View Full Version : Weekend Latest (w/e 24 June)

Pages : 1 [2] 3

24/06/2011, 8:32 PM
Good win for Rovers.

24/06/2011, 8:33 PM
MON will be crying into his whiskey tonight...

24/06/2011, 8:34 PM
FT Bohs 2 - Drogs 0

24/06/2011, 8:34 PM
Looks like Limerick have messed up against Wexford again.....2-2

24/06/2011, 8:35 PM
Wexford 2 Limerick 3 (Judge, Quinn, OG)

bullit
24/06/2011, 8:36 PM
Finished 6-1 here in Oriel .

24/06/2011, 8:36 PM
Ye're not the only ones messing up. Shels will run away with this league I think. Far too consistent.

24/06/2011, 8:37 PM
Wexford 2 Limerick 3 (Judge, Quinn, OG)

Feck ye anyway

Jesus I hope we hold out now.

Finished at the cross. Very disappointing.

24/06/2011, 8:38 PM
Finished at the cross. Very disappointing.

no consolation im sure but sounds like a cracker. Good to have a competitive Munster derby.

24/06/2011, 8:43 PM
Thank u waterford!!!!

Hibs4Ever
24/06/2011, 8:48 PM
Shams losing, Derry drawing, great night for the Saints :D

24/06/2011, 8:52 PM
6 minutes added on in Wexford. O'Leary stretchered off, hopefully its not serious but it sounds it. We have awful luck with injuries.

bullit
24/06/2011, 9:03 PM
http://www.rte.ie/aertel/images/236-01.gif

*Table is not inclusive of all of tonights results.*

24/06/2011, 9:57 PM
Well..... That was easy. :)

Guinney
24/06/2011, 10:07 PM
Well..... That was easy. :)

Very easy, Galway were poor to say the least and we didn't even have to move into second gear.

24/06/2011, 10:17 PM
A great night tonight. 7 points clear and a game in hand. Next stop Gortakeegan...

24/06/2011, 10:33 PM
Thank u waterford!!!!
We were appalling at the back tonight. Kavanaghs red last week upset things no doubt.
Chocolate wrists is back to form spilling a terrible first.
The second was a soft penalty and the third another criminal lapse.
We got what we deserved.
Promotion now an even more remote possibility.

GalwayRed
24/06/2011, 10:33 PM
That win sets us up nicely for Monaghan next week. Didn't play all that well but its good to keep the winning streak going.

PartySaint
24/06/2011, 10:52 PM
Another good night for us tonight with Derry and Rovers dropping points, after Bray went down to 10 they dominated the game and should really have equalised at the end only to be stopped by a Gary Rogers save that is by far the best save I have seen in years

Not going to get too carried away about being top because I think Rovers will beat us next week to reclaim that spot but delighted non the less:)

peadar1987
25/06/2011, 12:03 AM
I logged on fully expecting to see a petty squabble based on flimsy allegations which would continue on long after it had ceased to be interesting, but instead was subjected to some sort of mature discussion of the night's footballing action. This site has gone to the dogs!

25/06/2011, 12:12 AM
I logged on fully expecting to see a petty squabble based on flimsy allegations which would continue on long after it had ceased to be interesting, but instead was subjected to some sort of mature discussion of the night's footballing action. This site has gone to the dogs!

That's cos all the Hoops (except our Charlie) are making their way back from the Showgies.
Don't worry, normal service will resume tomorrow.

Ezeikial
25/06/2011, 12:16 AM
While Dundalk scored an easy win against a dispirited Galway side there were some interesting asides from the match.

Jason Byrne made a long awaiting return as a sub tonight after missing the last 8 games, with the youngster who has replaced him, Mark Griffin (who only made his full league debut against UCD in late May), grabbing his 5th goal in those 8 games. This lad, who only turned 20 last week had been a revelation, being man-of-the-match in most of those games. Any scouts coming to watch Danny Kearns would surely be going away with more notes taken down about Griffin.

Greg Bolger and Keith Ward also netted their first league goals for the club, but of greater significance is that Bolger is at last finding the form that was anticipated when he signed.

With Stephen Maher also making a long awaiting return as sub, it should not be long before he is looking to nail down a spot alongside Bolger in midfield.

