View Full Version : Limerick Division 1A 2011/12

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27

Planners
19/08/2011, 9:49 AM
the mighty hibs

old git
19/08/2011, 2:30 PM
the mighty hibs

are you a fan now planners ,, they are playing again at home saturday night and you can view the mighty hibs in person :D

CupWinner99
19/08/2011, 2:38 PM
the mighty hibs
Your point???

Planners
19/08/2011, 4:57 PM
are you a fan now planners ,, they are playing again at home saturday night and you can view the mighty hibs in person :D

will do let you know what i think of the mighty hibs after

Bayern Munchies
19/08/2011, 5:26 PM
Very poor result for Hibs last night, they should be beating the likes of Pike B at home if they have aspirations of winning the league, long way in the season to go yet though...Some other maybe surprising results too with Mungret getting beat by Charliville and Granville getting beat by Carherconlish ...It will be a very intresting season this season, that's for sure

mulla
19/08/2011, 9:16 PM
great result for the dines!!
hard place to go and get a result.
another tough one sunday morning,albeit at home
well done to paul and the team

its early days but i think a good start is crucial and i think they will get stronger as the season goes on. Tough one sunday alright but its been a few seasons since 1a was this competitive i think so it will take 2 good teams to go up, besides the 3 that can't of course:)

Hibs7772
19/08/2011, 9:29 PM
Some shock results in the first group of games lads....any predictions for Saturday/Sundays matches?? :)

old git
19/08/2011, 11:19 PM
will do let you know what i think of the mighty hibs after

or you can wait untill next thursday to see the cream of shannon football in action when shannon town A V Hibs A met in an early local derby.

Zizou
20/08/2011, 9:35 AM
Very poor result for Hibs last night, they should be beating the likes of Pike B at home if they have aspirations of winning the league, long way in the season to go yet though...Some other maybe surprising results too with Mungret getting beat by Charliville and Granville getting beat by Carherconlish ...It will be a very intresting season this season, that's for sure
Intresting choice of language my friend. I'm sure Hibs will be delighted with you come the day of the rematch.. ;)
Everything you said after that was true though, very tough calling this division. And very early days.

theboywonder8
20/08/2011, 10:07 AM

What do you mean by the likes of pike b,they are in division 1A on merit,they have a very strong panel of players and will beat most teams in this division,a good few of their players have played for their a team,likes of sniffer,smackers and Frankie Stewart,and in Eddie lee and Jeffrey mc are probably two of the best players in this division,so your comment is way off the mark,wouldn't be one bit surprised if they won this division or the divisional cup,they definetly won't fear Shannon hibs anyway.

Bayern Munchies
20/08/2011, 1:18 PM
Intresting choice of language my friend. I'm sure Hibs will be delighted with you come the day of the rematch.. ;)
Everything you said after that was true though, very tough calling this division. And very early days.

What do you mean by the likes of pike b,they are in division 1A on merit,they have a very strong panel of players and will beat most teams in this division,a good few of their players have played for their a team,likes of sniffer,smackers and Frankie Stewart,and in Eddie lee and Jeffrey mc are probably two of the best players in this division,so your comment is way off the mark,wouldn't be one bit surprised if they won this division or the divisional cup,they definetly won't fear Shannon hibs anyway.

There was no disrespect to Pike B meant at all lads, just saying that when people were mentioning clubs who would go on to win the league nobody really mentioned Pike B while alot of people were mentioning Shannon Hibs as one of the favorites to go up, obviously Pike B will have some really top class players beacuase of the quality of the club and the first team there. But what I meant was that if you want to challenge for the league you're going to have to beat the so called weaker teams in the league this year but looking at the table there doesn't seem to be alot of weak teams in the league if any at all...

