View Full Version : Monaghan United get new manager

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5

passerrby
20/03/2011, 2:32 PM
tell me spud how is it possible that we could lose our shirt ,we can either win our games or lose and roddy will stay or go either way it will not make any differencve to the Club unless of course we were like a lot of other clubs hoping to buy success.
we do not buy what we cannot pay for

OneForTheFuture
20/03/2011, 7:11 PM
tell me spud how is it possible that we could lose our shirt ,we can either win our games or lose and roddy will stay or go either way it will not make any differencve to the Club unless of course we were like a lot of other clubs hoping to buy success.
we do not buy what we cannot pay for

Yet?

:clock:

20/03/2011, 8:29 PM
Roddy is never the right man for any job.

He'd be a good pimp in all fairness.

PartySaint
20/03/2011, 8:32 PM
He'd be a good pimp in all fairness.

Nah his claim that he has never managed something that goes down wouldn't be great for business

20/03/2011, 8:33 PM
Nah his claim that he has never managed something that goes down wouldn't be great for business

Touché. :D

20/03/2011, 10:04 PM
LTFC, I think there were a few involved then, but luckily for you guys they saw through the smoke and mirrors and ran them out of town. According to the man it was down to the LT secretary asking for a bundle, though this turned out to be nonsense. All I can say with back up is that somebody or some people in the Farney are going to lose their marbles, and shirt. As my other half said (as we watched MNS) - "give it six months". Half of me hopes she's wrong, the other half can't stop giggling!

You sure she was talking about Roddy, Spud?

Spudulika
21/03/2011, 11:08 AM
You sure she was talking about Roddy, Spud?

Well, we'll know soon enough :-)

passerby - like the above response, we'll know soon enough. :-)

21/03/2011, 1:36 PM
LTFC, I think there were a few involved then, but luckily for you guys they saw through the smoke and mirrors and ran them out of town. According to the man it was down to the LT secretary asking for a bundle, though this turned out to be nonsense. All I can say with back up is that somebody or some people in the Farney are going to lose their marbles, and shirt. As my other half said (as we watched MNS) - "give it six months". Half of me hopes she's wrong, the other half can't stop giggling!

That proposed takeover was being recommended by the powers that be in the FAI at the time too. Which says a lot about their foresight. Thankfully those in charge of the club were having none of it. Roddy and the McMullens. They were trying to "invest" in various clubs all around England and Scotland after that and nobody would touch them with a fifty foot pole. They eventually got their foot in the door in Scotland somewhere, I forget where exactly, and where thrown out on their ears when they, shock horror, didn't actually have any money to invest at all.

22/03/2011, 12:19 PM
That proposed takeover was being recommended by the powers that be in the FAI at the time too. Which says a lot about their foresight. Thankfully those in charge of the club were having none of it. Roddy and the McMullens. They were trying to "invest" in various clubs all around England and Scotland after that and nobody would touch them with a fifty foot pole. They eventually got their foot in the door in Scotland somewhere, I forget where exactly, and where thrown out on their ears when they, shock horror, didn't actually have any money to invest at all.

was it gretna longfordian???

Jicked
22/03/2011, 12:42 PM
It was Livingstone, if I remember correctly.

22/03/2011, 6:27 PM
Think it was Livingston alright.

passerrby
22/03/2011, 6:40 PM
hope this thread lasts for the season ..for the right reasons

MagicMon
22/03/2011, 8:48 PM
Either that or it'll become the 2011/12 version of "XXX in financial trouble?" :S

bluewhitearmy
22/03/2011, 8:51 PM
Either that or it'll become the 2011/12 version of "XXX in financial trouble?" :S

You would think them damn sex shops would get their house in order.

22/03/2011, 10:48 PM

I doubt it will be as funny as the last one.

I think most here will pity Mons if anything untoward were to happen to ye. We like ye.

Ye're like our little sister who's now going out with the local hardshaw and we're not too happy about the situation, but ye are optimistic about the future for the relationship and we don't want to burst your bubble.

22/03/2011, 11:03 PM
And sometimes the local hardman can be a sweetie with a heart of gold who makes your sister very very happy.

23/03/2011, 12:39 AM
or sometimes he beats her and she is scared into silence until, one day, she snaps and stabs him to death with a knife, burying him under the patio.

Theres a moral to that story.

MagicMon
23/03/2011, 8:37 AM
or sometimes he beats her and she is scared into silence until, one day, she snaps and stabs him to death with a knife, burying him under the patio.

Is there something you want to get off your chest?

frenchman
23/03/2011, 9:00 AM

excellent!!!!that said I was horrified about the idea but it may work out in the end.. every manager leaves a club at some point but the club is very sound and based on very simple yet logical grounds. as someone said before the worst we can do is lose games.......

23/03/2011, 9:26 AM
When Roddy comes out in the media saying "If the club have any ambition then they need to get the cheque book out" then we'll know its curtains.

Eminence Grise
23/03/2011, 9:51 AM
Does Louis Copeland do curtains these days?

juan
23/03/2011, 12:46 PM
Does Louis Copeland do curtains these days?
Only in pinstripe.

passerrby
23/03/2011, 12:52 PM
what if rod was to win the league for us now that would **** of a lot of people.. p.s Im refusing permission now or in the future to quote me or use this link

23/03/2011, 12:58 PM
Yeah, like these to remind him of the plastering job he had before this :)
http://img.homedit.com/2011/01/76.jpg

23/03/2011, 1:41 PM
Is there something you want to get off your chest?

some dirt and a slab of concrete.

Spudulika
23/03/2011, 2:44 PM
And sometimes the local hardman can be a sweetie with a heart of gold who makes your sister very very happy.

