View Full Version : Republic of Ireland V Uruguay - Tuesday, 29th March 2011 - Friendly
Pages :
[
3]
the bear
28/03/2011, 11:27 PM
delighted with the selections, lookin at new players and a new system. this is what weve been calling on him to do in every recent friendly.
fahey and mccarthy through the middle, not one but 2 talented footballers in the engine room!!
mama mia giovanni, bellisimo
dr_peepee
29/03/2011, 8:51 AM
The kind of formation I'd like to see with our first team Squad at some point. Doyle's a very good lone front man. Duff and McGeady excellent in flanking roles. McCarthy pushing on with Whelan and Meyler (please God, someday) sitting/Destroying. Would only be feasable in Keane's absence though(Or maybe away in Russia) as Goals would be hard to come by.
Duggie
29/03/2011, 9:13 AM
we could just drop keane off doyle away to russia in the 4-4-1-1 formation. simple.
dr_peepee
29/03/2011, 12:13 PM
I dunno.. They p***** all over us in the middle of the park at home with Keane and Doyle up front.
29/03/2011, 12:50 PM
I don't think ive been this excited by a friendly in a very long time.
29/03/2011, 1:04 PM
Will Forlan's woman be in attendance?
DeLorean
29/03/2011, 3:11 PM
Will Forlan's woman be in attendance?
To the totty thread (http://foot.ie/threads/22183-NSFW-Celeb-Totty-(DON-T-QUOTE-PICS)/page476) !!
republicofwhite
29/03/2011, 5:46 PM
Any streams for this?
29/03/2011, 5:56 PM
You'll find enough links here
My pee to pee (http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=110081&part=sports)
29/03/2011, 6:08 PM
When was the last time Ireland played a friendly match away from home?
I mean including outside the British Isles.
Noelys Guitar
29/03/2011, 6:12 PM
McCarthy and Fahey is going to be very interesting. Against a top team as well. Fascinating to see how we line up and play.
29/03/2011, 6:12 PM
Uruguay are ranked 7th I need to take a look at betting, might be able to get a decent price :D
29/03/2011, 6:13 PM
For reference:-
---------------Westwood----------------
Foley------O'Dea--------Kelly------Clark
-------------Green---Fahey------------
--Lawrence--------------------- Keogh
-----------------McCarthy--------------
------------------ Long----------------
29/03/2011, 6:16 PM
Conspiracy theory,
Kelly at CH/Keogh out wide, are selected to ensure that this experiment will fall flat on its face and we'll be back to the trusted basics for the next game.
29/03/2011, 6:19 PM
I must say this is the first time I have seen the team and I was shocked at first!!
I think Trap is asking a lot of player to step up to the mark as opposed to play a more supporting role.
This could all end in tears. :tremble:
ped_ped
29/03/2011, 6:22 PM
Green and Fahey could do okay in midfield together. Green may not have the required skill or confidence on the ball, but he does get stuck in, and in Fahey (unlike Whelan) he's got a partner who's very comfortable on the ball. Whelan / Fahey is a partnership I'd like to see played against a half-decent international side, though, because Whelan is far more accomplished than Green.
Perhaps I'm clutching at straws but the partnership could work, particularly in a friendly . . .
Other than that, I really don't know why Trap persists with Keogh on the wing. With McGeady coming into form, why give Keogh gametime in a position he's ill-suited to? Giving him the last 30 minutes on in place of Long / McCarthy would make a lot more sense. Though perhaps Trap sees Keogh as a winger (which nobody else, even Keogh himself, sees him as . . .)?
29/03/2011, 6:24 PM
So, more likely 4-3-1-2?
------Goalie------
RB-----CB---CB----LB
Lawrence--Green--Fahey
------McCarthy----
----Long--Keogh----
Makes sense. Maybe just a plain old 4-4-2 with Green and McCarthy.
I think that makes more sense, Long and Keogh up front.
Yep that looks more sensible.
Midfield of McCarthy and Green.
Mind you the formation will be somewhat irrelevant when it is ripped apart
by Uraguay, it will be whatever shape they leave it in :p
On a more serious point, anyone know anything about the Uruguay team.
I certainly don't but I expect they will be doing something experimental too.
29/03/2011, 6:30 PM
Shame it clashes with the England Ghana match, if like to watch that too, job for the recorder I think.
29/03/2011, 6:30 PM
tricky if he plays your formation then ill be ****ed off that its koegh on the wing and lesser extent Lawrence.imagine Mccarthy with mcgeady and Duff on the wings?i think Mccarthy behind koegh and long could be good.but that goes against him saying he wouldn't change the formation or system which i think Geysir mentioned last week.
29/03/2011, 6:32 PM
home draw away
13/5 11/5 11/10
Seems the bookies don't fancy us.
29/03/2011, 6:33 PM
i think westwood should have done better with the goal.he sorted dived to the ground rather than coming out legs spread like the second half great save
29/03/2011, 6:35 PM
tricky if he plays your formation then ill be ****ed off that its koegh on the wing and lesser extent Lawrence.imagine Mccarthy with mcgeady and Duff on the wings?i think Mccarthy behind koegh and long could be good.but that goes against him saying he wouldn't change the formation or system which i think Geysir mentioned last week.