I think because of this result people will take a lot more notice of Pike B and maybe pay them the respect they deserve. Also you can take the player away from Pike but you can't take the Pike away from the player eh Zizou ;)....

theboywonder8
20/08/2011, 2:32 PM
People didn't talk about them because they cannot be promoted,but believe me they are as strong as any team in this division,and a lot stronger than park/hibs or whatever name they are these days,remember hibs played them in a cup final 2 years ago and they taught they had nothing to do but turn up and we all know what happened there,zizou's heart is in the right place.

AC Melon
20/08/2011, 2:44 PM
People didn't talk about them because they cannot be promoted,but believe me they are as strong as any team in this division,and a lot stronger than park/hibs or whatever name they are these days,remember hibs played them in a cup final 2 years ago and they taught they had nothing to do but turn up and we all know what happened there,zizou's heart is in the right place.
And might i ask you that season when Hibs and Pike played in the final of the cup who won the league that season? Pike B arent anything special..being honest Hibs team didnt turn up on the day and if they had, they would have played pike off the park.. first game of the season means nothing. Early days yet buddy.

Bayern Munchies
20/08/2011, 2:45 PM

That's true i suppose, I guess people were over-looking them because of the fact that they can't go up and maybe not showing them the respect they deserve because they're a b team. Yeah I remember that final, was watching it as a spectator and it was a good game thought Pike deserved there win that night alright and had some very good players on show, which i'm sure they've added even more quality to since. One thing for sure

Like i said and keep saying i'm sure first and second in the league table will change hands and teams so often as they're are so many teams that could take points off one another, it's crazy how competitive this league will be this season. Which you could say is refreshing considering how one or two sided the premier division has been in recent years.

Haha I'm sure he'll agree with you there too :p sound bloke too and a good footballer, bet Granville can't wait to have him back

Zizou
20/08/2011, 3:02 PM
I think because of this result people will take a lot more notice of Pike B and maybe pay them the respect they deserve. Also you can take the player away from Pike but you can't take the Pike away from the player eh Zizou ;)....

Pike Rovers fan all my life my friend. And while I give 100% for my club, I'll always support the Hoops aswell. Except maybe when we play them!! ;)

Zizou
20/08/2011, 3:06 PM
And might i ask you that season when Hibs and Pike played in the final of the cup who won the league that season? Pike B arent anything special..being honest Hibs team didnt turn up on the day and if they had, they would have played pike off the park.. first game of the season means nothing. Early days yet buddy.

You just keep digging you Clare boys don't you.. :)

Bayern Munchies
20/08/2011, 3:17 PM
Pike Rovers fan all my life my friend. And while I give 100% for my club, I'll always support the Hoops aswell. Except maybe when we play them!! ;)

I know that my man ;) fair play, Haha, Yeah can see you forgetting about the love when you play for 90 minutes anyway

BTW, who do ye still have from last years youths team and who has left?

van der wheil
20/08/2011, 5:23 PM

Pike B have a nice side but knowing all the players playing with them and Geraldines i feel the latter are far stronger particulary in defence.Pike will concede a lot of goals in my opinion as they are slow at the back.Fairview B are weak.I cannot speak for any other team in the division as know f all about any of them!

Zizou
20/08/2011, 5:54 PM
Pike B have a nice side but knowing all the players playing with them and Geraldines i feel the latter are far stronger particulary in defence.Pike will concede a lot of goals in my opinion as they are slow at the back.Fairview B are weak.I cannot speak for any other team in the division as know f all about any of them!

You playing this year Van?

ProEvo
20/08/2011, 7:00 PM

Well you didnt play them of the park. u should be more honest and say the better team won on the day instead of making excuses.

allab
20/08/2011, 7:56 PM
shannon hibs 4 balla 1.. the 2 wingers for hibs very good players! well deserved win good footballing team

lankyboy26
20/08/2011, 8:08 PM
good result for you lanky ,any report?saw first half of the dines game v shannon,dines played the better football so not surprised they ran out winners.

