View Full Version : Monaghan United get new manager

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5

30/03/2011, 9:37 PM
I think its great craic and am not insulted by it coz I have spoken to him and he is fully aware of the job in hand and knows we have nothing like the money or set up that Cork do so there is nothing new in what he is saying.

Let the controversy bandwagon roll on I say.

30/03/2011, 10:01 PM
He will be found out (again!). Hopefully soon.

Its not as case of if .... its just when

30/03/2011, 10:12 PM
I think its great craic and am not insulted by it coz I have spoken to him and he is fully aware of the job in hand and knows we have nothing like the money or set up that Cork do so there is nothing new in what he is saying.

Let the controversy bandwagon roll on I say.

Not having the money Cork have is one thing but I know If I heard Scully say we had no chance against Cork and that basically Cork shouldn't determine their season on matches against us I would want Scully gone. Probably just Roddy playing stupid games but they are ridiculous comments to be making about the club that currently employs you that hasn't lost yet this season and that narrowly missed out on promotion last year and that were better than Cork last year.

30/03/2011, 10:14 PM
Hey, we can handle a few comments, we lost a play off and our manager a week before the start of the league ffs...this is nothing.

30/03/2011, 10:16 PM
Hey, we can handle a few comments, we lost a play off and our manager a week before the start of the league ffs...this is nothing.

Fair enough they are only a few comments but if thats his attitude after only 2 weeks in the job could you imagine what ye are in for for the rest of the season.

30/03/2011, 10:19 PM
I wouldnt read too much into it. He is only finding his feet and is right to feel that Cork can beat us. We are missing about 5 of our first team through injuries and suspensions, Shane Barrett retired, and we were lucky to have a draw against Finn Harps. He is doing his best but I can see his point!

horton
30/03/2011, 10:26 PM
In fairness to the guy he is getting promo to the league. Granted alot of what he comes out with is rubbish, but he has got Mon mentioned in more media now than they did last year. Alex Ferguson is the same with the fight talk/belittling other teams- I mighten like it but it creates a bit of buzz and gives the tabloids something different to write about in the back pages every week.

30/03/2011, 10:55 PM
you wouldnt have heard mick cooke sayin that though.. if he is sayin that about tommy dunne he is also insulting tony cousins who is his first cousin! he is up to his old tricks again.. what on earth happened to shane barrett? its not the first time he has retired he did this at drogs as well. he was never the same player after leavin us.

30/03/2011, 11:15 PM
Alex Ferguson is the same.

http://i1006.photobucket.com/albums/af186/Pupi6/black_guy_laughing.gif

He has more in common with Sarah Ferguson.

Rasputin
31/03/2011, 7:52 AM
Indeed, all aboard the offended bandwagon.
Why are people actually taking him serious?
That ruins all the fun, hes just an absolute character that happens to be employed as a manager.
The colour and pomp he brings to the league is second to none, its just like watching a panto.

31/03/2011, 7:56 AM
Hilarious stuff altogether, you've got to hand it to Shoddy he's a journalists dream.
Most of what he says is the truth though.
There's quite a lot of City fans far from convinced with Dunne, no harm to apply a bit of pressure and see how he performs.

I wrote a little ditty to celebrate Roddys Return in my blog below.

31/03/2011, 8:57 AM
Hilarious stuff altogether, you've got to hand it to Shoddy he's a journalists dream.
Most of what he says is the truth though.
There's quite a lot of City fans far from convinced with Dunne, no harm to apply a bit of pressure and see how he performs.

I wrote a little ditty to celebrate Roddys Return in my blog below.

I love it! And your 'pool one...and your TDs....

Spudulika
31/03/2011, 9:49 AM
Indeed, all aboard the offended bandwagon.
Why are people actually taking him serious?
That ruins all the fun, hes just an absolute character that happens to be employed as a manager.
The colour and pomp he brings to the league is second to none, its just like watching a panto.

Right on! So I take it you'll be calling for him to replace a certain Scouser out your way when he moves on? :-) Didn't think so. It's like watching Middle East violence on Sky News, it's alright to eat your toasted ham and cheese sandwich to in the pub, but you thank god it's not in your backyard!

31/03/2011, 10:02 AM
I'm enjoying the bit of conflict in my backyard thank you very much as long as there is not too much collateral damage and we win the war, happy days.

Rasputin
31/03/2011, 10:07 AM
Right on! So I take it you'll be calling for him to replace a certain Scouser out your way when he moves on? :-) Didn't think so.
Good thing I never made that point.