------Goalie------
RB-----CB---CB----LB
Lawrence--McCarthy-Green--Fahey
----Long--Keogh----
I'm pretty sure this will be the formation.
Will find out soon enough.
SwanVsDalton
29/03/2011, 6:46 PM
i think westwood should have done better with the goal.he sorted dived to the ground rather than coming out legs spread like the second half great save
Can't agree with you there (it's a habit) - they guy controlled well and had the perfect opportunity to shoot, all Westwood could was rush him and hope he fluffed it. Can't blame him much more more than any keeper for any ordinary goal they've ever conceded.
29/03/2011, 6:46 PM
not according to sky and That's what goes with what trap was saying.fields sounds good there on Tele.
29/03/2011, 6:49 PM
Can't agree with you there (it's a habit) - they guy controlled well and had the perfect opportunity to shoot, all Westwood could was rush him and hope he fluffed it. Can't blame him much more more than any keeper for any ordinary goal they've ever conceded.
if you see when he anticipates the turn he didn't come out quick enough and when he came he dives backwards instead of sprawls himself out and covering the obvious right corner.
29/03/2011, 6:53 PM
That's Clark's prospects banjaxed for sure.
29/03/2011, 6:57 PM
Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh good shot, was a bit of a rocket.
SwanVsDalton
29/03/2011, 7:02 PM
if you see when he anticipates the turn he didn't come out quick enough and when he came he dives backwards instead of sprawls himself out and covering the obvious right corner.
It's the easiest thing to say of any goalkeeper in hindsight - if he had of just dived a certain way, he'd have saved it. It's not that simple for goalkeeper just to make the right call when a player is ten yards from goal with an easy opportunity having just turned the defender. Westwood only had 1-2 seconds to react after Dunne was turned.
Played some nice stuff so far. Bit of outrageous skill from Clark. McCarthy looks super comfortable.
EDIT - Just typed that, soft goal. Not surprising if our defence take time to settle but that was far too easy. Can't make it out properly, was it O'Dea's man?
SwanVsDalton
29/03/2011, 7:03 PM
And 1-1! Great ball from Lawrence, good finish. Great response. All off the back of some nice midfield work. I'm really enjoying our passing around the middle, though Uruguay do appear to be standing off us somewhat.
29/03/2011, 7:09 PM
odea caught out on 3 occasions.over the top,the goal and turned very easy.he looks so cumbersome and dozwy.oh wait he justified his selection against Macedonia so we don't need to worry
29/03/2011, 7:09 PM
Good header from Long shades of Nial Quinn.
terrible defending for their second there.
29/03/2011, 7:10 PM
Could see that one coming he had far too much space.
Maroon 7
29/03/2011, 7:11 PM
2-1 Uruguay
Uruguayan winger went past 3 players there awful easily before sliding in Cavani.
29/03/2011, 7:12 PM
It's the easiest thing to say of any goalkeeper in hindsight - if he had of just dived a certain way, he'd have saved it. It's not that simple for goalkeeper just to make the right call when a player is ten yards from goal with an easy opportunity having just turned the defender. Westwood only had 1-2 seconds to react after Dunne was turned.
Played some nice stuff so far. Bit of outrageous skill from Clark. McCarthy looks super comfortable.o
EDIT - Just typed that, soft goal. Not surprising if our defence take time to settle but that was far too easy. Can't make it out properly, was it O'Dea's man?
no you don't you go averages and what generally works and he didnt
this is a good game really. Very open. Both teams poor.
lovely one touch stuff from McCarthy and Fahey there.
29/03/2011, 7:16 PM
Clark and fahey doing well.Mccarthy needs to get more involved.green doing ok too.
29/03/2011, 7:19 PM
Thanks lads. looking for a proxy here to make bet 365 work
ken foree
29/03/2011, 7:19 PM
we've gone a bit muck.
29/03/2011, 7:22 PM
Thanks lads. looking for a proxy here to make bet 365 workHere's a link if you need it. It's a Veetle stream.http://www.silversportz.co.uk/
ken foree
29/03/2011, 7:24 PM
we've gone a lot muck.
29/03/2011, 7:25 PM
odea can't hit the ball on the ground everytime hoofs it.houghton just said same.class by Clark too.when would kilbane even think of that
foley is muck. and again odea being dozy and lazy.solid my hole
29/03/2011, 7:25 PM
game passing Mccarthy by.
Maroon 7
29/03/2011, 7:27 PM
Could turn into a bit of a hiding this.
wow, we're terrible at the back. 3-1 now. Ugly.
29/03/2011, 7:27 PM
westwood definitely should have done the same again there he doesn't cover the far angle the right angle again.
livehead1
29/03/2011, 7:28 PM
Foley, O'Dea, McCarthy, Clark, Keogh, Green, are all showing that they are not up to the highest level.
Noelys Guitar
29/03/2011, 7:29 PM
That began with Lawerence giving the ball away and then trotting back. All over the place at the back. At least this is the time to find out about certain players.