Well pal, sorry for delay. i missed the first half hour of the game but i heard Mungret should've been at least 1-0 up by then. We rode our luck according to the lads. It's a tough place to grind out a result in fairness. it was 0-0 at half time. we improved immensely in the second half and we limited Mungret to maybe one or two chances, i thought our keeper and back 4 were outstanding. we created very little ourselves in fairness but the goal was deserved i thought because we were the better team second half and from a free kick from player/manager Scott Haworth, he put in a great ball which John Barry (Bagsy) finished from close range. after that we missed a one-on-one to seal a 2-0 win which would've been very harsh on Mungret. From talking to both Mungret and Charleville players i would say a draw would've been a fair result but we are obviously delighted with the win. I will find it tough to get my place back in the team now! unless the gaffer decides to play me up front...We play Croom tomorrow which will be another tough battle as always. Very hard to know who will do well this year, just going by Park, they lost 5-1 to Pike, then beat balla 4-1, after balla beating Caherdavin 6-2 so its gonna be a strange season...

Zizou
21/08/2011, 12:46 AM
shannon hibs 4 balla 1.. the 2 wingers for hibs very good players! well deserved win good footballing team

5-2 Thurs, to 4-1 Sat?? This division is nuts.

Planners
21/08/2011, 8:30 AM
the mighty hibs it was brillant to watch cant wait for the next game.

Goals4fun
21/08/2011, 8:49 AM
planners grow up....at ur age i would have thought your obsession with hibs would have waivered but i guess i am wrong....

on another note, can't believe people are talking about the hibs v pike final 2 yrs ago, i played that night and it wasn't that good a game to be still talking about now.....but for people to believe that hibs thought they just had to turn up etc etc is a joke. they played twice in the league that year and both games very close.....and there was a goal between the teams at the end of the game....and yes the best team on the night won, pike b, if you check back on my posts you will see i said that back then..

anyway mixed start for hibs this year, loss and win, just shows the league will be competitive

best of luck to all teams....

Zizou
21/08/2011, 9:04 AM
planners grow up....at ur age i would have thought your obsession with hibs would have waivered but i guess i am wrong....

on another note, can't believe people are talking about the hibs v pike final 2 yrs ago, i played that night and it wasn't that good a game to be still talking about now.....but for people to believe that hibs thought they just had to turn up etc etc is a joke. they played twice in the league that year and both games very close.....and there was a goal between the teams at the end of the game....and yes the best team on the night won, pike b, if you check back on my posts you will see i said that back then..

anyway mixed start for hibs this year, loss and win, just shows the league will be competitive

best of luck to all teams....

As ever, frank, honest and correct. Well said old buddy.

Planners
21/08/2011, 9:47 AM

ing fiend
best of luck to all teams.... as i said the mighty hibs- what do you mean grow up great to see ye win look forward to next game.

van der wheil
21/08/2011, 1:24 PM
You playing this year Van?

LOL - i wish.Been about 20 years since i hung the boots up!

champs09
21/08/2011, 1:29 PM
pike b 5 mungret 4
any other results

Bayern Munchies
21/08/2011, 1:35 PM
Another very impressive win for Pike and another loss for Mungret, and the funny thing is it still wouldn't surprise me to see Mungret go up this year...crazy league, glad I can just sit back and enjoy :p

21/08/2011, 1:55 PM
Caherdavin 2-1 Shannon T
Geraldines 1-0 Caherconlish

lankyboy26
21/08/2011, 2:59 PM
Fairview B 3 Granville 2

theboywonder8
21/08/2011, 4:15 PM
Pikeb,10 goals scored,very impressive,all the tipsters that tipped Shannon town,it's not going too well,and also the mungret tipsters,2 defeats for both,not good.

Zizou
21/08/2011, 4:31 PM
Fairview B 3-2 Granville
An absolute shocker for us this game. The home side fought harder, tried more, and took their chances, to condemn us to our second defeat in two. Nothing more to add really. Danny Henehan and Joe Horan with our goals. Back to the drawing board for Charleville Thursday. At least we're at home.

lankyboy26
21/08/2011, 4:39 PM
Fairview B 3-2 Granville
An absolute shocker for us this game. The home side fought harder, tried more, and took their chances, to condemn us to our second defeat in two. Nothing more to add really. Danny Henehan and Joe Horan with our goals. Back to the drawing board for Charleville Thursday. At least we're at home.

