View Full Version : Italy V Republic of Ireland - Tuesday, 7th June 2011 - Friendly - Liege
shellyriver
07/06/2011, 8:36 PM
Second goal started at the back with Coleman's run. Get in there Ireland. What a win! Brilliant.
born2bwild
Very solid display. Catenaccio Irlandese.
theworm2345
Delaney on for Ward to experience the victory
What a result this is! Massive confidence boost ahead of the September double header. The way we're set up, we've a decent chance of a result in Russia actually.
DannyInvincible
07/06/2011, 8:37 PM
Ward off for Delaney. Cox holding it in the corner, haha.
Ha ha brillant, see the players going over to the mgmt team after the goal, seems to be a great spirit there.
Hunty, what a run, legend!!
07/06/2011, 8:38 PM
We're the best team in Europe!!! :party:
theworm2345
Hahaha look at the pitch invader with his man purse
ken foree
Very solid display. Catenaccio Irlandese.
Celtinaccio? Great result, well done Ireland!
This has been unbelievable.
DannyInvincible
Forde not giving away anything tonight. That's a great result. Very pleased with that. Really unexpected.
07/06/2011, 8:39 PM
Hahaha look at the pitch invader with his man purse
Paul O'Shea?
theworm2345
07/06/2011, 8:39 PM
I think we gave the Italians a lesson on how to play Italian football, grab a goal and then park the bus then grab a second on a counterattack.
07/06/2011, 8:41 PM
Paul O'Shea?
Could be, is that his laptop in the bag??? ;)
I think we gave the Italians a lesson on how to play Italian football, grab a goal and then park the bus then grab a second on a counterattack.
That was the most disciplined Irish performance I've seen in a long long while. Beats Saturday by a long shot.
OwenGoal
Ho hum. All this winning's getting a little tedious.
07/06/2011, 8:43 PM
What will the papers say tomorrow, Trap will be slated for a negative display.
Great week in many aspects; confidence, tream spirit & 3 vital away points. Role on September.
rebelmusic
Yup only player who didn't really perform too well imo was Keogh. Long could have done better too maybe, justified again Trap's decision to play Cox on Saturday.
Fantastic game, Hunt was mighty. Really starting to feel it now lads, feck, when was the last time we won 5 games in a row and more than that, scored 13 goals in 5 games!!
Well I enjoyed that a lot more than the Macedonia game, had a decent stream too.
We looked pretty comfortable, shame we were not playing Russia!!
The Legend
07/06/2011, 8:44 PM
touch of the twilight zones about this one...
That was the most disciplined Irish performance I've seen in a long long while. Beats Saturday by a long shot.
Discipline is the word!! The sooner the irish journos and certain fans realise that we aren't barca, but we are organised, we are disciplined and we have a system that works most of the time for a manager who knows what he is at. And it looks like there is a damn good team spirit there now as well. The lads will be itching to get back going in aug.
MeathDrog
07/06/2011, 8:45 PM
Don't think we've ever won 5 in a row. We won 4 in a row under Stan (Wales, San Marino x2 and Slovakia).
07/06/2011, 8:46 PM
Hunt was excellent. Just rewound it to watch the goal again. That was some pass from Wardy. And Hunt rooting Cox up the hole. Class.
legendz
07/06/2011, 8:47 PM
Enjoyed the game as well! Not quite USA '94 but hat's off to the boys in green! It's a shame RTE haven't the highlights.
Sullivinho
07/06/2011, 8:48 PM
"Andrews.......Pirlo"
"Keogh......Polombo"
Passing: Poor
Ball retention: Poor
Result: 2-0 win.
That formula shouldn't really be working as well as it is. :D Every second ball from McShane and Ward seemed to be a speculative punt in any given direction. Fair f*cks to them though! Beating a resurgent Italy is no small feat. We might have a live one in Cox too.
'Put 'em under pressure' ethos in full effect. Made more impressive by the fact some of them lads must be running on fumes at this stage. Long and Coleman in particular look to be in need of a rest.
theworm2345
Don't think we've ever won 5 in a row. We won 4 in a row under Stan (Wales, San Marino x2 and Slovakia).
The glory days
Enjoyed the game as well! Not quite USA '94 but hat's off to the boys in green! It's a shame RTE haven't the highlights.
RTE aren't bringing any coverage then?
Cox looks like he has a bit of weight on him compared to Andrews.
Andrews interview referring to all the crap written over the last few wks about playing not turning up. Saying that they have a great team spirit and confidence.
Sullivinho
07/06/2011, 8:49 PM
Full game on TG4 starting at 10.30.
07/06/2011, 8:50 PM
Discipline is the word!! The sooner the irish journos and certain fans realise that we aren't barca, but we are organised, we are disciplined and we have a system that works most of the time for a manager who knows what he is at. And it looks like there is a damn good team spirit there now as well. The lads will be itching to get back going in aug.
But even when mistakes were made tonight there was always support or we had done enough before the mistake. See McShane's howler. He had managed to be glued to your man so he had no space in the first place.
French Toasht
07/06/2011, 8:51 PM
If only we could play Slovakia tomorrow!
