View Full Version : MFA Junior Champions Cup 2011/12

Shilts
24/05/2011, 3:52 PM
I made up the title of the competition as I'm not sure yet what it will be called :D
How about MFA Junior Cup for Champions - too like the existing one?

Anyway, who has qualified so far?

Cork AUL - Kinsale AFC :ball:

Please post in your team as you qualify

balls
24/05/2011, 3:55 PM
clonmel town pipped saint michaels to tipp premier league. carrick won waterford. abbeyfeale limerick desmond. nenagh won north tipp. pike rovers have limerick district league as good as won. douglas hall juniors won munster junior league

Shilts
24/05/2011, 3:58 PM
Some good teams there!!!
Still a few leagues missing - Clare? West Cork? Cork Business League?

Shilts
24/05/2011, 4:04 PM
Clare - Newmarket Celtic

Innishvilla
24/05/2011, 4:08 PM
Bunratty United won the west cork league

Shilts
24/05/2011, 4:10 PM
West Cork League - Bunratty United (Schull)

Some scenic away trips in Co. Cork :D

Play_On
24/05/2011, 4:13 PM
Lads any idea what way this works??

sharpshooter
24/05/2011, 4:14 PM
[QUOTE=Shilts;1489493]West Cork League - Bunratty United (Schull)

Some scenic away trips in Co. Cork :D[/QUO

bunratty would probably be the weakest of all them teams mentioned above...

balls
24/05/2011, 4:24 PM
id say west waterford league winners would struggle also. carrick and pike would be two strongest teams in competition. clonmel town normally would be a match for either but unless they get some new players in to replace players they have lost this year they might be beatable by one of the other league winners. what time of year will this competition be played i wonder. pre season maybe ?

soccer8
24/05/2011, 4:32 PM
Abbeyfeale United Limerick Desmond League

sharpshooter
24/05/2011, 4:35 PM
wouldnt rule out kinsale,

balls
24/05/2011, 4:43 PM
couldnt see kinsale beat pike pal but they would have the measure of most of the other teams

Fantasista
24/05/2011, 5:18 PM
Fair play to carrick on there victory over limerick but still thinks its unfair they dont get to defend their title

Shilts
25/05/2011, 9:57 AM
Fair play to carrick on there victory over limerick but still thinks its unfair they dont get to defend their title

+1

Looking forward to this competition next year.
Some very good teams involved.

I would like to see the MSL Prem winners in it also!
...and they wouldn't be favorites in my opinion.

Pike and Carrick are the ones to stay away from in the early rounds.

theboywonder8
25/05/2011, 10:06 AM
Is it an open draw,or run off in a league format,surely it will be an open draw because anything else would only adding extra fixtures.is it just league winners,surely St michaels should be in it after all they are mj champions.

Shilts
25/05/2011, 10:14 AM
I've no idea of the format yet or exactly who qualifies.

Do all leagues get a ticket???
Cork Business League winners wouldn't be too strong I imagine.
I don't know much about the standard of the West Waterford East Cork League.

All will be revealed by the powers that be.

I'd imagine it'll be a open draw knockout cup format - max 4 games for any team getting to the final.

irisheagle
25/05/2011, 9:33 PM
The Munster Football Association is to organise a new competition for the 2011-2012 season. The competition will be for the winners of the top League Divisions of all affiliated Junior Leagues. As there are 12 affiliated Junior Leagues in Munster the competition will entail the following matches:

1st round: 4 games and 4 byes

Quarter Finals: 4 games

Semi Finals: 2 games

Final: 1 game

As a result of this new competition the MFA has decided that no Junior team will be allowed enter the Munster Senior Cup competition from the 2011-2012 season and the rules of the competition will be changed to reflect this decision.

The Munster Senior Cup will now involve Intermediate and Senior teams.

theboywonder8
26/05/2011, 11:01 AM
That's a bit riduclous,4 teams getting byes,is their another way of getting 16 teams?

nononsense
26/05/2011, 4:59 PM
Is it an open draw,or run off in a league format,surely it will be an open draw because anything else would only adding extra fixtures.is it just league winners,surely St michaels should be in it after all they are mj champions.

Fair point.

Shilts
27/05/2011, 4:27 PM
They could easily let in 2nd place teams from the top leagues to bring the numbers to 16. (Or Cup Winners?)
Similar to Champions League qualification for top 4 teams in the English Prem.

