View Full Version : Italy V Republic of Ireland - Tuesday, 7th June 2011 - Friendly - Liege
Yard of Pace
07/06/2011, 10:11 PM
The team-spirit we currently have is a joy to behold. A serious amount of absolute stalwarts on this team now. I've fallen hard in love with Stephen Hunt. I love the way he laughs and smiles when he gets involved with the ref or the opposition, he's a gas character.
Fixer82
07/06/2011, 10:13 PM
watching it on TG4. Jaysus Seán Bán Breathnach could sound a bit more excited about Andrews' goal
IsMiseSean
07/06/2011, 10:14 PM
Seán Bán Breathnach commentating on TG4 just sounds weird....
Razors left peg
07/06/2011, 10:16 PM
A lesson tonight for the "tired" lads about pride in the jersey. Fantastic committment and organisation from all Invilved. This end of season get together over the last few weeks could be the making of this irish squad
07/06/2011, 10:18 PM
Not only does Cox almost do a Phil Babb with the goal posts, watch at 1.17, where one of the Ireland coaches cracks his head whilst celebrating the goal in the dug out.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dFa31oE5ibI&feature=player_embedded#at=79
1:19 Hunt kicks Cox.
Also at previously I made a comment about the defense being like the red arrows display team, now
take a look at 0.09 may just be pure coincidence but it looks like there are in some sort of formation there?
You only catch a glimpse of it but it looks like a formation with 5 players equal spaced in a V or a circle
and Andrews at the head of it.
Probably just me going nuts though ;)
07/06/2011, 10:18 PM
did anyone else notice, at half time, Tardelli turned and shook Trapattoni's hand, but he was sat in the dug out and just shook it calmly?
Murfinator
07/06/2011, 10:21 PM
Very good result considering the team we had out
rebelmusic
07/06/2011, 10:32 PM
I think Trap was remaining calm out of respect to his homeland which to me is a positive mark of the man. When a player scores against his old club and doesn't celebrate he is commended, Trap should be too for his composure. As the commentator on Sky said, he was probably doing cartwheels inside as on top of everything else, it keeps his status amongst the Italian media as a Legend. Italy havent defeated Ireland under Trap in 3 outings, that's a commendable statistic for any manager.
Real ale Madrid
07/06/2011, 10:40 PM
Just back from Liege, dry but not sure how.
Fair play to the side tonight - our lads made a great effort to entertain the few hundred Irish instead of the lazy Itialians who didn't try at all for the 20,000 that showed up. Thought St. Ledger was excellent, but all our defenders were comfortable throughout. Even Paul "Messi" McShane looked good at times. Very compact all over the pitch which is something I haven't seen before - makes the Russia performance all the more puzzling - if we can maintain this spirit and a bit of luck with injuries, no reason why we could not top the group.
07/06/2011, 10:40 PM
OK, I'll start with the negatives.
Passing & ball retention. Flippin' awful.
Foley looked lost I thought.
But that's all.
The positives:
Hunt.
We are very solid without the ball.
We have credible back up in most positions. The less appreciated players like O'Dea and McShane both did pretty well, and Ward did fine tonight.
For years we have been lacking in character and leadership. This team, without Dunne, Given, Robbie and Doyle - all strong characters - had real bottle about them. Sleeves up, stuck in, concentrated, disciplined, organised and committed. A team fill of winners and full of personality.
2 more goals. I don't know how we do it, but this team has goals in it.
The result doesn't count for a whole lot, but the last 2 weeks has seen game time and new caps for important fringe players, a great bonding exercise and a great confidence booster.
Hunt again.
I'm well chuffed. I agree with PO'S that qualification is the yardstick but right now I've a lot of belief in Trap.
07/06/2011, 10:57 PM
Not to tempt fate, but would this be our first away win against higher ranked opposition in God knows how long? Depends how long "God knows how long" is. Amsterdam 2004? Denmark 2007?
