View Full Version : Castlebar Celtic FC

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

CCFC1924
27/04/2011, 12:46 AM
Stealing Thunderblaster's idea here, but any of you Hoops on here like to discuss all things Celtic on here?

With the club making some recent, much needed developments, it's nice to see that on the pitch we are making steps in the right direction also.

Junior: Top of the league after 3 games, a disappointing result in Swinford, but 2 terrific results at home to Manulla and Ballina. Really made their stamp on the league and long may their form continue!

Junior B: Disappointing start. Contrary to my own predictions, maybe the Premier was a little above their level. Saying that, it's still a strong squad with a devoted coaching staff. 2 losses and a draw leaves them with 1 point from 9. Erris B in the Touhy Cup next Sunday. Hopefully we can see the lads improve in the near future.

Under 18 starts in June

Under 17: First year for this and they stand on top of the league with 4 games to play. Win all 4 games and the first under 17 title will go to Celtic. Also in the last 8 of the cup after Bangor Hibs conceded the first round. FAI starts in September. A strong and commited squad with great prospects.

Under 17 B: Unfortunate to go out of the cup lately and putting in a good challenge in their league. Still in contention late on, though Partry look like favourites to take the 2nd Division title.

Under 16: Disappointing last year, starting again in June with a new age structure. Lets not go there, so confusing!

Under 16 B: Good league campaign and great run in the cup reaching the semi finals. Season to start again in June.

Under 15: Joint top of the league with Westport after 3 games each. Both tied on 6 points. No B team this year.

Under 14: Terrific squad. League and Cup double, reached the last 8 of the SFAI and playing in the Connacht Cup final against Manulla next Sunday. Best of luck to all involved!

Under 13: 4-way tie after 3 games. Claremorris, Ballina, Manulla and Celtic all 6 points from 3 games. Westport 3 points. Could be an intriguing leage :)

Under 12 all to start in June, with the academy going well!!

C'mon the hoops :)

Closing Time
28/04/2011, 12:35 PM
Yes great start in the 8 team Super League. Ballina were disappointing and Celtic could have won by more. Saw Ger O’Boyle and Ioseph Reilly were named on Mayo News Team of the Week (great idea). Can not believe Stevie Gavin did not make it after his majestic display on Sunday last. He was just unplayable on the day. Well done to Declan Kilkelly on been named manager of the week in the CT this week. Club is holding its annual race night in the clubhouse this Saturday first race off at 9.30 pm. Should be a good night. Great day in the club house last Sunday with a great crowd around for the day.

CCFC1924
28/04/2011, 10:53 PM
Would like to wish the Under 14 lads the very best of luck against Manulla in the Connacht Cup Final next Sunday in Athlone. G'wan Celtic!

Closing Time
30/04/2011, 7:15 AM
Good luck to U-14's. Will be close game. Saw that five of the Manulla team were playing for Mayo a couple of weeks ago while Celtic had only two on duty. I see Race Night moved to 14th May

CCFC1924
30/04/2011, 6:27 PM
Glad the racenight is moved as everything is a little hectic at the mo!!

Well done to the under 10s and 12s boys who won the Manulla 5s earlier today. And also to the first ever under 14 girls Celtic team who reached their final. Celtic reached the final of the 3 competitions they were involved in, winning 2. Great day :)

CCFC1924
01/05/2011, 2:06 PM
Celtic 0-1 Manulla Under 14 Connacht Cup Final. Hard luck lads, and congrats to Manulla.

CCFC1924
01/05/2011, 2:14 PM
Womens football has really taken a huge turn at the club since good ol' JD took control!

After a large amount of silverware over the years, the Senior ladies have made a terrific start to the season. They stand second in the league after 2 wins and a draw (including a superb 6-0 thrashing of Kilalla). They also beat Ballyglass 3-2 away in the first round of the cup after extra time. Well done to all involved.

The club, in the last year and a half, has seen the introduction of a progression system in ladies football. The first underage team was the Under 16 side who won their league, convincingly, and got to the Mayo Cup final only to be beaten by a superb Ballina side. They have a terrific squad for the up and coming Under 16 season. There has also been an introduction of an Under 17 side. However, this has been strictly to give girls games. There are way stronger teams than Celtic in there, but it has been great practice and preparation for the upcoming league season. They also play Salthill Devon in the first round of the National Cup.

