View Full Version : Summer Signings/Rumors 2011

Pages : 1 2 [3]

bluewhitearmy
30/06/2011, 4:05 PM
When I first saw it on the main forum I nearly had a heartache.

Should be a good signing. Pressure will be on Corie now before Kelly becomes available.

We could be looking at a lot of changes possibly for the Athlone Match.

......Barry Ryan..............

Kelly...Purcell...Murray.....Frost

Judge..Gamble..O'Leary/Lyons...Tracey

...Behan...O'Flynn/Brosnan/Breen.......

Would look good to me :D

Bit confused with the Strikers you want there Jof ;)

I think we need to sign a centre back and then thats it dont wanna be making a load of changes for the sake of it and messing things up.

thomas72
30/06/2011, 4:22 PM
Who are we signing Kelly from? And how do Ye rate him?

bluewhitearmy
30/06/2011, 4:33 PM
Who are we signing Kelly from? And how do Ye rate him?

From Galway.

He was very good with Dundalk any time i seen him havent seen him with Galway so cant really say.

This is what Dundalk fan on here said about him :

A fine right full available if he is prepared to stay in Ireland.

I hear he is talking about going to Aus which would be a pity.

He may have lost his way a bit this season with Galway, but was excellent for Dundalk in the previous two seasons and got a call up to the under-23's. Dundalk fans were sorry to see him leave at the end of last season,.

limunlim
01/07/2011, 12:38 AM
I saw you had Murray in centre half in your team Jofspring. Has he signed?

01/07/2011, 7:47 AM
I saw you had Murray in centre half in your team Jofspring. Has he signed?

No I was just putting down a possible line up by the time we play Athlone. I'd say if Cork push for him they'll get him.

Monkfish
01/07/2011, 9:09 AM
How can you include a player thats not with the club? seriously are we not getting a little carried away with internet rumours? :bigsmile:

01/07/2011, 9:52 AM
How can you include a player thats not with the club? seriously are we not getting a little carried away with internet rumours? :bigsmile:

Thats why its a "possible" line up not a "probable" one. Was just pointing out the amount of changes that could happen the team in the space of a few weeks.

bluewhitearmy
01/07/2011, 10:34 AM
When I first saw it on the main forum I nearly had a heartache.

Should be a good signing. Pressure will be on Corie now before Kelly becomes available.

We could be looking at a lot of changes possibly for the Athlone Match.

......Barry Ryan..............

Kelly...Purcell...Murray.....Frost

Judge..Gamble..O'Leary/Lyons...Tracey

...Behan...O'Flynn/Brosnan/Breen.......

Would look good to me :D

At least read his post before having a go at it lads.

Between people getting upset about lads being happy we signed Behan and Gamble and lads complaining that he put someone we are rumoured to be signing in a possible team you wonder if lads even want you to enjoy supporting Limerick.

Its been a very long time before positive things have been happening and we have been near promotion spots id rather enjoy it while its there they stay cautious cos things were bad before.

Edit: Have a look at the thread title too lads its for rumours as well as transfers that are done.

thomas72
01/07/2011, 11:48 AM
ON the mirror LOI pull out under galway v UCD that Murray is expected to sign within a few weeks

04/07/2011, 5:12 PM
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11750_7018583,00.html

Thats Bennett out anyway.

05/07/2011, 4:45 PM
Todays sun newspaper reporting that Limerick failed in a bid to bring in Roy O'Donovan as he would prefer to stay in England.

05/07/2011, 4:53 PM
Todays sun newspaper reporting that Limerick failed in a bid to bring in Roy O'Donovan as he would prefer to stay in England.

Seems like a mad move if there is any truth to it. Certainly wouldn't think he would drop to the first division. First I've heard of it.

thomas72
05/07/2011, 5:26 PM
At least we ARE showing serious ambition Dan Murray would be the diff of promotion or not his experience along side paddy would be unbelievably strong.

05/07/2011, 7:08 PM

media just picking any ex cork player cross channel now and linking us with them. kevin doyle next week id say we're that rich

thomas72
06/07/2011, 1:46 PM
Sean maher to Limerick
I heard It's done also the star newspaper are s
SAying it.