Next weeks fixtures are of hugh importance to Dundalk if they are to force their way back in to the league shake-up. It might be a big ask but a victory on Tuesday night in Bray would take Dundalk level with Bohs ahead of their meeting in Oriel on Friday night.

bullit
25/06/2011, 12:44 AM
Its says a lot of what Dundalk fans think of the security in Tallaght when there will be three times as many of our fans in the Carlisle Grounds on Tuesday as there was up in yon kip on the same day last week !! ??

25/06/2011, 12:53 AM
That's cos all the Hoops (except our Charlie) are making their way back from the Showgies.
Don't worry, normal service will resume tomorrow.

I was marooned out in UCDD all day today, so not all...

Its says a lot of what Dundalk fans think of the security in Tallaght when there will be three times as many of our fans in the Carlisle Grounds on Tuesday as there was up in yon kip on the same day last week !! ??

Or further re-iterating Dundalk fans' poor judgement on all things football :disdain:

25/06/2011, 1:12 AM

Blasphemy!! How dare you call sdcc wonderland stadium a kip!!

bullit
25/06/2011, 1:53 AM
I was marooned out in UCDD all day today, so not all...

Or further re-iterating Dundalk fans' poor judgement on all things football :disdain:
Now yee have it.
I think my opinion is the one that is shared among those who go to yee and those who try to entertain yee !!

Ezeikial
25/06/2011, 2:01 AM

Bullit's post was obviously provocative and OTT in referring to the SDCC stadium as a "kip", but he was not passing comment on the "footballing finese" of the Hoops, but on the signficant security lapses in and around the stadium and the propensity of some Hoops "fans" for starting aggro.

You may not like the fact, but on both of Dundalk's last two visits there have been unprovoked attacks on visiting supporters. Tallaght Stadium has become a dangerous place for visiting fans and Bullit's prediction on more Dundalk fans being willing to travel to the Carlisle ground should bear out that reality.

25/06/2011, 2:19 AM
Tallaght Stadium has become a dangerous place for visiting fans and Bullit's prediction on more Dundalk fans being willing to travel to the Carlisle ground should bear out that reality.

Indeed. Or maybe it just reflects Dundalk fans' judgement on it. Fans who were celebrating promotion in a play-off that was never going to matter. Just because Dundalk fans proclaim it, it doesn't necessarily bear out in reality :)

bullit
25/06/2011, 2:30 AM
Talk fkn english and stop with the crapola !!

hoopy
25/06/2011, 10:43 AM
Scoreline flattered us last night, should've been more for Sligo. Stating the obvious I know but they were much the better side. One things for sure it'll be the last time Michael O'Neill is in charge of Rovers in the Showgrounds. A little aside, the pitch was in fantastic nick there again. Fair play to whoever looks after it, especially to hold up as well with all the rain.

25/06/2011, 11:35 AM
One things for sure it'll be the last time Michael O'Neill is in charge of Rovers in the Showgrounds

that's fit sure, is it? Think you're being a bit premature there.

25/06/2011, 11:49 AM
UCD well worth the point last night in the Bowl.

Derry rampant in the first quarter, could have been at least two up. Zayed miss :angry: Then UCD dropped Benson further back and their three in the middle, particulary Corry, ran the show. Corry bombed forward to cross it for the first(still reckon out defence should have stopped it. Neat finish by Marshall.

Then UCD were comfortable for the start of the second half. Couldn't honestly see how we were going to back into it. Boom, Lafferty header and we are back in the game. Then absolute disaster from Doherty to put them 2-1 up again. We starting throwing the kitchen sink at it then, Greacen gets the equaliser.

Then another Zayed miss from 6 yards out. To be fair UCD could have nicked it with one of the post near the end, whilst we had one ruled out for offsider which I think was dodgy.

UCD players that stood out of for me: Corry and Harding.

Back to the Bowl on Monday.

mcgonigle
25/06/2011, 12:33 PM
Indeed. Or maybe it just reflects Dundalk fans' judgement on it. Fans who were celebrating promotion in a play-off that was never going to matter. Just because Dundalk fans proclaim it, it doesn't necessarily bear out in reality :)

http://insurancezest.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/10/head-in-the-sand1.jpg

Bray-Z
25/06/2011, 1:22 PM
Not sure about the penalty last night. But I'm sure all Bray fans will say it never was while all Pat's fans will say it was blatant! Mitchell said after the game it hit him on the chest, not the hand/arm.