The Under 14 team took part in the Manulla 5s, for the first time, and made their final yesterday. This is a very, very promising group of footballers. Hopefully a few more players will come on board so that Celtic can enter an under 14 league team.

What we have in place at the club now is a real grassroots system. There is a girls academy being run also by one of our clubmen, that I won't name in case he doesn't want me to!! This is vital also and it gives us a real structure.

Hopefully in time we will reape the rewards of this.

CCFC1924
03/05/2011, 12:25 AM
Brilliant, brilliant performance from the U17 a side tonight in Erris. Great passing, movement, communication and workkrate. Won 5-2 in the end and deservedly so.

The B team drew 1-1 at home to S&F. Puts them top by a point but Partry have 2 games in hand, one of which is at home to bottom club Achill. Here's hoping :)

CCFC1924
04/05/2011, 9:58 PM
Have to say the pitch at Celtic Park is in absolutely terrific shape. part from the centre circle which has been hard to fix, the pitch is looking great.

Juniors away to Ballinrobe this Saturday, B team have another long trip up north, playing Bangor Hibs.

Big game Monday for the 17s who are looking to capture the club's first under 17 Mayo title. Play at home to Manulla with 3 games to play. Need to win all 3 to assure the title

CCFC1924
06/05/2011, 11:45 PM
Race Night moved to Friday 13th May. Hope to see ye there folks!

Good luck to the lads in Ballinrobe tomorrow, looking to pick up their first away win this season!

CCFC1924
07/05/2011, 4:42 PM
League Leaders Toppled
07/05/2011
Castlebar Celtic 4-1 Kilmore
The clubs Women’s team maintained their unbeaten league record following a deserved victory over the league leaders Kilmore who tasted defeat for the first time this season on Thursday evening @ Celtic Park. The excellent win was built on the Hoops commanding defence of goalkeeper Emma Hopkins, Aoife Carroll, Rachel King, Patricia Moran and Avril Kilkelly who never let the away side strikers any room. The midfield quartet of Marie Harrington, Louise Fahy, Katie Walsh and Thelma Healy who were in majestic form all evening controlled the tempo of the game from start to finish. The brilliant front two of Orla Devaney and Emma Mullin were a handful for the hard working Kilmore defence. It was the front two who combined to open the Hoops account and Emma Mullin gave the visitor’s keeper no chance. Not to be out done Orla Devaney made it 2-0 ten minutes later. The second half saw the introduction of Nicole Redmond, Marie Nolan, Aileen Collins, Donna Hestor and Sarah Prendergast and they all played their part in the excellent win. Emma Mullin made it 3-0 with another top class finish and it was 4-0 after a tremendous 25 yard free kick from the impressive Katie Walsh on 75 minutes. Kilmore who never stopped battling all evening got a goal back with five remaining but it was just not enough after a superb display by Jeremy Dee team. Celtic: Emma Hopkins, Aoife Carroll, Rachel King, Patricia Moran, Avril Kilkelly, Marie Harrington, Louise Fahy, Katie Walsh,Thelma Healy, Orla Devaney, Emma Mullin; Subs Used: Nicole Redmond, Marie Nolan, Aileen Collins, Donna Hestor, Sarah Prendergast.

Well done to Jeremy and the girls on extending what we hope to be a long run of form. Some youth in that team also, the future looks bright for the Celtic ladies!

Closing Time
07/05/2011, 9:35 PM
Good win tonight. Any reports from the game. 2 from Jamie and one each from Andy and Ollie. Heard Port lost 2-1 to Manulla.

CCFC1924
07/05/2011, 10:24 PM
Tonight was fairly entertaining. Some good goals. Close enough game for the most part. Probably a fair result. Th ball spent more time in the air than I'd like to see, considering the pitch was in fairly good condition. Goal of the game was Ballinrobe's second, an absolute screamer from 30 yards into the top left corner. Keeper was helpless. Hats off to whoever struck that :)

Some good results in the league for Celtic tonight. First 3 points on the road and top of the league after 4 games. Can't ask for more!

Mayo Red
08/05/2011, 8:05 PM
Goal of the game was Ballinrobe's second, an absolute screamer from 30 yards into the top left corner. Keeper was helpless. Hats off to whoever struck that :)

That goal was scored by Pearse Sweeney to equalise, an absolute belter alright. Dubious penalty decision a few minutes later leading to Celtic's third turned the game though.