Is he ANy good?

06/07/2011, 2:16 PM
Sean maher to Limerick
I heard It's done also the star newspaper are s
SAying it.

Is he ANy good?

Good signing. Experienced centre back. He has had a poor season with Galway from what I've heard but who hasn't. Would hope to see a big difference. Going from playing with a team on a downward spiral on and off the pitch to a team doing well should hopefully boost his confidence.

bluewhitearmy
06/07/2011, 4:18 PM
Hope this one is not true.

Last time i seen Maher he was good but ive been told he is very injury prone and thats not what we need seen as he will be one of only 3 centre backs we have.

Was told that they were not impressed with him after he trained with the team so if it is true must be a case of we are not getting Murray so we just sign anyone. Not sure if thats the way to go.
May not be true that they weren't impressed with him.

Wouldnt be concerned at all about people having a bad season for Galway bit hard to be up for it when you sign a deal and then a week after you sign it you get told you have to take a pay cut. And of course not getting paid for the last 6 weeks.

Hopefully if he is signed he can stay fit and get back to the form he had before he signed for Galway.

06/07/2011, 8:15 PM
Shaun Maher if signed would be a much better option at centre half for a promotion run in than Brian McCarthy. FACT as they say on the internet.

bluewhitearmy
06/07/2011, 8:19 PM
Shaun Maher if signed would be a much better option at centre half for a promotion run in than Brian McCarthy. FACT as they say on the internet.

Better player for sure but id just be worried if he could stay injury free that long.

theboywonder8
07/07/2011, 4:19 PM
He played with Bournemouth for a good number of years,was a very good centre half,won a few trophies with bohs as well.has bundles of experience,might be just what Limerick need.

07/07/2011, 9:48 PM
i see Roddy in the star today doing a Tommy Dunne. "At Monaghan we couldnt compete with the money on offer there." lol again no mention of figures as he hasnt a clue. He asks, "but what will they gain from all their big spending? Promotion? Its a huge risk and i would wonder is it really worth it."

well roddy, its not big spending its just paying players. Simple as. Not big money and the yes 18 years in the first division propper running of a club and due diligence is well worth it. Maybe hes hoping we just fold and let his side charge ahead

07/07/2011, 10:18 PM
Is it not Shaun Kelly that signed from Galway???

07/07/2011, 10:23 PM
Is it not Shaun Kelly that signed from Galway???

Ya Shaun Kelly signed last week and supposedly Shaun Maher too this week. The latter yet to be confirmed by the club though.

da bishop
07/07/2011, 10:37 PM
credit to pat o sullivan it is paying players,but it is in first div terms big spending and big money,lets not fool ourselves into thinking otherwise,big names,big squad ,big budget , we have recently signed a top ranked player on a two and a half year contract,these look like great times for us so projected targets will have to be met.btw surprised by the maher signing,bit like hearys,ryans signing last season imo.

08/07/2011, 12:05 AM
no question that this is the bigest outlay on the team ever....in support of the manager who since he took over three years ago has in the league never beaten Monaghan, never won in waterford...the next three weeks....

bluewhitearmy
08/07/2011, 12:17 AM
no question that this is the bigest outlay on the team ever....in support of the manager who since he took over three years ago has in the league never beaten Monaghan, never won in waterford...the next three weeks....

Your starting to get desperate now with trying to find things wrong with him if thats all ya have.

08/07/2011, 3:50 PM
desperate for??? stating facts and our record against both these teams (and galway away) is nothing short of embarrasing

bluewhitearmy
08/07/2011, 4:25 PM
desperate for??? stating facts and our record against both these teams (and galway away) is nothing short of embarrasing

You complain that Scully has not beat Monaghan or won in Waterford when is the last time we won in Waterford before Pat?

Should just start a Pat Scully thread other then you complaining about him on other threads.

The Galway away reference is nothing to do with what you first said either.

