Holt pen 4
Hargan 20

St Patrick's A 1-0 Longford Town 7.45
Foley 20

Shelbourne 1-1 Cork City 7.45
Byrne pen 38 O'Flynn 19

08/06/2004, 7:41 PM
City took the lead......yet another peno against us to level it up. no details as of yet

come on City!

jofyisgod
08/06/2004, 7:47 PM
This really is the season of the penalty! Good to see City scoring up there. Byrne has gone off injured, Fenn also had a good chance.

www.corkcityfootie.com for updates.

08/06/2004, 8:27 PM
2-1 City. (9.26pm)

Woohoo

Neale Fenn.

A screamer by all accounts.

Cant be long left???

08/06/2004, 8:27 PM
last few mins

EIRCOM LEAGUE PREMIER DIVISION
Waterford Utd 3-1 Shamrock Rvs 7.30
Waters 20 Breen og 34
Sullivan 70
Carey 72

Derry City 2-1 Dublin City 7.45
Holt pen 4 Whelehan s/off 57
Hargan 20 O'Neill 61

Foley 20

Shelbourne 1-1 Cork City 7.45
Byrne pen 38 O'Flynn 19

08/06/2004, 8:30 PM
fenn scores yessssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss

1-2

adamcarr
08/06/2004, 8:30 PM
2-1 City. Wooohoo

Neale Fenn
YEEEEEEEESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :) :) :) :) :)

adamcarr
08/06/2004, 8:33 PM
Hang on lads.....
You can say that again!

08/06/2004, 8:33 PM
Whats left?

08/06/2004, 8:34 PM
Waterford Utd 3-1 Shamrock Rvs RES
Waters 20 Breen og 34
Sullivan 70
Carey 72

Hargan 20 O'Neill 61

Foley 20

Shelbourne 1-2 Cork City 7.45
Byrne pen 38 O'Flynn 19
Fenn 77

adamcarr
08/06/2004, 8:35 PM
Whats left?
About 8 mins!

fenn scored in the 77th minute

They full time Neil????

08/06/2004, 8:36 PM
They full time Neil????#

Just Blaas beating scum is FT.

08/06/2004, 8:36 PM
They full time Neil????

no :eek: :eek: :eek:

adamcarr
08/06/2004, 8:37 PM
Fenlon sent off! :)

08/06/2004, 8:38 PM
2-2,.................

FCUK OFF!!!!!!!!!1

adamcarr
2-2 :mad: :mad:

08/06/2004, 8:39 PM
Shít and derision.

How many more time are we going to leave in late goals.

:mad:

94th min equaliser from Longford Vs SPA :p

adamcarr
08/06/2004, 8:40 PM
I could see it coming! :mad:

08/06/2004, 8:41 PM
2-2 isint the end of the world lads!

We'll catch them alright

EIRCOM LEAGUE PREMIER DIVISION
Waterford Utd 3-1 Shamrock Rvs RES
Waters 20 Breen og 34
Sullivan 70
Carey 72

Hargan 20 O'Neill 61

St Patrick's A 1-1 Longford Town 7.45
Foley 20 Terth 90

Shelbourne 2-2 Cork City 7.45
Byrne pen 38 O'Flynn 19
Morgan 88 Fenn 77

adamcarr
08/06/2004, 8:44 PM
I would be happy with a draw at the start of the game but Im ****ed off now! :mad:

08/06/2004, 8:44 PM
All over

2-2

A good result . Pity we left in a late one.

jofyisgod
08/06/2004, 8:45 PM
A point's a point i guess, but 88th minuet and another penalty in the one game.
COME ON GOD, SHOW SOME MERCY!

08/06/2004, 8:46 PM
2-2 isint the end of the world lads!

It would have been better had we got the late equaliser though. Pity that we leave so much go late on isnt it, esp against Shels.

There was a late goal tonight

There was a late equaliser in the midweek fixture last season to make it 1-1, and if Im not mistaken it was Morgan then as well.

And there was Flynns late peno miss (which will never be spoken of again) against them last season as well.

Dolan getting rough treatment from Shelbournes fan. Stuff being thrown at him etc. Idiots. Security doing nada about it.

and another penalty

Apparently we can have no complaints this time. Silly tackle from Benno Im told.

A shocking game from Greg?????

08/06/2004, 8:47 PM
A point is not too shabby, :)
but why can't we hang on to a lead.... :(

08/06/2004, 8:51 PM
dolan hit by an object from the crowd

will have to wait for the lads to get back from beruit for confirmation

suppose we would have taken a pont at the start of the night

08/06/2004, 8:55 PM
dolan hit by an object from the crowd

Oily Byrne?