CCFC1924
08/05/2011, 8:27 PM
That goal was scored by Pearse Sweeney to equalise, an absolute belter alright. Dubious penalty decision a few minutes later leading to Celtic's third turned the game though.

I was behind the defender and so didn't see the tackle itself but judging by player reactions it looked a tad harsh alright.

Fair play to Pearse, terrific strike!

CCFC1924
08/05/2011, 11:33 PM
Junior B side well beaten today in Bangor, 5-1. Gonna be a tough year...

Big game tomorrow for the under 17s who play Manulla at home. 3 games to go, their fate is in their own hands. 3 wins ensures the title will come to Celtic, but Manulla will take beating. An element of revenge in it for some of the under 14s who made the step up, fresh from their Connacht Cup defeat last week.

Closing Time
09/05/2011, 6:33 AM
[QUOTE=CCFC1924;1483892]I was behind the defender and so didn't see the tackle itself but judging by player reactions it looked a tad harsh alright.

Heard that 4 Celtic people at the game two said it was a penalty while other two said it was not but all agreed soft to say the least. Good result considering all the players missing. First time I can remember that Celtic came off the pitch without a yellow card. I see that Paul Large came on for Manulla and was sent off don’t know if this is true or not.

CCFC1924
09/05/2011, 2:09 PM
[QUOTE=CCFC1924;1483892]I was behind the defender and so didn't see the tackle itself but judging by player reactions it looked a tad harsh alright.

Heard that 4 Celtic people at the game two said it was a penalty while other two said it was not but all agreed soft to say the least. Good result considering all the players missing. First time I can remember that Celtic came off the pitch without a yellow card. I see that Paul Large came on for Manulla and was sent off don’t know if this is true or not.

Sounds like Paul alright ;) Great win for them though so fair play!!

CCFC1924
09/05/2011, 10:30 PM
Under 17s made another step towards claiming the title with a very good 7-2 win at home to Manulla. Very good performance again from a very talented team. Kilmurry away next week, and then a huge clash with Ballyheane at home.

The B team won 2-1 tonight in Bangor, which puts them top with 1 game remaining. The least they can get now is a playoff with Partry! If Partry don't do the biz against Bangor next week, Celtic B will win the title.

Closing Time
10/05/2011, 7:37 AM
Good win for both U-17's. Partry looks odds on to win that league. U15 team have a big game tomorrow night against run away League leaders K&K Utd. Hopefully they can get their full squad out for the first time this season if so should put it up to Utd

CCFC1924
10/05/2011, 2:09 PM
Good win for both U-17's. Partry looks odds on to win that league. U15 team have a big game tomorrow night against run away League leaders K&K Utd. Hopefully they can get their full squad out for the first time this season if so should put it up to Utd

Nope, Partry are not odds on anymore. They have one game remaining and are 3 points behind Celtic, so all they can do is force a playoff at best. Achill pulled out of the league whihc means Celtic get 3 more points off them.

So it looks like Partry have a job on their hands! They have to travel to Bangor. A playoff is the best case scenario for them :)

Proton
11/05/2011, 7:36 PM
Nope, Partry are not odds on anymore. They have one game remaining and are 3 points behind Celtic, so all they can do is force a playoff at best. Achill pulled out of the league whihc means Celtic get 3 more points off them.

So it looks like Partry have a job on their hands! They have to travel to Bangor. A playoff is the best case scenario for them :)
good to see country clubs having a say

CCFC
11/05/2011, 8:58 PM
Big game v.s The Boro this weekend. Is everyone fit and available? Hard to pick the team these days, everybody seems to have started the season well. Hopefully we can keep out of/not start any shenanigans and avoid needless bookings or sendings off. Enjoy the occasion of the massive city derby (I joke) and get the win, with a few goals to spare, and have a few nice cool pints afterwards. :D

CCFC1924
12/05/2011, 1:13 PM
good to see country clubs having a say

Partry actually had it in their hands and were odds on to win it. But Bangor surprised them big time with a 7-1 win over them and pinned them right back. They need to beat Bangor now to have a chance!