11/07/2011, 9:48 AM
Anybody at the A game v Carlow? Did the new signings play? I see we lost 2-1 but no other details.

bluewhitearmy
11/07/2011, 12:28 PM
Anybody at the A game v Carlow? Did the new signings play? I see we lost 2-1 but no other details.

Shaun Kelly and Denis Behan played.

Gamble had picked up a knock at training and Maher was not registered in time.

Kelly played ok on the right wing and Behan had one or 2 handy touches but didnt get much ball....Think Behan will need a few games to get sharpness back he is so strong though one or 2 Carlow lads just bounced off him when trying to move him off the ball.

John Frost played centre back Yellow played left wing and Garbhan Coughlan played up front with Behan.

Being honest the 1st teamers looked like they were just there for a run out and to make sure they didnt get any injuries.

12/07/2011, 4:53 AM
Think Behan will need a few games to get sharpness back he is so strong though one or 2 Carlow lads just bounced off him when trying to move him off the ball..

Depends what kind of sharpness you mean. If you mean in terms of first touch, well he never had that to regain it! Running after a ball can also be an issue.

However, if you mean getting his shooting boots on, Im sure he will score some super goals for you.

bluewhitearmy
12/07/2011, 11:50 AM
Depends what kind of sharpness you mean. If you mean in terms of first touch, well he never had that to regain it! Running after a ball can also be an issue.

However, if you mean getting his shooting boots on, Im sure he will score some super goals for you.

Luckily this is what i mean the rest was grand he had some lovely touches and he chases defenders down well.

The only thing id say that if he gets one on one with someone out wide dont expect anything he doesnt look like one for taking on people.

13/07/2011, 8:11 PM
Luckily this is what i mean the rest was grand he had some lovely touches and he chases defenders down well.

If he continues this I will be happy and it will be a good start. His reputation of being lazy isn't good and if this can be taken out of him he will be a great addition. I think thats where the managers job comes in, its up to him to motivate the players and to get them working hard for each other.

bluewhitearmy
13/07/2011, 11:30 PM
If he continues this I will be happy and it will be a good start. His reputation of being lazy isn't good and if this can be taken out of him he will be a great addition. I think thats where the managers job comes in, its up to him to motivate the players and to get them working hard for each other.

He was chasing everything in the A game anyway until you could see at the end that he just couldnt anymore he looked exhausted. To be expected though hasnt played in ages.

bluewhitearmy
17/07/2011, 12:23 PM
Need another centre back.

LK37oldskool
18/07/2011, 12:24 PM
Need another centre back.

Is this because Maher is injured long term or he's just rubbish?

bluewhitearmy
18/07/2011, 3:49 PM
Is this because Maher is injured long term or he's just rubbish?

Hes out for 4 weeks i think.

Didnt see enough to say he is rubbish but he has a very bad injury record and couldnt even last a half for us so wouldnt be too happy to just have him for cover and only 2 other centre backs as he could just always be injured like Thomas Heary last year..

28/07/2011, 10:08 PM
Out:
Sean O Connor

Confirmed on the club website.

bluewhitearmy
28/07/2011, 10:27 PM
Out:
Sean O Connor

Heard today was hoping it was true thank god for that.

harpin
29/07/2011, 6:50 AM
Out:
Sean O Connor

He couldn't have done that before last Friday night no

bluewhitearmy
29/07/2011, 12:12 PM
He couldn't have done that before last Friday night no

Ive heard he was told he could go weeks ago if thats true wtf was he doing playing in the biggest game f the season.

30/07/2011, 4:37 PM
Gaffney signed from Mervue. A great signing and a big contrast to Sean O Connor.

bluewhitearmy
30/07/2011, 4:59 PM
Gaffney signed from Mervue. A great signing and a big contrast to Sean O Connor.

Excellent signing.

geezer
30/07/2011, 6:48 PM
I have been very impressed with this Lad, funnily enough he has not got a great touch but is honest, powerful and a real handful and can strike a ball, score a goal and win plenty of games for teams he plays with.

da bishop
31/07/2011, 12:37 PM
excellent signing ,hopefully he will be managed well so we see him at his best.