Celtinaccio? Patenaccio? (an old Stuttgart joke re-hashed)
07/06/2011, 11:02 PM
Is the current forward roster the best we've ever had - in terms of strength in depth? OK, so the likes of Quinn, Stapleton, Aldo etc. were all greats, but they weren't all at their peak at the same time. Put another way, are our 5th and 6th best forwards the best 5th and 6th best we've ever had? You know what I mean...
Robbie
Doyle
Long
Cox
Walters
Best
Then Hunt, Keogh, Murphy. Sammon too. Cheerio Stokes.
Razors left peg
07/06/2011, 11:15 PM
Just as a matter of interest , was Noel hunt injured or just not selected ?
EastTerracer
07/06/2011, 11:28 PM
Just not selected in the squad.
EastTerracer
07/06/2011, 11:32 PM
Avoided the score all afternoon here in New York and just watched the whole thing on TG4. Glad to say I had a little touch on Ireland to win at 4/1.
Despite lots of people claiming these matches were meaningless it has been one of the most beneficial two weeks I can remember. Apart from the crucial 3 points on Saturday we managed 4 clean sheets and opportunities for most of the squad to get matches under their belt. This will all stand to us in September.
Sean Ban Breathnach is clueless but did find a few new players - Chris Andrews, Steven Cox, Simon Treacy!!!! What's the Irish for muppet?
07/06/2011, 11:41 PM
Just back from Liege, dry but not sure how.
The camera picked out one of the Irish fans wearing a black teeshirt with Real Ale in bold type.
Sin Sin, I really enjoyed that. Has to be one of the best performances in a friendly.
I thought our passing was better than saturday. I'd say we hit the highest nr of completed passes made in ages.
Sean Ban's commentary - names and pronunciation were incidental.
Very pleased with the effort of Keogh, more so in the 1st half. McShane, the droch passes aside, did well. Coleman just grew into the game especially 2nd half. Forde had a very solid game, sucked every last second from his kick outs.
07/06/2011, 11:49 PM
Excellent performance. Nothing more to be said.
Fixer82
08/06/2011, 12:09 AM
Avoided the score all afternoon here in New York and just watched the whole thing on TG4. Glad to say I had a little touch on Ireland to win at 4/1.
Despite lots of people claiming these matches were meaningless it has been one of the most beneficial two weeks I can remember. Apart from the crucial 3 points on Saturday we managed 4 clean sheets and opportunities for most of the squad to get matches under their belt. This will all stand to us in September.
Sean Ban Breathnach is clueless but did find a few new players - Chris Andrews, Steven Cox, Simon Treacy!!!! What's the Irish for muppet?
Muipéad! ;)
08/06/2011, 12:26 AM
Not selected, scored in the play off final though.
I follow him on twitter, daft as a brush!
08/06/2011, 12:27 AM
few people saying the Italian team were sub par or weakened
Baring this in mind I had a look at how each player did this season at club level, taking in stats from wikipedia and soccernet
Name Age Caps Club 2010/2011 Appearances/goals*
Emiliano Viviano 25 6 Bologna 16th in Serie A** 40/0
Alessandro Gamberini 29 8 Fiorentina 9th in Serie A 35/1
Giorgio Chiellini 26 42 Juventus 7th in Serie A 49/4
Domenico Criscito 24 15 Genoa 10th in Serie A 42/0
Mattia Cassani 27 8 Palermo 8th in Serie A 47/0
Andrea Pirlo 32 74 AC Milan 1st in Serie A 33/2
Claudio Marchisio 25 13 Juventus 7th in Serie A 37/4
Antonio Nocerino 26 5 Palermo 8th in Serie A 38/4
Riccardo Montolivo 26 24 Fiorentina 9th in Serie A 37/2
Giampaolo Pazzini 26 18 Inter 2nd in Serie A 40/12
Giuseppe Rossi 24 23 Villareal 4th in La Liga 57/32
Subs
Federico Balzaretti 29 4 Palermo 8th in Serie A 43/2
Angelo Palombo 29 22 Sampdoria 18th in Serie A 46/1
Alberto Gilardino 28 47 Fiorentina 9th in Serie A 41/13
Alessandro Matri 26 2 Juventus 7th in Serie A 38/20
Sebastian Giovinco 24 4 Parma 12th in Serie A 30/7
*including international appearances
**would have been 14th deducted 3 points this season
Compared to a full strength team, yes they were lacking, but if we had any player with over 30 games in Serie A they'd be straight into the first team, no question
08/06/2011, 1:02 AM
just for reference here is the italian team in a recent competive Euro 2012 match v Slovenia.
