View Full Version : Midweek Latest (Mon/Tues 9/10 May)

Ezeikial
08/05/2011, 6:00 PM
AIRTRICITY LEAGUE PREVIEWS
(7.45pm unless stated)
Monday, May 9, 2011
Airtricity League Premier Division
Bohemians v Dundalk, Dalymount Park. Referee: Neil Doyle.

Dundalk travel to Dalymount Park seeking to end an 18-year wait for a win against Bohemians at the Phibsborough venue – and overtake the Gypsies in the Premier division table.

The Lilywhites are without a victory at Dalymount in any competition since March 1993. Both sides secured away victories on Friday - Bohs won 1-0 at Drogheda while Dundalk scored three goals against Galway.

Dundalk strikers Jason Byrne and Mark Quigley return to their former club. Dubliner Byrne recently joined Bohs legend Turlough O’Connor as equal third among the all-time league goal-scorers.

TEAM NEWS:

Bohs have Mark Rossiter (hamstring) back from injury but Keith Buckley has an additional suspension to serve. Ollie Cahill (hamstring) may return. Christy Fagan (hamstring), Glenn Cronin (knee) and Barry Murphy (groin) remain sidelined.

Dundalk remain without Eoghan Osborne (fractured tibia) and Stephen Maher (groin) but Dean Bennett (hamstring) and Greg Bolger (thigh) are close to recalls. Stephen McDonnell (knee) is doubtful while Mark Quigley (foot) should be fit while Shane Guthrie (blurred vision & concussion) and Colin Hawkins (hamstring) expect to feature.

QUOTES:

Bohs manager Pat Fenlon: “Dundalk are a good side and had another good performance on Friday. I don’t think there’s any game where we can relax and expect to pick up a point. We expect a tough game.”

Dundalk boss Ian Foster: “We have to beat Bohemians to go above them, but I think it’s important that we come away from there with a clean-sheet if we can, or unbeaten if we can, because it will be a long time before we play again in the league.”

UCD v Galway United, UCD Bowl. Referee: Paul McLaughlin.

UCD host Galway United with both sides bidding to bounce back from disappointing losses on Friday night.

The Students suffered a 7-0 defeat in Derry which will be a blow to their confidence after some good recent results. Galway loss 3-0 at home to Dundalk on Friday and will look to clinch their second away win this term.

TEAM NEWS:

UCD are without Mick Leahy (shoulder), Robbie Benson (hip), Mark Langtry (calf) and Cillian Morrisson (ankle) while Ciaran Nangle is suspended following his red card in the Brandywell.

Galway continue to operate without Gary Curran (broken metatarsal) and Joseph Yoffe (ankle) while Bobby Ryan is a doubt with a back injury. Mikey Gilmore and Enda Curran are doubtful.

QUOTES:

UCD manager Martin Russell: “The Derry result was extremely hard to take but it is great that we have a game so quickly after that defeat. The Galway United game will not be easy by any stretch of the imagination but it will give us the opportunity to go looking for another win.”

Galway United manager Sean Connor: "It's a vital game, we have to close the gap on UCD. Ourselves, UCD and Drogheda are in a mini-league of our own. I've every confidence that these boys will survive the test and that we'll be a Premier Division team next year.”

St Patrick’s Ath v Shamrock Rovers, Richmond Park (8.05pm - Live on Setanta Ireland). Referee: Damien Hancock

ST PATRICK’S ATHLETIC host leaders and champions Shamrock Rovers after hitting their best run of form of the season – a 1-0 win in Bray on Friday was their third league win in a row.

The Hoops have lost just once this season and their 1-0 win over Sligo Rovers on Friday was their third win from their last four Premier Division games.

Rovers beat St Pat’s 2-0 at Tallaght Stadium in the first round of fixtures – which was the first time since April 2009 that the Saints had failed to score in a league game between the two teams.