Thursday should be a good game Zizou, we are not playing that well but managing to get the wins. We need to improve a lot. I saw the last half hour of yere game today, ye weren't at it at all. Fairview are nowhere near as good as last year. Thought yere second goal was a cracker, great volley

van der wheil
21/08/2011, 5:19 PM
Fairview B 3-2 Granville

Ye wont be troubling the judge this year Zizou!

Zizou
21/08/2011, 5:34 PM
Thursday should be a good game Zizou, we are not playing that well but managing to get the wins. We need to improve a lot. I saw the last half hour of yere game today, ye weren't at it at all. Fairview are nowhere near as good as last year. Thought yere second goal was a cracker, great volley

Ya, only bright spark for us today was that finish. See you Thursday bud.

Zizou
21/08/2011, 5:41 PM
Ye wont be troubling the judge this year Zizou!

I'm tired and very cantankerous this evening van my man, you'll have to explain that one to me buddy.

old git
21/08/2011, 7:00 PM
I'm tired and very cantankerous this evening van my man, you'll have to explain that one to me buddy.

think he is saying on form so far ye wont be winning league or getting promoted this year !!

Hibs7772
22/08/2011, 12:10 AM

yes both very good players, both very tricky and have alot of pace. will do damage to any team in the division.

abbeyvale
22/08/2011, 12:15 AM
1 Pike Rvs B 2 2 0 0 10 6 6
2 Geraldines 2 2 0 0 4 1 6
3 Charleville 2 2 0 0 3 1 6
4 Ballynanty Rvs 2 1 0 1 7 6 3
5 Shannon Hibs 2 1 0 1 6 6 3
6 Fairview Rgs B 2 1 0 1 4 4 3
7 Croom Utd 2 1 0 1 3 3 3
8 Caherconlish 2 1 0 1 2 2 3
9 Caherdavin Celtic 2 1 0 1 4 7 3
10 Mungret Reg 2 0 0 2 4 6 0
11 Granville Rgs 2 0 0 2 3 5 0
12 Shannon Town 2 0 0 2 2 5 0

Fixtures
Thur 25/08/11 @ 6.30pm
Caherconlish A V Fairview B, R Broe
Geraldines V Caherdavin, D Broughton
Granville V Charleville, J McNamara
Shannon Town V Shannon Hibs, M Weldon
Croom V Pike Rovers B, J Clancy
Ballynanty V Mungret Regional, Bateman Park, O Hayes

Sun 28/08/11
Caherdavin V Caherconlish A, 10.30, A Keogh
Charleville V Fairview B, 10.30, T Mazur
Shannon Hibs V Geraldines, 10.30, K Gorman
Pike Rovers B V Granville, 10.30, J Carey
Mungret Regional V Shannon Town, 10.30, S Rooney
Ballynanty V Croom, 10.30, R Broe

Thur 01/09/11 @ 6.30pm
Caherconlish A V Charleville, J McNamara
Caherdavin V Shannon Hibs,, R Hennessy
Fairview B V Pike Rovers B, D Power
Geraldines V Mungret Regional, R Broe
Granville V Ballynanty, J Carey
Shannon Town V Croom Utd, O Hayes