Erm, no, not this one. Plus he's not particularly hard. Hard men don't have to stick their chests out and act tough, it's a complete lack of self confidence and moral fortitude that's being masked. Sadly it won't change, though if Mons have engaged a psychologist to work alongside him, then you'll not only be Premier next year, you'll have a damn good coach.

23/03/2011, 3:19 PM
I wasn't saying he was, was just following the analogy posted above me and saying that sometimes despite reputation and perceptions, things can be very different.

MagicMon
23/03/2011, 3:50 PM
some dirt and a slab of concrete.

You went to watch Bray at the weekend?

23/03/2011, 5:17 PM
what if rod was to win the league for us now that would **** of a lot of people..

I think you've misspelled astonish there, passerrby :)

25/03/2011, 11:48 PM
So how do you like them apples....with 4 of our starting 11 missing 3 goals in first half, again blooding the young local lad in 2nd. Am begining to think Roddy may be the Messiah of the Mons. (and no, he is not just a very naughty boy!)

total hoofball
26/03/2011, 1:51 AM
So how do you like them apples....with 4 of our starting 11 missing 3 goals in first half, again blooding the young local lad in 2nd. Am begining to think Roddy may be the Messiah of the Mons. (and no, he is not just a very naughty boy!)

I'll put my hands up after tonight, I was completely wrong about Roddy. Managing a side to victory over Salthill Devon ranks him up there with Clough, Michels and Shankly.

26/03/2011, 12:05 PM
:-D love it. Aw just happy to get another win with us having a few injuries and suspensions and Roddy still getting to know the team. Best start to a season I think we have ever had.

26/03/2011, 12:49 PM

I never ever would have put Monaghan... Trevor Jordache and Roddy Collins together.

But now that you say it it's a fairly obvious link.

hoopy
26/03/2011, 1:12 PM
Am begining to think Roddy may be the Messiah of the Mons. (and no, he is not just a very naughty boy!)

A one man tent seen outside Dalymount this morning. Unfounded rumours Roddy's inside.

MagicMon
26/03/2011, 1:13 PM
:-D love it. Aw just happy to get another win with us having a few injuries and suspensions and Roddy still getting to know the team. Best start to a season I think we have ever had.

Yeah United were traditionally slow starters (ie sh*t for all of March and most of April) but the past 2 years we've kept a good chunk of the squad together and it shows. Real test next with Cork away. If the good run keeps going until November then we can throw a big parade for Roddy in the Diamond, with toll bridge receipts for tickertape.

SwanVsDalton
30/03/2011, 3:13 PM
Don't know if anyone's posted this yet (http://pauldollery.com/?p=139&preview=true)- just saw it on Twitter. Pure entertainment but I'd be miffed if I was a Mons fan. He's practically fishing for the Cork job, even if he is using a manky Roddy maggot as bait.

Spudulika
30/03/2011, 3:16 PM
And so it begins.....:-) It's all an effort to get back at Tommy for taking his job in Cork (tongue in cheek), Roddy bides his time and harbours long grudges. Gonna be fun! Some article though, jaysus!

monsexile
30/03/2011, 3:23 PM
And the audio version is even, eh, more Roddy
http://monaghanunited.tv/?p=652

bluemovie
30/03/2011, 3:42 PM

I know this isn't exactly breaking news, but he really is a nasty piece of work.

30/03/2011, 4:21 PM
So since he's got that job he's continually had a go at various managers who've gotten jobs ahead of him as he "didn't rate" them. He's not jealous though. He's such an ignorant tool.

MagicMon
30/03/2011, 4:58 PM
I wish Roddy would let the results do the talking, there's no much they can say if you beat a team 5-0

According to twitter extratime will have another interview

bluewhitearmy
30/03/2011, 5:04 PM
Love his confidence in the audio.

30/03/2011, 5:14 PM
He is some knacker. Fair enough if you don't think Tommy Dunne isn't up to it but to call him a failure for not getting Cork up last season is a joke. Some truth to what he says but the man has no class.

kdjaC
30/03/2011, 7:53 PM

Jebsus and they put it on their website.

30/03/2011, 8:02 PM
That's not the official mons website. That's a fans blog.

CSFShels
30/03/2011, 8:26 PM
What a scumbag. Thankfully he isn't much use or that mouth of his could really have some sting.

30/03/2011, 8:39 PM
A few things there:

"I expect to get nothing out of the game"

Really Roderick? Even bearing in mind your good start and the fact that Cork have less cutting edge than a jelly bouncy castle?

"Surely Cork don't determine a season on how they do against Monaghan"

Another insult for the previously unemployable plasterers labourer new club within seconds.

"Basically a full time setup"

:bulgy:

"Best training facilities in the country"

"Good stability"

"They should have been promoted last year...............100% failure."

Their squad for the opening few series of last season was 20% footballer, 80% jester.

Now he could have simply said "I'm not sure if Tommy Dunne is the right man for the job in Cork" and he would have probably got nods of approval from a lot of Cork fans let alone the wider LoI public but the absolute dribbling this charlatan goes on with is unbelievable. If I was a Monaghan fan I'd be looking for this clowns head already. A tiny group of people up there busting their collective arse to keep the show and the road and this absolute nobody who hasn't done anything even approaching a decent job in a decade hasn't his feet under the table a wet weekend and he's belittling the whole setup.

He will be found out (again!). Hopefully soon.

ashbournebohs
30/03/2011, 8:44 PM
And so the circus begins!!!

30/03/2011, 8:59 PM
And so the circus begins!!!

im just surprised that he still gets a bite out of people! :D

Trainee
30/03/2011, 9:36 PM
http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/5299/collins-cork-promotion-piece-cake/