View Full Version : Summer Signings/Rumors 2011
12/06/2011, 12:09 AM
I really hope Behan is the man we need. The reviews he has been getting from other LOI fans is not good.
I think Behan (if he signs) is well worth a punt for the following reasons:
1. At Cork he was nearly always the striking bridesmaid to a John O'Flynn or a George O'Callaghan or a Kevin Doyle.
2. His record for Hartlepool, at a much much higher standard, isn't awful
3. The First Division is a different beast to the Premier. Stevo never really scored goals in the Premier, he's a phenomenon in the First Division.
4. It could be like signing two strikers as it could spur Stevo on to a purple patch. There'll be contracts to be played for. (multimillion euro contracts if Tommy Dunne is to be believed)
da bishop
12/06/2011, 5:26 PM
you got to hand it to pat o sullivan,the man is doing everything possible to support his manager and if this signing comes off it will prove it.
theboywonder8
13/06/2011, 9:01 PM
Would be very surprised if pat mullins signed for any loi club,he will be getting capped very soon for amateur international team,loves his gaa as well,but then again you never know if he can get a decent offer he just might.
14/06/2011, 9:35 AM
Would be very surprised if pat mullins signed for any loi club,he will be getting capped very soon for amateur international team,loves his gaa as well,but then again you never know if he can get a decent offer he just might.
Unless this has changed he didn't make the squad for Portugal
http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=101833:smith-names-squad-for-uefa-regions-cup-finals&catid=12:amateur&Itemid=21
abbeyvale
14/06/2011, 9:32 PM
Unless this has changed he didn't make the squad for Portugal
http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=101833:smith-names-squad-for-uefa-regions-cup-finals&catid=12:amateur&Itemid=21
An absaloute disgrace that there isnt one junior player from Limerick in this squad, considering the FAI's biggest tournament has been won by Limerick teams for the last 2 season's.................
14/06/2011, 9:36 PM
An absaloute disgrace that there isnt one junior player from Limerick in this squad, considering the FAI's biggest tournament has been won by Limerick teams for the last 2 season's.................
Agree with you there abbeyvale. Limerick has the best junior team in the country and no players involved, its disgraceful.
bluepowers
16/06/2011, 12:15 AM
herd pa moloney is signing from pike
bluewhitearmy
16/06/2011, 12:48 AM
herd pa moloney is signing from pike
Where do you hear these things?
16/06/2011, 7:50 AM
While I think Pa is a very good player I couldn't see him getting into the team at this stage of the season if O'Flynn and Gary return along with Behan if he signs. Then he will also have Brosnan, Breen, Quinn and Sheedy to compete with. The new rule brought into Limerick Junior soccer is going to play havoc with future players signing with Limerick. It may entice a few ex-loi players back though.
the lobster
16/06/2011, 8:25 AM
Most of the good Limerick Junior players are ineligible as they've played LOI at some stage, Its an Amatuer Comp.
theboywonder8
16/06/2011, 11:15 AM
I said it Pa mullins wouldn't sign for a loi team,don't know how Limerick let kavanagh slip threw,signed for athlone this morning along with colbert and Davy Ryan.
thomas72
16/06/2011, 11:20 AM
disappointing pa turned down his home town club i cant understand that. would be a great signing for limerick granted he plays GAA but so does jeff judge IMO any player givin a chance to play for his home town team should jump at it.
bluewhitearmy
16/06/2011, 11:25 AM
Limerick didnt let Kavanagh slip he signed and then asked to be released to sign for Pike not much they could have done about that.
What a waste having Wayne with Athlone he should be playing for way better then that Dave Ryan is no loss so not worried about that.
And as for Pa Maloney i cant see that being true think Bluepowers just makes things up off the top of his head at times. Maloney wouldnt be good enough for Limerick imo he would be behind all the people that Jofspring mentioned and Hynes..
theboywonder8
16/06/2011, 1:28 PM
disappointing pa turned down his home town club i cant understand that. would be a great signing for limerick granted he plays GAA but so does jeff judge IMO any player givin a chance to play for his home town team should jump at it.