Zizou
22/08/2011, 8:13 AM
1 pike rvs b 2 2 0 0 10 6 6
2 geraldines 2 2 0 0 4 1 6
3 charleville 2 2 0 0 3 1 6
4 ballynanty rvs 2 1 0 1 7 6 3
5 shannon hibs 2 1 0 1 6 6 3
6 fairview rgs b 2 1 0 1 4 4 3
7 croom utd 2 1 0 1 3 3 3
8 caherconlish 2 1 0 1 2 2 3
9 caherdavin celtic 2 1 0 1 4 7 3
10 mungret reg 2 0 0 2 4 6 0
11 granville rgs 2 0 0 2 3 5 0
12 shannon town 2 0 0 2 2 5 0

fixtures
thur 25/08/11 @ 6.30pm
caherconlish a v fairview b, r broe
geraldines v caherdavin, d broughton
granville v charleville, j mcnamara
shannon town v shannon hibs, m weldon
croom v pike rovers b, j clancy
ballynanty v mungret regional, bateman park, o hayes

sun 28/08/11
caherdavin v caherconlish a, 10.30, a keogh
charleville v fairview b, 10.30, t mazur
shannon hibs v geraldines, 10.30, k gorman
pike rovers b v granville, 10.30, j carey
mungret regional v shannon town, 10.30, s rooney
ballynanty v croom, 10.30, r broe

thur 01/09/11 @ 6.30pm
caherconlish a v charleville, j mcnamara
caherdavin v shannon hibs,, r hennessy
fairview b v pike rovers b, d power
geraldines v mungret regional, r broe
granville v ballynanty, j carey
shannon town v croom utd, o hayes

:D :D

prawnsandwich2
22/08/2011, 8:21 AM
Fairview B 3-2 Granville

correct in all of your summations.
all fairview's goals scored by niall mullen.
a centre half by nature but played in midfield,he won a FAI minor with fairview two seasons back.,

prawnsandwich2
22/08/2011, 8:30 AM
Caherdavin 2-1 Shannon T
Geraldines 1-0 Caherconlish

well done the dines....not a great match,but paul won't be overly concerned about it,good start to the league for them.
very tough division to get out of and some surprising results so far,with both mungret and granville(both of whom were a lot of people's tips) with no points from 2.
a long long way to go yet,but i would be delighted to see the dines get promotion.
a lot of people involved have put in their time selflessly without seeing any sort of reward in recent years.
the midweek matches,both at the start and end of the season,can stretch a team,but if you are still in the hunt when the matches revert to sundays only ,your in with a good chance

Forever Red
22/08/2011, 9:02 AM
Pikeb,10 goals scored,very impressive,all the tipsters that tipped Shannon town,it's not going too well,and also the mungret tipsters,2 defeats for both,not good.

Pike Rvs 5 - 4 Mungret

Disappointing result for us but can't say we deserved anything from this on. Pike were full value for 3pts although we could of nicked a point late on after coming from 5-2 to 5-4 in last ten mins.
It really is a mad league 2 rounds of fixtures and not one draw yet!!
I think once we get our first win under our belts we'll be ok, pretty much a new team following our few departures. Roll on thurs!!

Zizou
22/08/2011, 9:17 AM
Pike Rvs 5 - 4 Mungret

Disappointing result for us but can't say we deserved anything from this on. Pike were full value for 3pts although we could of nicked a point late on after coming from 5-2 to 5-4 in last ten mins.
It really is a mad league 2 rounds of fixtures and not one draw yet!!
I think once we get our first win under our belts we'll be ok, pretty much a new team following our few departures. Roll on thurs!!

I feel your pain Red. We too were many peoples tip, but its a very tough and seemingly very equal division. But with 20 games to go, very hard to call anything.

AC Melon
22/08/2011, 11:39 PM
Caherconlish A 2-1 Fairview B
Geraldines 3-0 Caherdavin
Granville 2-0 Charleville
Shannon Town 1-4 Shannon Hibs
Croom 1-1 Pike Rovers B
Ballynanty 1-3 Mungret Regional

Predictions.

lankyboy26
22/08/2011, 11:47 PM
Croom 1-1 Pike Rovers B
Ballynanty 1-3 Mungret Regional

Predictions.

some strange predictions there lad......

Caherconlish 2 Fairview B 0
Geraldines 1 Caherdavin 1
Shannon Town 2 Park 2
Croom 3 Pike B 4
Balla 2 Mungret 1

deadly man
23/08/2011, 12:59 AM
Croom 1-1 Pike Rovers B