08/06/2004, 10:14 PM
just back from the game and absolutely disgusted

Two excellent finishes cancelled out by two defensive blunders.

We started brightly and deserved the lead, then we backed off and invited them onto us. Benno brought Fitzpatrick down, cast iron penalty, don't know what was going through his head.
We started the second half well, but defended way too deep throughout, Fenn scored a beauty, then we backed off and invited them onto us, two minutes from time, instead of hoofing over the stand, greg kicked the ball straight up in the air and lost possession to Fitzpatrick, who squared to Morgan for two-two.

Both John O'Flynn and Jason Byrne went off injured, looked like a thigh strain for Flynny

Trying to be as objective as I can it was probably a fair result, Devine was the busier keeper, but we should never have lost the lead twice.

As for the off the field antics, from where I was it appeared that Dolan was pushed and then hit by an object as he walked off at half time. At the end of the game he was on his way over to the fans and a kid of about nine (who has been escorted away from our section by a garda in the first half) threw a bottle slap into his face from about two feet away, the ineffective stewards let him run out of the ground without so much as a challenge.

Having said that, an 'official looking bloke' was talking to Danny M after and it looked like he was taking a statement, so hopefully they're fined.

the referee was poor although in the end we have only ourselves to blame, we looked scared of Shels for long periods even though i think we were the better team, the back four defended was too deep, Dan Murray was atrocious and midfield never got tight enough.

Bright points were
Danny Murphy (extend that lad's contract now)
Kevin Doyle coming back
CCFC fans, credit to all that turned out on a Tuesday night, well done
we're now ten unbeaten, but a win friday is now essential

On tonight's evidence, no team should have anything to fear from Shels

Counting Crow
08/06/2004, 10:26 PM
Great report Tiktok.

Couple of questions for ya.

- How did Doyler play?
- Desperate to hear Flynny went off injured again. Ho wserious did it look? Was he walking alright? How about Friday vs Derry - do you think he'll be available ( just when he was starting to find form again - $hit )?
- The icident with Dolan and the bottle throw into his face - how bad was that? Saw Danny Murphy get hit by a little SPA runt atthe match in Inchacore earlier in the season. Are these Dublin teams going to continue to get away withthis type of violence ALL SEASON ( Rovers - SPA - and now $hell$ )? If it was us we'd be fined an arm and a leg.
- How did Fenn play overall?

sullanefc
08/06/2004, 10:36 PM
I suppose we would have taken a point at the start of the night, but we were winning with a few minutes left :( and we're in fourth :(

On a brighter note, flynny and Fenn scoring. Hope Flynn isn't badly injured.

We're still unbeaten in 10 now. 13 in all competitions.

Shels are beatable and there is a long way to go yet. :)

08/06/2004, 10:42 PM
- How did Doyler play?
- Desperate to hear Flynny went off injured again. Ho wserious did it look? Was he walking alright? How about Friday vs Derry - do you think he'll be available ( just when he was starting to find form again - $hit )?
- The icident with Dolan and the bottle throw into his face - how bad was that?
- How did Fenn play overall?

- Doyler never really got going, don't think he would have been used if Flynny hadn't needed attention
- about five minutes before the substitution he was brought to the sideline and got strapping on his thigh, obviously it didn't do the job. He was walking 'gingerly' as they say, hard to tell, but first impression is that friday will come too soon to risk adding to the injury, hopefully it was just a bit of a dead leg.
-at the risk of melodrama, worst I've seen at an EL game, the age of the kid is irrelevant, Dolan got hit hard by a full bottle in the face and it obviously hurt him
-answered on the Fenn thread, but while a few negative comments were thrown (a few quite rightly), I thought he played well overall, covered a lot of ground, and scored a cracker

08/06/2004, 11:02 PM
just saw a post on Corkcityfootie that it was a water baloon and not a plastic bottle that Dolan was hit with.

Not sure if this is the case, but even though it might have hurt less, it's still a disgrace that anyone can run across the field and launch an object into the face of an opposing team's manager. :mad:

Rebel101
09/06/2004, 12:17 AM
Something like this should not be allowed happen weather it was a water baloon or a bottle is irrelevent, it's a complete disgrace. For Gods sake you can't even get into Turners Cross with the tops of bottles. I hope Shels a re given a hefty fine, I know if it was reversed Cork City would.

