View Full Version : Markets Field Renovations??

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14

bluewhitearmy
04/11/2011, 3:17 PM
Big plus for home teams too. By for away teams i mean it might stop the whinging about the size of the dressing rooms as they are decent enough compared to Jackman.

Id definitely prefer Hogan Park to Jackman even just to be away from the LDMC being honest.

Hopefully they figure out where they will be playing fas so they can get Ralph( think hes groundsman) in there to get working on the pitch..He got Jackman into very good condition for the last series of games imo.

04/11/2011, 3:22 PM
Was two years ago when I was last on the pitch in hogan park and it was in very good nick so I think it could be gotten up to a very good standard very quickly.

04/11/2011, 8:49 PM
ye did not say anything when limerick went cap in hand to the ldmc looking for a place to call home.

What has that to do with us not liking the place? And I wouldn't think bluewhitearmy was there cap in hand looking to use it, the club where. The LDMC have been well paid for the use of it also so saying cap in hand is ridiculous, if limerick got it for free that would be a different story.

fc hammer
04/11/2011, 11:33 PM
What has that to do with us not liking the place? And I wouldn't think bluewhitearmy was there cap in hand looking to use it, the club where. The LDMC have been well paid for the use of it also so saying cap in hand is ridiculous, if limerick got it for free that would be a different story.

Nail on the head there jof. You,d think that the ldmc where letting out jackman for free. Limerick where happy to pay rent and ldmc where happy to take it. Will we see you in the markets field next year hightower ?

4tothefloor
05/11/2011, 1:38 AM
Hogan Park is a shít hole. And the surrounding area is not exactly inviting. When you can't enjoy a game without worrying about your car being vandalised or broken in to by some scumbag, it'll be hard for many to justify going to watch a game V FC Carlow. Another thing is at least Jackman is in town, so if you want to leave the car at home you can bus it in and head for pints before and after the game. That's a big part of the enjoyment for me, and many others I'm sure. I absolutely hated Hogan Park with a passion and I personally hope we stay as far away from the dump as possible. I'd argue moving there will be even more financial suicide than moving in to the Markets because it will kill the momentum the club has built up over the last few seasons. I'd be for staying in Jackman or moving in to the Markets. Do not move out of town!

bluewhitearmy
05/11/2011, 11:19 AM
Hogan Park is a shít hole. And the surrounding area is not exactly inviting. When you can't enjoy a game without worrying about your car being vandalised or broken in to by some scumbag, it'll be hard for many to justify going to watch a game V FC Carlow. Another thing is at least Jackman is in town, so if you want to leave the car at home you can bus it in and head for pints before and after the game. That's a big part of the enjoyment for me, and many others I'm sure. I absolutely hated Hogan Park with a passion and I personally hope we stay as far away from the dump as possible. I'd argue moving there will be even more financial suicide than moving in to the Markets because it will kill the momentum the club has built up over the last few seasons. I'd be for staying in Jackman or moving in to the Markets. Do not move out of town!

The only thing that makes sense to me there is Jackman being in town..

Hogan is a **** hole but then what is Jackman Park then?

As for worrying about your car i know 3 people that have had there car broken into outside Jackman so doesnt exactly have an advantage there.

05/11/2011, 12:08 PM

As for worrying about your car i know 3 people that have had there car broken into outside Jackman so doesnt exactly have an advantage there.

...and then on the other hand, touch wood, I have never had my car broken into parked outside either Jackman or Hogan Park when we used to play there.

Both have advantages and disadvantages I suppose. I would think we will be in Jackman next season though I would say.

If we are applying for a premier license then having work started on a move into the Markets Field should be enough to secure one ground wise.

If the season is going well next year and by May/June the Markets Field was ready I would see no reason not to move in there to keep the momentum and buzz going. The ideal situation in most fans eyes though would most likely be a first game in the Premier against one of the top sides to kick off the Markets Field.

bluewhitearmy
05/11/2011, 12:10 PM
...and then on the other hand, touch wood, I have never had my car broken into parked outside either Jackman or Hogan Park when we used to play there.

Both have advantages and disadvantages I suppose. I would think we will be in Jackman next season though I would say.

If we are applying for a premier license then having work started on a move into the Markets Field should be enough to secure one ground wise.

If the season is going well next year and by May/June the Markets Field was ready I would see no reason not to move in there to keep the momentum and buzz going. The ideal situation in most fans eyes though would most likely be a first game in the Premier against one of the top sides to kick off the Markets Field.

This our as LTID said it would be great to go in there for the game we get the League trophy presented.