Fair play to Brian Kerr tonight Faroes 2-0 Estonia.
born2bwild
07/06/2011, 8:52 PM
Celtinaccio? Great result, well done Ireland!
Celtinaccio!! That's it! You are a visionary.
07/06/2011, 8:55 PM
Celtinaccio!! That's it! You are a visionary.
Classic.
DannyInvincible
07/06/2011, 9:02 PM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/0607/italy_ireland.html
Italy enjoyed the lion's share of the possession, but Ireland goalkeeper Mike Forde had few saves of note to make on his first senior international start.
Mike?
07/06/2011, 9:04 PM
We've won our last four games by an aggregate scoreline of 10-0!
rebelmusic
07/06/2011, 9:08 PM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/0607/italy_ireland.html
Mike?
Same on F365 - must be a reuters report or something.
Sullivinho
07/06/2011, 9:11 PM
We've won our last four games by an aggregate scoreline of 10-0!
If that's the knock-on effect of mass withdrawals then I'm all for flimsy excuses. ;)
SwanVsDalton
07/06/2011, 9:20 PM
How about that? Don't think anyone saw that coming. Considering the time of year, the weakened side, the inexperience of many of the players - that's some result. Fair enough Italy wern't playing at full intensity, but we defended fantastically, particularly in the second half. As has been mentioned second half 'celtinaccio' (nice) is really becoming a trademark of this team.
It was also magnificent to see the effort of some of these guys. Hunt was MOTM - worked into the ground and was nothing but trouble for the Italians. Thought O'Dea and Sledge were unreal as well considering their relative lack of fitness. Ward was alert and made some crucial interceptions. McShane - well he gave the ball away a lot, but he also made some crucial tackles. He's centre back through and through though.
Andrews and Foley were not great in possession, but they and Whelan almost totally shut the Italians down through the middle. Foley in particular didn't have a great time of it, but still. Coleman was another who worked nonstop and loved it when he dinked it over the Italian's head in the second half. Fantastic.
Keogh did OK, puts himself about though not sure he's quite composed enough when he gets on the ball. Nothing really went for Long and Cox took his goal well. Forde might have done enough to be third choice for the campaign - couple of smart saves and decent kicking. Nice one big man.
But the best thing was just the attitude of these guys. They could've just played out the game, hit the beach tomorrow. But they not only turned up but they were utterly tireless in going for the win. Tenacious, never-say-die and totally fired up. It was brilliant. If they're like this at the end of the season what are they going to be like at the start of next? Without getting too carried away, this double header could be very tasty.
Loved Andrews in the after-match interview too. Said the squad spirit was top class and slammed all the 'crap' said about the squad and people not showing up. Also called the Italian wall for the free kick a joke! Have to say I've always been a bit dubious about Andrews, but he's a seriously intense about playing for Ireland. Great to see. Just the man for September.
Fixer82
07/06/2011, 9:20 PM
Well done to the lads. Hunt was man-of-the-match for me. Cracker of a goal from Andrews but Jaysus that second half was painful to watch. We couldn't string 3 passes together. But yes a very Trapattoni performance. Park in our own half and let nothing through. We're getting better at that it seems.
French Toasht
07/06/2011, 9:23 PM
Not only does Cox almost do a Phil Babb with the goal posts, watch at 1.17, where one of the Ireland coaches cracks his head whilst celebrating the goal in the dug out.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dFa31oE5ibI&feature=player_embedded#at=79
Fixer82
07/06/2011, 9:29 PM
Not only does Cox almost do a Phil Babb with the goal posts, watch at 1.17, where one of the Ireland coaches cracks his head whilst celebrating the goal in the dug out.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dFa31oE5ibI&feature=player_embedded#at=79
Yeah noticed that. reminded me of Jack in '88
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=okqR2zEIJHY
Sullivinho
07/06/2011, 9:31 PM
Can't see beyond an Italian win given those squads.
Plank. :loser:
the bear
07/06/2011, 9:32 PM
ha ha good spot toast
TrapAPony
07/06/2011, 9:32 PM
Fair play to the lads & to the management team. Great result.
French Toasht
07/06/2011, 9:40 PM
Anyone notice how Trap stayed motionless after both goals, presumably refusing to celebrate out of respect for his home country. Tardelli on the other hand, well he was giving it socks!
Noelys Guitar
07/06/2011, 9:40 PM
What a great result.
07/06/2011, 9:49 PM
Plank. :loser:Ah, you're being too harsh on yourself...
http://i243.photobucket.com/albums/ff151/elsavaj/legoidiotgt4.gif:D
Metrostars
07/06/2011, 9:51 PM
Trap and Tardelli must be delighted beating the old country.
theworm2345
07/06/2011, 9:53 PM
Anyone notice how Trap stayed motionless after both goals, presumably refusing to celebrate out of respect for his home country. Tardelli on the other hand, well he was giving it socks!
Well we all know that when Tardelli celebrates he really celebrates. I think calling it a great victory is overstating it as it was a meaningless end of season friendly but it was nice to see (not that the football was for the most part).