CCFC1924
12/05/2011, 1:14 PM
Big game v.s The Boro this weekend. Is everyone fit and available? Hard to pick the team these days, everybody seems to have started the season well. Hopefully we can keep out of/not start any shenanigans and avoid needless bookings or sendings off. Enjoy the occasion of the massive city derby (I joke) and get the win, with a few goals to spare, and have a few nice cool pints afterwards. :D

As far as I can see they should have a full squad available, after missing so many in Ballinrobe last week! B team at home Saturday night to K&K too. Hopefully both teams can make it to the next stage

Closing Time
13/05/2011, 3:49 PM
Celtic must be hot favourites to advance against the Boro. But a lot of the Boro squad were involved when they last won. So should be a close game as all local derbies seem to level the standards

short_frank
14/05/2011, 2:59 PM
Partry actually had it in their hands and were odds on to win it. But Bangor surprised them big time with a 7-1 win over them and pinned them right back. They need to beat Bangor now to have a chance!

Partry haven't played Bangor yet in U17's, another mistake by the Mayo League it was actually the U15's who lost to Bangor. We have asked the Mayo League twice to adjust the website but they are dragging their heels. Partry are still in pole position and have the title in their own hands.:ball:

CCFC1924
14/05/2011, 10:39 PM
Partry haven't played Bangor yet in U17's, another mistake by the Mayo League it was actually the U15's who lost to Bangor. We have asked the Mayo League twice to adjust the website but they are dragging their heels. Partry are still in pole position and have the title in their own hands.:ball:

Ah for Jesus sake, and ya know I was thinking that that was a bizarre result!! All the lads are full sure they have the playoff sewn up, will be bad breaking the news to them!

Bad mistake from the Mayo League...

CCFC1924
14/05/2011, 10:41 PM
Mayo Cup

Celtic B 2-3 K&K

In my opinion, the away side were much the better team and played some lovely football at times. They were quicker, hungrier and smarter than the home side all day.

Big day tomorrow, Celtic Women play Westport at 11:30am and the Snugboro at half 2 in the cup

Closing Time
14/05/2011, 10:53 PM
Heard 4 peno's awarded. Who got them

14/05/2011, 10:59 PM
Ah for Jesus sake, and ya know I was thinking that that was a bizarre result!! All the lads are full sure they have the playoff sewn up, will be bad breaking the news to them!

Bad mistake from the Mayo League...
Looks like someone from Bangor Hibs text in the result incorrectly, if you get in contact with Jock he should sort out the table.

CCFC1924
14/05/2011, 11:15 PM
Looks like someone from Bangor Hibs text in the result incorrectly, if you get in contact with Jock he should sort out the table.

Ill tell the Sec, he'll get on to Jock! The lads will be gutted :(

CCFC1924
14/05/2011, 11:16 PM
Heard 4 peno's awarded. Who got them

2 penos each. Terry scored two for Celtic.

Proton
15/05/2011, 3:12 PM
My point was to see you talking about Partry in the same vain, as a club who is competing with you. Regardless if they claim the crown

Proton
15/05/2011, 3:19 PM

Think the reason why the web site hasn't been changed is because Jock is out of the country, dew back this week.
Mexico I think!!!!

CCFC1924
15/05/2011, 4:22 PM
Two decent results today for Celtic. A 1-1 draw v Westport for the senior women maitain's their unbeaten record and league position. Although they will be disappointed dropping points at home against the ol' enemy.

2-1 in the Mayo Cup v Snugboro. Went 1 up with a cracking Ger O'Boyle strike from 35 yards, give or take. Then a good break from Snugboro resulted in their equaliser just before the half. James Minogue added to his impressive tally with a long range free kick. It did take a wicked deflection on the way though. That's 4 goals for him (he's a centre half!).

Well done boys and girls :)

Closing Time
15/05/2011, 5:34 PM
Celtic Danone Cup Champions
The Tom Kelly, Peter Jennings and Colm Murphy managed U-12 side have just captured the Western Region Donone Cup and will now advance to the national finals in June. Celtic only conceded one goal during the competition which had teams from Athlone, Donegal, Galway, Leitrim, Roscommon and the hosts Sligo participating. The young hoops disposed of Moville, Salthill Devon, Ballinasloe Town, Ballybofey and St Joseph’s of Athlone in the final. Full report later. Well done to all involved.

Closing Time
16/05/2011, 1:30 AM
I see the Community Games side start the defence of the National title they won in great style last year. They will be looking for an unbelievable six Connacht’s titles in a row. They will face a difficult game v's the auld enemy Westport in Celtic Park on Wednesday @ 6.00 pm. Best of luck to all involved

CCFC1924
16/05/2011, 10:17 PM
Under 17 A with another good win tonight.