Italy Buffon, Bonucci, Balzaretti, Maggio, Chiellini, Motta, Mauri (Nocerino 63), Aquilani, Montolivo (Marchisio 87), Cassano (Rossi 74), Pazzini.
Subs Not Used: Viviano, Criscito, Gilardino, Gastaldello.
CraftyToePoke
08/06/2011, 3:13 AM
Is the current forward roster the best we've ever had - in terms of strength in depth? OK, so the likes of Quinn, Stapleton, Aldo etc. were all greats, but they weren't all at their peak at the same time. Put another way, are our 5th and 6th best forwards the best 5th and 6th best we've ever had? You know what I mean...
Robbie
Doyle
Long
Cox
Walters
Best
Then Hunt, Keogh, Murphy. Cheerio Stokes.
I would say so, I mean if you consider for example we headed off to USA 94 with
Cascarino, then of Chelsea - (English first tier)
David Kelly, then at Wolves - (English second tier)
John Aldridge, by then winding down at Tranmere (English second tier)
Tommy Coyne, of Motherwell - (Scottish first tier)
Or Italy 90 with
Aldridge - Real Socidead (Spanish first tier)
Cascarino - Aston Villa (English first tier)
Quinn - Man City (English first tier)
Slaven - Middlesborough (?)
Kelly - Leicester City (English second tier)
Stapleton - Blackburn (?)
Then I would say the strength down the pecking order now is as strong as I have known it, with Robbie being the icing on it all with his record breaking ways.
08/06/2011, 6:42 AM
Forget passing and keeping the ball we still keep winning!!! Great defensive effort. Hunt was a man possessed, I'm pleased that he has bounced back after having a season plagued with injury.
Stokes, Walters, Wilson, Best and McCarthy you could all miss out on a place at next years finals. Sort your **** out asap because places are being filled up by guys who wanna wear the green/white/black jersey.
08/06/2011, 7:15 AM
it was a meaningless end of season friendly
meaningless in that there were no qualification points at stake but far from meaningless when you look at what we have done in the three friendlies over the last two weeks. you just cant buy what that will do for our confidence going into September
08/06/2011, 8:28 AM
Italy played the game as a collection of individuals, we played as a team. A victory for synergy and group cohension.
08/06/2011, 8:43 AM
Or Italy 90 with
Aldridge - Real Socidead (Spanish first tier)
Cascarino - Aston Villa (English first tier)
Quinn - Man City (English first tier)
Slaven - Middlesborough (?)
Kelly - Leicester City (English second tier)
Stapleton - Blackburn (?)
and john byrne (La Havre)
AlaskaFox
08/06/2011, 8:47 AM
Found this while doing up a GreenScene post. One of the Russian news websites was doing live commentary of our game last night:
http://translate.googleusercontent.com/translate_c?langpair=ru|en&rurl=translate.google.com&twu=1&u=http://www.gazeta.ru/sport/nm/online/football/matches/27649.shtml&usg=ALkJrhjNRsWd3bbRpURBdNAecz6RWZjVWg
SwanVsDalton
08/06/2011, 9:00 AM
"McShane hung from the right flank. Unaddressed."
Macabre.
http://english.gazzetta.it/Football/07-06-2011/trap-stuns-prandelli-801517244134.shtml
La Gazzetto Dello Sport. I remember having a go at reading this paper on the way back from Bari that time and couldnt get over the level of affection for Trap over Lippi at the time. They love Trap!
Trap stuns Prandelli
Ireland wins 2-0
Second defeat for the Italian coach in the friendly match in Liege: Andrews and Cox score under the rain. The Azzurri never find the net and play without intensity and at a slow pace.
