View Full Version : Weekend Latest (4th/5th March)

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

Ezeikial
06/03/2011, 12:46 AM
There's always room for anti-Jayo bias, it is to be positively encouraged. :cool2:

I thought he was threatening up until he scored (including after the red card), then didn't contribute at all. Spent more time arguing and protesting for fouls with Kelly.

Youre great gas - you do realise it was about 20 minutes after the red card that he scored?

I thought whoever no7 was far better for yous.

You guys should watch out for him - he's due for retirement in June

06/03/2011, 1:06 AM
Mailey was acting the knacker aswell, well able to give it himself, went down then like he was shot. But like I already said stupid, stupid, STUPID carry on from Stevo, especially with a weak ref desperately looking to even things up.

I thought it was mostly a scrappy shambles to be honest. :p

In fairness, I did notice Mailey jarring him on a bit, but in any game of football you come to expect this from any player. The scumbag part came straight from O'Flynn, there was absolutely no need to throw the head into Packie, the mans been around long enough to hear abuse from anyone, and as much as Packie made of it, when a fat cnut like O'flynn throws a 'glasgow kiss' as such into you, you're always gonna fly to the ground. It was no soft touch either, twas a full blown headbutt right there.

As for the game, the first half may have been scrappy, but for about 50/60 minutes at least there really was plenty of entertainment, not always football, but there was entertainment, which was good to watch and a great game to start off the season. As much as there was a few annoying ********es, fair play again to the fairly vocal 10/12 limerick fans who we're in the stand beside us who gave us a hard time trying to compete with only 5/6 of us roaring our heads off since we had a clash with Harps 'strictly come dancing' fundraiser and took away a few from our vocal support.

06/03/2011, 2:35 AM

Great news for the lad..only a few months left with Dundalk

EivissaPaul
06/03/2011, 3:11 AM
the booking he got was never a booking, he beat the defender and was pulled down.. was a deffo penalty as much as the dundalk one was.. that result could have been 7-2 had it not been rovers first competitive game in 4 months

bullit
06/03/2011, 3:53 AM
the booking he got was never a booking, he beat the defender and was pulled down.. Was a deffo penalty as much as the dundalk one was.. That result could have been 7-2 had it not been rovers first competitive game in 4 months
yawnn :sleepy: Tired already.:rolleyes:

bluewhitearmy
06/03/2011, 12:09 PM
In fairness, I did notice Mailey jarring him on a bit, but in any game of football you come to expect this from any player. The scumbag part came straight from O'Flynn, there was absolutely no need to throw the head into Packie, the mans been around long enough to hear abuse from anyone, and as much as Packie made of it, when a fat cnut like O'flynn throws a 'glasgow kiss' as such into you, you're always gonna fly to the ground. It was no soft touch either, twas a full blown headbutt right there.

As for the game, the first half may have been scrappy, but for about 50/60 minutes at least there really was plenty of entertainment, not always football, but there was entertainment, which was good to watch and a great game to start off the season. As much as there was a few annoying ********es, fair play again to the fairly vocal 10/12 limerick fans who we're in the stand beside us who gave us a hard time trying to compete with only 5/6 of us roaring our heads off since we had a clash with Harps 'strictly come dancing' fundraiser and took away a few from our vocal support.

Not half making too much of what Stevo did he barely even touched him he just pushed his head towards him not a full blown headbutt at all. Anyone end up in hospital getting surgery over it or was that just over the proper scumbag Forker.

What the Limerick fans do to annoy ya or was it just cause they were louder?

06/03/2011, 12:54 PM
Not half making too much of what Stevo did he barely even touched him he just pushed his head towards him not a full blown headbutt at all. Anyone end up in hospital getting surgery over it or was that just over the proper scumbag Forker.

Really, time to shut the f up.
There was video footage of the game, if we get it online then we'll see if Forkers tackles warrants that kind of comment.

btw, Pat Scully came into the Harps dressing room after the game and said it was a fair tackle. Just unlucky.

06/03/2011, 2:02 PM
Mons v Fanad about to kick off. Mons team, Sava, Collins, Grimes, McMahon, A Byrne, Tierney, Fitzgerald, R Brennan, S Brennan, Barrett, Marks. Subs: P Byrne, Rogers, Haran, Isichei, Rossiter, Whelan, Foley, Reilly, Fallon.

bluewhitearmy
06/03/2011, 2:06 PM
Really, time to shut the f up
There was video footage of the game, if we get it online then we'll see if Forkers tackles warrants that kind of comment.

btw, Pat Scully came into the Harps dressing room after the game and said it was a fair tackle. Just unlucky.