TEAM NEWS:

The Saints continue to be without Conor Kenna (knee), Dave Mulcahy (hamstring), James O’Brien (ankle) and Shane McFaul (hamstring).

Craig Sives and Chris Turner return to the Hoops squad but Gary Twigg and Stephen O’Donnell (both hamstring injuries) remain out. Ken Oman is suspended for the game after receiving a red card in Friday night’s game against Sligo Rovers.

QUOTES:

St Patrick’s Athletic boss Pete Mahon: “There’s a good mood in the camp after the recent victories and that is to be expected. It’s live on Setanta, they’re top of the league and everybody’s favourite team at the moment. Although they’re flying high we have no fear of them. We respect the side they have but we don’t hold any fear in facing them.”

Shamrock Rovers boss Michael O’Neill: “This is another tough game for us in quick succession. Sligo on Friday and St Pat’s on Monday in always going to be a tough ask; but we’re determined to see out the weekend with two positive results. We played well Friday and will be hoping for much of the same against Pat’s.”

hoopy
08/05/2011, 7:04 PM
St Patrick’s Athletic boss Pete Mahon: “There’s a good mood in the camp after the recent victories and that is to be expected. It’s live on Setanta, they’re top of the league and [B]everybody’s favourite team at the moment. Although they’re flying high we have no fear of them. We respect the side they have but we don’t hold any fear in facing them.”

I assume Pete means favourite as in bookies odds. Otherwise it's the worst 'us against the world' type of team motivation attempt in the history of football.

Dillonman
08/05/2011, 7:45 PM
Great news that we have Bennett and Bolger almost back to play full games. Both should get a run out tomorrow ahead of the Setanta Cup game.

09/05/2011, 4:43 PM
I love mid-week games.

09/05/2011, 5:12 PM
http://www.dundalkfc.com/laptop-live-bohemians-v-dundalk

Live updates of Bohs v Dundalk. Dunno if Dundalk FM are covering it.

bullit
09/05/2011, 7:04 PM
http://www.dundalkfc.com/laptop-live-bohemians-v-dundalk

Live updates of Bohs v Dundalk. Dunno if Dundalk FM are covering it.

It is .
Livehttp://www.dundalkfm.com/player.html commentary

Fester
09/05/2011, 7:22 PM
UCD 1 v 0 Galway United 34' Marshall

Fester
09/05/2011, 7:27 PM
UCD 2 V 0 Galway United 38'

pauliek
09/05/2011, 7:29 PM
It took big Dan 6 seconds to hoof it v Pats

09/05/2011, 7:32 PM
Link for Pats v Rovers if anyones interested: http://www.vipbox.tv/watch/31456/1/st.-patrick-athletic-vs-shamrock-rovers.html

Fester
09/05/2011, 7:35 PM
Bohs 0 v 0 Dundalk HT

09/05/2011, 7:50 PM
I love mid-week games.

Especially when they're at the start of the week.

Hurt Locker
09/05/2011, 7:54 PM
Pats 0 rovers 0 ht

Anto murphy hearder taken of line by mc cabe! very close game

Fester
09/05/2011, 8:16 PM
UCD 3 v 0 Galway Belhout 70'

Fester
09/05/2011, 8:26 PM
Bohs 0 v 1 Dundalk - Hawkins 80'

09/05/2011, 8:41 PM
Dundalk win 1-0, GET IN

Hurt Locker
09/05/2011, 8:52 PM
Pats 0 Rovers 0

Brian Shortall MOTH

09/05/2011, 9:19 PM
Another clean sheet for the worst defender in the league.

bullit
09/05/2011, 10:08 PM
Some peoples judgements on players performance are based solely on a few games and are completely Bol*lix !!
For instance,Dundalk defender Mick Hector,slated as the worst defender EVER seen in LOI after the 1st match of the season in Tallaght.(was terrible but it was his debut)
April player of the month for us.!!!(scored 2 vital goals v Galway on Fri)

Cop on lads.