LIEGE (Belgium), 7 June 2011 - Lesson number one: watch how a legendary coach earns a smash and grab win against a young and rampant manager. What a good friend, the old Trap. He left a Liege Stadium packed with Azzurri fans with a sweet 2-0 win. While Prandelli, instead, had to settle for his second defeat since losing on his debut against Ivory Coast in August last year.
trapattoni's strategy — A really good friend. The Irish played with their hearts out, a truly physical game, with an impressive desire of demolishing the Azzurri. They were all over the pitch, pressing deep and not conceding a yard to the initiatives of Rossi first and Giovinco after. And then they scored: first with Andrews (36 minutes in the first half) and then with Cox (one minute from the end of the match). How did the Trap manage to get them so motivated? It was a friendly match, but still, Long refused to help Chiellini after a tackle. It was a friendly, but even the same Trap got furious when Pazzini was spared a booking for handball.
Italy, not Barca — Azzurri couldn’t produce a decent play: with the help of a torrential rain, Trapattoni succeeded in diluting Prandelli’s Catalan sauce. The Irish goalie Forde enjoyed a quite night as a spectator or little more as Italy mastered very few chances. Rossi managed something in the first half, but the rest were just long-distance attempts by Montolivo, a wide shot by Nocerino, a free-kick by Giovinco and crosses by Cassani, at least until Pazzini stayed on the pitch. “Avoid the long-ball style”, the Italian manager had said. There were few, but it wasn’t just that that left Prandelli disappointed. There was little left of the good football shown against Estonia in Modena. Instead, there were only few spells of quality at the start of the game and in the first ten minutes of the second half when Matri created more space and the right movements. But that was not just good enough: too often the support of the wingers went missing as did the precision of the strikers in front of the goal. All too static. All to be reviewed. All very little Catalan.
SwanVsDalton
08/06/2011, 9:34 AM
Trap challenges players to maintain form (http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/0608/trapattonig_ireland.html)
Includes this: "They [Hunt and O'Dea] showed they have the heart to play, a heart that a lot of Irish players have. I wish that those who don't necessarily have the heart that it takes to be here would take the example of these players."
I agree with him, but I wish he'd stop saying this. We get it by now but it's not the time to bring it up again. Can't complain about the media stirring if you keep throwing them bones.
08/06/2011, 10:31 AM
Not bad when our reserves can beat pretty much a 1st XI Italian side. Nice win but I don't read too much in to friendly results. I remember us winning 0-1 in Holland as well in a friendly. Trouble is we don't replicate those results against the bigger sides under any of our managers when it matters.
Long looked a shadow of himself despite what some said about him not playing in Macedonia. He needs a rest and to recharge his batteries after the play off defeat. Nice to see Cox scoring but other than his work ethic, I am not convinced he brings anything special to the party. I would still prefer a fully fit and enthusiastic Long.
Andrews played well while Hunt was for me the motm. He's great away from home when we need someone to track back and help the defence. Whether he is the player to break down defences at home, I am not sure.
Coleman worked hard but is he worth a starting place? Time will tell but that was his first 90 minutes for us and he did ok. One nice lob over a defender's head.
Trap likes Keogh for some reason - possibly his hard work - but other than giving away a lot of fouls, he didn't do a lot.
Well done the defence and Forde.
A good few weeks for the squad and "the senile old fool" who manages them. Tougher tests ahead though.
08/06/2011, 10:48 AM
From Trap's comments to Italian press,
Trap, "Prandelli must go on"
"My Ireland always goes into the field to win, we demand the most from ourselves. And fortunately to give 100% at these times gives us satisfaction. I have seen, however, a Bell'Italia with a good game, Caesar must go on. must insist, with a little 'experience and a bit' of evil can only improve. Moreover, the Azzurri deserved to balance quality and quantity of play, but with our temperament we managed to bring home a major achievement. We were keen to do well, despite the many absences. "Then he explains how he prepared for the race: "I am Italian, I know how Pirlo moves and I have considered that. I have been careful to so many small details that make a difference in this Italy. " Cassano: "I told him to put his head in place ... The samples should have this too. " And on Rossi: "He has done a great year, has the name of Paolo Rossi and reminds me a lot, its value is unquestionable. " Tardelli also smiles: "Maybe it was a wonderful game, but it certainly put him to the heart. Italy? is a young team grow. "
culloty82
08/06/2011, 10:49 AM
Anyone hear Seán Bán Breathnach's TG4 commentary last night - for the first twenty minutes he kept talking about "Chris" Andrews, and was always mentioning the counties that each player came from, so he'd say "Waterford man to a Tipp man" as Gaeilge every time Hunt passed to Long. Has to be seen to be believed.