Why so ye can continue crying about Steve is it? This is a forum you know its here to give opinions ye are giving yours on Steve ill give mine on Forker simple really.

Until im proved wrong i stand by my comment.

06/03/2011, 2:25 PM
Mons v Fanad about to kick off. Mons team, Sava, Collins, Grimes, McMahon, A Byrne, Tierney, Fitzgerald, R Brennan, S Brennan, Barrett, Marks. Subs: P Byrne, Rogers, Haran, Isichei, Rossiter, Whelan, Foley, Reilly, Fallon.

Where's it being played?

Do you have Fanad line up?

06/03/2011, 2:28 PM

Ridiculous comment.

Why so ye can continue crying about Steve is it? This is a forum you know its here to give opinions ye are giving yours on Steve ill give mine on Forker simple really.

Until im proved wrong i stand by my comment.

Even more ridiculous, I could call you every name under the sun but that would just be personal opinion, doesn't mean it's true eh? Until proven wrong?

You stand by your ridiculous statement so, I'll stand by Mark Forker being an honest player who would never purposely injure someone. I'll stand by the fact I saw the tackle right in front of me, and there wasn't a bit wrong with it just misfortune on the part of Sheehan.

Now crawl back in your hole and wise up a bit.

06/03/2011, 2:31 PM
Where's it being played?

Do you have Fanad line up?

At Gortakeegan.

They are Given, O'Herlihy, Patton, McElwaine, O'Donnell, T Gettins, A Gettins, Friel, McCullagh, Walsh, McVeigh. Subs: Gorman, Kelly, McBried, D Gettins.

We are 1 nil up. Fitzgerald 25 mins.

06/03/2011, 2:42 PM
The scumbag part came straight from O'Flynn, there was absolutely no need to throw the head into Packie, the mans been around long enough to hear abuse from anyone, and as much as Packie made of it, when a fat cnut like O'flynn throws a 'glasgow kiss' as such into you, you're always gonna fly to the ground. It was no soft touch either, twas a full blown headbutt right there.

This is crazy exaggeration, he barely, faintly, touched him. Did Stephen O'Flynn steal your car to get home or something. :D

with only 5/6 of us roaring our heads off since we had a clash with Harps 'strictly come dancing' fundraiser and took away a few from our vocal support

:bulgy:

Why did ye have a fundraiser on on a match night?!

Did the camera capture Stevos' super hard radioactive deathbutt too?? :p

06/03/2011, 2:43 PM

Pat Scully was always a filthy player.

06/03/2011, 3:01 PM
This is crazy exaggeration, he barely, faintly, touched him. Did Stephen O'Flynn steal your car to get home or something. :D

:bulgy:

Why did ye have a fundraiser on on a match night?!

Did the camera capture Stevos' super hard radioactive deathbutt too?? :p

SteveO is not a popular figure up about these parts.

The fundraising group set the date and we have to go with it, it's worth about €20k to the club so hard to turn down.

I hope the camera caught the deathbutt. Packie would never go down like that unless he was his with a factor 7.5 deathbutt. Lucky to still be alive if you ask me.

bluewhitearmy
06/03/2011, 3:22 PM
Ridiculous comment.

Even more ridiculous, I could call you every name under the sun but that would just be personal opinion, doesn't mean it's true eh? Until proven wrong?

You stand by your ridiculous statement so, I'll stand by Mark Forker being an honest player who would never purposely injure someone. I'll stand by the fact I saw the tackle right in front of me, and there wasn't a bit wrong with it just misfortune on the part of Sheehan.

Now crawl back in your hole and wise up a bit.

So me saying Forker is a scumbag is a ridiculous comment but you saying that Steve is a scumbag is fine. And yes until proven wrong whats so hard to get with that ?

If its that hard ill explain until i see this footage and it shows a fair challenge and unfortunate injury ill stand by my view that it was a horrible tackle.

06/03/2011, 3:33 PM
So me saying Forker is a scumbag is a ridiculous comment but you saying that Steve is a scumbag is fine. And yes until proven wrong whats so hard to get with that ?

If its that hard ill explain until i see this footage and it shows a fair challenge and unfortunate injury ill stand by my view that it was a horrible tackle.

Yep, that is perfectly fine by me.

06/03/2011, 3:34 PM
Monaghan United 2-0 Fanad United Barrett 71 tapped in after Sean Brennan ran rings around the Fanad defence and & keeper to set him up.

bluewhitearmy
06/03/2011, 3:38 PM
Yep, that is perfectly fine by me.