Louth4sam
09/05/2011, 10:22 PM
Have no idea how we won that game. The players worked hard but Bohs dominated for most of the game and but for some fine defending and excellent goalkeeping would have beaten us.

Nice big fine on the way for Bohs after a bottle hit a Dundalk player also.

09/05/2011, 10:37 PM
It hit a player? Thought was just thrown on the pitch.

Louth4sam
09/05/2011, 10:43 PM
It hit a player? Thought was just thrown on the pitch.

Hit Madden or Bolger but couldn't see as there was a crowd of players. It was thrown at the ref who was standing beside them. I'd like to thank whoever threw it as it killed any momentum Bohs had as the game was stopped for a couple of minutes until the referee ran across the pitch to give the bottle to the forth official

Ezeikial
09/05/2011, 10:43 PM
I'm still scratching my head as to how we won in Dalymount tonight!

3 clean sheets in the last 4 games is part of the answer. If you don't concede you always have a chance of snatching a win. The fact that it was undeserved in a strange way makes it all the sweeter.

Bolger and Bennett returning in midfield along with 3 away wins on the spin sets us up nicely for the trip to Tallaght on Saturday.

eelmonster
09/05/2011, 11:08 PM
Great result for us tonight, will be interesting to see who makes way for Bennett on Saturday if McDonnell is fit.

PartySaint
09/05/2011, 11:12 PM
Draw was a fair result in Richmond tonight, Rovers had most of the ball but we had the better chances, Shorthall and Big Mac were superb for the saints while McCormack had a very good game for Rovers

09/05/2011, 11:39 PM
We have outplayed teams and not got results so nice to nick one tonight! We were awful but hung in there. Hector again had a good game, out of position in midfield. When Bennett came on and Hector moved to centre back we got a bit more from the game. Bolger deserves significant praise as being out for so long, was out on his feet but still got back to clear off the line - full 90mins is a bonus for him and the team. Cherrie wobbling a bit compared to last seasons standards but still pulled some important stops. Kearns quiet, Quigley anonymous imo, not a huge amount from Byrnes either. Didnt realise that Hawkins has a good turn of pace but he showed it tonight thankfully. Maybe we all, fans and players, had one eye on Saturday so great result! Hard to believe thats our first win over Bohs in Dalymount in 18yrs :/

The bottle thrown was obviously from a Shams fan in disguise ;p Thanks to the announcer that wished us luck for Saturday too

09/05/2011, 11:48 PM
we have outplayed teams and not got results so nice to nick one tonight! We were awful but hung in there. Hector again had a good game, out of position in midfield. When bennett came on and hector moved to centre back we got a bit more from the game. Bolger deserves significant praise as being out for so long, was out on his feet but still got back to clear off the line - full 90mins is a bonus for him and the team. Cherrie wobbling a bit compared to last seasons standards but still pulled some important stops. Kearns quiet, quigley anonymous imo, not a huge amount from byrnes either. Didnt realise that hawkins has a good turn of pace but he showed it tonight thankfully. Maybe we all, fans and players, had one eye on saturday so great result! Hard to believe thats our first win over bohs in dalymount in 18yrs :/

the bottle thrown was obviously from a shams fan in disguise ;p thanks to the announcer that wished us luck for saturday too

pmsl :d

bullit
09/05/2011, 11:57 PM
Thanks to the announcer that wished us luck for Saturday too
Ahh the famous Bohs announcer !! Fair play to him.Ten times as biased as our own fine man :cool:

10/05/2011, 12:03 AM
It was the 'Neutral venue Tallaght' quip that amused me!!

Guinney
10/05/2011, 12:38 AM
Cherrie had to pull of a couple of saves and the defence had to be resolute as Bohs had the majority of possession but don't care 3 points is all that matters and the 18 year wait for a win in Dalymount is over.

