View Full Version : Ireland v Macedonia - score prediction
24/03/2011, 8:05 AM
I think this is the first time in a long time i have started a new thread - probably speaks volumes really :D
Completely back on topic -:
My prediction: I'm going for 2 -1, but I wouldn't be surprised with a 1-0.
I do fear a 1-1 though.
Hibs4Ever
24/03/2011, 8:49 AM
2-0
Keane & McGeady
Yard of Pace
24/03/2011, 9:08 AM
2-1
Don't care if both goals come off Kevin Foley's backside so long as we win!
AlaskaFox
24/03/2011, 9:35 AM
2-0. Been so long since a 2-0 win in a proper competitive game.
McGeady and Whelan.
DeLorean
24/03/2011, 10:05 AM
I'll wait for the team sheet!
tommy_c12000
24/03/2011, 10:42 AM
0-1 (Pandev 66)
EastTerracer
24/03/2011, 10:51 AM
2-0 Keane & Duff (after breaking his scoring drought against Wales)
Crosby87
24/03/2011, 10:58 AM
My Head says 2-0 Macedonia. My Heart says 1-0 Macedonia.
24/03/2011, 11:00 AM
Strangely optimistic about the game, it must be all this sunshine.
3-0 (Duff, Keane, Doyle)
Colbert Report
24/03/2011, 11:02 AM
We're massive favourites with the bookies.
Ireland 4 Macedonia 0
Noelys Guitar
24/03/2011, 11:07 AM
Really depends on the selections and tactics. If Clark starts ahead of Kilbane then it helps Duff and I see him winning the game for us. If Kilbane starts it immediately hinders Duff and I see us drawing the game. It will be a major mistake for us to get a single goal lead and try to hang on to that lead. So the tactics will also play a huge part. I'm hoping we get to 2-0 and hang on.
SwanVsDalton
24/03/2011, 11:08 AM
Can't see us not conceding. 2-1, a winner from Shane Long or (why not) James McCarthy off the bench.
24/03/2011, 11:37 AM
2-1. Keano double.
Supreme feet
24/03/2011, 11:54 AM
I'll go 1-0 Ireland, to match the corresponding fixture in 1999. Back then it was a scrappy effort from Quinn (flicked from a goalbound Gary Breen header, as I recall). This time it'll be a scrappy effort from Doyle, as a wayward Gibson shot deflects off the back of his head and spins past the stranded keeper.
24/03/2011, 11:59 AM
3-2 Ireland with us behind twice and not taking the lead til 80+ mins
cufc champions
24/03/2011, 12:10 PM
Very optimistic about this one Im going
Ireland 3 - 1 Macedonia
Keane Pandev
Gibson
Long
Noelys Guitar
24/03/2011, 12:37 PM
3-2 Ireland with us behind twice and not taking the lead til 80+ mins
If the wheels did start to come off the at least this time we have players on the bench who are probably better than some of the players starting. Coleman, McCarthy, Long especially plus Walters and Fahey could all change the game. So 3-2 is a definete possibility especially against a team playing 4-3-3 away from home.
Sullivinho
24/03/2011, 12:37 PM
3-1
Doyle, Dunne & Keane.
Murfinator
24/03/2011, 1:09 PM
This one has banana skin written all over it. 1-1
24/03/2011, 1:11 PM
2-1 seems par for the course with Trap (Georgia x 2, Cyprus). Andorra was the first competitive win by more than one goal.
A draw is a definite possibility though. So I'll reckon on 0-0 and hope to be wrong.
TrapAPony
24/03/2011, 1:15 PM
1-0 (Keane)
24/03/2011, 1:21 PM
2-1 Ireland
pearse4t3
24/03/2011, 2:39 PM
Ireland 3-1 Macedonia
Dunne Popov
Gibson
Long
Dublin12
24/03/2011, 3:46 PM
Ireland 1 Macedonia 2.
weldoninhio
24/03/2011, 5:11 PM
1-2 Macedonia to go 2-0 up and us to claw one back.
DannyInvincible
24/03/2011, 5:29 PM
A lot of negativity here. I'll go with 2-1, but not until after an extremely nervy finish. Whilst they could sneak a draw if we lose our focus, I really can't envisage Macedonia taking three points from this.
cornflakes
24/03/2011, 6:06 PM
8-0 to us
1-1
we score before 10' and they pull one back on 70'. We pound them but too late!
DannyInvincible
24/03/2011, 6:29 PM
8-0 to us
Good man. That's more like it.
Razors left peg
24/03/2011, 6:35 PM
I have zero confidence in the manager since the russia game and I cant get my head around kilbane looking likely to make the team. This has disaster written all over it, given and o shea out, dunne and st ledger touch and go and robbie severely lacking game time.
That said i think we'll nick it because we still have some excellent players. I'm hoping mcgeady brings his club form but gibson needs to finally step up and prove himself, I'm hoping that mccarthy breathing down his neck for a starting spot gives him a kick in the ar$e.
Ireland to win by 1
ken foree
24/03/2011, 7:07 PM
2 - 2
EastTerracer
24/03/2011, 8:00 PM
28 predictions so far - the foot.ie bet of the day seems to be 2-1 to Ireland (based on the average and the most popular score selected).