25/06/2011, 1:22 PM
Scoreline flattered us last night, should've been more for Sligo. Stating the obvious I know but they were much the better side. One things for sure it'll be the last time Michael O'Neill is in charge of Rovers in the Showgrounds. A little aside, the pitch was in fantastic nick there again. Fair play to whoever looks after it, especially to hold up as well with all the rain.

Cheers for that, Hoopy. hell of a game and, despite all the yellows, played in a good spirit so, well done, Champs, for that. As to the pitch, the guy who did the pitches at the last World Cup is from Sligo (George Mullan) and he advises so the difference is huge from the time when Nutsy was describing it as 'a farmers field'.

poster
25/06/2011, 1:30 PM
GET.IN.

Are Shams' fans actually calling for O'Neill's head? :hypnotized:

dong
25/06/2011, 1:37 PM
Happens after every game Shams lose. Fans are fickle, there were people calling for Cook's head at various stages last year and even this year.
In fairness though, given the strength and depth of the squad he has assembled, they should be top by a good margin by now.

25/06/2011, 1:49 PM
Every time I've seen Shamrock Rovers on telly its been nearly a different team. Well up front and a few changes in midfield anyway. Sometimes you can have too big of a squad trying to keep everyone happy. Just look at St.Pats, they seem to have a pretty settled team and its paying off.

If they get a settled 11 I think Shamrock Rovers will go on to win the league by a good few points but until then they will drop points here and there and give the other clubs incentive.

PartySaint
25/06/2011, 2:18 PM
Gary Rogers unbelievable 93rd minute save last night

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rw8oDtTd6sc&feature=player_embedded

peadar1987
25/06/2011, 2:24 PM
Gary Rogers unbelievable 93rd minute save last night

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rw8oDtTd6sc&feature=player_embedded

Grrr!

kdjaC
25/06/2011, 2:32 PM
Not sure about the penalty last night. But I'm sure all Bray fans will say it never was while all Pat's fans will say it was blatant! Mitchell said after the game it hit him on the chest, not the hand/arm.

I thought it was in but having seen the replay it does hit him on the hand possibly twice. When he slipped on the ground it looks like he moved the ball with his hand then when its smashed at him from 2 yards it does hit his hand. If its for the 2nd one it was harsh.

Bray-Z
25/06/2011, 2:36 PM
I thought it was in but having seen the replay it does hit him on the hand possibly twice. When he slipped on the ground it looks like he moved the ball with his hand then when its smashed at him from 2 yards it does hit his hand. If its for the 2nd one it was harsh.

Haven't seen the replay myself so can't comment but he says it never hit his hand. If it was the second I'd agree with ya, if what you said is true with the first one then perhaps its justified. What kind of view did the ref have it do you know?

25/06/2011, 4:41 PM
You can see it hitting his arm here

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3O44Z5zE-28

hoopy
25/06/2011, 8:32 PM
If they get a settled 11 I think Shamrock Rovers will go on to win the league by a good few points

I would be totally shocked if we didn't win the league but imop it would cover a multitude as far as O'Neill is concerned.

maksimir
25/06/2011, 8:56 PM
Re: Sligo v Rovers. Watching this game as a neutral and it was a very good performance from Sligo with the difference being several Shamrock Rovers players did not turn up. Sligo were superb with even Ndo tackling hard and they hunted in packs - with Ryan being the only real underperformer for me. Mind you Ndo was not as good as the tv lads were saying as he mispassed several times. Alan Kirby was the stand out player for me and deserved his standing ovation near the end but Sligo were the more passionate side and this was confirmed by the way they all piled on top of each other when the second went in. Blinkhorn wound Sives up something chronic and Doyle has the potential to be a very good player at this level whilst possibly making Sligo some money if this does happen. Buttimer was very good apart from not giving a penalty to both sides. Very good atmosphere generated by both sets of fans by the way and it sounded good on the telly - well done for braving the elements.

25/06/2011, 9:19 PM
2nd.:-D

26/06/2011, 12:00 AM
1st! :P

26/06/2011, 12:01 AM
wooo-hoooooooooooooo