08/06/2011, 10:51 AM
From Trap's comments to Italian press,
Trap, "Prandelli must go on"
"My Ireland always goes into the field to win, we demand the most from ourselves. And fortunately to give 100% at these times gives us satisfaction. I have seen, however, a Bell'Italia with a good game, Caesar must go on. must insist, with a little 'experience and a bit' of evil can only improve. Moreover, the Azzurri deserved to balance quality and quantity of play, but with our temperament we managed to bring home a major achievement. We were keen to do well, despite the many absences. "Then he explains how he prepared for the race: "I am Italian, I know how Pirlo moves and I have considered that. I have been careful to so many small details that make a difference in this Italy. " Cassano: "I told him to put his head in place ... The samples should have this too. " And on Rossi: "He has done a great year, has the name of Paolo Rossi and reminds me a lot, its value is unquestionable. " Tardelli also smiles: "Maybe it was a wonderful game, but it certainly put him to the heart. Italy? is a young team grow. "Either that's a very bad translation, or his Italian is as funny as his English.
08/06/2011, 11:12 AM
Not bad when our reserves can beat pretty much a 1st XI Italian side. Nice win but I don't read too much in to friendly results. I remember us winning 0-1 in Holland as well in a friendly. Trouble is we don't replicate those results against the bigger sides under any of our managers when it matters.
Long looked a shadow of himself despite what some said about him not playing in Macedonia. He needs a rest and to recharge his batteries after the play off defeat. Nice to see Cox scoring but other than his work ethic, I am not convinced he brings anything special to the party. I would still prefer a fully fit and enthusiastic Long.
Andrews played well while Hunt was for me the motm. He's great away from home when we need someone to track back and help the defence. Whether he is the player to break down defences at home, I am not sure.
Coleman worked hard but is he worth a starting place? Time will tell but that was his first 90 minutes for us and he did ok. One nice lob over a defender's head.
Trap likes Keogh for some reason - possibly his hard work - but other than giving away a lot of fouls, he didn't do a lot.
Well done the defence and Forde.
A good few weeks for the squad and "the senile old fool" who manages them. Tougher tests ahead though.
i'd agree with most of this.
I don't think our style suits coleman, at everton he gets behind the defence by running at them, good counter attacking football, he has the pace and control, but he has the midfielders at everton to make these passes. Thats a luxury we don't have. The reason duff and mcgeady will always start is because they have the trickery to go with it. I fear though as he gets older he could be another kevin kilbane.
Duggie
08/06/2011, 11:38 AM
Anyone hear Seán Bán Breathnach's TG4 commentary last night - for the first twenty minutes he kept talking about "Chris" Andrews, and was always mentioning the counties that each player came from, so he'd say "Waterford man to a Tipp man" as Gaeilge every time Hunt passed to Long. Has to be seen to be believed.
ya terrible, kept saying something about westside galway about forde?? painfull to listen to.
French Toasht
08/06/2011, 11:49 AM
Ok granted Bán Breathnach is a terrible football commentator but at the same time I wasn't particularly put off by his personal touch when describing the players. It was anecdotes like that the made Micheál Ó Muircheartaigh a legend of Irish sports broadcasting. Sometimes I think football commentary is too impersonal and detached from the fans. A happy medium would not be the worst thing that could be introduced to the world of football commentary.
08/06/2011, 11:55 AM
Seán Bán was not at the game, just talked into a mike while he watched the game on TV.
the doc
08/06/2011, 12:00 PM
Just got back, great all round performance, I'm shattered so off to bed now!