From my view his leg semed very high and talking to one of the lads that was with Gary at the ambulance and he said that Gary was caught above the shinguard and thats where the break is.

If that is the case then his leg must have been fairly high.

If im wrong apologies.

06/03/2011, 3:42 PM
Monaghan United 2-0 Fanad United Barrett 71 tapped in after Sean Brennan ran rings around the Fanad defence and & keeper to set him up.

That keeper is Paul Given, Shay's younger brother.
Most of that line up were Harps reserve side until we adopted a youth policy. All handy A League players.

06/03/2011, 3:48 PM
yeah, my mate is trying to get chatting to Paul coz she fancies Shay. :D

Mons 3-0 Fanad FT. Barrett scored 90th min.

WindmillWarrior
06/03/2011, 5:39 PM
Bit harsh, I think, though not by much. Firstly, our 5-0 win over Mervue shows that we're not just marginally better than them (and given the type of season we appear to be in for, I'm going to get a lot of mileage out of that!!) General consensus (not just UCD fans) was that the first half was surprisingly ok, but the second was turgid.

After we scored, Drogheda's heads seemed to drop immediately, and we could easily have had a second - can't be a good sign for them. A lot of our season will rest on how well we can cope defensively when we're under the cosh - will we hold out for a 0-0 or sneak a 1-0, or will we lose 2-0?

For now, given we've already beaten Drogheda and Galway this season, and Bohs will implode soon enough, it's already all about building for next season.

I'd agree with Stu. No way was it in the "worst game I've ever seen" bracket! 1st half was decent from us I thought. We just ran out of steam a bit in the 2nd. Which is understandable as we have very few games under our belt. Certainly when compared to UCD anyway.

harpstilidie
06/03/2011, 6:24 PM
Complete bull it was an awful tackle i hope he gets whats comng to him during the season.

What are you on about? It was a perfectly good tackle. I couldn't believe it when the ref pulled out a red card. He got the ball and his momentum carried him into Sheehan. Nothing wrong with it, just unfortunate that he got injured.

Joke as well pulling the play back when we were clear through on goal.

It should have been our ball as well after the two guys clashed heads as we had possession of the ball at that time. Unbelievable refereeing.

Tbh, I did think Mailey went down far too easily but it was still stupid from O'Flynn.

06/03/2011, 6:50 PM
I wasn't there but from most the reports and chat i'm hearing it can be summed up as:

unlucky for Sheehan as the tackle wasn't as bad as the resulting injury,
it was silly from O'Flynn even though it wasn't a bad headbutt,
the ref in general was useless.

No more no less, just time to move on now. Going to be a tough few weeks for us. How we come out of it will have a big say on the rest of the season. We can't afford to be playing catch up. On the plus side for Limerick though Garbhan Coughlan continued his good pre-season with two goals for Ireland U-18 Friday night so he might do a job up front for us.

harpstilidie
06/03/2011, 7:01 PM
I wasn't there but from most the reports and chat i'm hearing it can be summed up as:

No more no less, just time to move on now. Going to be a tough few weeks for us. How we come out of it will have a big say on the rest of the season. We can't afford to be playing catch up. On the plus side for Limerick though Garbhan Coughlan continued his good pre-season with two goals for Ireland U-18 Friday night so he might do a job up front for us.

You can say that again :)

Candystripe
06/03/2011, 7:11 PM
SteveO is not a popular figure up about these parts.

Is because he is an ex Derry City player? lol

Olander
06/03/2011, 7:20 PM
Is because he is an ex Derry City player? lol

No, because he is a scumbag.

Mr Maroon
06/03/2011, 7:46 PM
No, because he is a scumbag.

The same reason he's not a popular figure around here either.

bluewhitearmy
06/03/2011, 8:14 PM
What are you on about? It was a perfectly good tackle. I couldn't believe it when the ref pulled out a red card. He got the ball and his momentum carried him into Sheehan. Nothing wrong with it, just unfortunate that he got injured.

Joke as well pulling the play back when we were clear through on goal.

It should have been our ball as well after the two guys clashed heads as we had possession of the ball at that time. Unbelievable refereeing.

Tbh, I did think Mailey went down far too easily but it was still stupid from O'Flynn.

That was a complete joke i mean ye couldnt have had more of an advantage. Barry Ryan had even slipped coming out so was just a tap in.

06/03/2011, 10:36 PM

Ye had scrappy, scrappy ball at the time, it's not like ye had begun a flowing attack, Dave O'Leary was split on the ground, he had to stop the game, if your manager had been organising the team instead of roaring and screaming and cribbing, ye wouldn't have been caught from the hop ball.

