View Full Version : Inaugural WhIT Weekend League Supporters Cup
blobbyblob
13/04/2011, 1:04 PM
Hi Guys,
I canvassed a few of you back in Jan/Feb on your interest for taking part in a league supporters competition and the feedback was very very positive so Ive put a competition and a package together that I hope you think is great value for money. I sent out an earlier mail to some of you with different (more expensive pricing) and got some good feedback back to shave off the luxuries to make it more affordable so I've done that.
League Supporters Cup, Waterford
The Inaugural League Supporters Cup will take place on the last weekend in May (28th May 2011) and be run off from Saturday morning to Saturday evening in the WIT Sports Campus, Waterford.
Format
2 × 11 a side leagues progressing to knockouts.
This is a fans event and in no way connected with the Airtricity League or the FAI. Its not a fund raiser and all costs go to cover the running of the tournament. Facilities are state of the art. It will be hosted here. http://www.witsportscampus.ie/
If you want to pre-register an interest(no commitment) in taking part fill in the form at the following URL
http://www.witomnisportleagues.ie/register.html and enter Supporters Cup as the password and Ill get back to you.
Any questions - Just Shout - The more involved the better the craic.
Tournament Entry €120 per team
- c. €10 euro per person
Optional Individual Player Add On Packages(per person)
€60 2 night’s Accommodation – Friday and Saturday night (Self Catering Appt with Continental Breakfast), Saturday Lunch Pack and Saturday Evening Dinner
€40 1 night’s Accommodation – Saturday night (Self Catering Appt with Continental Breakfast), Saturday Lunch Pack and Saturday Evening Dinner
€12.50 Saturday Lunch Pack and Evening Dinner
13/04/2011, 3:12 PM
Very affordable and sounds excellent. Well done my man.
blobbyblob
13/04/2011, 3:37 PM
Thanks Nigel. Couldn't be any cheaper but that wont skimp on the quality. Would really like to get this off the ground and make it an annual thing. There's not too many opportunities for all the clubs fans to come together and have a bit of craic and banter for a weekend. As far as I know its a blank weekend for fixtures too so it would be great to get as many teams as possible. I mean, its not often you get to play under the banner of the club you support. By and large it will be a social occasion with a bit of football thrown in. Who's in?
Hey BB - do you want this posted to our own respective messageboards? Or were you planning on doing something?
bluemovie
13/04/2011, 3:48 PM
Yeah everyone's playing on the Thursday and the following Monday. Think it's because of the Carling Nations Cup. Hopefully a good few clubs will enter. We'll plan a night out for the Saturday if everyone's not hospitalised by then.
The facilities at the WIT Carriganore sports campus are top class. Waterford United, county hurlers and footballers all train there and play challenge matches. Fitzgibbon Cup (hurling) was played there this year. Should be good fun.
blobbyblob
13/04/2011, 4:07 PM
Hey BB - do you want this posted to our own respective messageboards? Or were you planning on doing something?
Go for it Stu - the more exposure the better. Its for the fans, so if its a success it will be because of your participation more than me hosting it. Make it your own.
blobbyblob
13/04/2011, 4:10 PM
Yeah everyone's playing on the Thursday and the following Monday. Think it's because of the Carling Nations Cup. Hopefully a good few clubs will enter. We'll plan a night out for the Saturday if everyone's not hospitalised by then.
Heah Blue, We will have the Dome Bar in the college at our disposal for dinner after the tournament so I'm sure we can put on some entertainment there (one man band/quiz etc) and ye can use it as a launch pad before heading into town, going for a romantic walk on the beach or whatever you fancy.
Go for it Stu - the more exposure the better. Its for the fans, so if its a success it will be because of your participation more than me hosting it. Make it your own.
done. :good:
13/04/2011, 10:07 PM
Have it up on our mb now too, hopefully we can get a side for it, sounds like it'll be a good weekend.
blobbyblob
13/04/2011, 10:14 PM
Thanks Sam. That's:
Waterford United,
Finn Harps
Bohemians
Anyone else...
13/04/2011, 10:49 PM
I think its very feasible.. I know from experience that Section O had their own team and played at half time in major matches against UCD,Cork and Athlone.It was super craic..Longford Town dont have their own forum but I can tell people to go onto the general forum and see what they think.I am involved in the supporters club myself as secretary and can arrange to get this put into the town notes if you wish.. I have also sent an email to the program editor for us and get this put in for this weeks progam dom!
blobbyblob
13/04/2011, 11:04 PM
Wonderful stuff. Thanks a million Marty. Much appreciated. Go for it.
We can add Longford Town to the list of maybes then.
"If we build it..."
Rasputin
14/04/2011, 8:12 AM
It couldnt have been held in a more central location?
SwanVsDalton
14/04/2011, 9:27 AM
It couldnt have been held in a more central location?
Termonbarry was booked out for the annual 'Union Of Taco Sauce Makers Spring Gala'.
BTW that's Champions League Final night.
Pats will be having their own 5-a-side Astro tournament that weekend (fundraiser) so there won't be any Pats representatives at it.
great idea though, and hope its a big success
**FrOsTy**
14/04/2011, 11:27 AM
Looking forward to this, should be a good day out. From experience on playing out in complex on a weekly basis I can say that anybody playing is in for a real treat. Fantastic 4th generation astro turf surface.
With it been champions league night could make it all the better. I'd imagine it'd be over by 8 o clock so everyone could head to the Dome bar (college bar) for a bitta crack and watch the game.