What can't you understand tom,he's staying with club he has played for the last few years and has won everything with them,so what's the problem with him staying,he probably doesn't want the committment of loi,remember he left ucd to sign junior football,and fair play to him,conor kavanagh don't think ever signed for Limerick,trained with them alright,
Monkfish
16/06/2011, 4:16 PM
he left ucd to sign junior football,and fair play to him
Sky is the limit eh lads! :plane:
hoops38
16/06/2011, 6:33 PM
jeff judge uses GAA for fitness, Mullins plays to win, pa boyle might give league of ireland a shot
bluewhitearmy
16/06/2011, 7:28 PM
jeff judge uses GAA for fitness, Mullins plays to win, pa boyle might give league of ireland a shot
Been asked a few times and said no as far as i know..
Id be disappointed if we signed many from junior being honest dont think thee is that many around in junior that are good enough for a team that wants to get promoted now that Wayne is gone to Athlone the main one is gone.
da bishop
16/06/2011, 7:46 PM
whats with this GAA thing.any prospective signing or current one should not be playing GAA.it should not be tolerated.did someone mention P.Moloney as a possible signing,we are not desperate yet and who is Pa Boyle?
bluewhitearmy
16/06/2011, 8:06 PM
whats with this GAA thing.any prospective signing or current one should not be playing GAA.it should not be tolerated.did someone mention P.Moloney as a possible signing,we are not desperate yet and who is Pa Boyle?
Wasnt there a bit of bother with Calla playing GAA before think he was told to pick soccer or GAA not sure though.
Pa Boyle is John Boyles younger brother playing for Carew Park.
16/06/2011, 11:52 PM
Pa Boyle is a good player playing for Carew but not sure where he would fit in in the current Limerick team at the moment.
bluepowers
17/06/2011, 1:47 AM
Where do you hear these things?
was at the kennedy cup few people said it to me :)
17/06/2011, 10:44 AM
was at the kennedy cup few people said it to me :)
Someone might have said to you at the Kennedy Cup that Lionel Messi was signing.... stop posting unsubstantiated rumours here. I've said it enough times before. Infractions to come next if it continues.
17/06/2011, 9:28 PM
Christ we need some quality soon.
thomas72
18/06/2011, 9:40 AM
joe gamble was at the match last night according to live95 scully was asked was he and behan signing he side stepped the Q.....
what must gamble of thought watching that last night :(
18/06/2011, 10:18 AM
also in that interview......"i cant blame the players"........."i thought we played pretty negitivly tonight" :rolleyes:
Monkfish
18/06/2011, 11:01 AM
what must gamble of thought watching that last night :(
That we need the likes of him asap! :dance:
thomas72
19/06/2011, 11:35 PM
PRess conference called for thomond park on Thursday LImeRick reviel major signings. NO name given but I'll guess gamble and behan.
fc hammer
20/06/2011, 12:12 AM
Thats great news Thommo, is it true Sean o Connor is joining Carew Park ?
20/06/2011, 12:12 AM
PRess conference called for thomond park on Thursday LImeRick reviel major signings. NO name given but I'll guess gamble and behan.
The word on Leeside is that it's Ronaldo and real Ronaldo.
And we're buying Thomond Park.
And adding another tier.
20/06/2011, 12:13 AM
And use up one of Carews 4 LoI player slots?!
20/06/2011, 7:26 AM
He wouldn't make the Carew Park team.
thomas72
20/06/2011, 7:49 AM
HA HA he wouldn't Get on
thomas72
25/06/2011, 11:49 AM
scully on the radio this morning was saying they are looking for another 1 or 2 players to come in. gary twigg maybe :D
bluewhitearmy
25/06/2011, 11:51 AM
scully on the radio this morning was saying they are looking for another 1 or 2 players to come in. gary twigg maybe :D
Hopefully same standard as the 2 already after coming in.
25/06/2011, 2:43 PM
Just reading the Hartlepool forum there. Behan and Gamble get absolutely slated by them, more Behan than Gamble it has to be said. Behan for being lazy and not doing anything and Gamble for not being up to the standard (although a few lads thought he was a tidy enough player that did a decent job). The general feeling about Behan though from LOI fans and Hartlepool fans is that he is useless. Hopefully the two of them can turn it around like Hynes has this season. He was slated as a lazy git before coming but Scully seems to have gotten great work out of him. I also remember Kevin Waters having a shocking season for us up in Hogan Park and being useless in every game but the following season for us he was outstanding.