Also, I'm going to throw the genuinely good penalty shout we could have had at the end into the mix to even up the calling play back nonsense. :)

Also, everyone, Steve O'Flynn is a GOAL MACHINE at First Division level, I don't care if he eats babies, he would walk onto any team at that level, people with saintly squads calling him a scumbag. :D

06/03/2011, 11:01 PM

http://www.motifake.com/image/demotivational-poster/1003/you-werent-there-man-army-demotivational-poster-1267633365.jpg

07/03/2011, 7:48 AM
Also, everyone, Steve O'Flynn is a GOAL MACHINE at First Division level, I don't care if he eats babies, he would walk onto any team at that level, people with saintly squads calling him a scumbag. :D

Will nobody think of the children?

07/03/2011, 11:12 AM
Highlights of Harps Limerick:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K-b9klCSYHc

The controversial tackle is on 5 minutes. I still see nothing resembling malice in it.

Strawberry
07/03/2011, 11:26 AM
Looks a red card, but no malice just a clumsy tackle

07/03/2011, 11:47 AM
http://vimeo.com/channels/shelstv

our game here!

hoopy
07/03/2011, 4:20 PM

Hope for your sake your right full's retiring soon, awful. One of the worst full back performances I've seen in a long time.

bluewhitearmy
07/03/2011, 5:47 PM
Highlights of Harps Limerick:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K-b9klCSYHc

The controversial tackle is on 5 minutes. I still see nothing resembling malice in it.

Not as bad a tackle i thought but stil not a good tackle to me not a 50-50 as ye said.

Oh and from this ye did not have the ball after the clash of heads.

Not bad enough for me to say i hope Forker breaks his leg though apologies was just seriously annoyed at Gars injury.And it looked far worse from the angle i saw it.

07/03/2011, 6:06 PM
Hope for your sake your right full's retiring soon, awful.Who's that?

07/03/2011, 7:03 PM
Not as bad a tackle i thought but stil not a good tackle to me not a 50-50 as ye said.

Not bad enough for me to say i hope Forker breaks his leg though apologies was just seriously annoyed at Gars injury.And it looked far worse from the angle i saw it.

For the record, that was Ciaran Coll's first league start for Harps since he played away to Limerick second last game in 2009. He didn't even get a free down there.

bluewhitearmy
07/03/2011, 7:08 PM
For the record, that was Ciaran Coll's first league start for Harps since he played away to Limerick second last game in 2009. He didn't even get a free down there.

Bad example he didnt get a free because he got booked it was a foul by him on John Tierney that ended up injuring himself.

07/03/2011, 7:51 PM
Who's that?

Hector. Hilariously bad.

bullit
07/03/2011, 8:18 PM
Hector. Hilariously bad.
He was terrible ok,missed every tackle,having another nightmare in Belfast tonight by all accounts :(

Ezeikial
08/03/2011, 12:43 AM
Hope for your sake your right full's retiring soon, awful. One of the worst full back performances I've seen in a long time.

Maybe you only came in at half time? Simon Madden, whose form since arriving at Oriel last July has been outstanding, played full back for the first 50 minutes. He was switched to left full when Osborn went off injued to be replaced by 18 year old Michael Hector. Lets just say he didn't cover himself in glory on his league debut.

He started in his normal Centre Back position in Glentoran tonight and had a reasonable game. He has potential although he will quickly want to forget his 40 minutes in Tallaght.

08/03/2011, 1:23 AM

Can understand the anger at losing possibly your best player for a good part of the season. But when there was absolutely no malice, and clearly got ball first, you can't go around calling Forker dirty or scum or 'hope he breaks his leg' or 'hope he gets whats coming to him'.

08/03/2011, 2:14 AM
Must say, few shocks in the table already with Dundalk and Derry joint bottom with Mervue sitting at the top of the first. Just not going Monaghans way with no points after the first round of games too. Shocking stuff altogether.

White Horse
08/03/2011, 9:45 AM
Hope for your sake your right full's retiring soon........

Are you looking for another player from us?

08/03/2011, 1:59 PM
What was the last player we signed from Dundalk? Possibly going back to Martin Lawlor days..

Aaron
08/03/2011, 2:12 PM
What was the last player we signed from Dundalk? Possibly going back to Martin Lawlor days..

Chris Turner no?

marinobohs
08/03/2011, 3:38 PM

... think he might be referring to "Old" Mr Fenn, who went from Dundalk to shams via shortest retirement in history :rolleyes:

08/03/2011, 4:12 PM
That's the thing, mb....I can't remember us signing anyone from Dundalk :rolleyes:

Turner was a free agent, iirc..