Also, the MJC Winner should be in too.

theboywonder8
28/05/2011, 6:48 AM
Ya I agree with you,would make a lot of sense to have 16 teams,and the mj winners,teams could win the mj and not win their league and would not qualify.just like St michaels,I know you could have the scenario of mj winners also winning their league but surely their is a way round it,maybe the runners up in the top leagues,ie limerick,tsdl,waterford,cork aul,just wait now for the Clare and Desmond league boys attack,

nononsense
28/05/2011, 2:00 PM
agree in principle with you, Boywonder, but it is a 'champions league' cup, therefore opening other doors, i.e. runners-up etc could see it turn into another Munster Junior Cup. I agree wholeheartedly the Munster Junior Cup winners should be included, after all they are champions of Munster. I think there is a general concensus out there for their inclusion. I don't think the rules are yet in stone so maybe MFA will consider it. St.Michaels would be a huge addition. Perhaps Saints should make their own case. I spoke to a few of them during the week and they seem resigned to the fact they will not be included. What would be wrong with the first round comprising of five games and three byes.

limkdesmond
30/05/2011, 11:25 AM
Na michaels didn't win their respective league so don't deserve to be in it whether they won the munster junior cup or not

Second
30/05/2011, 11:43 AM
Na michaels didn't win their respective league so don't deserve to be in it whether they won the munster junior cup or not

I agree great team but if cup is for league winners then that's that.. Even if they could possibly win it..

limkdesmond
30/05/2011, 12:04 PM
Ya spot on..deadly team and Great facilities but it's for the winners of their leagues and michaels didn't win their league so don't deserve to be in it..pity tho

Shilts
30/05/2011, 1:21 PM
I think the cup is being set up to cater for those junior clubs that previously qualified for the Munster Senior Cup.
I think the MFA don't want teams playing in the Munster Senior and Junior Cups in the same year.

Up to now, did winning the MJCup qualify you for the Munster Senior Cup in the following year???
If so then they would have a good case for entry in my book.

nononsense
30/05/2011, 5:21 PM
Yea probably correct - its for league winners. From what I hear that is St.Michaels view as well and they are not particularly interested in getting in the ''back door.'' Clonmel Town will be worthy representatives for TSDL.

republican
31/05/2011, 2:06 PM
i would think st michaels would be very interested in entering it alot of the posters above seem to think it wont be the same without michaels in it which is probably true but clonmel town are league champions in tsdl. fairview rangers would not be in the competition either and they are a massive club but pike are league winners in limerick.

Balbec77
31/05/2011, 2:14 PM
Yea probably correct - its for league winners. From what I hear that is St.Michaels view as well and they are not particularly interested in getting in the ''back door.'' Clonmel Town will be worthy representatives for TSDL.
no case for entry.there can be only one winner of the league and that was clonmel.if the cup is for league winners only than that should be that and thats not disrespecting michaels but they are not league winners.

Shilts
08/06/2011, 1:46 PM
If Michaels are not in it, it will make it slightly easier for those already in.
I'm sure that they would be better than some already qualified.

I'm looking forward to this competition in the new season.
No messing about playing weak teams in the early rounds - "it's straight in, no kissin" with this new cup ;)

MikeBassett
11/06/2011, 5:48 PM
This needs to be structured correctly tho. The draw needs to be done fairly soon, with the draw for every round being made at the start. They also need to define exact dates for the games, not week ending etc... If this is going to be played pre season, and isn't structured properly, it could cause havoc. And if this happens and the tournament gets a bad name early on it'll never take off. The need to add 4 to make it 16. It's quite simple to do. 12 league winners + MJ winners - if the MJ winners are one of the 12 league winners, then the 4 runners up in Limerick TSDL Waterford and Cork. If the MJ winners aren't they qualify as their leagues team, or second place team if necessary. So basically this years would consist of the 12 league winners, St Micks taking the second TSDL place, and the runners up in Limerick Waterford and Cork

Agree with you on the draw and that but not on making it a 16 team competition. 12 League Winners and that's that. They cannot go adding in 4 runners-up teams and the MJ Cup winners. That is totally unfair on the runners-ups from all the other leagues. The MJ Cup Champions St. Mick's didn't win their league so hard luck they shouldn't be in it

nononsense
11/06/2011, 6:16 PM
Agree with you on the draw and that but not on making it a 16 team competition. 12 League Winners and that's that. They cannot go adding in 4 runners-up teams and the MJ Cup winners. That is totally unfair on the runners-ups from all the other leagues. The MJ Cup Champions St. Mick's didn't win their league so hard luck they shouldn't be in it

Correct. Let it be 12 teams. For the record, St.Michaels are not making any case to get into it and are not interested in inclusion.

Bobby D
22/06/2011, 1:44 PM
MUNSTER FOOTBALL ASSOCIATION
LEAGUE CHAMPIONS TROPHY
Season 2011-12
1st Round
Clonmel Town (TSDL) v Newmarket Celtic (Clare)

Killarney Celtic or St Brendan's Park (Kerry) v Nenagh AFC (North Tipp)

Kinsale (Cork AUL) v Douglas Hall (MSL)

Abbeyfeale Utd (L'rick Desmond) v Bunratty Utd (West Cork)

2nd Round
Tile King (Cork B&S) v Kinsale or Douglas Hall

Inch Utd (West W'ford/East Cork) v Carrick Utd (Waterford)

Pike Rvs (Limerick District) v Abbeyfeale Utd or Bunratty Utd

Clonmel Town or Newmarket Celtic v Killarney Celtic or St Brendan's Park or Nenagh AFC

1st Round games to take place on or before 10th/11th September 2011
2nd Round games to take place on or before 8th/9th October 2011
Semi-Final games on or before 12th/13th November 2011
Final on or before 3rd /4th December 2011.

