www.thebohs.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=19&t=16512

White Horse
30/06/2011, 12:55 PM

Around two hundred made it and enjoyed a suberb performance.

As you mention, there are reports of a disgraceful drunken incident on a train. Thankfully, the Guards are investigating and I hope that the people involved will be dealt with in the courts.

Quayman
30/06/2011, 1:00 PM

You are spouting some amount fo cr@p around all the internet forums. Stop wumming.
There was a small minority of little toe rags, not real fans, one is actually on here, who where taken of the train. I was on the same train and moved away from them. All of them ended up at the game somehow. Hopefully they all get whats coming to them and they get their due publicity in the papers for the wrong reasons.

WindmillWarrior
30/06/2011, 1:06 PM
You are spouting some amount fo cr@p around all the internet forums. Stop wumming.
There was a small minority of little toe rags, not real fans, one is actually on here, who where taken of the train. I was on the same train and moved away from them. All of them ended up at the game somehow. Hopefully they all get whats coming to them and they get their due publicity in the papers for the wrong reasons.

I'm not wumming, and its true anyway! You said so yourself. And I posted it here and on the Drogs forum - hardly "round all the internet forums"!!

30/06/2011, 1:28 PM
Bet you creamed your knickers when you seen this.

But yeah, totally disgraceful behaviour.

WindmillWarrior
30/06/2011, 1:47 PM
Bet you creamed your knickers when you seen this.

Dunny! I was disgusted when I seen this, but tbh I wasn't in the least bit surprised.

30/06/2011, 3:15 PM
IBV captain lets it slip that they have watched more than one dvd.

"We have watched a number of their games and they are a strong team. They play 'kick and run' football and everyone is pretty strong, so this is probably going to be a rough game. Our goal is to hold the ball down and play through them."

30/06/2011, 6:52 PM
Bet you creamed your knickers when you seen this..

not the most appropriate phraseology there Dunny given the hi-jinks that went on... ;)

30/06/2011, 6:54 PM
Your thoughts, not mine.... ;)

Quayman
03/07/2011, 8:38 AM
I'm not wumming, and its true anyway! You said so yourself. And I posted it here and on the Drogs forum - hardly "round all the internet forums"!!

They are animals. All you have to do is look at "the shed" for any of their home games and you can see the sort of people we're talking about. Its been like that for as long as I've been going to the LOI as well - longer than I'd care to remember!!

Taken off the FROGS forum:

If its been like this for as long as you have been going to LOI matches then you will remember that away fans used to gather at one end of the shed so perhaps all the time you where looking at your own 6 fingered 6 toed buddies!