View Full Version : Website

Pages : 1 2 [3]

25/01/2012, 3:22 PM
You know the way ye were saying earlier that you couldnt have links to outside forums, sites etc in case they contain anti FAI views would the same not go for a link to a Facebook page?

L.T.F.C.
25/01/2012, 3:59 PM
I'll do it anyway and see if ye like it...

25/01/2012, 4:48 PM
You know the way ye were saying earlier that you couldnt have links to outside forums, sites etc in case they contain anti FAI views would the same not go for a link to a Facebook page?

Well it's more about links to sites that actually do have comments criticising the FAI not places that might have them. The Facebook page is fine as long as nobody puts up anything nasty about John and the boys. You can set up your own page for that if you want!

25/01/2012, 5:37 PM
No thanks there's too much competition out there already :)
but would a fan saying we got robbed by the ref tonight not be seen as an anti FAI comment? I just don't see how the FAIlure can inforce this silly rule.

25/01/2012, 6:24 PM
Not really that's a comment on the football but if you're suggesting it's a deliberate FAI conspiracy then that's more of a problem. They make the rules and if they say they were broken then they'll fine the club and there won't be anything the club can do about it.

26/01/2012, 3:25 PM
Fair point was just wondering cause you just never know with that lot theyd fine ya for breathing if they could!

29/01/2012, 7:41 PM
A few new additions, RSS feed which should work hopefully, plus direct links to the Facebook page. Roll on the new season so!

29/01/2012, 8:03 PM
A few new additions, RSS feed which should work hopefully, plus direct links to the Facebook page. Roll on the new season so!

never heard of RSS Feed before what on earth is that about? btw I have all the league tables from 84/85 to date involving us ready to send you by email later to use on the website..

L.T.F.C.
29/01/2012, 9:14 PM
An RSS feed is a system where regularly updated sites can publish their new stuff. Users can then subscribe and can access the new information as soon as its online.

Town Legend
14/04/2012, 11:57 AM
Was just checking out the Town website last night was glancing through the history section. I have to say that it brought back some memories reading through the players from years past. The likes of Seanie Egan at left back, Mark Girvan tough tackling centre back and Pierce Walsh in midfield. So many names you forget over the years!! Fair play to the historian (Marty I believe??), great piece to have and look back on.

14/04/2012, 3:07 PM
Ah ye the new site is a credit to the club and everyone who has helped with it, fair play lads.

15/04/2012, 10:46 PM
Was just checking out the Town website last night was glancing through the history section. I have to say that it brought back some memories reading through the players from years past. The likes of Seanie Egan at left back, Mark Girvan tough tackling centre back and Pierce Walsh in midfield. So many names you forget over the years!! Fair play to the historian (Marty I believe??), great piece to have and look back on.

yep that was me that came up with the idea.. glad people find it informative..

L.T.F.C.
16/04/2012, 10:34 AM
Well done Marty!

16/04/2012, 6:44 PM
all the hours swottin in the library have paid off for me. I have loads more stuff done but that will be put into our match programme at a later stage.. I always had a huge interest in this!

L.T.F.C.
17/04/2012, 3:15 PM
A suggestion! Would it be possible to have breaks in the posts? What I mean is that there is lets say 8 lines of the story, and then there is a link to the full story at the bottom? It would stop the homepage hitting 5 miles long! :D

18/04/2012, 7:14 PM
A suggestion! Would it be possible to have breaks in the posts? What I mean is that there is lets say 8 lines of the story, and then there is a link to the full story at the bottom? It would stop the homepage hitting 5 miles long! :D

Always open to suggestions! Do you mean a 'Read More' button? I shall fix that one up over the weekend.

May have one or two requests to your good selves, but more on that when I get to it. Also, many thanks to all of ye on the feedback, glad the site is going down well and a big thank you to everyone who's contributed so far.... Oh and home in May hopefully, miss those Saturday nights down the 'Siro.

daithi
18/04/2012, 9:51 PM
Great work Marty, didn't cop the history bit before, loved that team from 92-94 some great players on it.....

L.T.F.C.
25/04/2012, 2:51 PM
Thanks for the read-more! Looks well!

L.T.F.C.
10/05/2012, 1:19 PM
Can anyone tell me who does the match filming?