Really hope it works out with Behan and Gamble and maybe the other lads that come in will be of real LOI quality.
25/06/2011, 2:44 PM
Just reading the Hartlepool forum there. Behan and Gamble get absolutely slated by them, more Behan than Gamble it has to be said. Behan for being lazy and not doing anything and Gamble for not being up to the standard (although a few lads thought he was a tidy enough player that did a decent job). The general feeling about Behan though from LOI fans and Hartlepool fans is that he is useless. Hopefully the two of them can turn it around like Hynes has this season. He was slated as a lazy git before coming but Scully seems to have gotten great work out of him. I also remember Kevin Waters having a shocking season for us up in Hogan Park and being useless in every game but the following season for us he was outstanding.
Really hope it works out with Behan and Gamble and maybe the other lads that come in will be of real LOI quality.
bluewhitearmy
25/06/2011, 4:26 PM
Ive spoken to a few Hartlepool fans then that have had nothing but good things to say about both lads all saying that Gamble is far better alright just shows how different opinions can be.
They seem to think that Behan started very well but then had problems settling so that effected his game.
Gamble was one of the best players in Ireland while playing LOI i think that is more to judge from then how he got on in a far harder league have to remember that they are league one and playing against teams like Norwhich Leeds Leicester and that far far differenst from playing first division LOI.
ped_ped
28/06/2011, 9:30 PM
So should we be hoping Gamble is played in the Dublin Super Cup, in the name of match fitness, or what would ye think?
29/06/2011, 12:43 AM
So should we be hoping Gamble is played in the Dublin Super Cup, in the name of match fitness, or what would ye think?
I hope he goes up, does himself proud and spreads the Limerick FC gospel among all the free at the end of the season Premier standard pros. :)
29/06/2011, 12:51 AM
I'm TERRIFIED he'll get injured...
29/06/2011, 12:54 AM
If he does we'll just sign Glenn Whelan or something.
bluewhitearmy
29/06/2011, 12:54 AM
Id say he will only play one match and he is just back from holidays so it would be better now that hes back training to keep going other then going on Hols again so ya for match fitness would be good.
CraftyToePoke
29/06/2011, 1:52 AM
This is it. Imagine the news coming through of a serious looking injury, stretcher etc. Would dread it.
Monkfish
29/06/2011, 9:27 AM
Lets be fair, Rico's a clown and the Airtricity team will prob get hammered every game like V Man Utd last year. No glory in that for anyone.
bluewhitearmy
29/06/2011, 11:39 AM
Story going around the main forum and other places that Dan Murray is leaving Shamrock Rovers and is on his way to us.
LFC-Zulu
29/06/2011, 2:52 PM
Story going around the main forum and other places that Dan Murray is leaving Shamrock Rovers and is on his way to us.
Cue the lemon suckers..
bluewhitearmy
29/06/2011, 2:55 PM
Cue the lemon suckers..
This will go down very well in Cork if it happens.
Maybe they will just be happy for us this time?
LFC-Zulu
29/06/2011, 3:01 PM
This will go down very well in Cork if it happens.
Maybe they will just be happy for us this time?
http://jeuxdelle.typepad.com/.a/6a0128762ea114970c0133f583c0c8970b-800wi
bluewhitearmy
30/06/2011, 3:33 PM
Shaun Kelly in.
Dont worry its Ex-Dundalk right back not the lovely Sean we had last year.
30/06/2011, 4:02 PM
Shaun Kelly in.
Dont worry its Ex-Dundalk right back not the lovely Sean we had last year.
When I first saw it on the main forum I nearly had a heartache.
Should be a good signing. Pressure will be on Corie now before Kelly becomes available.
We could be looking at a lot of changes possibly for the Athlone Match.
......Barry Ryan..............
Kelly...Purcell...Murray.....Frost
Judge..Gamble..O'Leary/Lyons...Tracey
...Behan...O'Flynn/Brosnan/Breen.......
Would look good to me :D