LK37oldskool
05/11/2011, 12:21 PM
I also agree that Hogan park is more of a kip than Jackman and i for one would not buy a season ticket for next season if they move there.I'd pick a few games to go to and that would be that.Been a season ticket holder for the last 4 seasons.It was Limerick Fc moving there in the first place years ago that kept me away from senior football for a few years.Nothing but bad memories of that s###hole.

bluewhitearmy
05/11/2011, 12:29 PM
To be honest i dont mind either way...

Anyone that played on both anytime recently are the pitches roughly the same size?
Because if Hogan had a wider pitch id rather move as weaker teams used how narrow Jackman is to close us out last season.

If they are the same there is no real point in moving i suppose now that people are used to Jackman.

05/11/2011, 1:09 PM
Stay in Jackman because I have no clue where that hogan place is!

05/11/2011, 3:06 PM
It's simple to find. Follow the smoke.

abbeyvale
05/11/2011, 11:37 PM
For me its a no brainer...............deal with the LDMC for another few months, stay put in Jackman Park and hopefully by mid-season when LFC are top of Div1 move into the Markets field when its complete, if that doesnt drive the team on to finish the season as champions, I dont know what will.

Hogan Park and Thomond Park are no-no's IMO

4tothefloor
05/11/2011, 11:42 PM
That is precisely the main difference and most important difference. Couldn't see the club getting more than 350 at games out in Hogan next year baring in mind the quality of the opposition. It's much easier for the casual fan to go to a game in town.

Far less of a shíthole than Hogan Park

It does if you park your car in a secure car park, which is what I do ;)

KevB76
06/11/2011, 1:05 AM
are the pitches roughly the same size?
Because if Hogan had a wider pitch id rather move as weaker teams used how narrow Jackman is to close us out last season.

Hogan Park was wider and longer than Jackman but it was re-lined to smaller dimensions recently and now is identical size to Jackman.

A lot of work was done at Hogan Park over the summer in terms of general tidying up around the ground, painting etc, and the pitch was kept in good nick for a while but Jackman still much superior pitch in my opinion. Still a lot of work would need to be done in the dressing rooms, showers, refs room etc at Hogan Park before you could really consider it.

Personally I wouldn't see any logic in leaving Jackman for Hogan Park or anywhere else until the Markets Field is ready, with all the work and hassle that would be involved, there's enough to be doing already with Markets Field move not to add another move into the mix.

Also one of the reasons given for not giving Danny Drews LFC a licence in 2007 was something to do with the facilities at Hogan Park wasn't it? If so then nothings changed since I would have thought.

Pablo Escobar
06/11/2011, 12:12 PM
Agreed

So where do people think we'll play next year

Jackman, Rathbane...or rumoured Thomond Park

1st two I wouldn't mind, prefer Jackman cos it's handier for me:)
Ironically, and I've only heard this 2nd hand, Thomond doesn't meet licencing criteria, due to water issues. As I said 2nd hand, but the source is reliable.

LFC Blue
06/11/2011, 6:13 PM
Hypothetical question here lads..If a current Premier league club fail to obtain a premier division licence eg. Bohs due to their financial troubles are we next in line to take their place??

06/11/2011, 6:29 PM
Ironically, and I've only heard this 2nd hand, Thomond doesn't meet licencing criteria, due to water issues. As I said 2nd hand, but the source is reliable.

Ha ha that's typical of the licencing.

Hypothetical question here lads..If a current Premier league club fail to obtain a premier division licence eg. Bohs due to their financial troubles are we next in line to take their place??

If Galway are granted a premier licence then they go in before us. Then if limerick get a premier licence we are up next.

07/11/2011, 8:28 AM
It's simple to find. Follow the smoke.
:) Or the broken glass, or just listen for car alarms. My car was broken into three times there over the years, and like many others the only good memories of it go back to the Billy Hamilton days when there was a cracking side, and a decent bar up there.

Market's Field
07/11/2011, 3:22 PM
I also agree that Hogan park is more of a kip than Jackman and i for one would not buy a season ticket for next season if they move there.I'd pick a few games to go to and that would be that.Been a season ticket holder for the last 4 seasons.It was Limerick Fc moving there in the first place years ago that kept me away from senior football for a few years.Nothing but bad memories of that s###hole.

I'd also seriously think twice about renewing my season ticket if we decided to move to Hogan Park

bluewhitearmy
07/11/2011, 3:29 PM
Market's Field[/B]

If anyone should know whats happening in this thread its you :p

historynut
07/11/2011, 6:51 PM
Before the new motorway system, sometimes coming into Limerick would pass a ground on LHS next to a swimming pool, always thought that was Rathbane, or are Rathbane and Hogan Park same venue ?

07/11/2011, 7:26 PM
Before the new motorway system, sometimes coming into Limerick would pass a ground on LHS next to a swimming pool, always thought that was Rathbane, or are Rathbane and Hogan Park same venue ?