Rebel101
09/06/2004, 12:22 AM
Something like this should not be allowed happen weather it was a water baloon or a bottle is irrelevent, it's a complete disgrace. For Gods sake you can't even get into Turners Cross with the tops of bottles. I hope Shels are given a hefty fine, I know if it was reversed Cork City would.

Suetrol Ned
09/06/2004, 7:38 AM
Thrown at anyone else - the water balloon would've been a disgrace - but at D***n, it was fúckin hillarious! Anyway, it all started with some scumbag in a Village jersey throwing one at us and leaving the rest of his water balloons in the jacks, hence how the youngfellas got hold of them, so if you think Shels should be fined then I'm sure, in the interest of justice, you lot should be fined aswell.

09/06/2004, 8:47 AM
Thrown at anyone else - the water balloon would've been a disgrace - but at D***n, it was fúckin hillarious! Anyway, it all started with some scumbag in a Village jersey throwing one at us and leaving the rest of his water balloons in the jacks, hence how the youngfellas got hold of them, so if you think Shels should be fined then I'm sure, in the interest of justice, you lot should be fined aswell.

I think the point of the matter here is that the manager of the team was HIT by a "missile". Regardless of what was thrown at him, the fact anything at all managed to hit him is an absolute disgrace. It's lucky in a way it was "only" a water balloon. The scenario could have been so much worse if it had been some nutcase with something else in his hand.

Ozymandias
09/06/2004, 9:01 AM
Dolan was pelted with more than water balloons at half time...bottles oranges etc...the kid at the end of the match was actually caught by a guy in a suit who ran quicker than ben johnson to the corner of the ground and just got him at the gate

the game was good...poor home crowd...good away support for a tuesday night and all sang

Greg was p1ss poor
dan murray was all over the shop
benno had no need to tackle for the eno but other than that had a fine game
Cockney rebel was man of the match
george was george played and battled well
Nwanko ran his legs off looked hgood but tucked into the centre to often leaving gaps on the right of midfield for the two dans to try and cover
we saw the god and bad of fenn...brilliant touches super finish for the goal but pulled out of to many 50:50 challenges...shels second came as a result of fenn giving the ball away outside their 18 yard box when he had two men outside him...tried to nutmeg the defender but got caught..the possession led to the goal but that been said greg should have cleared it

shels hadn't a sniff at goal in the first half and it was sick to see the penalty go in
we were very deep second half and shels were on top

overall I think we deserved to win but they are the breaks

Was talking to Stephen kenny at the game he said nCork looked stronger and a better footballing side than shels but shels are better organised...bang on to

overall it was a good performance from the team and I now believe we can catch shels if we get consistency in our play

b_mcsweeney
09/06/2004, 11:12 AM
before the game, i would have said a draw would have been a good result, but i was sick coming out the ground last night, absolutely gutted. some random opinions then.

- danny murphy was phenomenal last night, had a stormer.
- did dan murray sign for shels when i wasn't looking? cos this was his second straight stinker against them, he was brutal.
- both city goals were excellent strikes, especially fenns (in off the post). though he missed 2 one-on-one chances, thought he played well overall and he looked delighted himself with the goal.
- good to see kev back, he got the assist on fenns goal.
- what benno was thinking for the penalty i don't know. thought he did well apart from that, but honestly, what was he doing diving in? it looked like the ball was about to run out for a goal kick to city if he'd left it, and there certainly didn't seem to be any immediate danger.
- nwankwu played well but, for the second straight game, looked absolutely beat after about 60 minutes. he might be due for a rest. i thought kearney could have been brought on a little earlier.
- city were a bit too content to drop deep and invite shels onto them, as has been the way for the last 2 years or so. someone to hold the ball in midfield and control the tempo of the game would be sweet.
- who knew billy could still run! showed flashes of past magic last night.

Brotus
09/06/2004, 11:38 AM
Didn't think Nwankwu played that well at all. With him and Billy on the wings the shape of the midfield goes out the windows. Neither of the two play as wingers. In the first 20 min's Billy pushed out wide and created a new option for the city attack. But when the two push in we seem to pump long balls into Flynn and Fenn. No wonder people are on Fenn's back. There's no Football coming throught the midfield. Kearney In Nwankwu Out.

09/06/2004, 11:46 AM
It was a water balloon at full time that Dolan was hit by right in front of the City support. It hit him smack in the face but did not burst until D Murphy threw it away. He was also hit by stuff leaving the pitch at half time and was escorted from the pitch at FT. Something should be done about it. If it was a manager down in Cork, we'd hear about it.
As for the match - good performance bar the last nine minutes by City. Didn't push out and conceded another later equaliser - gut wrenching stuff.
Danny Murphy is fast becoming a class signing.