08/06/2011, 12:09 PM
Nice win but I don't read too much in to friendly results.I remember us winning 0-1 in Holland as well in a friendly. Trouble is we don't replicate those results against the bigger sides under any of our managers when it matters.
Only a fool would think that we could beat Italy at the WC Finals or Holland in a qualifier when it matters :rolleyes:
That friendly was against a Holland team ready to board the plane for the Finals the next day. Each game should be taken on its merits.
It remains to be seen how we approach the next 2 qualifiers.
The recent evidence is that we are growing as a squad in the right direction and winning games.
EastTerracer
08/06/2011, 12:31 PM
Only a fool would think that we could beat Italy at the WC Finals or Holland in a qualifier when it matters :rolleyes:
That friendly was against a Holland team ready to board the plane for the Finals the next day. Each game should be taken on its merits.
It remains to be seen how we approach the next 2 qualifiers.
The recent evidence is that we are growing as a squad in the right direction and winning games.
Yes, Gilesie :worship:
I do agree with you though. A very impressive result capped off a great couple of weeks for Ireland but it was just a friendly game (Germany in 1994 was another famous friendly away win).
The most important outcome of the two weeks was three points in Macedonia but the benefits in team spirit and confidence going into the home stretch of qualification could be immense.
punkrocket
08/06/2011, 12:36 PM
Anyone notice how Trap stayed motionless after both goals, presumably refusing to celebrate out of respect for his home country. Tardelli on the other hand, well he was giving it socks!
Must feel a bit wierd that to an Italian fan, how would we feel if it was O' Leary going bonkers after his Belgian team just scored against us. Could see Roy doing it though.
08/06/2011, 12:40 PM
Or Brian Kerr's faroes!
08/06/2011, 12:45 PM
Lets not forget the key ingredient - Moral courage.
Watching it on TG4, as tv viewing goes, it was the best. More often than not, the player mentioned was nowhere near the ball, therefore I completely switched off from the commentary and just watched the game.
If George Hamilton puts a jinx on the team with 10 minutes to go, but you don't hear it, is it still a jinx?
French Toasht
08/06/2011, 12:55 PM
Must feel a bit wierd that to an Italian fan, how would we feel if it was O' Leary going bonkers after his Belgian team just scored against us. Could see Roy doing it though.
I think if Brian Kerr's Faroes (you just know we are destined to draw them in the WC qualifiers) got a goal/result against Ireland, he would remain composed and refuse to celebrate it but inside it would give him no greater satisfaction (or any coach for that matter), to get a result against his home country.
Remember Brian Kerr before saying that 12,000 fans go to the domestic league matches around the country every weekend. 12,000 out of a population of 48,000. As a proportionate figure, the Faroe Islands league must be the best supported league in the world.
08/06/2011, 1:15 PM
Remember Brian Kerr before saying that 12,000 fans go to the domestic league matches around the country every weekend. 12,000 out of a population of 48,000. As a proportionate figure, the Faroe Islands league must be the best supported league in the world.
Kerr is spoofing about the figure of 12,000, or you misheard him.
08/06/2011, 1:51 PM
Jol going to Fulham might do something for Stephen Kelly's career. Jol mentioned him in one of the papers here this morning, just in the context of "I know him and he's a good pro" type thing.
08/06/2011, 2:12 PM
I do agree with you though. A very impressive result capped off a great couple of weeks for Ireland but it was just a friendly game (Germany in 1994 was another famous friendly away win).
and Holland away about 6 weeks before 1 nil i think. also with a very makeshift team like last night
08/06/2011, 2:22 PM
A makeshift team with John Sheridan in it, mind you. I'm not sure but I think it was that game in Tilburg that probably put Coyne and Sheridan in the team for Italy. Didn't Sheridan also score against Bolovia just before WC94?
08/06/2011, 2:32 PM
Didn't Sheridan also score against Bolovia just before WC94?
yes, he did. i think his goal in 93 v spain at home was the start of him getting into the starting team. niall quinns serious knee injury confirmed it.
what a run we had. in the space of about 8 weeks we beat holland, germany and italy