That's hogan park alright.

dutchie
07/11/2011, 10:11 PM
The Jacks were a pleasure this year,often brought a bus load of kids to games there,but will def not be getting busses organised for hogan park,it seems to attract a lot of undesirables to say the least,will hardly bother going myself if they go there!!

thomas72
08/11/2011, 7:42 AM
Hogan parks pitch is shocking lads it can't hold water very well it cuts up very bad it turns into a mud bath iv seen it this season it would kill us the way we play ball. JAckman park for me

Shannonsider
08/11/2011, 12:47 PM
I don't know where this rumour about Hogan Park has come about. Serious step backwards in my opinion. No way would Pat' O Sullivan let that happen. Ya some good memories from there because that stand is so close to the pitch there was some great atmospheres up there. But thats about it. Played game there last year and ive seen less sand on a beach. Pitch was in awful state, even the Hill Celtic lads were complaining, so imagine what the top players with Limerick are going to think. Nice tight ground with a good atmosphere, Jackman is very open but thats no reason to move back. It would turn alot of people away as its that bit further out of town.

Market's Field
08/11/2011, 8:54 PM
If anyone should know whats happening in this thread its you :p

Ha Ha :rolleyes:

twofeet noboots
09/11/2011, 7:05 PM
Hi Lads, my first post on this forum, my first thought on reading "Hogan Park "was Oh Christ no! We went from under Dave o Connell to having the biggest crowds
in the league combined to a few die hards. The reason was simple, cars were being wrecked outside. Nothing will have changed as we all know. Stay away from there please. the field (not pitch) is unplayable to anyone who tries to play soccer. Jackman much better for all for all reasons.

10/11/2011, 8:31 AM
If security is one of the licencing criteria (and I don't know whether it is or isn't) then we wouldn't get a licence to play up there surely???

LFC Blue
03/01/2012, 5:04 PM
Well lads. Anyone got any idea where we'll be playing our home games in march?any work done up at the markets

LFC Blue
10/01/2012, 1:45 PM
Anyone?

10/01/2012, 1:56 PM
Anyone?

I'd be surprised if we where playing anywhere other than Jackman for the coming season. We might move in to the Markets Field midway through the season but at that stage we may as well wait for the start of the 2013 season.

da bishop
10/01/2012, 8:49 PM
one would expect us to play at jackman,that would be the logical venue til the move to the MF........but you would never know.......?

13/02/2012, 9:51 AM
Has the club made anybdecision.about where they will play their home matchs this season.

The LOI fixture list has us down as Jackman Park.

14/02/2012, 11:04 PM
Fair joke!!!!!!!

Been known for a while now it wouldn't be the Markets Field. Since pretty much last season ended anyway. Would be nice to see some work started on it though. As is only right, most people in Limerick will believe it when they see it. No harm in it getting a move on to show the odd punters what the club is doing as regards a ground.

I think I get asked at least once a week are Limerick moving in this season, why not, and when by lads that would only go to the odd few games a season. Most people seem to be keen to get up there more regularly, but as is with a lot of people they will follow the crowd and the success and until then are still a little skeptical.

legendz
15/02/2012, 10:35 PM
Lads, surely the club will want to get into the Markets Field as soon as possible? I think it'll be great for ye to finish this season playing there, get people used to going to the games there and even celebrate promotion there for what should hopefully for ye mark the start of a new era.

bluewhitearmy
15/02/2012, 11:00 PM
Lads, surely the club will want to get into the Markets Field as soon as possible? I think it'll be great for ye to finish this season playing there, get people used to going to the games there and even celebrate promotion there for what should hopefully for ye mark the start of a new era.

Been told a few times they are hoping to do that.

Board picked and to be announced soon that will be over the development so thats a good step forward.

blueblood
08/06/2012, 9:45 PM
I see the front page of the Limerick Leader has a mention of the Markets Field, I just checked it out on line and they say a planning application is due in the coming weeks , now the local city councillors have 'demanded' to know why the weren't involved in pre-planning meetings and want a community centre built in the area as part of the planning!!!

Now I might be a bit bias but what the fcuk has this got to do with these councillors? Should they not be happy that there are plans to redevelop this old ground at all?

Do these councillors have a point?

It looks to me like small town politics raising it's ugly head again and these knobs are all upset because they weren't involved in the planning so dont get any credit.

bluewhitearmy
08/06/2012, 10:06 PM
I see the front page of the Limerick Leader has a mention of the Markets Field, I just checked it out on line and they say a planning application is due in the coming weeks , now the local city councillors have 'demanded' to know why the weren't involved in pre-planning meetings and want a community centre built in the area as part of the planning!!!

Now I might be a bit bias but what the fcuk has this got to do with these councillors? Should they not be happy that there are plans to redevelop this old ground at all?

Do these councillors have a point?