It's like watching Middle East violence on Sky News, it's alright to eat your toasted ham and cheese sandwich to in the pub, but you thank god it's not in your backyard!
Wow, just wow, quite bizarre really.
I couldnt find a more unsuitable comparison if I tried really.

passerrby
31/03/2011, 10:48 AM
[QUOTE=Rasputin;1471750
Wow, just wow, quite bizarre really.
I couldnt find a more unsuitable comparison if I tried really.[/QUOTE]

quite right ras this is just roddy doing what roddy does well, wind people up and ensure that there will be a bigger turn out that otherwise expected. thank god the first division has someone who can garnish some media attention.

31/03/2011, 10:57 AM
thank god the first division has someone who can garnish some media attention.Amen to that.
Here's hoping we'll see the effect of this on the gate tomorrow night, it was all over the back of last nights Echo.

Rasputin
31/03/2011, 11:00 AM
quite right ras this is just roddy doing what roddy does well, wind people up and ensure that there will be a bigger turn out that otherwise expected. thank god the first division has someone who can garnish some media attention.
To be honest passerby im just waiting to read more of Spud's Doctor Phil analysis of how Roddy is really just a repressed individual that wasnt hugged enough or other such insights.

31/03/2011, 11:10 AM
I'm enjoying the bit of conflict in my backyard thank you very much as long as there is not too much collateral damage and we win the war, happy days.Enjoy it while you can. He will not be your manager for more than 3 months in my opinion. His entire career is based upon the double he won with Bohs years ago (and lets face it, a blind 4 year old child could have managed that squad to a double) and his incredible ego. I often wonder was he his brothers sparring partner without wearing any headgear for a long period of time, because that might explain some of the incredulous rants, raves and opinions he displays. I've been around League of Ireland football a long long time and its an unwritten rule within the community that you don't make it personal...he has done this with his remarks about Tommy Dunne. Again, in my opinion, he has shown us all that he is indeed a knacker, and the only airtime he is worthy of is an episode of My Big Fat Gypsy Wedding to be shot at his gaff.

Ye will win no war with this guy in your corner...thats for sure.

MagicMon
31/03/2011, 11:26 AM
Amen to that.
Here's hoping we'll see the effect of this on the gate tomorrow night, it was all over the back of last nights Echo.

Yeah it would be better if he did it when the game's at Gortakeegan and we get some extra €. Last week's pre-Salthill Devon interview (Roddy- the seaside is rubbish) didn't get much media attention. Hopefully next week (Incest is wrong says Roddy Collins) will motivate the Longford fans to come out in protest.

WoodquayBoy
31/03/2011, 11:54 AM

Garnish it with what exactly - some watercress and a mustard dressing?

iceman
31/03/2011, 11:58 AM
There's every chance that Roddy will just walk away from Monaghan and take the Bohs job again now that Nutsy is off to Celtic.
Lets face it , he has done this kind of thing before.

Spudulika
31/03/2011, 1:34 PM
To be honest passerby im just waiting to read more of Spud's Doctor Phil analysis of how Roddy is really just a repressed individual that wasnt hugged enough or other such insights.

Rasputin, I'm trying to give the man a break (I know there are some on here and former colleagues of mine who'd say what they'd like to break) as while he has a basic understanding of football and a modicum of man management skills, I don't see him as an entirely bad person. I would never wish ill on anyone, no matter what (okay, except my 4th class national school teacher who was a SSSSS), Roddy falls into that category. He is a very damaged individual (headgear not included) and sadly this lack of confidence turns him into the biggest tool on the airwaves when he starts on. Holy crap, I'm almost going to do a Dr Phil, no, can't, I'm stopping here.

I did think the "better in their backyard than ours" analogy worked? It's like watching a person begin to slip on ice, the flailing arms, ar@e going to head level, ar@e going over head level and the time gap between the initial overbalance and the sickening slap on the footpath seems to take forever in real time, though reliving it you're never sure if it was quick or slow. In other words, Monaghan are that poor soul on the RTE news, you just know it's going to happen, it's the aftermath and very public embarassment that prevents you from laughing too much.

passerrby
31/03/2011, 1:48 PM
There's every chance that Roddy will just walk away from Monaghan and take the Bohs job again now that Nutsy is off to Celtic.
another manager did that as well to us and I wonder where he ended up

Rasputin
31/03/2011, 2:16 PM
Rasputin, I'm trying to give the man a break (I know there are some on here and former colleagues of mine who'd say what they'd like to break) as while he has a basic understanding of football and a modicum of man management skills, I don't see him as an entirely bad person. I would never wish ill on anyone, no matter what (okay, except my 4th class national school teacher who was a SSSSS), Roddy falls into that category. He is a very damaged individual (headgear not included) and sadly this lack of confidence turns him into the biggest tool on the airwaves when he starts on. Holy crap, I'm almost going to do a Dr Phil, no, can't, I'm stopping here.