09/06/2004, 12:16 PM
Devine - average
Greg - can't pass straight.
Murphy - 10/10 even got the offical shel$ MOTM award at the end. good going forward, great defending.
Bennet - once again makes idiotic rash tackle when forward was no threat.
Murray - tried to thump clearance & sliced too many times.
Nwanko - couldn't hold onto ball, dispossessed too many times
Colin T - quiet but effective.
George - above average, soem great almost balls to O'Flynn, tracked back well.
Billy - some good runs but went awol few times too.
O'Flynn - well taken goal, some dodgy touches probably due to lack of football, taken off for what hopefully looked meer precaution.
Fenn - Excellent goal, bad touches & dispossed too much.

Doyle - looked good & didn't show signs of injury.

We better in 1st half, sat back too much in 2nd. Draw probably fair result but was real stupid by Bennet (again) to give away penalty the way he did.

"Stuff" thrown at Dolan when leaving pitch at half time. Kid ran onto picth & threw water ballon at side of his face at end of match. Interestingly no mention of not being alllowed enyter the pitch in stadium regulations printed in "programme". Once again very few clubs even attempting to enforce the fans on the pitch run + a disgrace to let people thorw anything onto the pitch & not attempt to identify those invloved or eject them from the ground.

09/06/2004, 12:53 PM
As a neutral of sorts (as neutral as you can be in the middle of the Cork fans!).
Your #2, Murphy I think, was phenomenal, best left-back I've seen in the league. If he keeps that level of performance up he's a shoe-in for a place on the team of the season.
#6, I forget his name, was very dodgy, looked like costing you a goal for most of the game and seemed to be out of position (along with most of the defence) for $hels' second goal.
On the Fenn issue, I wasn't impressed with him at all. I don't know how many challanges he pulled out of, he didn't close down $hels when they were on the ball and he messed up the two good chances he had in the first half. He had some lovely touches and a fantastic goal but I don't think the team can afford to carry him for the rest of the match.

adamcarr
09/06/2004, 1:07 PM
[list] Your #2, Murphy I think, was phenomenal, best left-back I've seen in the league. If he keeps that level of performance up he's a shoe-in for a place on the team of the season.
He is also a very consistent player! :)

09/06/2004, 1:11 PM
Just on the antics of the Shels fans. Total disgrace. Why the hell should Club like Bohs and City bother with putting in such an effort, spending time and money to stop pitch invasions when clubs like Pats and Shels do absolutly nothing to stop them.

At Pats some young junkies punched Danny Murphy right infront of a stweard. At Shels last night little cnuts on the pitch throwing stuff at point blank range into Dolan face and again nothing happens.

Clubs like Pats and Shels need to be fined, it's beyond a joke. Last season a litte Shels fan was on the pitch at full time aiming fireworks at the Bohs fans ffs.

On the game itself Danny Murphy was amazing, if he is still under 21 qualified Don Given's has a lot of questions to answer.

Fenn took his goal well, layed the ball off well and put in a big effort, pulled out of a few challanges and got dogs abuse, Flynny did the same a few times too but no abuse for him.

The sooner we get Hoggie in at right back again the better, Greg fluffed a clearence and then got murdered for pace which led to their equaliser.

Anyone read the report in the Examminer? What game was he at:rolleyes:

09/06/2004, 1:37 PM
Can't wait for Dolan's column in the Star on Friday ;)

trevy
09/06/2004, 1:39 PM
Yeah Danny Murphy impressed me at the RSC as well when we were playing Cork.Very aggressive,no nonsense defender who wins tackles and gets forward.Is he a local?Is that his first season with ye?

Eric
09/06/2004, 1:42 PM
I might be going against the majority here but I didn't think Greg played as bad as people are making out. Fair enough the back line, bar Murphy, didn't look very confident last night but they were left under a lot of pressure by an alarmingly uneffective mid-field. Billy and Nwanko were not in the game at all and I found it very hard to believe they were left on the pitch for as long as they were.

Nwanko kept going in towards the middle of the pitch leaving a lot of space out on the wing which was exploited by Shels as most of their attacks went down that side. Billy was just no in the game at all. Colin stood back too much and wasn't gettin in as many tackles as he usually does.

Think at times last night City showed too much respect for Shels and thats why we came away with 1 point instead of 3!!

09/06/2004, 1:47 PM
I was slow to judge Danny Murphy but he was very impressive last night. He does hit some long balls but they never become hoofs.

btw i think he was 21 last December which would mean he probably not be available for the u-21 matches in the autumn?