Hurt Locker
10/05/2011, 5:18 AM
McCormack had a very good game for Rovers

Anoyomous, technique really poor for shot on goal. Ronan Finn had decent game for rovers. When twigg is playing rovers seem to be much better up front.

Pats d kavanagh had an impressive game gave rice the run around.

Ezeikial
10/05/2011, 11:02 AM
Hit Madden or Bolger but couldn't see as there was a crowd of players. It was thrown at the ref who was standing beside them. I'd like to thank whoever threw it as it killed any momentum Bohs had as the game was stopped for a couple of minutes until the referee ran across the pitch to give the bottle to the forth official

Fenlon gives his assessment of the match and the bottle throwing Bohs fans

"You can't legislate for gob****es"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rtI6l1fKEWk&feature=player_embedded

10/05/2011, 11:07 AM
This could be one of our most boring seasons ever. Clearly much better than the bottom two (10 points from 4 games) and much worse than everyone else (4 points from 8 games). Could be a record for the club with the biggest gap to the teams immediately above and below them?

Hurt Locker
10/05/2011, 11:33 AM
This could be one of our most boring seasons ever. Clearly much better than the bottom two (10 points from 4 games) and much worse than everyone else (4 points from 8 games). Could be a record for the club with the biggest gap to the teams immediately above and below them?

well ucd equaled one record this season biggest league defeat 7-0!!

Record League Defeat:
0-7 v Limerick United, Home, 23 December 1979

Ezeikial
10/05/2011, 12:01 PM
Seems like the Bohs "faithful" gave Colin Hawkins some extra incentive last night

And the 33-year-old has stated that he could not “contain” himself after scoring his second goal for the club. “I probably milked the celebration a little bit too much,” Colin told dundalkfc.com afterwards. “I’ve had serious stick off these fans since I left Bohs, unfairly so I think, because I won the title with them here. They have a short memory, so I milked the celebration a little bit in front of them.
http://www.dundalkfc.com/hawkins-milks-celebration-as-payback-quigley-satisfied

hoopy
10/05/2011, 1:22 PM
When twigg is playing rovers seem to be much better up front.

Funny you should say that, Barcelona seem to be better when Messi's playing for some reason:confused::D

poster
10/05/2011, 3:26 PM
Fenlon gives his assessment of the match and the bottle throwing Bohs fans

MUST have been a Shams lad dressed in black and red.

10/05/2011, 3:27 PM

Impossible. No direct bus so they could not have got there.

10/05/2011, 3:50 PM
Impossible. No direct bus so they could not have got there.

I heard he got stuck in security at the airport. Couldn't'be been a Shams fan.

hoopy
10/05/2011, 5:28 PM
Nice big fine on the way for Bohs after a bottle hit a Dundalk player also.

Didn't happen. Lack of condemnation on here is proof.

HomerJay
10/05/2011, 5:32 PM
Don't blame it on the sunshine, Don't blame it on the moonlight, Blame it on the Shams fans.

Fester
10/05/2011, 7:13 PM
Sligo Rovers 1 v 0 Bray '13' Doyle

Fester
10/05/2011, 7:14 PM
Derry City 1 v 0 Drogheda United

10/05/2011, 7:14 PM
Sligo 1-0 Bray
Derry 1-0 Drogs

Fester
10/05/2011, 7:17 PM
Sligo 1 v 1 Bray 38' Murphy

peadar1987
10/05/2011, 7:32 PM
Sligo 1 v 1 Bray 38' Murphy

Woot!

Nah Nah Nah Nah
10/05/2011, 8:01 PM
2 1 Doyle

peadar1987
10/05/2011, 8:02 PM
2 1 Doyle

unWoot. :(

Nah Nah Nah Nah
10/05/2011, 8:10 PM
3 1 Doyle hat trick

10/05/2011, 9:23 PM
2-0 to City and we're back to a point behind Rovers.

We were originally due to play them this Friday but that has been switched to the Sellotanta Final. Would have been a tasty clash if it had been on.