I did think the "better in their backyard than ours" analogy worked? It's like watching a person begin to slip on ice, the flailing arms, ar@e going to head level, ar@e going over head level and the time gap between the initial overbalance and the sickening slap on the footpath seems to take forever in real time, though reliving it you're never sure if it was quick or slow. In other words, Monaghan are that poor soul on the RTE news, you just know it's going to happen, it's the aftermath and very public embarassment that prevents you from laughing too much.
Spud your definetly one of the more interesting posters on here, ill give you that.

Spudulika
31/03/2011, 2:37 PM
I do try Rasputin :-)

31/03/2011, 3:15 PM
thank god the first division has someone who can garnish some media attention.
Aye, all praise Keith Gillespie.

PartySaint
31/03/2011, 3:18 PM

Not even Bohs are that stupid are they? I'm 100% confident that Roddy will/already has sent in his CV for the Bohs job

I must be one of the few on here that has no problem with Roddy, sure he basically got Rovers relegated, thats enough for any Pats fan to like him

31/03/2011, 9:56 PM

Jebus, i have to say that Cork City seriously got out of jail the day the door closed behind Roddy Collins. The club was in pieces but that was no small mercy .... i have to admit it is kinda funny to watch alright, through your fingers as you cover your face trying not to look on. He does entertain thats for sure.

MagicMon
15/04/2011, 10:02 PM
http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_xdN0QQwsP1A/TH0KrkEDGpI/AAAAAAAAKb0/sVIDcgyUYR0/s400/In+Rod+We+Trust.jpg

16/04/2011, 12:48 AM
Oh, God, Magic Mon, you have no idea how much you are going to regret posting that.

16/04/2011, 1:45 AM
all I will say is 2-3 in Tolka.

16/04/2011, 1:48 AM
We did a 0 - 4 in Tolka last year and the juries still out!! Means nothing.

Shels are a team of poseurs, should still have enough about them to win the division handy but Matthews needs to start handing out kicks up the Aras, they are carrying a few shapers at the mo.

16/04/2011, 2:01 AM
Ach feck off with the raining on our parade, we never do that in Tolka so its like amazing. Rod is doing his job an doin it well. Come on the Mons.

16/04/2011, 2:04 AM
http://26.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_l5heo2yf331qz6f9yo1_r2_500.png

:p

16/04/2011, 2:32 AM
dont make me bate ya.

16/04/2011, 3:12 AM
Mr. Collins won in Derry for CHF and won 1-3 at Dalymount and 1-2 with 9 men against Shels at Tolka with Rovers, it still ended in tears.... :p

16/04/2011, 3:14 AM
ach whisht you!

Spudulika
16/04/2011, 7:12 AM
Anyone here who has dealt with the man knows that there are only 2 emotions, elation and deflation. It'd be veyr interesting to see what is happening behind the scenes and the mania that inevitably follows the man. I saw one person driven mad by him (when you're fielding 10-15 phonecalls a day on the slightest thing - like how to turn off the caps lock on a laptop to put in the correct password - that can happen to a man). Hopefully he's matured since Cork.

Rasputin
16/04/2011, 8:45 AM
Go on Rodster.

passerrby
16/04/2011, 9:09 AM
like most of you I fear for us and have massive reservations about roddy but let us enjoy the momwnt while its there,

MagicMon
16/04/2011, 10:17 AM
Oh, God, Magic Mon, you have no idea how much you are going to regret posting that.

Yeah, I probably will, but for now United are on the crest of a wave and I'm happy. I'll try to find a Mrs Lovejoy "Won't somebody think of the children" picture if/when the wave turns into a tsunami of destruction at Gortakeegan :p

16/04/2011, 3:21 PM
i love and hate Roddy in equal measures. But i really hope it works out for him and especially for Monaghan. The league needs a strong Roddy.

Spudulika
16/04/2011, 5:16 PM
i love and hate Roddy in equal measures. But i really hope it works out for him and especially for Monaghan. The league needs a strong Roddy.

Hills Faraway Greener - springs to mind somehow.

16/04/2011, 10:46 PM

If this is true, the league is really fcuked.

RahenyBohs
22/04/2011, 10:58 AM
Good start by Monaghan under Roddy. Warning to you Mons fans tho, he could leave at any moment. He has a history of doing that......

passerrby
22/04/2011, 12:06 PM
like we need to be told......

22/04/2011, 12:10 PM
Good start by Monaghan under Roddy. Warning to you Mons fans tho, he could leave at any moment. He has a history of doing that......

http://www.dailyhaggis.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/08/o_rly.jpg

22/04/2011, 12:45 PM
like we need to be told......

Well if you appointed him, then yes you do. Over and over :p

monsexile
12/05/2011, 2:49 PM
http://monaghanunited.tumblr.com/post/5418036126/obama-osama-and-roddy

Roddy's role revealed