Richardanthonyc
10/05/2012, 3:13 PM
Can anyone tell me who does the match filming?

Chrissy Healy is one of the lads and I was asking him about it after the last home match. He does it for the club and has no clue where it goes and how to get a copy of any match after. I was raging when he told me that! haha

10/05/2012, 4:45 PM
Check out the new stats attack section guys and see what you think, also an interview with Mark Salmon on the way before Friday's game and there maybe a away day player focus feature too, some big work going into the site at the moment so fair play to everyone involved in any shape or form it looks great

10/05/2012, 4:51 PM
Chrissy Healy is one of the lads and I was asking him about it after the last home match. He does it for the club and has no clue where it goes and how to get a copy of any match after. I was raging when he told me that! haha
assume it just goes to TC for match analysis and stuff, my old minor gah team even did that craic so no reason why the town wouldn't I guess..

L.T.F.C.
10/05/2012, 5:02 PM
If a copy was released, I'd have no problem editing it into some online highlights. We might as well make good use of the footage if it is being taken.

Richardanthonyc
10/05/2012, 6:29 PM
If a copy was released, I'd have no problem editing it into some online highlights. We might as well make good use of the footage if it is being taken.

He says he does every single home match so I would say that even some form of end of season highlight DVD would be doable if people were willing to go through the trouble of it

L.T.F.C.
10/05/2012, 6:34 PM
It'd be far easier to do it on a game by game basis, as you could mark off the highlights by time. I'm not going to be around during the summer so it'd be nice to be able to do something when I'm gone.

10/05/2012, 8:56 PM
Think those recordings are just for TC, an end of season DVD would be a huge money spinner if we are promoted!

L.T.F.C.
10/05/2012, 10:56 PM
Just for TC? Pure nonsense if that is the case. Some good might as well come out of them... the whole game is recorded, someone could make something nice of them. I'd do it if I was given the footage.

11/05/2012, 12:10 AM
well obviously not ''just for tc'' hes hardly using it as his personal porn stash, I'm sure the team watches the matches back together and TC points out areas that can be improved etc. if they weren't i'd be surprised.

I doubt hed have considered whether the fans want access or not.

L.T.F.C.
11/05/2012, 9:12 AM
Well if someone did do the highlights, would anyone watch?

11/05/2012, 12:23 PM
ye course they would

fitzpatrick10
12/05/2012, 12:09 PM
Well if someone did do the highlights, would anyone watch?

Yeah. I think this is a great idea.. You should defiantly get on to someone at the club to see what the story is.. Like if highlights were done it could be put on YouTube and also would be a nice addition to the dinner dance in the long run (especially for goal of the season)
Some people might say what is the point but it wouldn’t cost anything to do seeing as the recordings are already there and L.T.F.C said he wouldn’t mind.

12/05/2012, 12:45 PM
That's a good interview with Salmo on the site. Well done outspoken, keep up the good work.

12/05/2012, 12:49 PM
Yep keep them coming :)

12/05/2012, 5:26 PM
Yep match highlights or even the goals would be great. Not sure if that's going to be a goer with the club, but if anyone is willing to edit the footage, that would be fantastic.

L.T.F.C.
12/05/2012, 5:40 PM
I'd be very willing to edit the footage! If I was given it I'd do it no bother!

12/05/2012, 6:03 PM
Thanks guys, ye dont worry there will be an interview on the site for every away game from now as well as the stats corner section and if I get time a player to watch article on the opponents.

One other thing I was considering was interviewing an opposition player every now and again alongside a Town player to get the view from the opposite side of the fence, what would you guys think of that?

Ny the way for anyone who hasnt bought a match program too often this season there are fantastic interviews in it each week and a fascinating stats section too so please support the club by buying one every now and again :) - There's my plugging done for today

27/01/2015, 2:38 PM
Been a while since I last darkened the doors of this forum. But just to let you know, new look website coming up before the end of February! Technology moves on fast, and the new version will work just as well on mobiles and tablets. We've come a long way!

Bosco
27/01/2015, 2:44 PM
Fair play Pauro, looking forward to it!

Cabs88
27/01/2015, 6:24 PM
Good stuff Pauro, fair play!

02/02/2015, 7:47 PM
Quick heads up on the new website, should be Wednesday evening!