Won 11-0 in Kilmurry. Very one sided but a good performance. Pitch in Kilmurry was A1. Big, level, grass was perfect and very firm even with all the rain.

Well done lads

Closing Time
20/05/2011, 3:40 PM
Good win last night over Manulla. Goals for Boyler (2), Ioseph & Mackey. Anyone at the game. How did they play

short_frank
22/05/2011, 10:25 AM
Ill tell the Sec, he'll get on to Jock! The lads will be gutted :(

Lads just to keep ye informed because of the mistake on the Mayo league website. Partry U17's travelled to Bangor on Saturday and won 5-3 so we only require one point from the last game on Monday at home to Bangor. I am not gloating I just know that your U17 B team would like to know what the league situation is.

CCFC
22/05/2011, 11:18 AM
Junior B's had a good win last night. 3-0 against Party on the astroturf. Celtic went 1 up after about 30 mins. A corner/free kick was cleared to the edge of the box and Nicky Canning finished well into the bottom corner. Party had a man sent off just before half time, followed by their manager. The lad looked to be fouled but it wasn't given. He said something to the ref and got gate. Seemed harsh but abusing a ref is a no no. Celtic grabbed 2 more in the second half. First, Jinxsy played a lovely ball over the top for Terry Maughan who finished at the near post. The goal to seal it came from another Jinxsy ball. Clipped it over the top for Jake Gibbons who played a good ball across the face of goal for Terry to get his second. Good result, good performance. Hopefully they can kick on now.

Closing Time
23/05/2011, 8:57 AM
Great win today for the Super League side. Great goal by Boyler. Great defending after reduced to 10 men.

CCFC1924
24/05/2011, 2:32 AM
Lads just to keep ye informed because of the mistake on the Mayo league website. Partry U17's travelled to Bangor on Saturday and won 5-3 so we only require one point from the last game on Monday at home to Bangor. I am not gloating I just know that your U17 B team would like to know what the league situation is.

Thanks for that Frank, we have a grasp of it now as we had an eye out for the game on Saturday. That game was scheduled for tonight but I didn't hear a result. Real shame the mistake was made and the lads got their hopes up. But, if ye won tonight, or drew, well done on your league success!

CCFC1924
24/05/2011, 2:38 AM
Women are kicking on big time, another big win in Ballyvary (7-0) is a nice addition to their really solid start. Hopefully some silverware to follow. They play Raheny at home this Sunday in the National Cup.

Under 16 girls took part in their first ever National Under 16 Cup game. Played a very strong Salthill side but made a brilliant account of themselves with a great performance. 4-1 definitely flattered Salthill, this group of girls have a strong future and will take beating in Mayo this year.

Under 17s play Conn Rangers in the Mayo Cup last 8 this Thursday at Celtic Park. They'll be looking to continue their good run of form. A league decider to look forward to for thi group of lads, they'll be anxious to play it.

Big game v Westport for the 13s on Friday at Celtic. A win would put them in a great position in the league, but it's extremely tight near the top there.

The pitch will take a real beating this week. Under 17s, 13s, Junior A, junior B and senior women all at home btween Thurs and Sunday. 3 games on Sunday

short_frank
24/05/2011, 12:09 PM
Thanks for that Frank, we have a grasp of it now as we had an eye out for the game on Saturday. That game was scheduled for tonight but I didn't hear a result. Real shame the mistake was made and the lads got their hopes up. But, if ye won tonight, or drew, well done on your league success!
Game was cancelled last night as Bangor couldn't field a team. Rescheduled for Saturday but we haven't been told what time yet.

Closing Time
24/05/2011, 1:42 PM
Good luck to the Community Games side tonight when they take on Aghamore in Celtic Park @ 6.30. Very impressed with the Girls U-16 side on Sunday very well orgainsed. Well done to all involved.

Closing Time
25/05/2011, 2:19 AM
Well done to the Community Games side who advanced to the Mayo final after their win over Aghamore

The Don
25/05/2011, 8:43 AM
Game was cancelled last night as Bangor couldn't field a team. Rescheduled for Saturday but we haven't been told what time yet.

How does that work. I thought if you could not field a team you forfeit the game.

Closing Time
25/05/2011, 2:08 PM
That's the way I would read it if team did not show points will be awared to the other side. Partry should be crowned Champs and if so congrats and also well done to all involved with our B team who had a great season.