It looks to me like small town politics raising it's ugly head again and these knobs are all upset because they weren't involved in the planning so dont get any credit.

No the ground would be left there to rot if we dont move in.......You would swear they would do something productive with it if we didnt get it.
Not like having Limerick there will somehow have a negative effect on the community there.

Funny they never bothered with a community centre down there all these years now they want one there.

08/06/2012, 11:26 PM
I thought though that the club was basically going to have a community hall there. I remember the garryowen residents were behind limerick FC moving in there as opening it up to the local community was part of the original idea for the markets field.

Councillors just up to their usual trying to get their puss in the paper whenever they can. At the end of the day it's up to the LEDP and Limerick FC as to what is actually built there and up to the planning authority on whether to grant it or not.

Edit: just read the article there. My god what are they on, demanding Limerick FC build the residents of garryowen a community centre or they will basically make life difficult for limerick FC. They must think we are Manchester City. The residents have had to put up with a lot from the greyhound track when it was open an it's a disgrace there is no community centre...ah lads that's ye're job to sort out as councillors not a soccer club.

NeverFeltBetter
09/06/2012, 12:16 AM
Total nonsense from a number of city councillors. Typical politics of course. They'd rather delay something through a manufactured sense of outrage over "lack of consultation" then get what is an abandoned aminety location used again. God forbid Limerick soccer should have a proper home and the end of licensing worries.

This is nothing new either though, it has to be said (http://www.limerickpost.ie/index.php/navigation-mainmenu-30/local-news/312-fai-in-markets-field-talks.html), but it never seems like there was any forward momentum on those suggestions. That indicates to me that all of this talk is just, as others have pointed out, an obvious attempt to get in on the limelight that the construction of a new stadium would bring.

Or how about this one? (http://www.limerickpost.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=1725:minister-for-sport-considers-markets-field-issue&catid=37:local-news)

“A lot of work has been carried out with the residents of Garryowen to ensure that local people’s groups are fully on board and are fully part of the whole process of relocating soccer back to the grounds.

That's a "joint statement" from then Mayor Keven Kiely and Minister for State Peter Power. Did all that get thrown out the window after local and national elections?

It's incredibly frustrating to think that this project could be furthur delayed. I don't even have a problem with any sort of "community hall/centre" being part of the project, just the way local politicians are acting regards it.

25/07/2012, 10:00 PM
I see a lot of power washing going on around the outside walls of the market field today

:D and so it bigins

LFC Blue
06/08/2012, 10:15 PM
It was suggested on todays irish independent that provided Limerick do gain promotion this season that the markets field will not be ready by March and Limerick could be forced to play their home games in Cork or Galway in order to secure a licence!how bizarre would that be.in what seemed to be a very well informed articlie i doubt very much that the reporter just made up this potential scenario. Why is there not more urgency in gettin the markets field up and running.

mrman
09/08/2012, 12:09 AM
they will ;lose a lot of support if they do.

peadar1987
09/08/2012, 7:42 AM
It was suggested on todays irish independent that provided Limerick do gain promotion this season that the markets field will not be ready by March and Limerick could be forced to play their home games in Cork or Galway in order to secure a licence!how bizarre would that be.in what seemed to be a very well informed articlie i doubt very much that the reporter just made up this potential scenario. Why is there not more urgency in gettin the markets field up and running.

No chance of getting Thomond for a little bit? Playing the first few games of the season there with big hype could be a great way to raise the profile of the club.

redron
10/08/2012, 10:27 AM

I read through that article again.
This just seems to be speculation on the journalist's part, and is definitely not something that anyone involved in the club or LEDP has told him. He's just going through the logistics in his head: 7 months to start of next season; no actual construction work started yet. But he probably hasn't looked at the plan details. At the presentation last year, it was suggested that phase one of the redevelopment would only take a few months. If that is the case, then the project is not behind schedule yet!

donnrua
10/08/2012, 12:04 PM
not too sure about the amount of work that can be done between now and the start of next season, surely the pitch needs to be re-layed and i'm pretty sure that winter is not the best time to do that also construction work goes at a snails pace during the winter months. I hope i'm wrong but I have serious doubts that we shall be paying through the turnstiles at the Markets field next season.

10/08/2012, 12:26 PM
I'd imagine if anything is to happen, it will be a fairly basic Markets Field next season. And if it's only a pitch that's the problem, a pitch can be laid in the space of a week.

Is there a chance of playing next season in Thomond do you think?

L.T.F.C.
10/08/2012, 2:59 PM
Forced to play in Cork or Galway? My arse! They'll play where they like and it won't be a problem. You only need to have plans in this league.

10/08/2012, 3:46 PM
Forced to play in Cork or Galway? My arse! They'll play where they like and it won't be a problem. You only need to have plans in this league.
That's the rule for everyone but Limerick remember!