Hi Guys,
I canvassed a few of you back in Jan/Feb on your interest for taking part in a league supporters competition and the feedback was very very positive so Ive put a competition and a package together that I hope you think is great value for money. I sent out an earlier mail to some of you with different (more expensive pricing) and got some good feedback back to shave off the luxuries to make it more affordable so I've done that.
League Supporters Cup, Waterford
The Inaugural League Supporters Cup will take place on the last weekend in May (28th May 2011) and be run off from Saturday morning to Saturday evening in the WIT Sports Campus, Waterford.
Format
2 × 11 a side leagues progressing to knockouts.
This is a fans event and in no way connected with the Airtricity League or the FAI. Its not a fund raiser and all costs go to cover the running of the tournament. Facilities are state of the art. It will be hosted here. http://www.witsportscampus.ie/
If you want to pre-register an interest(no commitment) in taking part fill in the form at the following URL
http://www.witomnisportleagues.ie/register.html and enter Supporters Cup as the password and Ill get back to you.
Any questions - Just Shout - The more involved the better the craic.
Tournament Entry €120 per team
- c. €10 euro per person
Optional Individual Player Add On Packages(per person)
€60 2 night’s Accommodation – Friday and Saturday night (Self Catering Appt with Continental Breakfast), Saturday Lunch Pack and Saturday Evening Dinner
€40 1 night’s Accommodation – Saturday night (Self Catering Appt with Continental Breakfast), Saturday Lunch Pack and Saturday Evening Dinner
€12.50 Saturday Lunch Pack and Evening Dinner
Who is this guy, Trapper Tony?
Very affordable and sounds excellent. Well done my man.
Thanks Nigel. Couldn't be any cheaper but that wont skimp on the quality. Would really like to get this off the ground and make it an annual thing. There's not too many opportunities for all the clubs fans to come together and have a bit of craic and banter for a weekend. As far as I know its a blank weekend for fixtures too so it would be great to get as many teams as possible. I mean, its not often you get to play under the banner of the club you support. By and large it will be a social occasion with a bit of football thrown in. Who's in?
Hey BB - do you want this posted to our own respective messageboards? Or were you planning on doing something?
I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.
Yeah everyone's playing on the Thursday and the following Monday. Think it's because of the Carling Nations Cup. Hopefully a good few clubs will enter. We'll plan a night out for the Saturday if everyone's not hospitalised by then.
The facilities at the WIT Carriganore sports campus are top class. Waterford United, county hurlers and footballers all train there and play challenge matches. Fitzgibbon Cup (hurling) was played there this year. Should be good fun.
Heah Blue, We will have the Dome Bar in the college at our disposal for dinner after the tournament so I'm sure we can put on some entertainment there (one man band/quiz etc) and ye can use it as a launch pad before heading into town, going for a romantic walk on the beach or whatever you fancy.
Have it up on our mb now too, hopefully we can get a side for it, sounds like it'll be a good weekend.
Thanks Sam. That's:
Waterford United,
Finn Harps
Bohemians
Anyone else...
I think its very feasible.. I know from experience that Section O had their own team and played at half time in major matches against UCD,Cork and Athlone.It was super craic..Longford Town dont have their own forum but I can tell people to go onto the general forum and see what they think.I am involved in the supporters club myself as secretary and can arrange to get this put into the town notes if you wish.. I have also sent an email to the program editor for us and get this put in for this weeks progam dom!
Last edited by Martinho II; 13/04/2011 at 10:57 PM.
Wonderful stuff. Thanks a million Marty. Much appreciated. Go for it.
We can add Longford Town to the list of maybes then.
"If we build it..."
It couldnt have been held in a more central location?
BTW that's Champions League Final night.
Pats will be having their own 5-a-side Astro tournament that weekend (fundraiser) so there won't be any Pats representatives at it.
great idea though, and hope its a big success
Looking forward to this, should be a good day out. From experience on playing out in complex on a weekly basis I can say that anybody playing is in for a real treat. Fantastic 4th generation astro turf surface.
With it been champions league night could make it all the better. I'd imagine it'd be over by 8 o clock so everyone could head to the Dome bar (college bar) for a bitta crack and watch the game.
Get your interest in ASAP and get this going.
We can add Shamrock Rovers to the list . Wehoo
Hi all, Waterford United will have their official fan team in this as well, BTID United, I'm the manager of BTID Utd and the lads are really buzzin for this, I promise you the teams part-taking WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED, the facility out there, in which we have a great pleasure to play and train on twice a week, is nothing sort of stunning.
This will be a fantastic occasion for everyone involved and I cannot emphasise enough how important it will be for ALL fans for LOI football who love to kick a ball themselves, who knows, this could be a yearly event and might go into something really special!
Great stuff. Teams registering already so we're looking good - more the merrier. Put on your boots...
Representation from Waterford, Dublin and Cork so far. Who's next?