22 going for an Irish win, 4 going for a Macedonian win and 2 going for a 1-1 draw. Nobody went for the scoreless draw so maybe that's the wise place for the money to go.
Can ye tell I'm still sitting in work?
24/03/2011, 8:25 PM
YOu must be an actuary so or something :D
northwestexile
25/03/2011, 2:40 AM
I'd go for a narrow win or a score draw. Our back four may have a slight Blue Peter look about it if injuries go against us so I cant see us keeping a clean sheet. My shout is 2-1
Slightly off topic but does anybody have a link to watch this on. I was looking at ESPN but they are showing the Brazil World Tour. They had the last Ireland games on, which I think were friendlies but not this one.
25/03/2011, 5:10 AM
Your best bet is to keep an eye on http://www.myp2p.eu around the time of kick-off. I recommend downloading Sopcast or Veetle to stream the match.
ArdeeBhoy
25/03/2011, 6:18 AM
2-1 at best.
Will take a win by any means.
We're not going to qualify anyway though 2014 should be by far the priority.
Junior
25/03/2011, 7:51 AM
2-1 at best.
Rubbish. The current tournament has to be the priority. There is nothing in our group to be scared of and we are still very much in the hunt for first or second spot. We need to step it up a few gears no doubt, cut out the defensive errors, be more clinical and generally more confident but qualifying for this tournament is still very much within our capabilities.
25/03/2011, 7:54 AM
2-1 at best.
Hi Stan,
I thought you were from Carlingford.
Regards,
Paul
ArdeeBhoy
25/03/2011, 8:40 AM
Hmm, play-off at best.
No thanks.
Have you not seen Trap's tactics??
Get real people.
Junior
25/03/2011, 8:46 AM
"No thanks". So you wouldnt take a play off spot?
25/03/2011, 9:12 AM
Draw out in Russia and win the rest should see us topping the group. Russia still have to go to Slovakia (and Armenia tomorrow) so I'm hoping they will drop points.
Topping this group should still be the priority.
TrapAPony
25/03/2011, 9:38 AM
We need to step it up a few gears no doubt, cut out the defensive errors,
Very hard to do that when our roughly €2m per year DVD watching manager thinks that a 34 year old League 1 midfielder (who should have retired after the last campaign) is our best left back and that an average Championship player who can't make it at Celtic is a better player than a solid Aston Villa defender. Ridiculous.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/9432937.stm
SwanVsDalton
25/03/2011, 9:41 AM
It's such a weird decision, even by Trap standards. He finally is giving Foley a go over Kelly - presumably cause Foley's playing at Prem level regularly - yet he could choose O'Dea over Clark. A Premiership performer and team-mate of Dunne's. Presumably it's because O'Dea's been around the squad a while and maybe was considered 'next in line' but the same doesn't apply to Kelly. And there's negligible difference in actual international experience. Baffling. I won't believe it till I see the team-sheet though...
Draw out in Russia and win the rest should see us topping the group. Russia still have to go to Slovakia (and Armenia tomorrow) so I'm hoping they will drop points.
Topping this group should still be the priority.
Lets just win this one sat night first. With the injuries we have a win of any description here will do fine. The rugger lads seems to cast off the poor start at the aviva last wkd lets hope we can do the same now. I think going forward we are as strong as we have being in a long time, with options on the bench. CM and the defence are the worries for me. But hopefully with Richie and Sledge fit, Gibson and Whelan doing a job in midfield until McCarthy comes on I think and hope we will sneak it. Im going for 2-0 to us.
1-0 and very edgy throughout. goal likely from a set-piece or a defensive error.
Noelys Guitar
25/03/2011, 10:22 AM
I still believe we will just about win this one but the decision to play O'Dea over Clark (allegedly)is just another strange decision by Trapatonni. O'Dea's career has gone badly backwards (and has never been a fixture in the Irish team). Clarks has gone forwards. Clark played well against Wales and yet probably won't start tomorrow. All the strange decisions by Trapatooni are eventually going to catch up with him and us. Hopefully not this weekend. 2-1.
ArdeeBhoy
25/03/2011, 10:33 AM
"No thanks". So you wouldnt take a play off spot?
No, not after the last bullsh*t.
And sure, we're crap at them anyway....
We wont win enough games to 'top' the group, though we may not lose again....on the plus side.
Junior
25/03/2011, 10:39 AM
Well, Id take a play off spot (though Id rather win the group obviously whilst it still up for grabs).
Yes, we are crap at play offs, though we have won one, and the great memories of those finals are still fresh in the memory.
You need to lighten up, we are not Brazil but its not like you are used to watching football purists week in week out is it?
We'll win tomorrow. No danger.
There, I've said it. Gulp!
25/03/2011, 10:42 AM
You only said it because you were getting defensive!! :D
In the clear light of day you might not say the same :)
EastTerracer
25/03/2011, 10:44 AM
Slightly off topic but does anybody have a link to watch this on. I was looking at ESPN but they are showing the Brazil World Tour. They had the last Ireland games on, which I think were friendlies but not this one.
It depends where you are in exile!
www.espn3.com will have the game live in the US and ESPN Australia are showing the game live (6.45am Sunday morning). Otherwise, as suggested above www.myp2p.eu is probably the best place to start.