Get your interest in ASAP and get this going.
blobbyblob
14/04/2011, 7:01 PM
We can add Shamrock Rovers to the list . Wehoo
blobbyblob
15/04/2011, 9:19 AM
BTW that's Champions League Final night.
Pats will be having their own 5-a-side Astro tournament that weekend (fundraiser) so there won't be any Pats representatives at it.
great idea though, and hope its a big success
Sorry to hear that Dodge but best of luck with the 5 a side. Thanks to all the supporters helping out and getting teams together. Feel free to post up on your respective message boards or spread the word over the weekend at games.
madblaa
16/04/2011, 10:58 AM
Hi all, Waterford United will have their official fan team in this as well, BTID United, I'm the manager of BTID Utd and the lads are really buzzin for this, I promise you the teams part-taking WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED, the facility out there, in which we have a great pleasure to play and train on twice a week, is nothing sort of stunning.
This will be a fantastic occasion for everyone involved and I cannot emphasise enough how important it will be for ALL fans for LOI football who love to kick a ball themselves, who knows, this could be a yearly event and might go into something really special!
blobbyblob
17/04/2011, 8:46 PM
Great stuff. Teams registering already so we're looking good - more the merrier. Put on your boots...
Representation from Waterford, Dublin and Cork so far. Who's next?
madblaa
20/04/2011, 8:27 PM
I tried to get onto the Shels forum, but admin still haven't approved me.
27/04/2011, 12:21 AM
Forum recently moved so I don't know how things are. PM Buile Shuibhne on here and he may be able to help.
blobbyblob
27/04/2011, 4:37 PM
5 teams signed up now so far so that's not a bad start - Any other takers?
Cork, Dublin, Waterford and Wicklow represented so far. 1 month to go....
madblaa
28/04/2011, 6:30 PM
It's a pity we can't get Cork involved, the banter would be mighty!
blobbyblob
28/04/2011, 8:51 PM
They are :)
**FrOsTy**
30/04/2011, 8:58 PM
How many teams do you have now Dom?
madblaa
06/05/2011, 5:59 PM
Good stuff, so how many we have now?
blobbyblob
24/05/2011, 12:09 PM
Well Lads,
Sadly this tournament wont be going ahead. I think its a great pity as it would have been a unique opportunity for the LOI supporters to come together and have a bit of craic. Thanks none the less for those who tried to get teams together. Maybe next time.
If you have any suggestions on what I could have done differently(apart from location) or when might be better, let me know. If its dead in the water, so be it. If there's any of you out there that think its worth saving and worth trying again Id love to hear from you.
Thanks,
Dom
blobbyblob
01/02/2012, 6:07 PM
Well Lads, Its been a year for you to get organised :) Joking of course.
We were very close to getting this going last year. If anyone's interested I'd really still love to get an annual League of Ireland Club Supporters Cup going.
What you think?
01/02/2012, 6:21 PM
I'm up for it anyway. But it would be better to get some more central location for it. Waterford was a bit far away for a lot of people last year. If somewhere like Athlone could be got that would be great.
Rasputin
01/02/2012, 6:59 PM
I'm up for it anyway. But it would be better to get some more central location for it. Waterford was a bit far away for a lot of people last year. If somewhere like Athlone could be got that would be great.
Exactly.
blobbyblob
01/02/2012, 8:14 PM
Sorry Lads - I can only do this in Waterford as I have the pitches, accommodation and food at my disposal here at cheap rates.
See what ye think anyway..
Bear in mind that you can do Waterford in 1.5 hours from Dublin now with the M9 motorway.
01/02/2012, 8:23 PM
Sorry Lads - I can only do this in Waterford as I have the pitches, accommodation and food at my disposal here at cheap rates.
See what ye think anyway..
Bear in mind that you can do Waterford in 1.5 hours from Dublin now with the M9 motorway.
Simple, move the pitches and Accommodation to Athlone then substitute the food for beer (eating's cheating). Deal done.
01/02/2012, 8:24 PM
Still another 3.5 hours to Dublin from Letterkenny/Derry, 2.5 from Sligo, 3 from Galway. Will try get something together but wouldn't hold out much hope.
01/02/2012, 8:47 PM
I pratically had no interest last year when I put this into our match programme.. the travelling would be a huge problem im afraid for us..
citybone
01/02/2012, 8:58 PM
I would try and get Cork City fans involved, personally i think station road (Newbridge/Kildare county)'s ground would be great. Athlone would be 2nd in my view. of course you would need someone in the said town to help organise it. also i think it should be on a Bank holiday weekend, i would suggest May bank holiday weekend, Sunday and Monday.
01/02/2012, 9:23 PM
I think Kildare and then Athlone would be the best location alright, if its going to be a regular event every year. I think it might be an idea to look at student accomodation where every it will be during the summer cos you'll get good rates for big groups and they are generally looking for the business. I know that there is great value to be had in Cork for this.
I think there should be a freestyle football (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gDSCEooGAFM) competition organised as well
A.D.K.
09/02/2012, 7:54 AM
myself and some other bohs fans could get a team for this, locationwise isnt an issue, thanks
09/02/2012, 2:34 PM
Athlone could be done. All weather pitch on Athlone I.T campus and there's plenty of student accomodation around the area.
09/02/2012, 4:49 PM
Would it be easier to get together 5 or 7 a side teams rather than 11 a side teams too? If it was full 11 a side you'd probably need at least 15 or 16 in your squad incase of injuries and fatigue. With 7 a side you'd get away with having 10 to 12 lads. Just an idea.