Here is the draw lads, good to see there running it off fairly fast.

Bobby D
22/06/2011, 1:46 PM
LEAGUE CHAMPIONS TROPHY
Season 2011-12
1st Round
Clonmel Town (TSDL) v Newmarket Celtic (Clare)

Killarney Celtic or St Brendan's Park (Kerry) v Nenagh AFC (North Tipp)

2nd Round

Clonmel Town or Newmarket Celtic v Killarney Celtic or St Brendan's Park or Nenagh AFC

Final on or before 3rd /4th December 2011.

cufc champions
22/06/2011, 1:56 PM
Kinsale, Carrick, Pike and Clonmel Town in semi's for me. Could be interesting from thier on in!

BigfeetBigsocks
22/06/2011, 8:35 PM
Bit easier to read

LEAGUE CHAMPIONS TROPHY 1st Round

Clonmel Town (TSDL)v Newmarket Celtic Clare)

Killarney Celtic or St Brendan's Park Kerry) v Nenagh AFC (North Tipp)

2nd Round

Final on or before 3rd /4th December 2011

theboywonder8
22/06/2011, 9:39 PM
How is bunratty and Newmarket from Clare in it,both in same league????

balls
22/06/2011, 9:46 PM
bunratty are from cork lad

Second
22/06/2011, 10:01 PM
How are Killarney and st brendans park in it.. Both Kerry league

balls
22/06/2011, 10:31 PM
league title for this season has not been decided yet in kerry so its either killarney or brendans playing next year in competition. i think they are playing deciding fixture this weekend so league winner will be known then

theboywonder8
23/06/2011, 12:23 AM
bunratty are from cork lad

Sorry taught it was bunratty from Clare league,Just spotted it there,

Shilts
29/06/2011, 4:20 PM
Big Cork Derby in the first round

Kinsale (Cork AUL) v Douglas Hall (MSL Junior)

Should be a good game.
I'm glad we're at home, as Douglas Hall are very hard to beat on their artificial surface!

villaman10
30/06/2011, 9:39 AM
are you staying with kinsale so shilts? story was you were going to bandon!!

Shilts
30/06/2011, 9:47 AM
are you staying with kinsale so shilts? story was you were going to bandon!!

Haha!
Slight miscalculation on your part there villaman10 :D

That's Brendan Hurley going to Bandon - I'm staying put!
They wanted me but couldn't afford the transfer fee haha!
5 shillings! ;)

villaman10
30/06/2011, 11:07 AM
i apologise unreservedly!!!

southern kid
09/07/2011, 7:59 PM
i suppose the desmond lge and west cork lge would be the worst of the 12 team?,clonmel would be my favourites to win it out.it will be very interestin to see how pike react to loosin alot of players. did pike recieve compo from athlone town for their players? i think this new competiton by munster is an excellent idea,fair play....

deadly man
15/07/2011, 1:41 AM
i suppose the desmond lge and west cork lge would be the worst of the 12 team?,clonmel would be my favourites to win it out.it will be very interestin to see how pike react to loosin alot of players. did pike recieve compo from athlone town for their players? i think this new competiton by munster is an excellent idea,fair play....
Why would Pike receive compo from Athlone when the junior season is over and those players can go where they lke?????

hoops38
16/07/2011, 12:09 AM
Why would Pike receive compo from Athlone when the junior season is over and those players can go where they lke?????

correct they are amateur players

Shilts
06/09/2011, 12:05 PM
Kinsale v Douglas Hall this saturday in the first round.

As this is the Hall's 2nd team what are the rules regarding playing their senior (first team) players??
I looked on the MFA website but couldn't find rules for this competition.

I know for the Munster Junior Cup you can't have played in the Munster Senior Cup that season.
However no MFA Senior or Junior Cup games have been played yet this season.

I hope somebody from the MFA is looking and nails this down before the game on saturday!!!

nononsense
06/09/2011, 12:34 PM
Kinsale v Douglas Hall this saturday in the first round.

As this is the Hall's 2nd team what are the rules regarding playing their senior (first team) players??
I looked on the MFA website but couldn't find rules for this competition.

I know for the Munster Junior Cup you can't have played in the Munster Senior Cup that season.
However no MFA Senior or Junior Cup games have been played yet this season.

I hope somebody from the MFA is looking and nails this down before the game on saturday!!!

I'm not from the MFA but will give my opinion. As I understand, any player who hasn't played more than 5 games at Senior level this season would be eligible to play in this junior cup competition.